Injury Ottens' injury

Are you a doctor?

No mate. I have just been well informed by those in the medical industry as to the mismanagement that tends to occur when treating injuries, particularly in the AFL. Feel free to disagree with me, I'm aware the majority of people tend to accept that the treatment path taken when managing player injuries is always the right one, however the simple fact of the matter is that the age-old cure of rest is being irresponsibly replaced by surgery as clubs become impatient with slow healing, and it is resulting in terrible outcomes.

I reckon a more likely scenario is that Otto actually did an ACL back in April or whenever it was, and that rather than all the hysteria that news likely to create, the club has just been slow-playing these setbacks ... knowing full well they'd be without him all year.

Why would they do that? Absolutely no benefit to the club. If anything it places Blake and co. under more pressure. Clubs don't normally hide season ending injuries, there is no point.

Maybe surgery isn't always the best answer! What a shock! If this is true, perhaps all of those who have taken the piss out of my opinions regarding both Otto and Matty Egan will stop thinking irrationally. Who would have thought an infection could result from surgery! Blows me away. Impatient choices to opt for surgery can have severe consequences. Wouldn't surprise me if this was true at all.

But they weren't yours sunno. You have just taken what someone has said to you and run with it.

The piss continues I'm afraid

That's it,we're screwed.Let's unite and rip up our membership tickets because we clearly can't win another game if Otto is out for the season.

Your damn right. Can cover him in H&A games but we will be exposed if we don't have in in the finals. He is one of the most important players in our team. No ottens = no flag

I sincerely hope your being sarcastic. If we cant win because of one player then we dont deserve the Flag basically. Not only that, but the Hawks won the Grand Final just fine without an uber amazing ruckman.

we have all come to know that jubjub is a very sarcastic person so i hope you didn't take him seriously

So why not say Josh Hunt would be back for Round 5 and then string it out further? Fair dinkum UNBELIEVABLE!

we have all come to know that jubjub is a very sarcastic person so i hope you didn't take him seriously

Not sure FF07 realised it was sarcasm in my post.Some people act like drama queens if a certain player,in this case Ottens,is out.The nuffies fail to realise we have won every game since his injury in Rd2.If I wanted to be really sarcastic I could point out that Ottens played in the 08 GF.And how did we do in that game ?

Some people just need to relax and stop being such worry warts.

Yeah, all is not lost, however it would be a real kick in the groin if we were to lose to St Kilda in the GF and their ruck dominance (particularly King over Blake) was a telling factor in the game.

Also if Charlie Gardiner came back at half time (after the AFL brings in the new substitute rule in GF week (also note you can sub in recently delisted players)) and kicked 10 goals including the one after the siren to win them the game, that would suck too.

Not sure FF07 realised it was sarcasm in my post.Some people act like drama queens if a certain player,in this case Ottens,is out.The nuffies fail to realise we have won every game since his injury in Rd2.If I wanted to be really sarcastic I could point out that Ottens played in the 08 GF.And how did we do in that game ?

Some people just need to relax and stop being such worry warts.

Would you be worrying yourself silly if we lost... MATHEW SCARLETT:eek::eek:??

Ottens missed the first 9 in 2008 - Geelong lost one match.

Played the rest of the year - Geelong lost one match - the Grand Final.

Ottens plays 1 full game and a handful of minutes so far in 2009, misses the next 9 - Geelong still undefeated.

Geelong is capable of winning matches without Ottens.

Geelong is capable of winning games in September without Ottens.

Geelong is capable of winning the Grand Final without Ottens.

Sure, it would be better with him there but if he isn't, he isn't.

It isn't like Geelong loses heaps of matches when he misses games.

Capable, sure.
We're always in with a shot.
But cast your mind back to prelim 08.
I've always said he almost single handedly won us that game. Kept us in it when the chips were down, paving the way for Gaz and Dog Johnson to shine through in the last. Let's not forget who palmed the ball to Gaz for the sealing goal.

Now that the doomsaying is out of the way, if Ottens is out Blake and Mummy just have to shoulder more responsibilty and we soldier on.

TC:eek:

Capable, sure.
I've always said he almost single handedly won us that game. Kept us in it when the chips were down, paving the way for Gaz and Dog Johnson to shine through in the last. Let's not forget who palmed the ball to Gaz for the sealing goal.

Now that the doomsaying is out of the way, if Ottens is out Blake and Mummy just have to shoulder more responsibilty and we soldier on.

You are spot on with the bolded part.

I've been waiting for someone to bring up the Prelim against Collingwood (which I assume you mean) to support the Ottens out nay-saying. It could be argued that Stokes getting loose in the first quarter and kicking 3 was significant or Steve Johnson's burst in the 2nd quarter gave Geelong some breathing space or Joel Corey's smother in the 3rd turned the momentum back Geelong's way. Hell, a lot of people think that if Josh Fraser had played the result would have been different - from memory Collingwood's ruck stocks were pretty thin that night - Byron and Richards??

Not that I disagree that Ottens was BOG that night. :thumbsu:

Besides, that game can be countered with the '08 Grand Final where Ottens DID play and we all know the result :mad: And yes, that is being sarcastic.

I know where you are heading with this and we all AGREE that Ottens playing makes Geelong a better team and clearly it would be better to have him playing during September however his loss is not all doom and gloom as some make it out to be.

I personally would be far more concerned if Geelong lost Scarlett or Mooney. Those two are far more important to Geelong's structure than Ottens IMO. Don't forget Thompson's comments after the Bulldogs game regarding Mooney.

Blake and Mumford (and West) can cover Ottens.

I'm not too sure Scarlett or Mooney have natural replacements right now.

I have a credible source (cats81) that Brad Ottens was seen at Margrets Pies and Pastries eating a donut. Inside this donut was jam.

He was also seen talking to a stray small dog.

Capable, sure.

07 yer?

sorry to be so cynical, but do you really think that this information has leaked to some random on bigfooty, who has then been willing to post it, then does it seem rather implausable, that with the saturation of media personnel following the game these days, that no one else has heard about this and subsequently reported it? if this 'very credible source' has decided to divulge this supposed top secret information to this poster, why has it not been divulged to someone who has decided to follow up on it. i'm calling shenaningans.

You are spot on with the bolded part.

I've been waiting for someone to bring up the Prelim against Collingwood (which I assume you mean) to support the Ottens out nay-saying. It could be argued that Stokes getting loose in the first quarter and kicking 3 was significant or Steve Johnson's burst in the 2nd quarter gave Geelong some breathing space or Joel Corey's smother in the 3rd turned the momentum back Geelong's way. Hell, a lot of people think that if Josh Fraser had played the result would have been different - from memory Collingwood's ruck stocks were pretty thin that night - Byron and Richards??

Not that I disagree that Ottens was BOG that night. :thumbsu:

Besides, that game can be countered with the '08 Grand Final where Ottens DID play and we all know the result :mad: And yes, that is being sarcastic.

I know where you are heading with this and we all AGREE that Ottens playing makes Geelong a better team and clearly it would be better to have him playing during September however his loss is not all doom and gloom as some make it out to be.

I personally would be far more concerned if Geelong lost Scarlett or Mooney. Those two are far more important to Geelong's structure than Ottens IMO. Don't forget Thompson's comments after the Bulldogs game regarding Mooney.

Blake and Mumford (and West) can cover Ottens.

I'm not too sure Scarlett or Mooney have natural replacements right now.

Yeah apologies, I did mean the '07 prelim as someone else pointed out, not '08.

I was going to mention Stokes' performance in the 1st qtr also being key, but I really feel the big man always just kept us in hanging by our teeth even when we weren't performing. And like I said he just set the stage with that perfect palm to Jnr for that great goal.

I personally feel Ottens is the most important player in our team, ahead of Scarlett and Mooney as you pointed out. But of course I don't think we're a write off without him.

If for nothing else I'd feel terrible for the bloke himself if he missed out and if we did achieve something great this year. He was really a big part in this club's turn around IMO and epitomises what the current team stands for, as shown in his rundown of Pettigrew in '07 (my fave moment of the day).

Feel similar about Egan; it's a tragedy what's happened to him - he also I feel was a large part of our success in '07 yet didn't get the ultimate reward. I only hope he comes back and gets another crack.

egan was a big part in our success in 07 only by way of holding down chb for a year. im not taking anything away from matthew egan, but he played a part, much the same way harry taylor has in the past 2 years. it very important to have a very good player play that role, but as taylor has shown, its a part that you can find other people to play. the 3 most crucial geelong players i think are mooney, scarlett and ottens. we lack quality tall men, and these three give us a nice spine to even us up.

Injury Ottens' injury