Official 2012 NMFC Membership Tally Part II

even if its not sold out prior, there may only be 300 GAs left (for example), and 300 members may get there before you on Sunday meaning you may still miss out.

Saintly, apparently only 1000 reserved seats remain...

Buy now or miss out

With under a week to go until North Melbourne’s first historic match in Hobart, the club is pleased to announce 1,000 additional reserved seats are now available.

These prime seats are some of the only ones left available for Sunday’s game against the Greater Western Sydney Giants - which is expected to be a sell out.

"Some people might be waiting until the day of the game to rock up and get a ticket, but that's not a good plan. I'm told it could be a sell out well before then and there might be some disappointed footy fans turned away at the gate," Ziebell said
http://www.kangaroos.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/4912/newsid/132120/default.aspx

OK, thanks guys.

So its fair to say that the "includes General Admin to Blundstone home games" to promote membership might be worthless. In that case, might be some nasty scenes at the entry gate come game day when members find out they aren't granted entry when thats what they thought they paid for by signing up!!!

Anyway, lets wait and see, thanks again guys.

1 game Tassie members? The basic package is 3 games (2 Hobart, 1 Melb) - or do you mean just Melb? Either way we are members :thumbsu:

Hopefully the weather is OK down here on Sat, doesn't look a great forecast unfortunately - could impact local member numbers (and attendance) for sure if winter comes early this week.... :thumbsdown:

What do people expect the crowd to be? I am thinking about 12,000?

Sorry should have added the rolled eyes sarcastically smiley. I was having a go at the usual flogs who keep stating we have good numbers based on the Tassie member blah blah blah.

North are doing a fantastic job of selling the brand and hopefully hititng 30k and a good win over GWS will restart the roosurgence:footy:

Blundstone Arena has an 'official' capacity of 16k, but they can squeeze another 1k in there if they pack the hill.

There has been suggestion that they will look to add seating in a year or so and bring it up to around 18.5k.

Ill be trying to get in on my membership card for GA.

*cross fingers and testicles thingy*

Ha ha, I will too I reckon.

Its interesting, as I know lots of other club members who only signed up thinking it included access - so a "dual benefit" for both them personally and local AFL.

They will be absolutely filthy about the promotion down here if refused entry, which is the main reason why they became members of a team they dont even barrack for!!

Are Tassie NMFC members, who just want to watch from General Admission areas (no allocated seats), guaranteed entry with their members pass?

I was just advised by Ticketek that if GAdmin sells out before Sunday that the Members pass would not be accepted.....was recommended to upgrade to a seat to guarantee entry, or take the risk it wasn't a sellout? Sounds bizarre.

All advice appreciated :confused:

While it may sound bizarre, it is not uncommon.

In round 21 we play Collingwood at Etihad. Collingwood have a bazillion members Etihad seats 50 thousand.

If all of Collingwood's members rock up + all of our members there are gonna be people that can't get in and yet have the "right" to.

Blundstone is a smaller ground therefore this issue occurs with less people having to turn up.

there have been issues previously where a big drawing game (STK vs GEE) was not moved from Etihad because of commitment to amount of games at the venue.

While it may sound bizarre, it is not uncommon.

In round 21 we play Collingwood at Etihad. Collingwood have a bazillion members Etihad seats 50 thousand.

If all of Collingwood's members rock up + all of our members there are gonna be people that can't get in and yet have the "right" to.

Blundstone is a smaller ground therefore the this issue occurs with less people having to turn up.

there have been issues previously where a big drawing game (STK vs GEE) was not moved from Etihad because of commitment to amount of games at the venue.

Yes mate, no doubt you 100% spot on. GAdmin tickets are not guaranteed in Melb for many games I know - in some instances for very good reason like with Coll etc, with so many members it simply wouldn't work!

Its just that many locals aren't up with the "ticketed game" style (in fact when I passed this on they refused to believe it..... :eek:), especially as all the NMFC correspondence has suggested GAdmin was included and only seats would cost extra.....

Surely you can upgrade GA for a small cost?

Yes you can mate, but that doesnt help as where I will be is GAdmin only.....

End of the day (sorry again to hijeck thread! :eek: ), its only another $25 and thats fine - im more than happy to pay "twice" being a Roos fan. But non-roo supporters will not want to pay another $25 in addition to their membership to be packed in and stand on grass I can assure you!

Its not just in Melbourne. I tip that it is likely the case at Aurora as well. in fact I would be incredibly surprised if any ground in Australia once at capacity would allow GA tickets in simply because they're "allowed entry".

This is what ticketek are saying, you can get in as long as the ground isn't at capacity. I am sure that there would be limitations on how many "game day tickets would be allowed to be sold.

The membership dept would forecast how many people that they expect to turn up with memberships and how many they think may just show up on the day.

You asked earlier for advice the two points of advice I would give are either go early or upgrade.

Yes you can mate, but that doesnt help as where I will be is GAdmin only.....

End of the day (sorry again to hijeck thread! :eek: ), its only another $25 and thats fine - im more than happy to pay "twice" being a Roos fan. But non-roo supporters will not want to pay another $25 in addition to their membership to be packed in and stand on grass I can assure you!

They won't have the option to. If they arrive and there are still GA tickets available for $25, they will be able to scan in their memberships.

Or, if they arrive and can't scan in with their memberships, there will be no GA tickets for sale, since the ground will be full.

They won't have the option to. If they arrive and there are still GA tickets available for $25, they will be able to scan in their memberships.

Or, if they arrive and can't scan in with their memberships, there will be no GA tickets for sale, since the ground will be full.

I meant in advance mate. Many wont take that risk and essentially have to pay twice to stand on a hill, no cover, for a team they dont support....

Almost 30K

eyes-pop-out.jpg

Whoa baby!

I am supportive of the games in Hobart, but I do question the optimism on here about membership numbers. I bought my usual family membership tickets some time back and also paid an extra $40 each for my wife and I for the Hobart game in July. Shortly after I received our membership cards, but was wondering what happened with the Hobart game. Today I received extra cards for Tasmanian membership. It seems like this will be recorded as an extra 2 members, but really it is just two members paying for an extra game in Hobart.

My membership says the allocated seat, row and bay number on it.
Is there anyway i would be refused entry on gameday?

Nup, presuming they do things the same way down there as they do in Melbourne. Reserved seat guarantees entry and the seat you've reserved.

My membership says the allocated seat, row and bay number on it.
Is there anyway i would be refused entry on gameday?

No mate, youre all good.

Its only the members who want to watch from the hill (in GAdmin) with non members with GA tickets who might have an issue....

No mate, youre all good.

Its only the members who want to watch from the hill (in GAdmin) with non members with GA tickets who might have an issue....

Ah i see, i hope you can get in with no problems.
Gates open at 11am so if your there early it will be easier.
I was going to attend with my brother but he didn't get a ticket so i'm going on my own now. :eek:

I am supportive of the games in Hobart, but I do question the optimism on here about membership numbers. I bought my usual family membership tickets some time back and also paid an extra $40 each for my wife and I for the Hobart game in July. Shortly after I received our membership cards, but was wondering what happened with the Hobart game. Today I received extra cards for Tasmanian membership. It seems like this will be recorded as an extra 2 members, but really it is just two members paying for an extra game in Hobart.

There is a lot of creative accounting when it comes to memberships, numbers mean very little, is is your revenue per member which indicates how you are tracking or your average attendance, especially vs interstate teams.

On a side note, I have had rumours from my thouthes that some clubs receive corporate sponsorship in the form of membership purchases which are used for promotional purposes, this bypasses the usual thing where AFL does not count promotional memberships issued by clubs as these have been 'paid' for.

Official 2012 NMFC Membership Tally Part II