Ovens & Murray discussion 2023

I don’t know how these Vic players play a full season down here, April to September, then go up for a full season up north over summer in the heat, then come straight back & straight into another full season in Vic. Credit to them.

I know a few blokes that have done it past couple years, you’d think they’d want a break from footy. Physically and mentally.
Yep you don't see many O&m gv and Geelong players head up there consistently, most guys struggle when they come back down after doing it a couple of times, filo gave himself a break last year, I think it helped his form and the end of the year, will be interesting to see how he goes this year

“Gave himself a break” code for going on a multi day bender?

He missed games against Corowa and North Albury, Crezza knew what he was doing. Raiders pushed Filo away, where as Sullivan offered support in some tough times, clubs need to be smart and pick their battles. Brodie is a ripping bloke, he’s worth fighting for.

Will the club learn and just give him a month off in June? I reckon playing footy 12 months of the year, he'd need it, that way you don't an AWOL situation again

You’d like to hope so Trent. I totally agree, body and mind probably needs the break by then, he can please himself for a few weeks with no backlash. Baz is an extremely caring and intelligent operator, Muzza is pretty sympathetic to the rigours of the game, I’m guessing this will be the path they choose.

I don’t know how these Vic players play a full season down here, April to September, then go up for a full season up north over summer in the heat, then come straight back & straight into another full season in Vic. Credit to them.

I know a few blokes that have done it past couple years, you’d think they’d want a break from footy. Physically and mentally.

Saves doing preseasons.

I like that idea

Iirc Jack Yelland at 17 was the youngest ever player to represent Vic Country u19’s before going on to join Coburb VFL . U19 Vic Side was coached by Damien Sexton . Does Jack still go out with Sexton’s daughter chicken38 ?
Yeah Mate , Molly a Jack have both moved to Albury , Molly PE teacher at Albury high Jacks gone to Wodonga pretty sure good mate Jordan Taylor has been in his ear for a few years . Great pick up for wodonga

Lots of past AFL players trying to sue for damages from concussions, this could get messy. We will get broke former players trying to bleed the system at country footy level. I was concussed 17 times in my playing career, I’ve probably got CTE as well, I knew the risk when I hit the battlefield. It’s ludicrous to blame your low mood and this degenerating brain disorder on an organisation. What about players who are paralysed playing the game at local level? Should they be compensated, or is that the risk they take?

I think as it's their job it's supposed to be the employers duty of care. I would suggest if max rhooke didn't have a kamikaze attack on the ball and use his body as a battering ram, he would never played AFL, we all know there's risk playing footy, whether it be concussions or broken bones or tendons that require replacements later on, we could just not have footy

Complete lie. No vote.

I didn’t take it as gospel, just what I was told. Do you think we could find the big guy volunteering to drop back in the early game this year as work takes priority? I’d like to see him finish up out in the O&K to be honest, get a bit of a buzz back in to the league.

He actually played ressies in his 1st year at the club. Think he might finish on a high, which would count Whorouly out.

Let's get the band back together, just imagine juice resurrecting Kelly tigers as coach, I'd imagine that would tf would change his tune, juice would be above crezza

That explains a lot.
I think you may be suffering from a long term concussion. The evidence is damming. We have clear documented conversations of continual delusional behaviour.

Seek help

Ovens & Murray discussion 2023