• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Ovens & Murray discussion 2023

I think the oandm league office must have read all of tennis fans hand written letters.

Really good call by the league, ballsy, gutsy and in the right spirit of the game. If you're going to cheat, cover your tracks properly, anyone that thinks it was a simple mistake by a volunteer for this level of footy is kidding themselves. Most importantly all clubs are on notice, if you decide to try fudge the books there's pretty hefty penalties, none of the players fault though, they have no idea of finances they turn up and play, so you've gotta feel for them, how many will leave the club now?
Are you absolutely 100% sure not one of the players knew that their match payment/benefits provided was totally above board and within the salary cap? You could be right, but this decision can help other clubs by pushing back on players who are trying to inflate their playing price by showing what can happen when they are paid overs. That’s why I love Geelong’s model of getting players to play for unders and win premierships.

I'd be pretty sure players wouldn't know that the team is over the cap, they might know what there team mates are on but they're not going to get the calc out and check, it's not their role, they'd be feeling let down by the clubs admin, to have their glory taken away from them, pretty publicly, not the players fault at all.

There's always talk of some real estate at Ceres pretty cheap per hectare, if you play in the hoops as well

Just love the stuff on this platform . 100% rubbish , 100% of the time . e.g comments on the celery cap , and player points .
Yep the "celery" cap is a big one, look at all the cabbage players get paid, any other carrots of wisdom for us from the veggie patch chief?

Personally I don’t think the flag should have been stripped from them and this is coming from someone who use to play for the team across the road. Feel for the players a bit as they are copping the brunt of the blame, but at the end of it from all reports it was the clubs fault not the players. There could have been a better punishment for the club itself, instead of giving the players a whack too. All in all there’s been some pretty disgusting comments on all platforms towards them and pretty unwarranted as most people wouldn’t have a clue exactly what has happened so we have to go by what’s reported instead of making your own assumptions. All well and good to talk about it but some accusations from outsiders are pretty sad to read. I think everyone should take a leaf out of Yarra’s book as they were the ones hardest done by and they can act civil with a respectful and educated response as attached.

Attachments

• 2929A841-5F12-4DE0-993B-A2FFFA91712C.jpeg
    2929A841-5F12-4DE0-993B-A2FFFA91712C.jpeg
    184.7 KB · Views: 224
Personally I don’t think the flag should have been stripped from them and this is coming from someone who use to play for the team across the road. Feel for the players a bit as they are copping the brunt of the blame, but at the end of it from all reports it was the clubs fault not the players. There could have been a better punishment for the club itself, instead of giving the players a whack too. All in all there’s been some pretty disgusting comments on all platforms towards them and pretty unwarranted as most people wouldn’t have a clue exactly what has happened so we have to go by what’s reported instead of making your own assumptions. All well and good to talk about it but some accusations from outsiders are pretty sad to read. I think everyone should take a leaf out of Yarra’s book as they were the ones hardest done by and they can act civil with a respectful and educated response as attached.
So you think it’s ok to spend over the cap and still win a premiership? Of course Yarrawonga are humble in defeat, they know it was fair game.

I'd be pretty sure players wouldn't know that the team is over the cap, they might know what there team mates are on but they're not going to get the calc out and check, it's not their role, they'd be feeling let down by the clubs admin, to have their glory taken away from them, pretty publicly, not the players fault at all.

There's always talk of some real estate at Ceres pretty cheap per hectare, if you play in the hoops as well
Not sure their glory has been taken away! They won the GF,held up the cup,got their medals celebrated with family and friends for days and just like the Melbourne Storm will hold re unions which will be celebrated once again! Reckon no Premiership points at all in 2023 would hurt a lot more!

So you think it’s ok to spend over the cap and still win a premiership? Of course Yarrawonga are humble in defeat, they know it was fair game.
I think there could have been a better penalty to hurt the club more so than the players. Not their faults the club overspent no matter how you see it. Retrospective penalties are only given as warnings to the collective. I just think there could have been lasting penalties that hurt the club and administration as they are at fault not last years playing group.

On a side note… Just heard about myrts new signing that winter Irving. 20 head of cattle he got, looking for places to store them to grow for him as we speak. No pony looking into it, unless Myrt come forward and say we’ve made a mistake here first.

I thought when we talked cattle we were talking about players?

Geez. A lot of new posters on here ... certainly livened this thread up.

On a side note… Just heard about myrts new signing that winter Irving. 20 head of cattle he got, looking for places to store them to grow for him as we speak. No pony looking into it, unless Myrt come forward and say we’ve made a mistake here first.

Winter Irving will be pissed. The arse has fallen out of the cattle job.

May have been better a $300 Ampol Fuel card left in car

Not sure their glory has been taken away! They won the GF,held up the cup,got their medals celebrated with family and friends for days and just like the Melbourne Storm will hold re unions which will be celebrated once again! Reckon no Premiership points at all in 2023 would hurt a lot more!
That wouldn’t hurt more, there’s three sides who are miles ahead of them. You ever heard of respect? You earn it, can’t be bought, rarely can you get it back once lost, that’s been smashed to smithereens. Don’t worry, 2022 won’t be erased from the history books, the tale will be told for the next century. I reckon the reunion piss would taste a lot better when the prides still intact.

Hey TF should we expect a mass exodus from Rovers given they were over the salary cap last year. Surely other clubs in other leagues would be circling ... salary cap space and Rovers not having any.

Unless of course ...

Disagree! The feeling of victory when the siren goes cannot be taken away.The players felt it whilst the other clubs didn’t!
By taking away any chance of having that feeling(playing a season for no points) as well as forking out 125k for no points or losing a shit load of players would certainly hurt them more imo.
Not sure the players pride should waiver they didn’t cheat,they just won the comp!

Disagree! The feeling of victory when the siren goes cannot be taken away.The players felt it whilst the other clubs didn’t!
By taking away any chance of having that feeling(playing a season for no points) as well as forking out 125k for no points or losing a s**t load of players would certainly hurt them more imo.
Not sure the players pride should waiver they didn’t cheat,they just won the comp!
I hope there’s thick skin under those black and white feathers, I’m expecting the balcony to boil over in round one, they’ll be copping it all season from all angles. I’m calling for the silverware to be handed back, Jobe Watson was physically stripped when caught outside the rules.

Big W , how did you find this site ?

Welcome back mate

Lavington V Wodonga will be an interesting game, we should get a bit of an indication of where Wodonga are at after a good off season. I think Lavi will finish top three and burst out of the blocks.

By taking away any chance of having that feeling(playing a season for no points) as well as forking out 125k for no points or losing a s**t load of players would certainly hurt them more imo.
What will the standard be like if the salary cap is adhered to?

I fail to understand why Wang got belted when every man and their dog knew what was going on for the past couple of decades.

I’d be surprised if the Wang players copped abuse, a bit of banter yes, but leave the vitriol out of it.

Jobe Watson being stripped of his Brownlow was a bloody joke and most true football people agree with that!Nothingbto do with this issue at all!

Ovens & Murray discussion 2023