O and M 2011 Season

Yeh certainly do! He'll go to the highest bidder?

ok, if thats the case , he will get some serious dollars, namely from the wealthy clubs such as Aspley,Southport and Redlands. But these clubs spend big bucks and have not acheived flag success. Redlands and Apsley have been no where near it and Southport havent played in a GF for 3 years and in fact missed the finals for the first time in 15 years in 2011.This league up here has improved so much over the past 4/5 years its not funny.They play interstate matches each year against Tasmania and WAFL. In the past 2 seasons they defeated tassie by some 15 goals and lost to the WAFL by 6 goals in 2010 and only 1 goal in 2011. Thus the standard is not far behind the best comps outside of the elite level.The league had 11 players drafted to AFL clubs last month, a all time record for QLD .So ,I guess what im saying, is that if you are a very good player at O&M level and wish to command big dollars in QLD, you better be prepared,.... for this league is of a standard that is a level or two above O&M.Just ask Matt Shir,( ex Wodonga champ). Who came here to Aspley and played well over the past 3 seasons, good player, but was no way a star here. So if O brien is going to command the best bidder(so to speak) which he will get fom the above mentioned clubs, he will have a big challenge to perform for his money at this level.Let me say, I dont doubt he may do well here, but Im sure he will be more then surprised at the high standard of this league.

What is the reported price it cost to get patrick rose into the comp?? Would have thought it would have to be up near 1200 a game surely!! Vfl leading goalkicker,premiership star and not to mention the travel he will be doing:D

If a club has a budget of 200k plus, then 18x1200 =21600 that can fit in ok if it's sustainable and your lower paid players are happy and these big money players fit in and importantly perform - that's the tight rope the football recruiters walk each season

50 large, which is about 10 more than he was getting at Port. The big difference is that he had some very good players delivering the ball to him at Port.

It's a fair drop in standard from VFL, he'll get his own ball delivered or not. Would think he'd play up the ground a fair bit as well

Just heard that Wang Magpies out bid Raiders for a big VFL recruit.. What is Wangs obsession with paying big dollars for traveling players? It worked for them in 2007-08 but things are changing and the competition is more professional therefore you would have more success if the group trained together as Albury, Lavington and to an extent Yarrawonga showed last year.. Everyone's thoughts?

ok, if thats the case , he will get some serious dollars, namely from the wealthy clubs such as Aspley,Southport and Redlands. But these clubs spend big bucks and have not acheived flag success. Redlands and Apsley have been no where near it and Southport havent played in a GF for 3 years and in fact missed the finals for the first time in 15 years in 2011.This league up here has improved so much over the past 4/5 years its not funny.They play interstate matches each year against Tasmania and WAFL. In the past 2 seasons they defeated tassie by some 15 goals and lost to the WAFL by 6 goals in 2010 and only 1 goal in 2011. Thus the standard is not far behind the best comps outside of the elite level.The league had 11 players drafted to AFL clubs last month, a all time record for QLD .So ,I guess what im saying, is that if you are a very good player at O&M level and wish to command big dollars in QLD, you better be prepared,.... for this league is of a standard that is a level or two above O&M.Just ask Matt Shir,( ex Wodonga champ). Who came here to Aspley and played well over the past 3 seasons, good player, but was no way a star here. So if O brien is going to command the best bidder(so to speak) which he will get fom the above mentioned clubs, he will have a big challenge to perform for his money at this level.Let me say, I dont doubt he may do well here, but Im sure he will be more then surprised at the high standard of this league.

Interesting comment there above about obrien. Think with his age and his body & living arrangments he will play somewhere up the coast.

In regards to the standard of O & M v QLD being a level or two above is bull stuyd1. Supporting this Shir finshed in the top 5 of the Syd Guildford Trophy (not a bad top 5, Zorko drafted, Pfeiffer rookie listed and Ilett should be playing league footy)

37: Cameron Ilett (NT Thunder)
32: Danny Wise (Southport)
30: Darren Pfeiffer (Southport)
26: Matt Shir (Aspley)
26: Dayne Zorko (Broadbeach)

and last year only managed a handful of games after breaking his Jaw

how do u justify this?

Sam carpenter was great for the year he was there finishing second in the B & F and tyson hartwig was named in the intial QLD Squad????

Just heard that Wang Magpies out bid Raiders for a big VFL recruit.. What is Wangs obsession with paying big dollars for traveling players? It worked for them in 2007-08 but things are changing and the competition is more professional therefore you would have more success if the group trained together as Albury, Lavington and to an extent Yarrawonga showed last year.. Everyone's thoughts?

Who is the recruit and are your sources right??
We all know the coin Albury & Yarra have thrown out the last few years

Interesting comment there above about obrien. Think with his age and his body & living arrangments he will play somewhere up the coast.

In regards to the standard of O & M v QLD being a level or two above is bull stuyd1. Supporting this Shir finshed in the top 5 of the Syd Guildford Trophy (not a bad top 5, Zorko drafted, Pfeiffer rookie listed and Ilett should be playing league footy)

37: Cameron Ilett (NT Thunder)
32: Danny Wise (Southport)
30: Darren Pfeiffer (Southport)
26: Matt Shir (Aspley)
26: Dayne Zorko (Broadbeach)

and last year only managed a handful of games after breaking his Jaw

how do u justify this?

Sam carpenter was great for the year he was there finishing second in the B & F and tyson hartwig was named in the intial QLD Squad????

Dr Nogood
I respect your comments here,
Firstly, I said Shir was a very good player in this comp.( pity he copped the broken jaw this past season)Hartwig and Carpenter good players also, but none of them made the state side. anyway, forget about that, more importantly at a home and away level Shir was a gun at O &M level, but not a gun at this level... extremely good, but not quite a gun.

Secondly,the standard of the NEAFL is now at least a level above the O & M.I grew up down there and played senior footy for many years. I love the O &M comp.Over the past 3 years I have flown down to Albury and seen 6 home and away games (namely Albury Tigers playing) and have attended the past 3 grand finals as well.
As a judgement, the neafl is much quicker and teams are punished at a turnover of the ball much more then the same scenario occuring at O & M level.
This is a big call, but to compare say Albury Tigers in this comp, I think they would finish 3rd, 4th, or 5th.But the real difference is at the other end of the ladder. The Brisbane lions reserves and Labrador Tigers finished 9th and 10th.In the O & M, the Rovers and Wodonga finished the same.Now if these sides played against each other, I predict the QLD sides would win by 12 goals at least.And wud most likely beat the next 2 sides on the ladder, be it Corowa/Rutherglen and Myrtleford, by some 9 or 10 goals.
With the Lions and Suns now here, the development programs being put into the junior leagues is unreal and that is one area where the the standard of this comp, is improving so quickly.In addition to this, fringe players at VFL,SANFL, and to a lesser degree, the WAFL levels are being recruited to Qld,hoping to gain exposure to the Lions and Suns . This stuff was not happening 3 or 4 years ago to the extent of today.

Anyway , its only my opinion. I guess at the end of the day, we love our footy, whatever the standard of the league.Especially in country victoria, as it is a big part of ones lives in the communities down here

Dr Nogood
I respect your comments here,
Firstly, I said Shir was a very good player in this comp.( pity he copped the broken jaw this past season)Hartwig and Carpenter good players also, but none of them made the state side. anyway, forget about that, more importantly at a home and away level Shir was a gun at O &M level, but not a gun at this level... extremely good, but not quite a gun.

Secondly,the standard of the NEAFL is now at least a level above the O & M.I grew up down there and played senior footy for many years. I love the O &M comp.Over the past 3 years I have flown down to Albury and seen 6 home and away games (namely Albury Tigers playing) and have attended the past 3 grand finals as well.
As a judgement, the neafl is much quicker and teams are punished at a turnover of the ball much more then the same scenario occuring at O & M level.
This is a big call, but to compare say Albury Tigers in this comp, I think they would finish 3rd, 4th, or 5th.But the real difference is at the other end of the ladder. The Brisbane lions reserves and Labrador Tigers finished 9th and 10th.In the O & M, the Rovers and Wodonga finished the same.Now if these sides played against each other, I predict the QLD sides would win by 12 goals at least.And wud most likely beat the next 2 sides on the ladder, be it Corowa/Rutherglen and Myrtleford, by some 9 or 10 goals.
With the Lions and Suns now here, the development programs being put into the junior leagues is unreal and that is one area where the the standard of this comp, is improving so quickly.In addition to this, fringe players at VFL,SANFL, and to a lesser degree, the WAFL levels are being recruited to Qld,hoping to gain exposure to the Lions and Suns . This stuff was not happening 3 or 4 years ago to the extent of today.

Anyway , its only my opinion. I guess at the end of the day, we love our footy, whatever the standard of the league.Especially in country victoria, as it is a big part of ones lives in the communities down here

Think you need to read your first post again...

Mathew Grossman from Williamstown. My sources are correct. You heard it first here on bigfooty.

Nice work hitman!!
Looks to be a very hardy player as well. I see Wang have picked up another forward as well. Good on them. They will needs those type of players to replace what they have lost.

Finishing 4th in the b&f and he is not a star of the league or at least one of the better players? Please explain

Lewis3,...Shir did not finish 4th in the league B&F in 2010 He finished 4th in a award that is a media award. But it is.. regarded as the best award to win, behind the league B&F as voted by the umpires.
Shir has been up here for 3 seasons and as I said, he is a good player at this level(didnt have a real good year,to his standards in the games he played this 2011 season before breaking his jaw )I say again, hes a good player, real good player.... but he has not been a standout star. We all differ in our ratings of who is a star and who is a good player.For me, rating a player as a star is not to be thrown around loosely. For example, star players in the neafl in 2011, were Zorko (Broadbeach) Ilett,Tungatalum,and Ewing (Thunder),Payne and Wise(Southport) Gilliland,Proud,and Grose( Mt Gravatt) Buchanan (Aspley) etc etc.( im not going to list all from each club)
Anyway, Shir is going to play in the SEAFL comp in 2012, which is a like division two up here. This comp is certainly no where near O&M level, but more like Murray league level.Rest assured, Shir will be a star in this comp.

Now, can we close this issue... My opinions may be wrong, but bigshit, for at the end of the day, I respect everyones opinions, whether i agree or disagree.

Lewis3,...Shir did not finish 4th in the league B&F in 2010 He finished 4th in a award that is a media award. But it is.. regarded as the best award to win, behind the league B&F as voted by the umpires.
Shir has been up here for 3 seasons and as I said, he is a good player at this level(didnt have a real good year,to his standards in the games he played this 2011 season before breaking his jaw )I say again, hes a good player, real good player.... but he has not been a standout star. We all differ in our ratings of who is a star and who is a good player.For me, rating a player as a star is not to be thrown around loosely. For example, star players in the neafl in 2011, were Zorko (Broadbeach) Ilett,Tungatalum,and Ewing (Thunder),Payne and Wise(Southport) Gilliland,Proud,and Grose( Mt Gravatt) Buchanan (Aspley) etc etc.( im not going to list all from each club)
Anyway, Shir is going to play in the SEAFL comp in 2012, which is a like division two up here. This comp is certainly no where near O&M level, but more like Murray league level.Rest assured, Shir will be a star in this comp.

Now, can we close this issue... My opinions may be wrong, but bigshit, for at the end of the day, I respect everyones opinions, whether i agree or disagree.

played 2 years not 3 you seem to have bad facts and research skills.... case closed

Think you need to read your first post again...

i agree with stuyd. The o and m supporters are trying to cling on to thinking they have one of the strongests comps around. Yes it is good, but YES it has slipped heaps in the last 10 years. AFL canberra is much stronger the GV comp is streets above now and with all the o and m depatures the Murray league is catching up. The neafl is much stronger than the o and m as well. its time to face the facts o and m supporters

Up da middle, thank you for your comments.Spot on. even the Hume league has grown in standard( by recruiting,, in particular O&M players).The top 4 sides of the Hume League are quality teams, still not at O&M level, but of a good standard.And from reports, attracted some 5000/6000 people to the grand final.( whether this is correct or exgeratted , I dont know.)
Canberra, is now part of the eastern conference in the neafl group, and is a progressing strong comp.From what Ive seen this past 2 months , some of these canberra teams have recruited some real quality players, in particular from the safl, thus this will enhance the standard of this league.
And as I said in my previous post, neafl, qld, has become very strong. its still got a way to go to catch up with the standards of say the vfl, sanfl, and wafl, but to come to watch a home and away game regardless of who is playing.... is a game you would enjoy.In 2011, the comp was so even, come the final home and away round,4th to 8th could of made the final 5 depended on the rounds results.
anyway, up da middle, cheers.

If a club has a budget of 200k plus, then 18x1200 =21600 that can fit in ok if it's sustainable and your lower paid players are happy and these big money players fit in and importantly perform - that's the tight rope the football recruiters walk each season

RE : Patty Rose
$1500 wasn't even in the Ball Park, ask Wang Magpies

Brendan-Fevola04-blog.jpg

hai guys.

O and M 2011 Season