Picks 33, 38 and 53: What to do.

33. Dan Markworth .(Mid/Fwd)

100% agree with you.

If this kid is still around @ Pick 33. it would be a steal!!!

Pick #33 - Daniel Markworth (189cm midfielder - Calder Cannons)
19 year old, bit of a late starter and definitely looking like he could be one of the years big bolters. His late rise is not overly surprising, given his speed and agility coupled with some clean disposal. Has played pretty much every position on the ground, just needs to now settle into one. At first, it might be as a forward but eventually he'll move into the midfield. AFL Comparison: Isaac Smith. Back Up for this pick - Josh Waldhuter

Pick #38 - Josh Waldhuter (184cm midfielder - Central Districts)
After bumping Waldhuter up the rankings a bit, I think I've successfully hyped him up and can now put him back to a more realistic 25-35 range. Waldhuter is as inside as they come in this draft. Highly rated SA midfielder, but was overshadowed by Grigg in the Championships. He is a tough midfielder and a very good kick, but he also has a decent turn of speed. Outside of the top few, Waldhuter is likely to have the most immediate impact. AFL Comparison: Brent Moloney.
Back ups for this pick
- Marley Williams (181cm midfielder - Claremont)
- Cameron Ellis-Yolmen (191cm midfielder - Woodville West Torrens)

Pick #53, i would pick best available. Here are 2 midfields and 2 key position that could still be around come this pick
Pick #53
Sam Kerridge (188cm midfielder - Bendigo)
Really powerful midfielder. Racks up big numbers through the midfield. Has a nice burst of speed
Cam Eardley (182cm midfielder - East Fremantle)
Really hard player who really contests very hard any time he gets near the footy. Very physical and enjoys all the hard stuff. Wins plenty of his own ball.
Henry Schade (194cm defender - North Hobart)
Is a big guy, but has pretty good speed and can run the ball out of the back lines. Also has a very nice kick on him
Michael Bussey (196cm forward - Eastern Ranges)
Bussey can play down back (I actually prefer him down there) but most of his work for Metro and the AIS has been up forward. He needs a season or two to really fill out, but he has had some impressive showings already.

I would delist 4 players this year leaving us with 3 picks plus Breust up-grade.

De-List = Ladson, Williams, Duryea, Morton

yes I remember being a bit upset we didn't get Jed lamb last year but I don't think many would have expected Isaac Smith to get down to us either. Btw I still think Lamb will be a ripper player.

Just about Blake, I'm still a bit unhappy about us trading renouf and if he is available who knows? H'e prob a better ruckman than Paul Johnson.

I remember a poster that used to lurk around these parts called GALON who was a big wrap for Isaac Smith and was eagerly waiting for him to slip to pick 19. Thought he was getting a little caught up in the hype because Omith hadn't been in the system for long enough.

Sometimes I'm wrong.

I remember a poster that used to lurk around these parts called GALON who was a big wrap for Isaac Smith and was eagerly waiting for him to slip to pick 19. Thought he was getting a little caught up in the hype because Omith hadn't been in the system for long enough.

Sometimes I'm wrong.

hahah, what ever happened to that guy. ;)

He had a thing for Mitch Thorp too.....:(

Omith had me at "hello"( which was actually just me seeing him play against Box Hill in the VFL finals of 2010).

On another note, I'm liking your write up TallTimberBailey. Seems you've identified a couple of 'needs' there, and some players who've already been mentioned here, which suggests to me that they're very much in the picture for our picks.

hahah, what ever happened to that guy. ;)

He had a thing for Mitch Thorp too.....:(

Omith had me at "hello"( which was actually just me seeing him play against Box Hill in the VFL finals of 2010).

On another note, I'm liking your write up TallTimberBailey. Seems you've identified a couple of 'needs' there, and some players who've already been mentioned here, which suggests to me that they're very much in the picture for our picks.

You know i remember the first game he played against Box Hill and everyone saw him imitate speedy gonzales and it was like who the "F" is this guy. Where did he come from and how come i don't know him. Only to find out later that smith was playing 3 or 4th game.

Re: Trade week Autopsy: Picks 33, 38 and 53

At the moment, both Bateman and Mitchell are eligible veterans.

So we could move them up and only delist 1, Morton.

Would make sense, give us depth for next year and then have a big delist next year and load up in the supposed superdraft.

So we could move them up and only delist 1, Morton.

Would make sense, give us depth for next year and then have a big delist next year and load up in the supposed superdraft.

Bateman was already on it, and Mitch isn't eligible by about 12 days

I was going to ask what kids are likely to be available at our new picks, and who seasoned draft observers think we should target?

Personally I'd desperately be going for Curran with our early pick, though I think someone else will grab him before hand. Other than that I haven't really heard about anyone outside the top ~30 due to the apparent lack of depth...

Same, wish we had nominated curran, if we can get both gunston/curran recruiters have done a good job. Adelaide did downgrade our 2nd draft to a 3rd one, we should have been tougher on that. We currently have 2 2nd rounders but since we have not elected father/son rule he can picked up by any team any time. Just luck if he is still around at 32-38 mark.

It seems clear our policy is to recruit talls with pace and mobility. There is no point getting another tall without pace, unless Curran has exceptional skills below his knees, reading the play, etc (From what I've read, he doesn't have that. Just taking a mark isn't good enough. Defensive pressure is paramount ALL over the ground.

We need midfielders as far as I'm concerned. If there is a pressing need for a Key Defender after 2012, we may try to exploit our free agency options.

It seems clear our policy is to recruit talls with pace and mobility. There is no point getting another tall without pace, unless Curran has exceptional skills below his knees, reading the play, etc (From what I've read, he doesn't have that. Just taking a mark isn't good enough. Defensive pressure is paramount ALL over the ground.

We need midfielders as far as I'm concerned. If there is a pressing need for a Key Defender after 2012, we may try to exploit our free agency options.

Agreed. I think we need young mids / half forwards - although Buddy/WX/Gunner (& to a lesser extent Menegola) are all young enough to be around for a while.

53 for Breust.

We have a list of key players that are all developing well.

Backs:
Shoey, Stratts, cheeney, popy, suckling (developing litherland, milne)

Forwards:
Roughy, buddy, rioli, bruest, gunston (deleveloping menegola, wanganeen)

Mids:
Shields, savage, whitecross, lewis, Ellis (Schnieder, hallahan, williams)

Rucks:
Bailey, Lowden, Grimley

All these guys are 25 or younger. Key area's are more in and under type mids to replace mitchell, sewell in a few years. Another key defenders to ease the work load and we have not had much luck down back. We have an abundance of young forwards to I would be concentrating on the middle of the ground and defense key post.

Personally I am looking forward to hallahan having an injury free year (highly rated), schieder to continue to build his tank but a natural footballer, menegola again to be injury free and a great inclusion into our forward line in the 2012 season. Also having Lowden step it up.

Picks 33 and 38

These are the 2 live picks with Bruest at 53.

So at this stage we need to decide the type of players required. (No names yet).

Is it:
2 KPP
2 mids.
One of each
a Ruck
a small forward
or the standard "best available"

I think 2 mids but what do the Hawk Bigh Footy posters think.

Re: Picks 33 and 38

2 mids I'd think. Whether we like to accept it or not but Mitchell, Hodge, Sewell, Changa and Burgoyne aren't going to be around a terribly much longer time. The rest of the list is looking very strong and we already have some rippers coming through that can play midfield but I think it's the one area we really need to start addressing. Each of those guys could be (knock on wood) one ACL away from retirement and the last thing we need to be is caught flat footed with someone to step up.

one inside mid one outside mid and the other picks one to upgrade bruest one preseason draft and one rookie draft
PSD: Lovett
Rookie draft: Fev
Lovett to add pace to our mid and fev to keep roughead in the backline and have our "gorilla" in defence

I understand the midfield thing but I reckon we are covered for inside mids for a while. Lewis, Shiels, Hallahan, Ellis.

I say best available outside mids.
Lewis and Shiels will hold the Midfield at bay when the likes of Sewell, Mitchell and Burgoyne retire. But to say we will be well covered with Ellis and Hallahan, well I think that may be jumping the gun a little. Ellis hasn't come on as expexted and Hallahan is unknown at this point, I hope your right though.

one inside mid one outside mid and the other picks one to upgrade bruest one preseason draft and one rookie draft
PSD: Lovett
Rookie draft: Fev
Lovett to add pace to our mid and fev to keep roughead in the backline and have our "gorilla" in defence

We wont be taking either Lovett or Fev.

Picks 33, 38 and 53: What to do.