Player Review vs Richmond

I think we have been particularly fumbly in all 4 rounds. I'm mainly talking about the players whom are usually one touch.

Wellingham and Krakouer need to be dropped. Both were rubbish, were turnover merchants, and IMO, we cannot afford not to have an unchanged team every week, because clearly some players are getting a bit too comfortable. The most disappointing Collingwood thrashing I've seen for a long while.

I didn't rubbish Sidebottom. I said he did some stupid shit and fumbled for the second week in a row, which is uncharacteristic for him. Otherwise he was fine. Hardly Pat Malone in thinking he didn't have a perfect game, given the commentary guys called him "disappointing" (I disagree).
I watched the game on TV too and not one of the commentators said he was disappointing, you might be confusing it with one of them saying he and Beamsy have the room to improve. And I don't rely on commentators view to form my opinion on the players game, 25 touches, 3 clearances and 3 goals is a bloody good game in my book.

Wood was okay around the ground...just,But his hitouts were poor considering that's what he has been good at in the Two's lately,Wellingham has been poor all year,Did a couple of good things in the last when the game was over.Maxy seems to be lacking fitness and confidence with throwing his body around,Which is what he is so good at,But that will come.Leon gezzz i counted three times he ran to tackle a Richmond player but just ran straight past him!!not good enough.

this whole thing of "so and so shouldnt beat him!" argument is pretty petty to me, anyone can beat ANYONE on the day, 1st gamer can dominate a veteren on the day, so maybe Graham should be able to beat him? it's football, anything can happen.

anyway I think its mores Leroy brown in the ruck that costs us, he gives away alot of free kicks before the bounce, then again so does jolly.

Now please tell me you're joking, you can't seriously believe Woods game is defendable??

I didn't defend his game, I put him in the bad basket. He should have done better. But he still wasn't nearly as bad as Jolly last week.

I watched the game on TV too and not one of the commentators said he was disappointing, you might be confusing it with one of them saying he and Beamsy have the room to improve. And I don't rely on commentators view to form my opinion on the players game, 25 touches, 3 clearances and 3 goals is a bloody good game in my book.

They said it (or something to that effect) in the last quarter, referring to Didak + Sidebottom.

And I'm not relying on them either, I just thought it was a bit rich to suggest I had some sort of agenda when the TV guys gave a worse assessment.

Re: Alan Didak.

Dids wasn't even in our ten top players on the night and had minimal impact on the game.
Strange thread to say the least.

Stats wise he looked Ok, but as we know, they can be misleading

26 disposals, 22 kicks 4 hb, 8 marks, 3 tackles, isn't too bad.

He seemed disappointing to me to 3QT, but he certainly came alive in the last and seemed to get his confidence, self belief and swagger back then.

All of which augers well for next week and thereafter.

In fairness, he had a very late start to the preseason, and having your pec ripped off the bone as he did, would just take a while to get your trust back when thrusting out the arm to stick a tackle, against a charging opponent, full of momentum.

I think he believed that 'he was back' in that last quarter :)

Thought Leroy was a lot better after he was reported actually,Hope that doesn't hurt us against the Bombers ,We need him against them i reckon.

Wellingham - Poor again. Needs a run in the twos.

Wood - Hit-outs weren't nearly as bad as the stats suggest (and I'd bet he had more to advantage than Graham), but went to ground far too often.

Krakouer - Another rubbish game, need Macaffer back in.
Agree with these three. Wellingham's timing has been off all season so far, he looks like most of our boys do for round 1.

Wood I thought was okay; I'm not too fussed about the stats... and I agree his issue was going to ground.

Krakouer was terrible, but I would have been thinking Dick is the front runner to take his spot rather than MacAffer.

Amazed that some posters rated Harry O's game. I thought Martin beat him in nearly every contest they had and was the Tigers best forward.

Wood every time I watch him reminds me that you should not recruit ruckmen who lack physical presence. Made Angus Graham look like a solid ruckman.

Hopefully this going to sleep for a quarter will end before we play any of the genuine contenders like Hawthorn.

Might be time to give a few VFL players a run to liven up the intensity. Time to sing the club song with more gusto.

Great to win by 70+ , but we were a little flattered by the scoreline. Hopefully MM is on the money and we will improve greatly towards the end of the year.

They said it (or something to that effect) in the last quarter, referring to Didak + Sidebottom.

And I'm not relying on them either, I just thought it was a bit rich to suggest I had some sort of agenda when the TV guys gave a worse assessment.

They didn't say Sidebottom had a bad game.
And I wouldn't have asked you that if I didn't notice you being a regular critic of him.
So lets agree to disagree :p

Better then jollys worst? That's subjective I'd say he wasn't anywhere near it

Regardless jolly was against a good and very talk ruck and a decent second, Graham isnt great and vickery is barely out of nappies, add to the fact it seemed wood was wearing a netball bib it wasn't a great game

But much like your cloke is average pov Im not surprised you are giving wood defense

For me, the best it would
1. Thomas
2. Swan
3. Cloke

The worst would be
1.Maxwell
2. Woods
3 O'brien

Was it woods, who put is hands over his head when Graham jumped over him at the centre boune

Re: Alan Didak.

Stats wise he looked Ok, but as we know, they can be misleading

26 disposals, 22 kicks 4 hb, 8 marks, 3 tackles, isn't too bad.

He seemed disappointing to me to 3QT, but he certainly came alive in the last and seemed to get his confidence, self belief and swagger back then.

All of which augers well for next week and thereafter.

In fairness, he had a very late start to the preseason, and having your pec ripped off the bone as he did, would just take a while to get your trust back when thrusting out the arm to stick a tackle, against a charging opponent, full of momentum.

I think he believed that 'he was back' in that last quarter :)
Hehe,I know exactly what you mean, he did have a smug look on his face couple of times in the last, I might've even seen half of shimmy at one stage:p
And in no way my post was a criticism of Dids' game, we all know he'll take time to get back to his best, just thought his game was fairly average by his standards.
He got a few cheapies in the last after Richmond were exhausted from their run in the third.

Still lightyears from his best, but improving every week at least.

Absolutely spot on mate.

Reid - Shocking game, looked like a 3rd gamer out there. Even the kicking looked poor.

It wasn't his best game, but I'd err on the positive side with Reid tonight. Considering he sublaxed his shoulder early in the second quarter and kept Vickery to just 5 disposals and 1 goal he did his job.

Also having now seen the incident on replay IMO Reid was very lucky to have only sublaxed it. There certainly would've been some nervous nellies in here if he'd fully dislocated it.

Pretty amazing to win by 12 goals despite having so many players playing poorly:

Maxwell - Love him, but that was his worst game since early 2008 probably. Beaten by Miller, and hardly got to a contest all night.

Reid - Shocking game, looked like a 3rd gamer out there. Even the kicking looked poor.

Wellingham - Poor again. Needs a run in the twos.

Wood - Hit-outs weren't nearly as bad as the stats suggest (and I'd bet he had more to advantage than Graham), but went to ground far too often.

Krakouer - Another rubbish game, need Macaffer back in.

Add to that Sidebottom doing some stupid shit and fumbling a bunch again, Didak still skirting and not sticking to structures, Johnno unusually quiet etc...

On the positive side:
- Swan was a beast.
- Thomas decided he wasn't happy with 11, so went to 12.
- Pendlebury much better than last week.
- Cloke with easily his best game of the season, and Dawes solid again.
- Blair and Beams just get shit done.

Thought his 1st quarter last week was just as bad was on Thornton and in the 1st quarter Thornton was arguably Carlton's best player and I'm not talking about the 1 mark Maxwell fanboi's only remember.

He was well beaten again this week, he is not great 1v1 and I have maintained that even in his best form of a loose man / 2rd man in role ( which looks to have changed a bit this year). Maxwell as an accountable defender is questionable, Maxwell as a loose un-accountable 3rd man in is a valuable player due to his courage and reading of the play allowing him to intercept attacks.

Didak has been coasting and was largely missing till the last quarter and has been sub par all year.

Wellingham has been off the boil all year.

L.Brown is back to his usual self doin sweet fa other than giving away a lot of free's.

Beams does the odd good but is largely unsighted most of the game.

I don't know if it is just me but we haven't played a good 4 quarter game yet, I don't think we have played more then a half of good football.

A quality side would have beaten us in any of the 4 games this year, we have fumbled turned it over, looked complacent and lack the hunger we had last year YET we seem to be destroying sides despite looking anything but all conquering.

We will win the flag but we do not look un-beatable and have a few major flaws which could be exposed by the right side...Hawthorn.

3. Thomas - worked his ass off all game defensively as well as offensively.
2. Swan - BOG in the first half dropped in the 2nd half thought Thomas had the best 4 quarter effort.
1. O'brien was our best defender and provided a lot of drive, defended numerous attacks.

You're kidding?

You say jolly was thrashed last week and this week you attempt a defense if woods game against angus ****en Graham? Staggering

1 Graham shouldn't be able to beat him
2 it was Graham dominating wood that started the 3rd quarter run on

Now please tell me you're joking, you can't seriously believe Woods game is defendable??

It was our teams lack of desire that let Richmond get into the game we were inept in the 3rd quarter just like when we played port, boys thought they had it won put the cue in the rack and got burnt. Fact is we are as a team so much better we can flick the switch and burn 75% of the comp in a quarter.

It wasn't his best game, but I'd err on the positive side with Reid tonight. Considering he sublaxed his shoulder early in the second quarter and kept Vickery to just 5 disposals and 1 goal he did his job.

Also having now seen the incident on replay IMO Reid was very lucky to have only sublaxed it. There certainly would've been some nervous nellies in here if he'd fully dislocated it.

Scodog, where did you hear that he subluxed his shoulder?

That's not good news at all if he did that. :(

Are you sure...there was no mention on the tele of it...

Exactly! Sidebottom made a few fumbles but was one of our better players.

Scodog, where did you hear that he subluxed his shoulder?

That's not good news at all if he did that. :(

Are you sure...there was no mention on the tele of it...

a mate of mine said he heard it on the MMM coverage, so not sure. Although they seemed to believe the injury occurred in the 2nd quarter so who knows if there is an issue, seeing as he played till the 4th

we do still look in 2nd gear as a team to be honest

Cloke - Was a real presence, forget about who the opponent was, he clunked 10 marks i recon, and looked like a beast.

Sidey - Someone at the game told me this bloke is operating at about 80% efficiency on his disposal. If correct thats just unreal. He was pretty good tonight

Daisy - certainly our best to half time, really crucial to our game plan

My biggest knock was our backline

Leon - i thought he's still playing forwardline footy, assuming he has more time to gain possession and dispose of it than he really has, caught him out on an occasion or two

Harry O - Really shouldve been tighter on his man

Taz - He did some good things at times but i still thought he was beaten for the night. With limited opportunities the bloke kicked 4 on him, thats not a brilliant sign. Itll take him some time to get into the backline groove at collingwood, but im really missing Rambo right about now.

I was at the game and listened to MMM, Pendlebury got a knock to his patella, Dawes needed his ankle strapped, Ben Reid copped a stinger, and Heath Shaw got knocked on the shoulder/collarbone in the Jake King contest. At the end of the match Doc Larkins said the only injury to note was Ben Reids and to watch him over the week.

Geez there are some pretty harsh critics on here. Yep the 3rd qtr was terrible and they were lazy but I cannot believe peoples criticism of Beams and Sidebottom. Both were very good for most of the game. They had 23 and 25 possies and they kicked goals. And there 3rd year players. There are 25 year olds in the comp who would kill for those games week in week out.

Some so-called supporters need to settle down and pull thier heads in. We are the hunted, more so than normal because now we have dared to win a premiership and must be brought back to the field - Collingwood must, at any cost not be allowed to dominate. Witness the sub rule, aimed specifically at Dane Swan - the AFL have become the star police of late - framing rules with the specific intent of bringing one outstanding player back to the field - pathetic, it hasn't and won't work because Swan is a beast - and bad for footy in general.
Richmond played super high risk footy and were brave enough to persist after it burnt them badly in the first quarter so eventually it paid dividends in the third.
To those doubters I ask the question - honestly - wouldn't you have killed for a start to the year last year that we have had this year???
Malthouse has said it plainly and simply, the boys are being managed to peak later in the year.

Some so-called supporters need to settle down and pull thier heads in. We are the hunted, more so than normal because now we have dared to win a premiership and must be brought back to the field - Collingwood must, at any cost not be allowed to dominate. Witness the sub rule, aimed specifically at Dane Swan - the AFL have become the star police of late - framing rules with the specific intent of bringing one outstanding player back to the field - pathetic, it hasn't and won't work because Swan is a beast - and bad for footy in general.
Richmond played super high risk footy and were brave enough to persist after it burnt them badly in the first quarter so eventually it paid dividends in the third.
To those doubters I ask the question - honestly - wouldn't you have killed for a start to the year last year that we have had this year???
Malthouse has said it plainly and simply, the boys are being managed to peak later in the year.

Ive heard some conspiracy theories in my time and that one is up with the very best. Dont get me wrong I think the sub rule was unneccasary but the Afl has been talking for a few years now about how they want to slow the game down and how they want to try and not have as much congestion around the footy. They feel as though the heaving rotating which keeps players fresh throughout the game is a major contributor. I dont think the rule has made much of a difference but to suggest the rule is aimed at Dane swan is a pretty out there theory.

Player Review vs Richmond