News Official Teams - Rnd 6 GC Vs Fremantle

And that's enough.

Don't create a Bigfooty profile, list your team as Essendon and come on to the Fremantle board and you first 25 posts are talking crap.

1st and final warning.

Game of Thrones time - King Seppo

Don't dig on your on team, I'm a big Essendon fan but I know Freo will be up there challenging. With your full squad, Freo will give the best teams a run for your money, you guys aren't far off
Feel free to leave now, clearly not wanted here. Take Trever with you, seeing as he is liking every single one of your pointless comments, clearly an essendon fan too.

Top 4 teams cover losses and beat clearly non-top 8 competition.

Are we top 4 that is the question.

I dunno - Hawthorn would struggle without Rioli (Hill), Buddy (Pav), Mitchell (Fyfe), Hale (Sandi), and Roughead (Keps) .. quality outs make any team beatable. Look at WCE, one quality player out and they don't have a team ;)

We'll have our best team on the park in the second half of the season, but **** it's hard to watch right now since it takes games from 'easy wins' to grinds - which rolls on into the next weeks games.

I dunno - Hawthorn would struggle without Rioli (Hill), Buddy (Pav), Mitchell (Fyfe), Hale (Sandi), and Roughead (Keps) .. quality outs make any team beatable. Look at WCE, one quality player out and they don't have a team ;)

We'll have our best team on the park in the second half of the season, but **** it's hard to watch right now since it takes games from 'easy wins' to grinds - which rolls on into the next weeks games.

Hawks would flog GC with 6 out

Hey. I was going to post last night re:this, but then it looked like Big Footy had gone to a MySpace fire sale and bought up on dirt cheap, ill-advised emoticons. So I walked away. What was that about? But I am really looking forward to the challenge of Saturday. We will be seeing a little bit of the future, it certainly feels bright. The forward line got us just over the line last week - a bit more in way of conversion (here's talking to you Son Son) and we wouldn't have had to deal with that collective heart attack felt late in the game, against the Tiges. Given the strength of our listed defence and providing we don't hash it around the middle too much in this compromised state, there is the potential for something akin to 9 goals for Mayne,Walters and Ballantyne, then loose change for Crozier, Silvagni and the midfield, this should see a happy Virgin flight back to Perth, with a "couple of licks of the ice cream" as I think Ross put it. Not to take anything away from GC. A shoddy uniform, yes, but they're building to something. Very impressive future list.

Back on topic - if they play Silvagni up forward, how do you see him presenting? I don't see him as having enough experience with leading patterns or breakaway speed to be an effective leading target. So reckon they will kick on his head and get him to crash packs and create a crumbing opportunity?

I thought his marking contests in the nab cup (when we had no Pav, Kep and Hannath was brand new) weren't bad. Big strong leads and a couple of hanger atempts with pretty poor delivery. The issue I had was that he led to the sidelines a bit so spills were rolling outta bounds.

Stats mean nothing. They call a kick from a centre clearance that is marked by the opposition team a turnover/bad kick. Watch Barlow kick the ball then talk to me.

I disagree that stats are meaningless. They don’t tell the full story are a very good indicator of performance in several key areas, which is why the clubs coaching staff don’t agree with your position. Also, a kick from a centre clearance that is marked by the opposition IS a turnover.

I do watch Barlow, every week, and I maintain my position that he is not a bad kick and that he is certainly not the turnover merchant that some on here make him out to be. As I pointed out in another thread, this year his kicks have hit the target >80% of the time, which is better than Jobe Watson.

From an older member but irregular poster - I am tired of the egocentrism on the board in particular in more recent times. I enjoy reading the various views of members. Save the bull$hit for the opposition.

Hear hear. Certain individuals tend to overshadow the football discussions and tend to derail half the threads I read. Leave it in your pants boys.

I leave mine tucked into my sock

As a secondary observation - didn't someone mention that Ross was getting the guys to move the ball quickly? It's probably a reflection of the need to rely less on winning 1v1 battles but catching them on the hop before they can roll back and set up. With Hill out I wonder also if Ballas/Walters will rotate through the middle more than usual to give some leg speed through there.
umm, Walters isn't that quick.

He just looks quicker because he is usually in the right spot.

His first few steps are pretty good. I notice that the commentators who are jumping on the bandwagon are all calling him pacy. McLure before the game against Richmond was going on about his pace.

That’s because they are a blowhard idiots. Walters is of average pace and agility compared to a quality AFL small forward. What he is is outstandingly highly skilled and blessed with wonderful balance. Above he is a quality footballer. As jusjoshin says he looks quick because he has figured out where to be heading before his opponents.

Walters is of average pace and agility compared to a quality AFL small forward.

I disagree on the agility part, he is quite evasive IMO without being very quick as you've said.

I'm an Essendon supporter who knows how to take defeat when my team has been beaten by a better team, something which I don't think Freo supporters have been ale to grasp yet
Your team are drug cheats, something your ******* supporters seen unable to grasp.

Well, that was a bizarre evening on the terraces.

Essendon trolls with a Freo alias.

Ghost Pig, of all people, being dragged into it.

Anyway, if anybody else states that Dawson will go forward, I will have to fight them.

And is it homo that I had a dream last night about Hannath kicking 4.2 this weekend?

That’s because they are a blowhard idiots. Walters is of average pace and agility compared to a quality AFL small forward. What he is is outstandingly highly skilled and blessed with wonderful balance. Above he is a quality footballer. As jusjoshin says he looks quick because he has figured out where to be heading before his opponents.
He also has the ability to make himself invisible in the forward line and then suddenly reappear in space on the end of a pass right in front of goal. Mad Ninja skills like this beat pure speed every time!

It does sort of beg the question though, if someone can use their footy smarts and evasion to consistently find a few seconds ahead of everyone else to kick at goal then is that quick? Just because his actual running top speed isn't good, if his fast muscle twitch, reactions and anticipation are good enough to make space at AFL level then isn't that pace? Maybe not in a pure athletic sense but in a normative real world sense it is.
I don't disagree that he isn't a fast runner, just think its an interesting distinction.

He also has the ability to make himself invisible in the forward line and then suddenly reappear in space on the end of a pass right in front of goal. Mad Ninja skills like this beat pure speed every time!

It does sort of beg the question though, if someone can use their footy smarts and evasion to consistently find a few seconds ahead of everyone else to kick at goal then is that quick? Just because his actual running top speed isn't good, if his fast muscle twitch, reactions and anticipation are good enough to make space at AFL level then isn't that pace? Maybe not in a pure athletic sense but in a normative real world sense it is.
I don't disagree that he isn't a fast runner, just think its an interesting distinction.

I don't think what you are talking about should be considered "speedy" or "pacy". But I do think it's actually more important than leg speed. It's the reason Paul Hasleby was a better footballer than Clayton Hinkley.

True. But I think you would find Walters first couple of steps are pretty decent. And thats what counts around goal.

umm, Walters isn't that quick.

He just looks quicker because he is usually in the right spot.

Replace speed with evasiveness then :p You get the idea of what I was trying to say - Fyfe has that knack of reading the play and appearing in the right spot that Walters has too, it'll go some way to getting the ball clear if he floats around the pack at a stoppage

News Official Teams - Rnd 6 GC Vs Fremantle