Oppo Camp Other Clubs News/General Discussion

Rumour has it Grundy cooks a mean stroganoff so he will redeem himself via Goodwin's stomach
I think he's had a change of heart and wants to go back home.
Gotta feel a little for Melbourne taking him on.
If the same situation happened to us we would all be seething.

I think he's had a change of heart and wants to go back home.
Gotta feel a little for Melbourne taking him on.
If the same situation happened to us we would all be seething.
Have you got a quote or something to back this up with? Other than speculation from G Lyon?

If I was Melbourne, I would have been targeting Darcy Cameron originally. Much better fit with less potential drama at the time.

It might be sacrilege - but Cameron for Grundy with Melbourne chipping in on the wage I would do in a heartbeat.

Are we expected to take Grundy's word for it? It was reported on Footy Classified that we wanted him to stay but to also take a pay cut. Grundy chose not to. You can't prove what Grundy said is true, just likr FC can't prove that it's not.

I believe him. I doubt we would have had the gall to ask him to take a paycut, as I bet we didn't pay way over his contract when he was flying as the dual Copeland, dual AA ruck on a middling contract.

Misled him why?
Because of his bad form being dropped once to the VFL?
Please tell me
Because he was brought in under the impression Gawn would be playing forward, and Grundy as the main ruck. It was stupid list management, but the players and coaches bought into it too.

Grundy was playing well when Gawn went down, and Gawn dominated last week. Both want to and should be #1 rucks on whatever team they are on.

I believe him. I doubt we would have had the gall to ask him to take a paycut, as I bet we didn't pay way over his contract when he was flying as the dual Copeland, dual AA ruck on a middling contract.
Sorry bro but there is no way a pay cut didn't come into the conversation. You've overlooked the present His AA form left him 4 years ago and even in his prime there were plenty of question marks, especially his marking

If I was Melbourne, I would have been targeting Darcy Cameron originally. Much better fit with less potential drama at the time.

It might be sacrilege - but Cameron for Grundy with Melbourne chipping in on the wage I would do in a heartbeat.
I wouldn't. Darcy is a way more competent forward so fits our set up better

Sorry bro but there is no way a pay cut didn't come into the conversation. You've overlooked the present His AA form left him 4 years ago and even in his prime there were plenty of question marks, especially his marking
Contracts are a gamble for both parties. Sometimes the club wins and the bloke far outperforms his contract and sometimes the club loses. Do clubs go, jeez mate you way outperformed your contract over the last few years, here's an extra million - we'll take it from Ben Reid as he's been paid a heap to be in rehab?

Grundy has been well compensated for his 2 years of good football. clubs extend players contracts while they are still contracted all the time. Of coarse clubs say, " you are performing so well that we are extending your contract", it's happening now with McCreery. I don't even see how your claim makes sense in relation to grundy. It's simple, the club would have told him time he is under performing compared to what he's being paid. We can't afford to pay you what you are currently on, so you either take a pay cut or we will trade you. Simples

Clubs extend contracts based on what they think the player will do in the future, which is different to back paying previous overachievement relative to the contract. If they've got someone on unders, which Grundy was in his great years, that's what they pay them - same as if they've got someone on overs.

So if the club makes a bet that the bloke will be worth this much for this long, the bloke gets that money, as he doesn't get extra if it turns out he was worth a whole lot more.

That's what you imagine happened. But the version I have been told is that there was never a discussion around a pay cut. More statements along the lines of "every person who was involved in negotiating your deal is no longer at the club".

Not sure why you find it so hard to believe a pay cut wasn't brought up as an option.

I reckon he'll be stay, and be alright, personally.

Storm in a teacup this issue.
44 minutes ago.

SIMON Goodwin insists Melbourne is not trying to turn Brodie Grundy into a permanent forward and has slammed "hysteria" about the ruckman's future with the Demons.

44 minutes ago.

SIMON Goodwin insists Melbourne is not trying to turn Brodie Grundy into a permanent forward and has slammed "hysteria" about the ruckman's future with the Demons.
What else can Goodwin say. But the reality is that Gawn playing first ruck and Brodie in the VFL improves Melbourne's forward line, their midfield and their defence.

Grundy will be back the following week I think.

Oppo Camp Other Clubs News/General Discussion