Training Pre-season 2019

Are we likely to have anyone playing out of position again this year? I'm a little over players being labelled 'swingmen' and therefore moved to positions they don't play as well in desperation.

Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk

Could not agree more. Versatility is a rude word in my
No relevance except these are serious injuries.

Maybe if you have a sister or daughter being encouraged to play a sport where there is a good chance they will have a serious knee injury you'd care about it.

Having ACL surgery doesn't mean it's all good. Higher chance of suffering osteoarthritis in the future.

Im sure the average 16yo girl is well informed about the latest ACL data when it comes to AFLW and how much an ACL injury will impact her life.

But who cares as long as they feel empowered and the AFL are building the brand.

Debate over? who made you the authority?

No 16 year old girl or boy gives a shit about injuries. They think they are going to live forever. No amount of education is going to change a kid's opinion. However, I love how you somehow portray yourself as having their best interests at heart. No the stats say you can get injured so despite your love of the game and dream of playing at an elite level along comes Cynical just looking out for you. No sir you have spouted crap again.

Although if you can find any series medical consensus in the profession that the game is now so dangerous we should be preventing girls from playing it please enlighten me. Otherwise you have nothing and debate over!

I'm not great with maths but 1000 hours of AFLW is the equivalent of 37.5 matches, right? Having 7 ACLs across that still doesn't seem like that big a risk?

that is 1 player per 5.5 matches, this is a 12-18month injury requiring surgery not a sprained ankle, if they were horses they'd be shot

from what I have read an average of 1 player per list goes down each year and their season is 8 weeks (and a list of 30 players)

5-10 times more likely than men to get an ACL (imagine 3-5 players on our list getting an ACL each season)

and another one is down

https://www.sportingnews.com/au/aus...ae-sloane-acl-tear/12vhuxpz0ydl41rkgjp5rgjq7e

No 16 year old girl or boy gives a shit about injuries. They think they are going to live forever. No amount of education is going to change a kid's opinion. However, I love how you somehow portray yourself as having their best interests at heart. No the stats say you can get injured so despite your love of the game and dream of playing at an elite level along comes Cynical just looking out for you. No sir you have spouted crap again.

Although if you can find any series medical consensus in the profession that the game is now so dangerous we should be preventing girls from playing it please enlighten me. Otherwise you have nothing and debate over!

My point exactly no 16yo girl is going to think about injuries so it is extremely negligent from the AFL to be promoting AFLW.

You think the medical association is going to be telling people not to play AFLW? Thats like bankers saying dont get home loans.

My point exactly no 16yo girl is going to think about injuries so it is extremely negligent from the AFL to be promoting AFLW.

You think the medical association is going to be telling people not to play AFLW? Thats like bankers saying dont get home loans.

Can you explain that last sentence to me because I think you may have lost your mind. However, before you do I suggest you look up defamation and the consequences of it! Because if your spurious point is even close to attempting to say what I think it is then you are either naive or live with a tin foil hat!

Exactly. He's one of the best midfielders in the competition, and that was why he was recruited. He's not close to being one of the best forwards, and last year opposition teams weren't caught out. The occasional rest sure, but his best work is in midfield. By far.
Yep, and if we're to be honest the only young mid that we have that is worthy of more time in the middle is Parfitt. The rest still have a fair way to go before they start spending considerable time in the guts IMO.

Can you explain that last sentence to me because I think you may have lost your mind. However, before you do I suggest you look up defamation and the consequences of it! Because if your spurious point is even close to attempting to say what I think it is then you are either naive or live with a tin foil hat!

Only naive one is you.

Of course they will spin it in a way that sounds good. We encourage people to play team sports and hope they take up these preventative measures to lower the risk of serious injury.

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2018-02...-urges-parents-to-let-kids-play-footy/9424252
"We know that females are two to three times more likely to rupture their ACL," Melbourne footballer Brooke Patterson said.​
Patterson is also a physiotherapist and is doing a PhD on anterior cruciate ligament injuries at La Trobe University.

the "expert" in the article cant even do basic maths and plays footy herself thats as unbiased as it gets

AFL list is around 45 players, female list is 30 players
8 week season vs 23 weeks = 2.85 * 1.5 = 4.3 times more likely

the data also shows an increase in ACLs since the first season so its over 5 times more likely

or from this real data

"Torn ACL injuries increased from 4.31 per 1000 hours in 2017 to 6.47 this year. By comparison, there were only 0.7 ACL injuries per 1000 player hours in the AFL in 2017."

4.31/0.7 = 6.15 times more likely
6.47/0.7 = 9.24 times more likely

2-3 times vs 6-9 times kind of underselling the dangers a bit, but hey its all about prevention so just do a few extra squats and practice safe landings

tin foil hat alright

I have been banging this drum for ages... In fact I even started a thread which had some bloody great points raised about how the club communicates poorly with us...

And I was called a whiner by some idiots at the time :rolleyes:

And now... It's even worse than it was then

Firstly yes I do trust the process
Secondly
Completely agree willo it's 2019 with all the streaming, vlogging, instagram etc opportunities for the club to get interactive online for avid fans and members to get as much information as possible get to know the players. Get the next generation of cats fans interested in our players.

With other codes the game becomes more player driven every year with all the extra television coverage of live drafting pick swaps etc all televised. Junior players will start to build more a profile before the hit the pros it's like tracking a journey.

For such a large organisation such as geelong FC with such a large fan base if they set up platforms simple ones where players interacted more or simply better updates on training etc injuries game day selection it would gain cooks exactly what he wants for the stadium $$$$$$$$$

And gives the fan exactly what they want for spending those $$$$$$$

At the moment I feel more like a one way atm with a credit function....

It's not terrible or the worst I would just like improvements because everyone can see which way the league and technology is going. Why you don't put a huge emphasis on this mind boggles me.

Articles like this say you’re wrong, mate:
https://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/v...k=39e5b86ebfc32df291a5881707f676c4-1549081308

Women’s comps have proven crazy popular.

Why?

What a patronising attitude - we’ll let them play the game but then not let the best of them compete against each other nationally?

Its 2019

Womens sport has been fantastic over all codes whether it be cricket, fighting, basketball, AFL, Tennis list goes on.

The AFL was particularly slow getting this up and running then they realised how fantastic it was it will only grow from here.

It's the old school view of the bloke in the corner onto his 12th pint talking about how women can't play compared to his standard in the ressies 15 years ago

Hands down, one of the stupidest post I've ever read not just on BF but anywhere.

Effectively you're saying I care about the health of women that much that we can't let them decide what legal activities that they should participate in. WOW.

As for the medical association line, of course they would be against it if it lead to long term damage to your health. Eg: their concerns with concussion in sports, and their stance on boxing. To suggest otherwise is one of the dumbest conspiracy theories ever put out there.

Danger has to play forward ...
Agree. I get that some players are extremely good in more than one position. I get a little annoyed when others are played 'out of position' where it destroys their confidence eg harryT

If the AFL was truly committed to equality they would scrap both the mens and womens leagues and make it a mixed competition..... {insert facetious wink here}

You for one.
You have already judged that he was recruited "for romance sake" and that he is an "old prick who'll only be around until seasons end".
Yeah but the article judged him from an individual point. I'm not individually judging him, i know as a player he is great but from a club point of view going forward there was no need for the old prick because the way we are coach and all we won't be winning a flag, so it would of been better off giving someone like Parfitt that time in the centre instead the club wanted the Ablett romance and put a young kids development back a couple of years.

Only naive one is you.

Of course they will spin it in a way that sounds good. We encourage people to play team sports and hope they take up these preventative measures to lower the risk of serious injury.

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2018-02...-urges-parents-to-let-kids-play-footy/9424252
"We know that females are two to three times more likely to rupture their ACL," Melbourne footballer Brooke Patterson said.​
Patterson is also a physiotherapist and is doing a PhD on anterior cruciate ligament injuries at La Trobe University.

the "expert" in the article cant even do basic maths and plays footy herself thats as unbiased as it gets

the data also shows an increase in ACLs since the first season so its over 5 times more likely

or from this real data

"Torn ACL injuries increased from 4.31 per 1000 hours in 2017 to 6.47 this year. By comparison, there were only 0.7 ACL injuries per 1000 player hours in the AFL in 2017."

2-3 times vs 6-9 times kind of underselling the dangers a bit, but hey its all about prevention so just do a few extra squats and practice safe landings

tin foil hat alright

I think the difference is you are taking very specific injury rates of AFL. which is a fairly small sample size. the 2-3x increased injury rate is females in general, over all sports, where there is a far larger sample size over a much larger period of time.

stats can be manipulated to support any argument right??

Yeah but the article judged him from an individual point. I'm not individually judging him, i know as a player he is great but from a club point of view going forward there was no need for the old prick because the way we are coach and all we won't be winning a flag, so it would of been better off giving someone like Parfitt that time in the centre instead the club wanted the Ablett romance and put a young kids development back a couple of years.
It's two different issues, I reckon.
Issue 1: Gaz is actually playing better than he is generally being given credit for
Issue 2: Should we be giving older players game time over developing youngsters
I think you might be being a bit "ageist"

The counterpoint of course is whether or not the kids learn something from getting to spend a couple of years training with the modern GOAT.

Only naive one is you.

or from this real data

tin foil hat alright

HAHAHAHAHA so you have used one physio's comment to slander a whole medical profession. Nah your point is sound..nothing to see here. Geesus run for the hills people!

Could we have a thread started for all the incendiary material around AFLW that has gone all Wayne Johnston here over the last few pages, so that this thread might actually even vaguely resemble its thread title once more?
Good idea: "Why I hate the AFLW and think that Saudi Arabia's Patriarchy Laws are good for the ladies."

Could we have a thread started for all the incendiary material around AFLW that has gone all Wayne Johnston here over the last few pages, so that this thread might actually even vaguely resemble its thread title once more?

Yes...I think the argument is petering out and nothing more of value likely to be added.....

Back on topic fellow posters....

Yes...I think the argument is petering out and nothing more of value likely to be added.....

Back on topic fellow posters....

You are a very generous soul, DtC.

I would have said that very little of any value was added from the very first off-topic post debating the supposed merits or otherwise of AFLW. And it went downhill faster than Pirmin Zurbriggen from there.

Anyway, here's to someone following up soon with some heartening news regarding the #5's return to full-blown training loads. That would seriously make the thread worth following again.

EDIT: The news just above about Gaz spending plenty of time in the forward line does cheer me as well. I still want to see Toma and Rata in the key posts. But Gaz buzzing around down there with his smarts, skills and goal-sense could be very handy indeed. And it is well and truly time for the midfield mantle to be passed to others.