List Mgmt. Our Trade/FA, Suburban & Country Town Thread

Need Leppa to walk in there and remind GCS that we've never poached a single one of their players other than Henry Schade!

Meanwhile they've had Josh Fraser, Danny Stanley, Sam Iles, Jarrod Witts and soon to be JFN.

Not to mention the complete charity that was that Witts trade.

The Witts deal should be mentioned at the start of every conversation we have with GC, like doing the Welcome to Country.

Need Leppa to walk in there and remind GCS that we've never poached a single one of their players other than Henry Schade!

Meanwhile they've had Josh Fraser, Danny Stanley, Sam Iles, Jarrod Witts and soon to be JFN.

Not to mention the complete charity that was that Witts trade.

Not sure how it would fit into the calculations, but we did turn their delisted Oleg Markov into a Premiership player.

Has he also forgotten that in the last 3 drafts we've taken 5 kids ranked within the top 25-30 prospects in their pool? How many clubs have taken more than that in the last 3 drafts? Especially considering in that window we've played in a prelim and a GF.

2021 Draft: Nick Daicos
2022 Draft: Ed Allen, Jakob Ryan
2023 Draft: Harry De Matia, Tew Jiath

Yes, granted some of the above won't kick on - however there is also an equal chance whoever we grabbed with picks this year would also not come on as expected.
We've made 4 selections inside the top 30 over the last 3 drafts. How it compares to other clubs in the same period:

• North Melbourne = 10 (Jason Horne-Francis, Josh Goater, Harry Sheezel, George Wardlaw, Brayden George, Colby McKercher, Zane Duursma, Taylor Goad, Wil Dawson, Riley Hardeman)

• GWS = 8 (Finn Callaghan, Leek Aleer, Aaron Cadman, Harry Rowston, Darcy Jones, Max Gruzewski, Phoenix Gothard, James Leake)

• Hawthorn = 7 (Josh Ward, Sam Butler, Conor MacDonald, Cameron Mackenzie, Josh Weddle, Nick Watson, Will McCabe)
  • West Coast = 7 (Campbell Chesser, Reuben Ginbey, Elijah Hewett, Harry Barnett, Cody Burgiel, Harley Reid, Archer Reid)

• Gold Coast = 6 (Mac Andrew, Bailey Humphrey, Jed Walter, Ethan Read, Jake Rogers, Will Graham)

• Richmond = 5 (Josh Gibcus, Tom Brown, Tyler Sonsie, Sam Banks, Judson Clarke)
  • Western Bulldogs = 5 (Sam Darcy, Jedd Busslinger, Charlie Clarke, Ryley Sanders, Jordan Croft)
  • Sydney = 5 (Angus Sheldrick, Jacob Konstanty, Cooper Vickery, Will Green, Caiden Cleary)
  • Adelaide = 5 (Josh Rachele, Michael Michalanney, Daneil Curtin, Charlie Edwards, Oscar Ryan)

• Brisbane Lions = 4 (Darcy Wilmot, Kai Lohmann, Will Ashcroft, Jaspa Fletcher)
  • Essendon = 4 (Ben Hobbs, Elijah Tsatas, Lewis Hayes, Nate Caddy)
  • Geelong = 4 (Toby Conway, Mitch Knevitt, Jhye Clark, Connor O'Sullivan)
  • Melbourne = 4 (Jacob van Rooyen, Matthew Jefferson, Caleb Windsor, Koltyn Tholstrup)
  • Collingwood = 4 (Nick Daicos, Ed Allan, Jakob Ryan, Harry DeMattia)
  • St Kilda = 4 (Nasiah Wanganeen-Milera, Mattaes Phillipou, Darcy Wilson, Lance Collard)
  • Carlton = 4 (Jesse Motlop, Oliver Hollands, Lachlan Cowan, Ashton Moir)

• Fremantle = 3 (Jye Amiss, Neil Erasmus, Matthew Johnson)

• Port Adelaide = 1 (Josh Sinn)

50% of the competition has made the same number or less selections in the same period.

The irony is Port having made only 1 top 30 selection in the last 3 drafts, but it's crickets from Kane.

If that's the thinking, I think they've got it wrong. Pace-wise - Cripps, Walsh, Cerra vs Neale, Ashcroft, Dunkley vs what we won with in 2023.

It's the outside and transition where the blues suck because they don't have back half kickers or dashers and their flankers are plodders.
Bolded is exactly what i was referring to....just used the term "midfield" to describe it.

Where as we had Nobes, Nick, Crisp, Beau, bobby etc....they have....saad? anyone else jump out?
Even the guys they have draft / traded all are one paced.
That leg speed coupled with an ability to break a tackle (looking at you JDG / Pendles) is golden between the arcs.

Why would he request a trade after winning the 2025 flag?

Houston looks like a Carlton player. I reckon he gives off Marc Murphy vibes (*)

* Happy to eat those words if he ends up coming to us.

Houston playing this smart.

If he nominates a club that can usually piss everyone off.

Let them work it out behind the scenes.

Yep............wants to leave on good terms and nominating will decrease Port's leverage. Fair enough that he doesn't care about us having to deal with Carlton flogs for another week.

I guess you could say that last line is true, and I don't like the consensus spoken in here re trading vs drafting a team long term.
I'm hoping Flys comments were limited to this year and not perpetually looking to trade out.
Also you do realise Schultz was 26yo (is 27 next month), not 24-25, not against him coming in only the "desperation" cost to acquire of it (which has been doen ro death).

Over paying in direct trades imo eventually leads to an overall weakening of the list.

2 for 1 or even 3 for 1.
Trading out of future drafts also has hurt us, its made the gamble not only on a player but on an entire years results and draft horde.

We are hitting the draft in years where our first picks are high teens early 20s, and have lost picks in years we have high end picks. Save for FS saving us.

When I look at the talent coming through I just don't feel, that theres enough of it going to be that real upper end talent at AFL level.
Father son picks do come at a cost though. The early picks were spent on them ( or traded away so the points weren’t wasted)

It’s a bit flippant to say we “ lost picks” on them

Also with Jake Niall and others complaining about the failure of our 2020 draft haul, are there many players that would have been better choices at those picks? Besides Beau McReery.

Gulden the standout but he was academy. Max Holmes, Josh Treacy? And are we really losing sleep over delisting Caleb Poulter?

They are also forgetting that we got Nick Daicos and he is only 21.

We have drafted in the first round seven times in the last six drafts, including 2023 (HDM), 2022 (Allan), 2021 (Daicos), 2020 (Henry, Macrae, McInnes), and 2018 (Quaynor). If McGuane keeps tracking the way he has been we may still draft in the first round in 2025 even if we get Houston. What more do they want?

2019 was the only year we did not, which was admittedly bad because of the disastrous Beams trade. But you can also top up on young talent via trade, as Geelong did with Henry, and we did bringing in the (then 22-year-old) Bobby Hill and the (then 23-year-old). And trading for experienced players like Perryman and Houston is actually a good way to avoid a leadership vacuum after Pendles, Steele and co retire.

We don't need to get caught up in this moral panic.

Great post.

Yeah all eyes on Tom McGuane and I have no doubt if all the positive stuff on his development coming out (that us footy nuffies hear is true), then the Pies are setting ourselves to land him when the time comes, just like we did with Nick Diacos. And there was zero chance we weren't going to get Nick. Turned out pretty well huh. 😊

Not forgetting Harry DM ...
Nope i didn't forget him.

He didn't show anything last year that tells me he is a 5+ (i.e. 100 games) player for us.
The others i listed did.

Yes i'm aware of injuries and etc.

Looking for progress from him next year before i go either way with him.

Father son picks do come at a cost though. The early picks were spent on them ( or traded away so the points weren’t wasted)

It’s a bit flippant to say we “ lost picks” on them

Regards to that I'm saying we didn't make best use of them and sold NDs off prematurely for a heap of junk picks in a draft that was destroyed by covid.

If he truly wanted out he would of came out and named a club. Would of forced Melbourne's hand.

Reckon he just aired some grievances for changes to be made and gave out the or ill go threat.
All this is hypothetical. Re chasing Trac or Houston more with pick 13 if we got it.

The media are really all over Carlton today 😂

Blues fan Sammy Edmund says GC weren’t keen on what we offered. Please… he couldn’t be any more biased.
Word is GC dont want to give 23, Cal Twomey said this too on trade desk.

We've made 4 selections inside the top 30 over the last 3 drafts. How it compares to other clubs in the same period:

• North Melbourne = 10 (Jason Horne-Francis, Josh Goater, Harry Sheezel, George Wardlaw, Brayden George, Colby McKercher, Zane Duursma, Taylor Goad, Wil Dawson, Riley Hardeman)

• GWS = 8 (Finn Callaghan, Leek Aleer, Aaron Cadman, Harry Rowston, Darcy Jones, Max Gruzewski, Phoenix Gothard, James Leake)

• Hawthorn = 7 (Josh Ward, Sam Butler, Conor MacDonald, Cameron Mackenzie, Josh Weddle, Nick Watson, Will McCabe)
  • West Coast = 7 (Campbell Chesser, Reuben Ginbey, Elijah Hewett, Harry Barnett, Cody Burgiel, Harley Reid, Archer Reid)

• Gold Coast = 6 (Mac Andrew, Bailey Humphrey, Jed Walter, Ethan Read, Jake Rogers, Will Graham)

• Richmond = 5 (Josh Gibcus, Tom Brown, Tyler Sonsie, Sam Banks, Judson Clarke)
  • Western Bulldogs = 5 (Sam Darcy, Jedd Busslinger, Charlie Clarke, Ryley Sanders, Jordan Croft)
  • Sydney = 5 (Angus Sheldrick, Jacob Konstanty, Cooper Vickery, Will Green, Caiden Cleary)
  • Adelaide = 5 (Josh Rachele, Michael Michalanney, Daneil Curtin, Charlie Edwards, Oscar Ryan)

• Brisbane Lions = 4 (Darcy Wilmot, Kai Lohmann, Will Ashcroft, Jaspa Fletcher)
  • Essendon = 4 (Ben Hobbs, Elijah Tsatas, Lewis Hayes, Nate Caddy)
  • Geelong = 4 (Toby Conway, Mitch Knevitt, Jhye Clark, Connor O'Sullivan)
  • Melbourne = 4 (Jacob van Rooyen, Matthew Jefferson, Caleb Windsor, Koltyn Tholstrup)
  • Collingwood = 4 (Nick Daicos, Ed Allan, Jakob Ryan, Harry DeMattia)
  • St Kilda = 4 (Nasiah Wanganeen-Milera, Mattaes Phillipou, Darcy Wilson, Lance Collard)
  • Carlton = 4 (Jesse Motlop, Oliver Hollands, Lachlan Cowan, Ashton Moir)

• Fremantle = 3 (Jye Amiss, Neil Erasmus, Matthew Johnson)

• Port Adelaide = 1 (Josh Sinn)

50% of the competition has made the same number or less selections in the same period.

The irony is Port having made only 1 top 30 selection in the last 3 drafts, but it's crickets from Kane.
Fantastic work Ponsford - thanks for that. I think the numbers are even more skewed when you consider the absolute basket cases North and West Coast have been during that time, in which (similar to Richmond this year) they've had no choice but to load up heavily via the draft. Additionally looking at GC with 6, four of them were academy players - you could make a strong argument that the suns would not have had 6 top 30 picks in that time if not for matching bids on kids already tied to them.

List Mgmt. Our Trade/FA, Suburban & Country Town Thread