NSW Scholarship Program

Jones is a pure midfielder. I don't know if he's grown but he was listed as 185cm when he was first signed at 15.

Lloyd was listed at 178cm when he was signed but he might have been even younger than Jones was. He's more of a forward.

Ogle's not as tall as his old man, 190cm from memory and a defender. Ogle was borderline in the NSW team this year but made little if any impact.

Some updated information on these boys - Braedon Jones is now about 188cm and 78kg I think. He was named rookie of the year for the Black Diamond League this year, and was runner up in the senior B&F club awards. Doesn't turn 18 until mid next year. Is a top young player who from what I've heard travels a long way to play and train, from Aberdeen in the Upper Hunter.

Daniel Lloyd is doing really well - played a small number of senior games during season. Lots of speed and raw talent to work with.

I have heard that Chris Ogle is perhaps going to be rookie listed with Bulldogs, but that's just on the grapevine. He is very inexperienced in AFL, but has amazing speed, fitness and accuracy.

I reckon that even if the scholarship program is going to be scrapped or altered to include the whole state, we should be glad that the AFL has at least taken the initiative to raise the profile of the sport in NSW. Most of the scholarship kids just want to do their very best, and seem to be setting a fine example for the younger kids to aim for. Nothing is ever perfect, but as long as the powers that be keep revising and improving initiatives such as this, the sport can only be in a win win situation!:cool:

Some updated information on these boys - Braedon Jones is now about 188cm and 78kg I think. He was named rookie of the year for the Black Diamond League this year, and was runner up in the senior B&F club awards. Doesn't turn 18 until mid next year. Is a top young player who from what I've heard travels a long way to play and train, from Aberdeen in the Upper Hunter.

Daniel Lloyd is doing really well - played a small number of senior games during season. Lots of speed and raw talent to work with.

I have heard that Chris Ogle is perhaps going to be rookie listed with Bulldogs, but that's just on the grapevine. He is very inexperienced in AFL, but has amazing speed, fitness and accuracy.

I reckon that even if the scholarship program is going to be scrapped or altered to include the whole state, we should be glad that the AFL has at least taken the initiative to raise the profile of the sport in NSW. Most of the scholarship kids just want to do their very best, and seem to be setting a fine example for the younger kids to aim for. Nothing is ever perfect, but as long as the powers that be keep revising and improving initiatives such as this, the sport can only be in a win win situation!:cool:
Thanks mate :thumbsu: sounds like we have got a pretty good bunch! Im very excited about Braedon Jones!

Or maybe the NSW kids that are not eligible for a scholarship can work there ar$e off like every other kid in Australia and get picked up on hard work, talent and ability. People can whinge and moan all they want but if your good enough and you want it bad enough you will make it. ]

Messenger, there is no state in Australia with this situation. All the other states and territories have had kids invited to the draft. The ACT hasn't.

Kids in the ACT are 'working their arses off' and not receiving the same consideration. And now there is an additional zone in Sydney which will reduce opportunities in rep teams further.

If natural talent will ensure you make it anyway why would AFL bother giving scholarships and intensive training and money to these
players? Because they know it takes a lot more than just ability.

The drafted scholarship holders say that it has helped them make it.

If 10% of scholarship holders make it in that is a great boost and one that the ACT and Riverina would also appreciate.

You'd reckon by now there would be a few more players from the ACT since Bolton on the AFL stage if all it took was talent. Sorry I don't believe it.

So many country kids from the Riverina do it tough. Many have distance, petrol costs and drought to contend with. It is competitive there and now the scholarship holders have reduced their chances of selection further.

To make it fair, all kids within a state should have the same conditions to deal with. Do you think there would be screaming if Vic Metro kids suddenly got scholarships, intensive training by the state coaches, money and preferential selection while Vic country were told 'if you're good enough you'll make it'?

And just to stir it up a bit t what if they decided we'll let Bendigo in (Broken Hill) and the southern coast in for good measure but told the country kids...just keep 'working your arse off'.

By the way, you never hear scholarship holders or their parents complaining.

Some factors you can't avoid like distance and drought but it is easily within the AFL NSW's power to level this playing field.

^^^^^^^^
Just on that first bit I assume you mean no kids were invited to draft camp from the ACT because if a kid wants to put his name up for the draft he can, as long as he is playing a high enough standard.

I understand it's not a level playing feild and that you have every right to lobby NSW-ACT AFL to even things out but that's just how the world is. The scholarship program is designed to promote the game in non AFL regions to enhance the games profile in these areas. The riverina is prodominently an AFL area and Canberra is fairly strong in terms of participation in AFL as opposed to Rugby. Hence the reason they don't offer scholarships in those areas.

If NicNat was playing in Canberra he would still be drafted on his raw talent, probably not as high as he will go now but would still be taken. All I'm saying is the world is unfair and you can be annoyed about it or you can put your energy into getting noticed. No issue with you asking why and trying to change things but for now you just need to accept that's the way it is and do what you can do.

Hi Mesenger

According to the NSW/ACT AFL website:

'The objective of the AFL Scholarship Program is to attract quality athletes to our code by providing a direct path to the elite AFL competition. It is a component of the broader talent program. Importantly, it provides an incentive for schools and AFL clubs to support the development of AFL in NSW/ACT.'

I think the ACT and Riverina qualify. In the last line they actually refer to the ACT....maybe that's an oversight they need to rectify?

What region do you come from?

Hi Mesenger

According to the NSW/ACT AFL website:

'The objective of the AFL Scholarship Program is to attract quality athletes to our code by providing a direct path to the elite AFL competition. It is a component of the broader talent program. Importantly, it provides an incentive for schools and AFL clubs to support the development of AFL in NSW/ACT.'

I think the ACT and Riverina qualify. In the last line they actually refer to the ACT....maybe that's an oversight they need to rectify?

What region do you come from?

I'm from Country Vic. Your right it is poorly worded and by that you would assume it would incorporate all of NSW and ACT but the reality is the AFL won't put money into a region it already thinks has solid interest in the code. In the Riverina's case aussie rules is well and trully the dominent code in the area.

It would not surprise me if they look at making these scholarships available in FNQ which is probably another area that could use some development of the game.

What I think the AFL wants to achieve with these scholarships is not to get kids that already play the game but to poach kids from league and union mostly but also soccer, aths, basketball, etc. The kids that already play AFL don't concern the AFL because they are already on board.

I don't beleive Broken Hill should be included.

Many people refer to the ACT as being a stronghold of AFL but the scene has changed markedly since the time of Hird and Bolton. When Craig Bolton came through he attributed his success in the draft to the fact that he competed in the TAC comp. The ACT is no longer a part of this comp.

Soccer is the dominant code now and easily tops the other codes for registrations. Rugby league and rugby union follow. This is understandable given that the Raiders and Brumbies are based here.

The adult comp is lop sided and has many imports from southern states. It is not here anyway where the potential draftees get their main development but rather at the junior level. Sometimes I wonder if AFL NSW visit here that much to know what is going on or just rely on past impressions gathered a decade or so ago.

I think if AFL NSW are claiming that the ACT is a stronghold wouldn't you expect, like the Murray Bushrangers, to have a handful invited to the draft every year?

Since they don't then the kids here can't be good enough and that leads back to the idea that the area could do with the scholarship scheme.

To be honest I don't believe that kids need wads of cash or fancy outfits etc. You could put the money that is being concentrated on 50 or so and help so many more kids have a chance, eg by employing ex-afl players in communities where kids aren't coming through - wherever that might be in Australia.

You could argue all of this for ever but it would be great if AFL NSW to come here and speak directly to the kids, coaches and families and explain the intended grand plan.

Cylon7; I think if AFL NSW are claiming that the ACT is a stronghold wouldn't you expect said:
[/COLOR]
AFL to pull NSW funds

Mark Robinson | October 31, 2008 12:00am

THE AFL will withdraw funding for its New South Wales scholarship program but expects clubs to continue combing the state for the next Lenny Hayes. The AFL wrote to clubs last week informing them the $10,000 per club subsidy to help recruit 15 and 16-year-olds would no longer be available.

It says clubs should incorporate the cost into recruiting budgets.

Funding will continue for existing scholarship holders, but that will evaporate over the next two years.

The AFL's game development manager David Matthews yesterday said the scholarship scheme had been successful in attracting the attention of clubs, many of which were not considering recruiting in the
Sydney market.

"So we put some subsidies on the table, but we always had the intent, at some point, the subsidies would start to diminish," Matthews said.

"What we're saying is if you want to sign a kid in the future, down the track you'll be making the commitment, we won't subsidise the commitment."

In its three years, 56 players have been listed under the scholarship scheme.

Of 12 players eligible for rookie or primary list elevation for the 2008 season, five players made it, the most notable being West Coast's Ryan Davis and Sydney's Craig Bird.

Another 12 players will be eligible for upgrading at this year's national and rookie drafts, including
Geelong's Ranga Ediriwickrama.

The AFL expects another five players to be listed.

The
Sydney market could be invaluable for clubs trying to rebuild lists through what looms as the most compromised draft period in history.

Clubs will still be able to identify NSW talent and list them under the scholarship scheme.

Many people refer to the ACT as being a stronghold of AFL but the scene has changed markedly since the time of Hird and Bolton. When Craig Bolton came through he attributed his success in the draft to the fact that he competed in the TAC comp. The ACT is no longer a part of this comp.

Soccer is the dominant code now and easily tops the other codes for registrations. Rugby league and rugby union follow. This is understandable given that the Raiders and Brumbies are based here.

The adult comp is lop sided and has many imports from southern states. It is not here anyway where the potential draftees get their main development but rather at the junior level. Sometimes I wonder if AFL NSW visit here that much to know what is going on or just rely on past impressions gathered a decade or so ago.

I think if AFL NSW are claiming that the ACT is a stronghold wouldn't you expect, like the Murray Bushrangers, to have a handful invited to the draft every year?

Since they don't then the kids here can't be good enough and that leads back to the idea that the area could do with the scholarship scheme.

To be honest I don't believe that kids need wads of cash or fancy outfits etc. You could put the money that is being concentrated on 50 or so and help so many more kids have a chance, eg by employing ex-afl players in communities where kids aren't coming through - wherever that might be in Australia.

You could argue all of this for ever but it would be great if AFL NSW to come here and speak directly to the kids, coaches and families and explain the intended grand plan.

That is a sad situation. I would expect footy to be strong in the ACT.

I mean if we look at it logically Australian Football has so much history and tradition in the ACT and for soccer and rugby to steal the thunder is disappointing.

Good luck in the future. I agree - it would be good if more ACT kids came through.

Can someone explain the scheme at the end for me? Can the kid be straight onto the senior list, if so what do clubs have to give up for that to happen?

There last pick in the National Draft.
Look at Craig Bird this year, would probably have gone 1st round, ie pick 10 to 16, Sydney used their last pick on hime (in the 60's I think), Taylor Walker at Adelaide (they used pick 75). Thats what in it for the club, if they get a really tlented player they can get him for virtually nothing come draft time.
Will be interesting in the next couple of years though, some clubs have more than 1 for the age group, (I know Collingwood have 3 for 2010), if they wqant to draft them all it will cost their final 3 draft picks.

There last pick in the National Draft.
Look at Craig Bird this year, would probably have gone 1st round, ie pick 10 to 16, Sydney used their last pick on hime (in the 60's I think), Taylor Walker at Adelaide (they used pick 75). Thats what in it for the club, if they get a really tlented player they can get him for virtually nothing come draft time.
Will be interesting in the next couple of years though, some clubs have more than 1 for the age group, (I know Collingwood have 3 for 2010), if they wqant to draft them all it will cost their final 3 draft picks.

unless they agree to be placed on the rookie list like our scott reed this year :).

I ca't see a club (any club) using more than 1 rookie pick on a NSW kid.
I know getting on lists is all about fighting for a position but when you have 3 fighting for 1 spot from the same team (I am assuming they would all play for the RAMS) it could lead to some disharmonie.

These posts are all very interesting.

Im dissapointed to hear the AFL is withdrawing funding :(

As for the regions of the scholarship program, im pretty sure it is exactly that reason that beau black (geelong scholarship holder) is leaving my club next year to wollongong. Wollongong is right on the edge of the cut off zone (im pretty sure) thus to be included he has to play for them now (instead of my club about 75 mins south).

I must admit it is pretty hard in NSW though.

Ive got South Coast/ACT CATS tryouts starting up this weekend, and we (me and a few other guys trying out) have to travel 7 hours (in total) every sunday for a month just for an hour and a half training. And my mum doesnt really support all this so i have to drive myself down, and when youve just driven for 3 and a half hours and you have to do the beep test and a 20m sprint, obviously its not gonna go the best as it could.

Its quite dissapointing really, but youve gotta do what youve gotta do....

So if you think that Sydney kids have it all with the AFL scholarships and group scholarship training, how about this:

Western Sydney Academy of Sport
http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_...task=DETAIL&articleID=7104662&sectionID=53001

It would be possible for a kid in Sydney to have at the same time an AFL scholarship with a club, 10-20000 per year (10 for future scholarship holders), an AFL AIS Academy of Sport scholarship and be a member of the western Sydney Academy.

Why are these kids in Western Sydney are still being allowed to be picked up by interstate clubs? When does the exclusion zone begin for them?

How about letting the ACT and Riverina have some of those economy class AFL scholarships? It wouldn't cost AFL a cent. Because they obviously aren't preparing these regions for the new Western Sydney club as they have been for the last two years in Western Sydney.

Sydney is getting it all.

Port Fans!!
is jordan johns going to be on ya list in the next couple of years played against him a few years ago he was about 15.. weak as and a sook. very cute footballer.. hope he comes good tho

The Messenger; [COLOR=black said:
[/COLOR]
Maybe the NSW kids that are not eligible for a scholarship can work there ar$e off like every other kid in Australia and get picked up on hard work, talent and ability. People can whinge and moan all they want but if your good enough and you want it bad enough you will make it.

(What I think the AFL wants to achieve with these scholarships is not to get kids that already play the game but to poach kids from league and union mostly but also soccer,aths,basketball,etc). The kids that already play AFL don't concern the AFL because they are already on board

MESSENGER,

The NSW/ACT AFL clubs and players will be over the moon to learn the only reasons why NSW kids are not eligible for a Scholarship is based on your information, with the AFL concerned having what looms the most compromised draft period in history it states the Sydney market could be invaluable for clubs trying to rebuild lists,

THERE IS ANOTHER QUOTE I FEEL IS MORE LIKE THE FACT “THE TRUE TALENT IS BEING UN-RECOGNISED AND FALLING THROUGH THE CRACKS”.

The current incentive for talented footballers in NSW/ACT is limited due to the AFL poaching Athletes not necessarily on talent or ability untrained Athletes from other sports then providing a direct path to the elite AFL competitions, hoping for great outcomes.

AFL is providing specialised group training and trying to work off their arses as you refer to, desperately to gain the skills and ability required in attempt to avoid the criticisms and to give direct access to Rep and State Squad as per the elite pathway,

This is limiting opportunities for deserving footballers with match experience, talent and ability, (that already play AFL and don't concern the AFL because they are already on board).
As Quoted: The Sydney market could be invaluable for clubs trying to rebuild lists through what looms as the most compromised draft period in history. Ref: Mark Robinson, October 31, 2008.

So if you think that Sydney kids have it all with the AFL scholarships and group scholarship training, how about this:

Western Sydney Academy of Sport
http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_...task=DETAIL&articleID=7104662&sectionID=53001

It would be possible for a kid in Sydney to have at the same time an AFL scholarship with a club, 10-20000 per year (10 for future scholarship holders), an AFL AIS Academy of Sport scholarship and be a member of the western Sydney Academy.

Why are these kids in Western Sydney are still being allowed to be picked up by interstate clubs? When does the exclusion zone begin for them?

How about letting the ACT and Riverina have some of those economy class AFL scholarships? It wouldn't cost AFL a cent. Because they obviously aren't preparing these regions for the new Western Sydney club as they have been for the last two years in Western Sydney.

Sydney is getting it all.
Hi Cylon7

I've asked about this program its funded by local business in 4 councils . Its for kids that play sport or school in these areas. It was for players with potential in the area, to get ready for the 15-16 rep season.

I noticed there are some 13s & 14s that were at Narandera involved.

The program is not for Scholarship players, But I have been told 3-4 have scholarships this season from the reps.

Five AFL Scholarship holders from NSW have been handed the chance of a lifetime to play football for an AFL club, with all five now listed as Scholarship Rookies on AFL lists for 2009.

The exciting announcement came last Friday as all AFL clubs were required to submit club lists, in preparation for next month’s NAB AFL Draft, to be held on Saturday November 29.

The five players are:
• Scott Reed - Collingwood
• Ranga Ediriwickrama - Geelong
• William Sierakowski - Hawthorn
• Blake McGrath – St Kida
• Christopher Ogle - Western Bulldogs
AFL (NSW/ACT) Talent and Coach Development Manager, Darren Denneman said that the news was a huge result for football in the state.

“It’s just fantastic for NSW and ACT footy. It’s exciting to see that the players we are producing really are good enough to make it on to AFL lists.”

Denneman also said he was thrilled for the five boys, adding that he was excited to see what they make of the chance they have been given.

“Getting the opportunity is the first step – after that it really is up each of them. We all know that the resources these clubs offer are first rate, but it’s up to the boys to make the most of those resources to develop into strong consistent footballers.”

AFL Sydney Club Pennant Hills will feel the greatest loss from the announcement with three of the five players, Scott Reed, Ranga Ediriwickrama and Blake McGrath, all playing for the club in 2008.

William Sierakowski will leave North Shore after joining the club this season from Riverview, whilst UNSW/Eastern Suburbs will need to replace the pace of Christopher Ogle.

The three clubs are undoubtedly proud of the efforts of their young talented stars.

Since 2006, the AFL Scholarship Program has provided emerging footballers from greater Sydney with a pathway to the elite level. In its three years, 56 players have been listed under the scheme, with the most recent AFL debutant including Ryan Davis and Sydney's Craig Bird.

I just found this today.

“It’s just fantastic for NSW and ACT footy. It’s exciting to see that the players we are producing really are good enough to make it on to AFL lists.”

I'm sure the ACT AFL community is just thrilled.

These posts are all very interesting.

Im dissapointed to hear the AFL is withdrawing funding :(

As for the regions of the scholarship program, im pretty sure it is exactly that reason that beau black (geelong scholarship holder) is leaving my club next year to wollongong. Wollongong is right on the edge of the cut off zone (im pretty sure) thus to be included he has to play for them now (instead of my club about 75 mins south).

I must admit it is pretty hard in NSW though.

Ive got South Coast/ACT CATS tryouts starting up this weekend, and we (me and a few other guys trying out) have to travel 7 hours (in total) every sunday for a month just for an hour and a half training. And my mum doesnt really support all this so i have to drive myself down, and when youve just driven for 3 and a half hours and you have to do the beep test and a 20m sprint, obviously its not gonna go the best as it could.

Its quite dissapointing really, but youve gotta do what youve gotta do....

Good luck and stick at it

anyone know anything about jake millyn? was a gun in u15/16s playing for ainslie. came from the south coast i think.

also, do canberra boys not get a chance to be on the scholarship? if so, why? if not, why arent there any?

Jake lives at Batemans Bay, played footy with Batemans Bay seniors and U/17's in 2008. Had a good year. I 'm his father so let me know if you want to give him a message or get in touch...

Ryan Davis came from the NSW Scholarship Program and played 11 games for us this year. Looks like a talent, provides plenty of dash from HB.

Just a comparison having played with Ryno before he went to West, and now 4 or 5 other scholarship holders this year, Sierra is another step up from anything we have seen before at our club. Hawthorn have a beauty on their hands here. Put his name down now for next years draft.

Not bad forsight by you Litmanen, picking Siera before it hit the press, you were off by a year though.

NSW Scholarship Program