- Jun 10, 2014
- AFL Club
- Collingwood
They may upgrade 2 given their picks are in the 70's after pick 33
Good to see Hawthorn sending a message to Gunston.
They may upgrade 2 given their picks are in the 70's after pick 33
It was a joke Joyce - Gunston still a valuable player. And the benefit of delisting/re-rookie Gunston is that you aren't creating another free agent.I reckon if you are considering delisting and rooking someone, you might as well just delist and pay out altogether. give youngsters a shot on the rookie list.
And I was serious. If you are delisting someone, you clearly are okay with them being elsewhere. Because you never know if another club will come knockingIt was a joke Joyce - Gunston still a valuable player. And the benefit of delisting/re-rookie Gunston is that you aren't creating another free agent.
I guess they could have 3 draftees in mind but if one goes before our pick then they just upgrade one of the 2 rookies.Good point.
Given we’re already downgrading two to the rookie list I can’t see why they’d turn around and upgrade one. That would just be moving the deck chairs?
Think there are some players you can be pretty confident with not being tempted to go elsewhere if anyone was interested. A veteran like Gunston would be one of themAnd I was serious. If you are delisting someone, you clearly are okay with them being elsewhere. Because you never know if another club will come knocking
But I know its more about creating a list spot, but given their delistments and retirees, surely they have enough for 3 spots.
I guess they could have 3 draftees in mind but if one goes before our pick then they just upgrade one of the 2 rookies.
I reckon if you are considering delisting and rooking someone, you might as well just delist and pay out altogether. give youngsters a shot on the rookie list.
Who is their captain?
Yes agree totally, I was just making a point there could be a reason to rookie a player and then upgrade him in the draft period without it just being like moving the deck chairs.Depends how long their list is. Probably good thing this draft is deep
Could always pick up one of our academy players if it came to that
WHy would they have a captain, I thought they folded as a club and were relocated to the Gold Coast.Who is their captain?
I thought it was SinclairJack Steele.
Wouldn't recognise him if I bumped into him.
Let's nab him! There's our key forward for Fly lol. All in on Dads Army for 2025. Only just turned 33 so can still have another 2-3 years as a key forward left.Good to see Hawthorn sending a message to Gunston.
Going by this, the player has to agree?
Hi Sideswipe, I’m just going off the current CBA rules which started 2024. The resources you have here are the previous CBA rules .You need to go to the correct document. With regard to how to determine what payments go to the TPP in any particular year, the operative document is the AFL Rules, not the CBA(don't need the pesky players interfering with cap calculations) - think the below might be the latest copy. Rule 28 is what you are looking for. A lot of the definitions come into it as well - the main one being that a player is no longer a Player once they are not on a List.
You are correct about the availability or unavailability of the buffer - so if the club was insane enough not to re-rookie a player, which then resulted in exceeding the TPP, and they didn't have an available buffer, they would cop a smack on the botty - in the form of sanctions - from the AFL.
Maybe think of what the Swans did with Tippett a few years back. He retired but they re-rookied him to get his payments into the next Footy Year.
FFS mate - I thought i was clear - the CBA is not the document. It is the AFL Rules. They don't run with the CBA. Did you read them?Hi Sideswipe, I’m just going off the current CBA rules which started 2024. The resources you have here are the previous CBA rules .
Below is the current CBA reference.
The other interesting thing I picked up in the new CBA is there is zero reference to the Rookie payments sitting outside the CAP . In fact it states all players are to be paid from the TPP.
Be worth it just to see the look on Sam Mitchells smug little faceLet's nab him! There's our key forward for Fly lol. All in on Dads Army for 2025. Only just turned 33 so can still have another 2-3 years as a key forward left.
Let Ash go completely.
Typo. I meant can’t.We can, but dean would be your best option, so basically we would be demoting markov and ash but upgrading dean, who is allowed to be on the rookie list for another year or two with the new rookie rules. So I don't think we'll promote anyone.
The above link indicates we'll use three.
Nah they clearly want to keep Gunston. Pretty sure that his management would be clear that at his age he’s more likely to retire than start at another new club if anyone is considering trying to take him.And I was serious. If you are delisting someone, you clearly are okay with them being elsewhere. Because you never know if another club will come knocking
But I know it’s more about creating a list spot, but given their delistments and retirees, surely they have enough for 3 spots.
Nah they clearly want to keep Gunston. Pretty sure that his management would be clear that at his age he’s more likely to retire than start at another new club if anyone is considering trying to take him.
Didn't they use to have a veteran's list? Perhaps that could be brought back & used for older players. And the rookie list reserved for younger players.
Rookie spots should be limited to players who have not been on a list previously. Imho