Positives and Negatives against Port

Is Sewell now getting the hardest tag ?

Port had the grt stuck in/hang off packs balance just right today. Too often our guys all went in hard and the power got easy takeways

Positives

1) Rioli - the guy is just a star.

2) Moss - had a relatively good game with 25 disposals.

I also thought that Dowler was reasonably good with his 18 disposals.

Negatives

1) Skills - just shizenhouse.

2) Buddy playing on - just don't, please.

3) Not kicking it to Roughead. If we want him to go to the Gold Coast, we should keep this up.

The only positive, one word.... Moss

I have a solution to our injury problem!! Let's forfeit the next three games,give the boys a chance to recover. Then they can come back refreshed and ready to go!! :)

Yep, I have a great sense of humour!!:D

(Very difficult to maintain a sense at present though...)
Actually a very good novel idea.I suppose that we could run onto the ground and then all fall over faking injuries.Would the umpires call off the game or more to the point could we afford the $5,ooo,ooo, fines?
icon10.gif

The negatives?once again smashed in the ruck and the clearances.
The positives? none of our kids played badly.

Hang in there and keep believing...

Its a very long journey and lets just understand that backing up to win a "back to back" is incredibly hard.

Lets set the radar to the mid season break and seek to be 6-6 or better after 12 games....

There are still 18 games of this season to go and that performance today was not something to write home about, but we will get our act together and then we will win consistently....

Lets start with next week against the Eagles in Tassie...Lets hope we're talking about being 2-3 this time next week!:thumbsu:

We never really looked like it i think port wanted it more right from the start.

positives - Rioli is getting better by the week which is scary, Moss was good, sewell was good and also Willo looks good.
negatives - Mitchell is struggling to break tags, Stokes did nothing, Morton didn't do much, our three rucks were beaten.

Morton as a negative(23 possies and 8 marks). Must have seen a different game. Changa and Morts were the only gut busting runners I saw today. Clinton Young was not good , playing 3 ruckmen was not a good idea. Umpiring was bewildering at times , our defence is undersized. Stewie Dews foot skills were subpar.

Positives: Rioli , Williams , Bateman , Dowler , Morton, Sewell. We can't possibly be this ordinary again. Moss.
Negatives: Footskills , attitude , our guys never get any 50/50 decisions. A few senior guys need to lift.

Why didn't Clarko put Roughy on Tredders when clearly the rest of the team weren't interested in giving him the ball. Would have gotten him in the game at least!
Agree
Should have tried Dowler up forward and Put Roughie on Treds
or Roughy in Deep and Buddy up.

I have a solution to our injury problem!! Let's forfeit the next three games,give the boys a chance to recover. Then they can come back refreshed and ready to go!! :)

Yep, I have a great sense of humour!!:D

I also have simialr thoughts - would also be 3 weeks injury free.;)

(Very difficult to maintain a sense at present though...)

No one has ever won the P/ship from 1-3, or so the stats say..Must say it's very difficult to even think that far ahead at present, with the injuries we are sustaining. I cannot remember a year like it, and I have been a Hawk for many, many years..

Someone quoted in the train on way home that Norf were 1 - 3 in 1977
and won the flag (on 2nd try). I have not checked this though.

3 ruckman was a terrible idea gven who they are. we're not talking a brogan le primus trio of old where they can all go forward. Tayor and Renouf are both t this stage ruckman ad ruckman only, and campbell as aback is unproven t best and surely no a viable option as underdone as he obviously is. if they want the kpp backman we have been screaming for then play and develop one. thorp or schoey - here you go son have a crack.

ffs if you're going to plug holes do it properly after a half of football and 3 touches at best put roughy on tredders and go down leaning something.

we fell victims to our own trap. the zone is not always the answer

Loved Moss today. Didn't realise he was as old as he is, but still promising signs for the future.

Once all fit you'll be absolutely stacked with midfield depth.

Positives

1) Rioli - the guy is just a star.

2) Moss - had a relatively good game with 25 disposals.

I also thought that Dowler was reasonably good with his 18 disposals.

Negatives

1) Skills - just shizenhouse.

2) Buddy playing on - just don't, please.

3) Not kicking it to Roughead. If we want him to go to the Gold Coast, we should keep this up.
Pretty much sums up my thoughts.

We are a sleeping giant, who 15 other teams don't want to even just slip into the final 8, if it's only by percentage. With these injuries, I only see positives in that they provide precious opportunities that our next tier of player resources couldn't get last year in us being equal lowest in "players used". We've already had very encouraging insights into Morton, Tuck, Schoers and Suckling, now Moss and Dowler, Whitecross. We keep in touch with the eight, despite injuries, and WATCHOUT come late June and into July!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :cool:
No matter how tough the day is for Murph, IMO he is the fair dinkum goods. The apparent downside is that he seems to mouthoff ala - Richo at his teammates.:confused:

Very pleased with Moss actually, seeing a guy who was a fringe player for so long make a great impact like he has, so he has provided sufficient consolation after today's loss. Good on him.:)
Mossy showed a few of the more established players,(Dew and Young,just to name a couple of the main down hill skiers,)what it takes to play when the team is down and out.Dew needs to take his feet out of the concrete and learn to play well when the team is down.Besides the Grand Final and last week against North he has struggled at Hawthorn,when Ladson,Birchall and Ellis are back he will stuggle to get a game with,Tuck,Morton,Whitecross,Mossy and Shoey coming through.I hate Bagging my own and i very rarely do.But i have watched Stew from afar since we drafted him and even though he did help us win a grand final,i feel in the long run we may have been better off drafting David Zaharakis instead as a 17 year old,which the hawks were tossing up.Stewey may have been the difference in last years grandfinal and he may not of.But how good would Zaharakis's speed through the middle have been with sublime foot skills to boot for the next ten years.Watch this space after Dew has retired at seasons end.

Despite a very ordinary performance I thought there were a few positives from the match.

- Whitecross and Moss have played three solid matches in a row now.
- Cyril is getting his hands on the footy more this season.
- I think despite having a few kicked on him Murphy has improved and will thrive if played in a role more suited to his size.
- Dowler made a couple of blues but I thought he showed enough to win a couple more chances to prove himself.

I think it is time we stop using injuries as an excuse, or even a partial defence for our losses. We keep losing because of this mystifying inability to hit targets (by both hand on foot) which has crept into our game. I cannot explain it-89% kicking efficiency in 2008, to whatever disgusting level it is now. If we solve this problem we will start winning games, both consistently and convincingly.

Rioli was excellent yesterday.
Dowler impressed me, he looked like he belonged out there.
Moss was good.
Sewell was good.
The crowd was good, 33,000 against Port was a good effort.

I don't know what Franklin is thinkings sometimes, but he was close to WOG simply because of some of the glaring errors he made.
Was Rouhhead injured? Could not get into the game-partly due to our own baffling focus on buddy.
Some people have also been giving Tom Murphy compliments, I don't know why. When he was required to back back into packs the fews times he had to yesterday he was found more than wanting-he shirked like a pansy. Treadrea kicked six easy goals on him...Treadrea did not have to earn one of his goals, not one.

I left a very angry supporter yesterday afternoon.

I think it is time we stop using injuries as an excuse, or even a partial defence for our losses. We keep losing because of this mystifying inability to hit targets (by both hand on foot) which has crept into our game. I cannot explain it-89% kicking efficiency in 2008, to whatever disgusting level it is now. If we solve this problem we will start winning games, both consistently and convincingly.

Moss was good.
Sewell was good.

I don't know what Franklin is thinkings sometimes, but he was close to WOG simply because of some of the glaring errors he made.
Was Rouhhead injured? Could not get into the game-partly due to our own baffling focus on buddy.
Some people have also been giving Tom Murphy compliments, I don't know why. When he was required to back back into packs the fews times he had to yesterday he was found more than wanting-he shirked like a pansy. Treadrea kicked six easy goals on him...Treadrea did not have to earn one of his goals, not one.

C'mon, let's not make things up. Murphy was not on Treadrea all day. Had at least 3 separate opponents.

Moss was good.
Sewell was good.

you can be angry, but c'mon, buddy WOG, 19 poss 3.3 one out of bounds and one stupid mistake......if someone kicks the ball to him on the lead correctly, he can do better, we cannot continually expect a guy at 196cm to pick up the ball at his toes.....yes his effort has not been great, but like the whole team such as hodge he did not have a pre season....he willl be fine, blame it on others not a FF with 19 possies

I could not believe the long odds for a Port win when it flashed up on the scoreboard before the game. We have 1/4 of our side who have played less than 12 games and were missing our backline and a number of our key players are clearly underdone. It is not surprising our skills were way down.

The side we have been putting on the park is clearly back in the pack and we cannot take winning for granted against good opposition like we did last year.

On the day it did not help that our kicking was the worst it has been for a long long time. Our handballing was the same. We were thrashed at the stoppages. Yet I thought we would win at 3/4 time.

At the start of this season I thought that we need to find 3 or 4 new players for us to keep improving. From what I have seen we certainly have found our next developing group which will stand us in good stead moving forward.

Whitecross is a great find. Very cool head with outstanding skills. His kicking is sublime. A future leader.

Morton has some work to do on his kicking but is clearly AFL standard. I was glad to see him up back and think he is someone who we should be grooming as a defender given our thin stocks in this area as he has the attributes. He is a player of the future.

Moss continually gets to the right spots. Kicking is ok without being penetrating. He is a good depth player and clearly wants to play AFL.

We know Tuck is good.

Schoey will clearly be a good player when he gets stronger.

Dowler looked comfortable yesterday at times. Is still a way off the intensity of AFL level but is getting there.

Murph was solid yesterday. He is clearly punching above his weight with Gilham missing but will be better for the experience and an asset in a stronger backline.

Rioli is our best player.

The things that concerned me were:

Taylor.

Stokes. I can see the positives in him but am still not convinced.

Buddy. He is yet to click this year, yet sits on top of the goalkicking. He is not leading at the footy. When looking at his development, the one thing that needs to be worked on is that he is too predictable breaking onto his left everytime. I would have thought all preseason he would have been made to practice running around out of trouble onto his right side. He will bring others into the game with this extra skill.

Overall our poor skills cost us the game even with such a young side in. I see a heap of positives in the loss for our long term future.

Some people have also been giving Tom Murphy compliments, I don't know why. When he was required to back back into packs the fews times he had to yesterday he was found more than wanting-he shirked like a pansy.

Thank you!
I was tremendously dissapointed with murphy on a few ocassions. but moist notably was one where he was running with the flight of the ball and saw that whitecross was there with tredrea and just gave up, didn't even want to be in the contest.
I thought that was inexcusable, granted its most likely he would have given away a free kick if he attempted a spoil but at least make the old man tredrea earn it.
I realise that he is punching out of his weight division and is best suited to play on the third forward and i think he can do that very well, but it was really dissapointing to see him not even make a contest.

As most have stated i think the positives were Cyril, Sewell and Mossy also think that Willo is playing his 'high half forward' role particularly well.

Positives and Negatives against Port