Pre-Season Thread

i reckon all the permission to train with us will get rookied listed since Brendan sounded like he has already picked his 6 rookies for next week and three of them are training with us atm and fit the 22-24 age group.

That's not really a concern. I've got a background in the building and hospitality industries, yet I'd know more about strength and conditioning than the average Joe would, even though I haven't done anything involved with that at a professional level.

Inness obviously has an interest in it and would have studied it part time. He wouldn't have fifteen years of experience at a professional level, but that doesn't mean he won't be good for the role.

yeah I hear you man

still think that unless someone is able to practice what they preach in the fitnezz bizz they shouldn't teach

yeah I hear you man

still think that unless someone is able to practice what they preach in the fitnezz bizz they shouldn't teach

So does that mean you're done and dusted in the fitness industry post 30-35? Or if you have a physical disability?

Pretty silly way of looking at things I would have thought.

Went to Training today (10 of Dec) and it was interesting to see how much different training is under BMac's tutelage.

- There were match simulations and different drills in a rough circle, with groups sprinting to each drill (1 - 2 min)

- One drill was a clearance one, Bubba would throw the ball to the ground and there were the clearance team and the defenders. Loved it when Bob Murphy was niggling young Talia, bumping him and harrassing him before the ball was rolled, then out of nowhere Matty Boyd comes in hard with a bump on Murphy seeing as Talia was on Boyd's "team".

Then someone tried to get through Matty Boyd's tackle *crunch* no uh, didn't make it, Boyd dumped him to the ground. Great Stuff.

Bubba went off at Zeph Skinner for stopping after the whistle was blown when he was about to kick for goal

"KICK YOUR GOALS! I know it's not serious, but you got to kick you goals Zeph!" There was of course Brad Johnson like language there too : )

Also noticed Zeph has NO tank at all, he was trailing the group after each drill, Stephen King yelled out "C'mon Zeph!" As he was struggling to run to the next drill.

I asked Brodie Moles what was up with his hand, he was favouring it and was marking the ball when required with the one arm. Said he broke it six weeks ago.

Geez, the guy can't catch a brea- I mean just can't shake the injuries.

- There was a coast to coast match simulation which was pretty good and another drill where guys would turn and the other player would kick the footy to them as they turned, some wild kicks too unfortunately, but very good for passing skills I reckon.

The mantra was "Kick the ball to him even when his back is turned, trust your leg!"

Very good training session and putting alot of work on decision making of players and skills.

Really different to the training drills that Rocket ran.

Can't wait to see the new game plan against an opposition team.

DEX

Oh yeah, I asked Guido about getting Bob Murphy on Twitter

reply "Bob on Twitter? I wouldn't think that's a good idea" hah hah

strange- someone said earlier that Zeph was getting fitter and leading the "B" group in some running drills.

Great write-up Dex, any noticeable improvements in any younger players?

Lukey D was prominent in his run and carry and always moving.

One little thing I liked in the clearance drill, Grant finally using his wingspan to bat down handballs from the opposition, compelled me to yell out "Good stuff Granty!".

The match coast to coast simulation was no soft one either, there was pressure and tackling looking to cause turnovers.

Bmac was in the middle barking out instructions. One thing too that was good, Cross was kicking quite a bit more, perhaps an order from BMac?

Hopefully he'll have confidence in his ankles to kick more this year.

Also from the Bulldog Shop, little girl wanted a Lukey D badge

"Sorry, we're all sold out of those" Talk about popular!

great report Dex
Let's hope all the hard work will pay off next year.
hopefully bulldogs recorded the training for people that couldn't make it.

Did you see any of the permission to train players?

great report Dex
Let's hope all the hard work will pay off next year.
hopefully bulldogs recorded the training for people that couldn't make it.

Did you see any of the permission to train players?
Not really sure, saw someone wearing Krusher's number 35, didn't know who it was, but it was the "mystery man" Tom Hill, mobile and training! And someone told me what the "rehab" group were doing. It looked pretty mild and boring, but she said they had been doing lap after lap around the Oval.

What I saw of them were lots of of "touch" drills reflexes etc. Then for a bit of fun I hope, they were trying to kick the ball into an empty bin...at least I hope it was for a bit of fun not a serious training drill!

Lukey D was prominent in his run and carry and always moving.

One little thing I liked in the clearance drill, Grant finally using his wingspan to bat down handballs from the opposition, compelled me to yell out "Good stuff Granty!".

The match coast to coast simulation was no soft one either, there was pressure and tackling looking to cause turnovers.

Bmac was in the middle barking out instructions. One thing too that was good, Cross was kicking quite a bit more, perhaps an order from BMac?

Hopefully he'll have confidence in his ankles to kick more this year.

Also from the Bulldog Shop, little girl wanted a Lukey D badge

"Sorry, we're all sold out of those" Talk about popular!

Cheers mate. Loved the comment in bold...

I went yesterday. I don´t know about any major differences in the drills looked pretty similar to any other open session I have been to with Rocket there, least not yesterday anyway. Griff was doing a lot of running by himself and did not join in the main group and was not in the rehab group either. He had some strapping on the knee but was running freely.

Usual suspects in the rehab group, Williams, Lake, Cooney, Hargrave and Higgins. Hooper was also in that group.

Of note for me was the size that has been put on by Hooper. He looked bigger than last year, back pocket enforcer beckons him. JJ also has put on size, looks fit, this kid is quick might be one to watch at Willi this year.

Tahlia is a very nice size for any age, let alone 18, moves really well too. But as expected his kicking style is awkward and it´s why he was drafted so late for sure I´d say. But looks a player.

Clay Smith is built to play rd 1. Moves well. Like the size of Dickson too, got a feeling about him for rd 1.

Cordy and Tom Hill both moving well. Cordy looks fit, not sure he´s a lot bigger though. Hill is a big man, be interesting at Willi this year I think.

Matt Panos looks super fit, he has put on some size. He has done a power of work on the upper body for sure. Can´t say Grant looked any different, like Murphy that´s his build he will never be a monster, but then he does not really need to be to be a good player.

About how much larger does Panos look? Has he just packed on a lot of upper body muscle?

Was Liam Jones there?

His arms have a lot more definition to them, he has put in a lot of work I think. He did last year when he really trimmed down and got a lot fitter, this year he has taken that a step further and looks really strong.

Jones was there and he looks really fit also. But he has always been pretty fit. He does not look much different to last year, that I could tell anyway.

good news re: Panos. He is just so accurate with his kicking for goal that it would be a crying shame if he didnt make it.

Certainly one of the more interesting build-ups to the season in recent memory - new coach, new style, new faces taking up important positions in the team.

Anyone have any news on how Wallis and Libba are traveling? Really want either of these two to push for 18+ games.

also how is roughy traveling? cheers.

All three trained strongly with the main group on Saturday. Wallis and Liberatore came to the club with pretty mature bodies so they looked pretty much the same as last year. It's another preseason in them which must be great for their development.

I'm looking forward so much to see how they go next year. I think both will get plenty of games, but maybe not at the same time. Crossy looks so fit, hard to see him not being in the best 22, so these boys will really need to be playing very well to take his spot and of course Clay Smith looks ready to go body wise and Tory Dickson too...however i'm not sure if he's a mid or more a forward, I suspect more a forward?

So plenty of competiton for maybe 1 or 2 inside mid spots. Someone on here noted that Cross was kicking the ball more in the drills and to hold his spot he needs to be doing more by foot I think.

Hope these kids really push hard for selection and keep some of the older mids on edge a bit. All good.

PS...forgot to mention Sherman, he did look good too. He would want a much better year than last, I thought he was very disappointing.

Code:
Anyone have any news on how Wallis and Libba are traveling? Really want either of these two to push for 18+ games.

also how is roughy traveling? cheers.

I believe that Wallis will have a big year this year. He is looking super
fit and his competitive nature will have him pushing for a consistent
spot in the side. Libba will have another solid season aswell.

Roughy is still looking a little behind where I'd hope he'd be but lets
just hope that doesn't carry over to his form this season.

Code:

I believe that Wallis will have a big year this year. He is looking super
fit and his competitive nature will have him pushing for a consistent
spot in the side. Libba will have another solid season aswell.

Roughy is still looking a little behind where I'd hope he'd be but lets
just hope that doesn't carry over to his form this season.
Roughy had a few little injuries through out the year this year.

I'm looking forward so much to see how they go next year. I think both will get plenty of games, but maybe not at the same time. Crossy looks so fit, hard to see him not being in the best 22, so these boys will really need to be playing very well to take his spot and of course Clay Smith looks ready to go body wise and Tory Dickson too...however i'm not sure if he's a mid or more a forward, I suspect more a forward?

So plenty of competiton for maybe 1 or 2 inside mid spots. Someone on here noted that Cross was kicking the ball more in the drills and to hold his spot he needs to be doing more by foot I think.
Is this bloke being serious? Cross outside the best 22?

Pre-Season Thread