Pick the XI for Boxing Day v India

Part-time spinners don't tend to get many overs on early-season green-tops.

Also, he's been in shit form with the ball. Still needs a fair while before he's bowling with any consistency.

What would you expect him to average with the ball over a season?

He has never looked more than a part-timer to me, so saying he's not in form, you must expect him to be taking regular wickets.

What would you expect him to average with the ball over a season?

He has never looked more than a part-timer to me, so saying he's not in form, you must expect him to be taking regular wickets.

Smith could average under 40 at FC level I reckon. He's just all over the place at the moment. Over his career he's taking a wicket an innings (more if you discount Tests), while this season he's taken one wicket for 158 runs across three innings at Shield level. Not to mention his poor showing with the ball in the Australia A game.

Smith's got talent with the ball, make no mistake, but he's terribly inconsistent. He's also 22, so it's to be expected, but that doesn't change the fact that he's bowling very badly this season.

Yeah, I get the feeling after seeing what Pattinson can do today a lot of people (selectors included) might be turned around on his inclusion.

Just no Starc, please.

Starc just doesn't look very threatening to the batsman. This picking a left handed for variation just needs to stop, pick your 3 best bowlers and Starc is a long way off.

-we won' see Starc again for a while- not ready yet
-Pattinson has shown that the sky is the limit- big strong, moves it at pace
-Obviously Cummins will be in if fit.
-Pattinson and Cummins need to be given every opportunity along with Lyon.
- Assuming Harris needs to be fit and then needs to prove it
Marsh will take Warners place. I think Husseys days are coming to an end and he is keeping Watson from dropping down the order.

So for Boxing day I would go

Hussey ( lets find a your opener in the next 12 months)
Khawaja
Marsh
Ponting
Clarke
Watson
Haddin
Siddle
Pattinson
Cummins
Lyon

-we won' see Starc again for a while- not ready yet
-Pattinson has shown that the sky is the limit- big strong, moves it at pace
-Obviously Cummins will be in if fit.
-Pattinson and Cummins need to be given every opportunity along with Lyon.
- Assuming Harris needs to be fit and then needs to prove it
Marsh will take Warners place. I think Husseys days are coming to an end and he is keeping Watson from dropping down the order.

So for Boxing day I would go

Hussey ( lets find a your opener in the next 12 months)
Khawaja
Marsh
Ponting
Clarke
Watson
Haddin
Siddle
Pattinson
Cummins
Lyon

watson would never bat 6, Hussey wont open marsh more likely would, khawaja is not going to open any time soon either, book marked for no.3

Hughes cops a lot of flack considering he is ahead of Matthew Hayden at the same point in there career, he hit a ton we loved him, made nothing hated him, hit 88 loved him etc etc. I cant see whole sale changes being made with only one test v NZ in between

Hughes is too good for FC cricket. However, he is not good enough for test cricket, yet. The thing is, if we put him back for NSW, he'll make the runs, no problems, and his numbers will demand to be picked.

Harris, if fit, will play.

What's our bowling pecking order now?
Harris, Cummins, Pattinson, Siddle... ??

Siddle maybe higher simply due to his 'experience', but you gotta say the two young quicks may be 'better' fast bowlers.

I think this is the side that will be picked:

Hughes (they seem to like him more than Khawaja)
Watson
Marsh
Ponting
Clarke
Hussey
Haddin
Harris (Siddle if Harris is unfit)
Pattinson/Siddle
Cummins
Lyon

I do still think we should continue to go down this 'youth' path and pick Pattinson, Cummins when we can, and Khawaja as well.

Here is my Boxing Day Test XI

David Warner
Shane Watson
Usman Khawaja
Ricky
Michael Clarke (CAPTAIN)
Daniel Christian
Brad Haddin
Peter Siddle
James Pattinson
Patrick Cummins
Nathan Lyon

The selectors have the option of using Usman Khawaja as David Warner's opening partner and batting Shane Watson at 3.

If the selectors want to drop Shane Watson down the order, his preferred position is first drop. He loves to play agaisnt the new ball and the number 3 position is an attacking position in the batting order. The number 3 batsman's role is to set the tone of the innings and wrestle the ascendacy from the opposition through counter attacks et al.

Back in January 1989, the Australian selectors picked Mark Taylor. This gave them the chance to drop David Boon down to the number 3 position. Boon's history in the middle order during the 1984-1985 period was woeful. He was accustomed to playing against the new ball. Shane Watson shares the similar traits to the 1985 version of David Boon.

My team assuming all are fit and Ponting hasn't retired:

Watson
Khawaja
Marsh
Ponting
Clarke
Hussey
Haddin (has saved himself now against easy opposition)
Harris
Pattinson
Lyon
Cummins

Warner the backup batsman. Copeland backup bowler.

This is team I reckon they'll go with, if all of them are avail and fit enough:

Watson
Warner
Khawaja/Marsh
Ponting
Clarke
Hussey
Haddin
Harris/Siddle/Bollinger/Copeland- in that order
Pattinson/Hazlewood- in that order
Cummins
Lyon

:thumbsu:

I've had enough of Phil Hughes getting out for not many by getting out caught in the slips. I think Warner is probably as risky, but seems to have more shots at his disposal and scores to more areas of the ground.
I wouldn't mind seeing Hughes tried at 3 at some stage, but there are too many other better options than him at the moment.
The number 3 spot is probably up for grabs and if Usman makes a big score or two in Tassie then they may stick with him, as Marsh's body is so un-reliable.

Hughes
Warner
Khawaja
Watson
Clarke
Hussey
Wade
Pattinson
Siddle
Cummins
Lyon

Top Order

Give Hughes and Warner time to settle. They'll be a good combination, as Hughes is too good for FC Cricket, and Warner's cieling is so high. I just have the feeling that they'll be our new Hayden and Langer combo, thats what my gut is telling me. And my gut is usually fairly accurate. If Khawaja continues his form he'll play at 3, which means sorry S. Marsh, you're going to miss out. These three are our future. Play them

Middle Order

I reckon Punter is going to pull the pin, just a feeling I've got, wants to finish in Hobart. Which means we get Watson down to 4, which is ideal for Australia, as he'll be able to bowl more overs. Clarke is a number 5. It's clear. I also have a feeling that this'll be Husseys last series. Give him a fairwell at Adelaide or Perth (whichever is the last one). Replace him with Shaun Marsh. Wade is in fantastic form and should be rewarded. His batting average is higher than Gilly's when he replaced Heals, so, play him.

Bowlers

Easiest to pick IMO. You have two quality young fast bowlers in Patto and Cummins, and Siddle provides experience, but Cummins and Patto have to open the bowling, our two future fast bowling superstars. I'd be replacing Siddle for Faulkner soon though, gives us a balanced fast bowling attack. Lyon is in fantastic form, will be a solid spinner for years to come. Clarke and Watson can also bowl a bit too.

Lot of these post are pretty crap.

Starc won't get another game, shit house bowler.

Warner
Watson
Marsh
Ponting
Clarke
Hussey
Haddin ( probably done enough with a good 60 in SA and 80 last game )
Siddle
Pattinson
Cummins
Lyon

12th man: Dan Chirstian

Give Hughes and Warner time to settle. They'll be a good combination, as Hughes is too good for FC Cricket, and Warner's cieling is so high. I just have the feeling that they'll be our new Hayden and Langer combo, thats what my gut is telling me. And my gut is usually fairly accurate.

I reckon Punter is going to pull the pin, just a feeling I've got, wants to finish in Hobart. Which means we get Watson down to 4, which is ideal for Australia, as he'll be able to bowl more overs. Clarke is a number 5. It's clear. I also have a feeling that this'll be Husseys last series.
Lots of feelings and messages from your gut going on here.

While it's enough to totally convince me, some humbugs might annoyingly suggest that arguments rooted in actual evidence are more persuasive.

Just saying.

I know, if people want statistics for Hughes/Warner, Warner averaged 60 in FC cricket before this test, Hughes over 50 as well. They're not going to improve in FC cricket, they will in test cricket. Ponting? He looks like he's playing his last few tests to me, dunno why or how I get this feeling, I just do

Marsh is an interesting one. Can't believe the post above saying he would miss out but Hughes would play :eek:

Of Usman, Warner, Hughes, Hughes is the one who needs to go.

With Watson back that leaves Marsh, Warner, Usman competing for two spots.

Then again, Marsh aint from NSW so maybe he doesn't get a few years of failing before he gets dropped.

If I was made selector this is what I'd do (which means this has no chance of happening)

Warner - From the opposition point of view, where do you bowl?
Kawaja - Looks smooth and unflappable. So did that other left handed, baby faced opener we used to have. What was his name again? Longer? Linger? Langer that was it.
Marsh - Can handle the new ball if one of the openers goes cheap, but can cash in at 3
Ponting - Farewell tour in Aus. Should be 'convinced' to retire after indian series
Clarke - 5 for better or for worse, seems to be his spot.
Watson - Time to pony up and put the team first. We want you bowling 50ish overs per game. This will allow you to. Open the ODIs and 20/20 if you must ala gilly, but tests #6.
Haddin/Wade - Did Haddin save his spot in the first test against the kiwis? Maybe to lose it in the second?
Siddle - best as a first change bowler, always has been.
Pattinson - opening bowler
Harris - opening bowler
Lyon - Consistency with a spinner? Perish the thought. I personally prefer Hauritz but I cannot deny Lyon deserves his spot. The real fun starts if the Indians spank him.

Reasons for not picking Cummins/Hazelwood :
Playing two rookie quicks against the indians is just asking for trouble. Heaven forbid that Hazelwood replaces Starc in tasmania and we start thinking a bowling attack of Cummins/Pattinson/Hazel/Lyon will get 20 wickets per game. They haven't got 20 tests between them. Lambs to slaughter.
Harris (when fit) has been our best bowler by a country mile.
Combining those two arguments it becomes apparent for the need to keep siddle at first change and a battle between cummins and pattinson for the new ball. Pattinson bowls fuller and gets more movement. Cummins pace against top quality batsmen will only do so much.

Reasons for not picking Hussey.
Will India have a spinner? Yes.
Will India have a backpad for said spinner? Yes
Goodbye hussey.
OR
Will India have some one capable of bowling 135+ km/h? Yes
Shortish, outside off? Yes
Will they set a gully? Yes
Goodbye Hussey.

dunno why or how I get this feeling, I just do
I would like to hear more about your feelings.

They are really illuminating and a perfect substitute for reasoned analysis.

I would like to hear more about your feelings.

They are really illuminating and a perfect substitute for reasoned analysis.
They are when they're on the money and the "reasoned analysis" is not.
If using "reasoned analysis", would Ian Healy have been plucked out of the wilderness to play test cricket for Australia? Or would Patrick Cummins have been picked to play a test against Sth Africa, after taking just 9 first class wickets, at 46, or whatever and having not played a first class game in months?
Would Shane Ellis have been played forward in the 1997 GF for Adelaide, after playing basically his whole career in the backline, only to kick 5 goals from nowhere in the GF?
The examples in sport of great things happening that would never have been likely to have happened had "reasoned analysis" been used, would be able to fill a book.
The likes of Malcolm Blight would most likely never have had the sort of success they did without making the gut-feel sort of decisions they made. That's where true genius and inspiration comes from.
If "reasoned analysis" was all that was needed then all we would need would be a computer to pick the team.

Watson
Warner
Khawaja
Ponting
Clarke
Hussey
Hack
Siddle
Pattinson/Harris
Cummins/Harris
Lyon

Harris, Cummins, Pattinson to rotate through the series to try to avoid the inevitable injuries.

I don't know what to do with Shaun Marsh though. I guess ideally Hussey would be retired but that won't happen. And Marsh deserves his no 3 spot ahead of Usman but that wont happen either since Usman is NSW and Marsh isn't.

Bit of a dilemma but since we now have some competition for spots in the batters, Hughes needs to be discarded and one of Hussey or Ponting needs to go very soon.

Team should be:

Warner
Khawaja
Marsh
Ponting
Clarke
Watson
Anyone but Haddin
etc etc

Marsh is an interesting one. Can't believe the post above saying he would miss out but Hughes would play :eek:

Of Usman, Warner, Hughes, Hughes is the one who needs to go.

With Watson back that leaves Marsh, Warner, Usman competing for two spots.

Then again, Marsh aint from NSW so maybe he doesn't get a few years of failing before he gets dropped.

I shouldn't bite, but this theory is so far from the truth.

Hussey?
North?
Johnson?
Siddle?

They are when they're on the money and the "reasoned analysis" is not.
If using "reasoned analysis", would Ian Healy have been plucked out of the wilderness to play test cricket for Australia? Or would Patrick Cummins have been picked to play a test against Sth Africa, after taking just 9 first class wickets, at 46, or whatever and having not played a first class game in months?
Would Shane Ellis have been played forward in the 1997 GF for Adelaide, after playing basically his whole career in the backline, only to kick 5 goals from nowhere in the GF?
The examples in sport of great things happening that would never have been likely to have happened had "reasoned analysis" been used, would be able to fill a book.
The likes of Malcolm Blight would most likely never have had the sort of success they did without making the gut-feel sort of decisions they made. That's where true genius and inspiration comes from.
If "reasoned analysis" was all that was needed then all we would need would be a computer to pick the team.
OK.

In future, let's ignore evidence, and instead just go with our feelings, because Shane Ellen kicked 5 goals in the 1997 GF.

People who don't know anything will love that.