• Macaffer - we finally have a tagger
  • Lumumba - great drive
  • Maxwell - 2010 form
  • Young - starting to see why we selected him
  • White - settiling in nicely
  • Frost & Langdon - remarkable efforts
Negatives (not many)
  • Swan - obviously the great man is struggling. He will turn in around
  • Cloke - tried hard but had no impact. Expect a big statement against the halpless Tigers
Summary
Good effort against top class opposition. We wil win a lot more than we lose this year, finals bound.

For all the accolades that our recruiting team receives on this board, they haven't covered themselves in glory the last few years with recruitment of established players in the offseason, in fact it has been quite average. Jordan Russell, Lynch, Young, even new recruits Adams and White aren't exactly setting the world on fire.

Collingwood are quickly becoming a benevolent fund for average footballers who want to move on.

People said restricted and free agency were going to help teams like Collingwood, it's exactly the opposite. With the recent track record can't see us picking up any guns anytime soon.

Hawthorn seem to have nailed it

The sun rises....

Positives (plenty)
  • Elliott - wow
  • Sidebottom - back in form
  • Beams - recovering nicely
  • Lumumba - great drive
  • Maxwell - 2010 form
Negatives (not many)
  • Cloke - tried hard but had no impact. Expect a big statement against the halpless Tigers
Summary
Good effort against top class opposition. We wil win a lot more than we lose this year, finals bound.

With you on everything except Young... I thought we selected him to be a bit of a designated kicker and boost our skill level. So far he has not delivered IMO. He can certainly kick the ball well i.e long penetrating kicks, but he fails to hit targets far too regularly for a designated kicker. He's not great at winning his own ball in one on ones or containing his opponent with hard tackles, so when he isn't hitting targets I'm afraid he isn't doing his job.

For all the accolades that our recruiting team receives on this board, they haven't covered themselves in glory the last few years with recruitment of established players in the offseason, in fact it has been quite average. Jordan Russell, Lynch, Young, even new recruits Adams and White aren't exactly setting the world on fire.

Collingwood are quickly becoming a benevolent fund for average footballers who want to move on.

Geez, I know this is a positive and negative thread, but that's pretty negative. Puts a whole new slant on where we are heading! Agree re Russell and Lynch, Young not sure yet, White has only played two games, and Adams is trying to find his feet while sitting out at least half of games in the red vest. I'm also not aware of us targeting the top range (higher paid) free agents, such as Goddard. That too could account for our results to date in the free agency period. Maybe we will go down that path next time around.

With you on everything except Young... I thought we selected him to be a bit of a designated kicker and boost our skill level. So far he has not delivered IMO. He can certainly kick the ball well i.e long penetrating kicks, but he fails to hit targets far too regularly for a designated kicker. He's not great at winning his own ball in one on ones or containing his opponent with hard tackles, so when he isn't hitting targets I'm afraid he isn't doing his job.
A world of this.

He certainly wasn't BOG bu I think he is building towards some good form and will be a valuable part of the side. We have to remember that he missed almost the whole season last year.

The sun rises....

Positives (plenty)
  • Elliott - wow
  • Lumumba - great drive
  • Maxwell - 2010 form
Negatives (not many)
Summary
That's all too logical for a Collingwood supporter! I reckon your spot on. We will be back to pissing off the footy community before long, with a nice fresh, Buckley side. Cheers

I suppose like any board we have posters that only appear after a loss. Let them do their worst! Bucks isn't going anywhere and the team has performed well over the last two weeks despite injury problems. It was always going to be a roller coaster this year and we should just enjoy the ride.

Agree re Russell and Lynch, Young not sure yet, White has only played two games, and Adams is trying to find his feet while sitting out at least half of games in the red vest.
Lynch - failure, but given his acquisition allowed us to move Dawes on for a first rounder, can anyone honestly say that Dawes' output in the last year has been better? A first-rounder better?

Young - failure. I hope we're not paying him too much.

Armstrong - seems a long shot but cost us only a spot on the list.

Russell - failure but given he had put a very good season together was worth a flier, and cost us bugger all. Technically a trade.

Adams - looks good to me, and should give us nearly ten years of service whereas Heater probably had a couple left. Good result for mine.

White - very promising to my way of thinking. If he was a FA I'd say he was our best acquisition to date, but he was also a trade.

So yes, our FA pick-ups have been terrible, but they haven't cost us much and our trades in that time have been good. Sometimes you have to throw some mud at the wall and see what sticks. Had we gotten involved in picking up valuable FAs last year we would have diluted our D Thomas compensation anyway.

That's the point. Wins mask the real problems with our team.

Disposal is the worst in the AFL
Game plan is awful.

No that is not the point. The point is if we won Grundy's game would have been courageous battling against three ruckman, Maxwell would have been magnificent coming back from an injury early in the game etc etc etc.

Winning doesn't mask the problems, but loses turn half the team into a problem along with the coaches, the game plan, our injury management, our recruiting and the umpires.

This site works on extremes. We win a game and we are destined for the flag. A loss and we should sack the coach and half the team.

Some balance would be nice at times regardless of the result.

The sun rises....

Positives (plenty)
  • Elliott - wow
  • Lumumba - great drive
  • Maxwell - 2010 form
Negatives (not many)
Summary

Great post and finally someone who saw the game for what it was.

Geelong are a good side and we are rebuilding on the run, so I thought last night was a really good effort.

Sick of the negativity around here!!

Nice post jmac. Not with you on Young... yet. I've seen some nice kicks from the lad, but his set shot that missed everything and his lack of impact are concerns. My expectation was that he'd be a link man that would help create forward drive; which isn't really happening IMO.

Frost & Langdon->The future!

Elliott is showing us that he can be a match-winner. Ab-fab.

I'm very puzzled as to why Cloke was not released up the ground to run Lonergan off his feet, and why Swan didn't play deep forward (why did he play at all?)...

The sun rises....

Positives (plenty)
  • Elliott - wow
  • Lumumba - great drive
  • Maxwell - 2010 form
Negatives (not many)
Summary

Lynch - failure, but given his acquisition allowed us to move Dawes on for a first rounder, can anyone honestly say that Dawes' output in the last year has been better? A first-rounder better?

Young - failure. I hope we're not paying him too much.

Armstrong - seems a long shot but cost us only a spot on the list.

Russell - failure but given he had put a very good season together was worth a flier, and cost us bugger all. Technically a trade.

Adams - looks good to me, and should give us nearly ten years of service whereas Heater probably had a couple left. Good result for mine.

White - very promising to my way of thinking. If he was a FA I'd say he was our best acquisition to date, but he was also a trade.

So yes, our FA pick-ups have been terrible, but they haven't cost us much and our trades in that time have been good. Sometimes you have to throw some mud at the wall and see what sticks. Had we gotten involved in picking up valuable FAs last year we would have diluted our D Thomas compensation anyway.
I felt White had a good game last night. It'll take him a while to get into playing with a new club but people here will be lauding his recruitment later in the year.

No that is not the point. The point is if we won Grundy's game would have been courageous battling against three ruckman, Maxwell would have been magnificent coming back from an injury early in the game etc etc etc.

Winning doesn't mask the problems, but loses turn half the team into a problem along with the coaches, the game plan, our injury management, our recruiting and the umpires.

This site works on extremes. We win a game and we are destined for the flag. A loss and we should sack the coach and half the team.

Some balance would be nice at times regardless of the result.

You just reinforced my point. When we win, we ignore the real problems. The coaching staff have probably been reluctant to deal with these issues because we have been winning. Our disposal continues to be awful, even to an embarrassing level, and we're employing a game plan the relies on good quick disposal. The two don't work together.

We win games based on sheer effort and at times, despite our poor disposal. It is a problem that can no longer be ignored.

People being a bit on harsh on Cloke. The ball wasn't well delivered and he was shat on by the umpires yet again.
I thought Trav had plenty of one on one chances. He was just out and out beaten by Lonergan

You just reinforced my point. When we win, we ignore the real problems. The coaching staff have probably been reluctant to deal with these issues because we have been winning. Our disposal continues to be awful, even to an embarrassing level, and we're employing a game plan the relies on good quick disposal. The two don't work together.

We win games based on sheer effort and at times, despite our poor disposal. It is a problem that can no longer be ignored.

We do need better disposal by foot and hand... also a sound gameplan going forward. I still think we're Cloke concious, even with White in the side, and it makes the delivery to the big guy very predictable.

It might be worth putting Cloke up at CHF and White in the square. I would really expect these two to get ahold of a Tigers outfit that had 100 points scored on them against the Doggies, who lack any big targets down there.

Funny how all of the posters who start off the year with "all I want to see is a real effort" and after a tight loss in tough circumstances can only criticise our players. Yes our disposal is our weakness, and yes some of our good players are not at their best at the moment, but someone is getting the ball enough to have us in touch with a top team right until the end. Grundy is trying to do it all, Cloke seems ineligable for free kicks, and as another poster said, only Pendlebury gets the bonus frees that are the stock in trade of the Selwoods of this world.
The team did better than expected, but lost. We were forced to play an out of form Keeffe, who seemed to do OK, and two much maligned players in Lamumba and Maxwell had really good games. There is a lot to like in the game. Confidence would improve the disposal by more than 10%, but is hard to gain, especially in the face of constant carping.

lol people bagging a 19 year old ruck for running out of gas after playing against two mature aged rucks probably have never played in the ruck before. Grundy was actually winning quite easily in the hit outs across the first half. Direct rage at the selectors if anyone.
It's the fact he ran out of gas in the 2nd quarter...

Our skills in general are in the bottom three in the competition. Our field kicking is horrible and we fumble far too much.

We will never beat the better sides playing blokes that can't hit targets. We miss handballs far too often.

Watching the Hawks on Friday night - there is just no comparison between they use the footy and we do. Yes, the are the reigning premiers, but if we continue to butcher the footy, they'll beat us by 100+.

Keefe was good I thought. Adams was horrible. Grundy was terrific early - our mids just didn't capitalise on his dominance. It's a big ask of Grundy to play the majority of the game in the ruck.

Swan needs to be dropped. That left foot kick that went sideways instead of driving the ball into the fifty and give us the chance to steal the win summed up his performance - Sh**house.

Elliot is an absolute GUN!!! Hardly ever misses a goal, gets the hard ball, takes a great contested mark.

Maxxy, if it wasnt for him last night we would have been done by 10 goals, the press have NFI.

Cloke, what a spud, never liked him get rid of him, He even had a chance to kick at goal from just outside 50 and decided to give it off and messed the kick up, in the past people have lambasted me saying he is the leading mark in the league, i just dont see him as a power forward, although delivery to him last night was poor at best, i will give him that.

Being a fan of Bucks, it hurts to think he may turn out to be Shaw 2.0 dont know if it's the players not doing as they are told, or coaching decisions, but the Cats had players all over the ground free and if their skills were better we would have been pumped.

How about we try and hit some Fooking targets disposal by foot and hand was absolutely atrocious last night, too many times a player had possession and rather kick it long to a contest or to space they sold team mates into immediate danger.

Upset!!!!!!

One huge positive was our back line 14 more inside 50s to them and did not concede more than a 100 points. Toovey looking good as well as Frost, Maxwell and Langdon. Ripper effort and showed up our crap midfield.

Review Positives and Negatives from Round 3: Geelong