Off topic but footy related. Channel 7

Apr 12, 2015
Nathalia Victoria
Leeds United
Cab anyone explain how the footy is going to work as I can't make sense off it. They advertise all games are going to be on 7 plus via the net? If so does that mean live or delayed or if I'm reading it wrong all together.
Since you could not watch the woman on afl site this season don't really know how it will work with fox having rites also?

I could be mistaken but I think Kayo/ Foxtel are the only networks that have exclusive rights for all the games

7 miss out on a lot of the Saturday night games that is why Dreamtime is now on the Friday night instead of Saturday otherwise 7 wouldn’t be able to broadcast it live

I could be mistaken but I think Kayo/ Foxtel are the only networks that have exclusive rights for all the games

7 miss out on a lot of the Saturday night games that is why Dreamtime is now on the Friday night instead of Saturday otherwise 7 wouldn’t be able to broadcast it live
Has it changed from this year? 7 used to get 3 games a week live, Friday night, Saturday night and Thursday night or Sunday twilight if no game Thursday night.

I’m not 100% sure to be completely honest
I know for sure 7 definitely have the Thursday and Friday nights but it’s the

Saturday nights that possibly have changed
I’ve had a hard time trying to find clarity about what exactly they are

I think it also varies state to state

Found this article seems to indicate no Saturday night for ch7, a reddit thread from last month also seems to indicate the same (also noting this being the reason for the Dreamtime shift to Friday night)

2025 AFL Premiership Season matches on Seven and 7plus Sport:

• 23 Thursday Night Footy matches
  • 24 Friday Night Footy matches
  • 25 Sunday Afternoon Footy matches
  • Five Sunday Night Footy matches
  • Good Friday Superclash
  • Easter Monday
  • Anzac Day
  • The Big Freeze
  • State league coverage on Saturdays

Found this article seems to indicate no Saturday night for ch7, a reddit thread from last month also seems to indicate the same (also noting this being the reason for the Dreamtime shift to Friday night)

2025 AFL Premiership Season matches on Seven and 7plus Sport:

• 23 Thursday Night Footy matches
  • 24 Friday Night Footy matches
  • 25 Sunday Afternoon Footy matches
  • Five Sunday Night Footy matches
  • Good Friday Superclash
  • Easter Monday
  • Anzac Day
  • The Big Freeze
  • State league coverage on Saturdays

So looks like they've still got 3:live games a week just no Saturday night games anymore(Thurs, Fri,Sunday arvo).

Yeah seems that way, also just by having a Quick Look at the fixture it seems that they have moved pretty much all the bigger match ups out of the time slot

It’s dominated by a lot of Gold Coast and GWS games by the looks of it

Yeah seems that way, also just by having a Quick Look at the fixture it seems that they have moved pretty much all the bigger match ups out of the time slot

It’s dominated by a lot of Gold Coast and GWS games by the looks of it
We've got a fair few Sunday arvo games so we should be free to air more than this year. I think the days of free to air are doomed. A lot of younger people don't have a TV as such these days, they stream everything.

Yeah definitely seems that way
I have Kayo so selfishly it doesn’t impact me a whole lot but I also find myself preferring to watch the free to air telecast as it isn’t prone to some of the issues that can plague kayo from time to time
(Drop outs and buffering if it’s a popular game)

But it goes to show how much money Foxtel/Kayo have to bully 7 out of what was a traditional marquee time slot for the sport along with how the tv rights have shaped the fixture to prefer getting maximum viewers over fans at the games with Thursday/Friday night becoming the blockbuster time slots that are probably the hardest to get to as fans

I have Kayo so selfishly it doesn’t impact me a whole lot but I also find myself preferring to watch the free to air telecast as it isn’t prone to some of the issues that can plague kayo from time to time

But it goes to show how much money Foxtel/Kayo have to bully 7 out of what was a traditional marquee time slot for the sport along with how the tv rights have shaped the fixture to prefer getting maximum viewers over fans at the games with Thursday/Friday night becoming the blockbuster time slots that are probably the hardest to get to as fans
Yeah Im a bit pissed Dreamtime has been shifted to Friday night. I usually fly back from Tassie for that. Friday night makes it a bit harder to fly back for the game.

do your eyes get sore from the horrible jumpers ?

Cab anyone explain how the footy is going to work as I can't make sense off it. They advertise all games are going to be on 7 plus via the net? If so does that mean live or delayed or if I'm reading it wrong all together.
Since you could not watch the woman on afl site this season don't really know how it will work with fox having rites also?
Channel 7 will get Thursday night, Friday night and Sunday.

These games will also be available live on 7+.

Foxtel/Kayo have all games live with their own commentary team.

Yeah there is no free to air games on a Saturday anymore. Crazy that the league let that happen. I've got foxtel so no issue for me but plenty of campaigners dont.
Eventually there will be no free to air games, except maybe the GF. Every TV deal there are less and less. Ch7 can't compete financially with Foxtel/Kayo.

Yeah i guess a bit misleading as they said all games will be on 7 plus:( They probably meant the games that they show.

Hahh channel 7 own the rites to the footy and on sell it to fox! A least that's what I thought that's why fox could not televise the grand finals live.

Yeah there is no free to air games on a Saturday anymore. Crazy that the league let that happen. I've got foxtel so no issue for me but plenty of campaigners dont.
Pretty sure it's not the leagues decision as 7 bought the rites and on sale it to fox. It's only from next season that the games 7 televise fox can use there own commentators.

you beauty no more bt or braynshaw

No not at all, both 7 and fox buy the rights off the AFL
It’s just that under the agreements 7 have the rights for the marquee games as live partners

But 7 don’t sell any of the rights to Fox, Fox negotiated directly with the AFL & 7 in partnership to outbid Nine and 10 who also made plays

Off topic but footy related. Channel 7