Training Pre season training

Not sure what he's like as a person, but RTB wouldn't have brought him in unless he rated him highly. Trust the process!
Bolton’s a highly credentialed person in the industry…very successful assistant coach, director of coaching at Collingwood.
He’s heavily involved with training & seems a good people person!

can Peckett get in for the 2025 draft as father son, or is father sone only a 1 year deal?
Jaren Carr just got selected
can Peckett get in for the 2025 draft as father son, or is father sone only a 1 year deal?
Jaren Carr just got picked up by Freo as FS and he is 20

What do you mean, no? Dow was offered a crappy contract by Blues and they couldn't retain him. You really think they'd offer a couple of rookies train on positions before Jack based on his obvious talents? I'd suggest not.

It almost certainly was salary cap relief, much like Owies, Kennedy and Lewis Young who never left in the end.
It may have been a case of Vossy not rating Caroll…guess we’ll never know!

Jaren Carr just got selected

Jaren Carr just got picked up by Freo as FS and he is 20
but my question relates to if did Jaren Carr request father and son in 2023 and 2024 ? is Father son selections only 1 year, or if they don't get picked up in the initial can they nominate again for father son?

A word of caution about players from other clubs.
McRae can footy no doubt but he looked slow and out of sorts when he came in against Hoks in the final. Admittedly Hoks were on fire that day.
Clubs don't let A grade players leave without good reason.
Clearly Bevo had moved past him, he got the shits as an AA mid should. So we wait and see, if he can be as productive as Crouch then fantastic, but I am not sure he will, be better than Seb yes but that's as far as I see it.

Stocker we know is a GOF who played as a mid late and went okay, but he will not be an A grade mid, may not even be best 22/5 by end of season.
Dow I want to see the positives but he is neither one or the other, not super quick, not strong in the contest and is not a great kick, again a GOF who has had injuries excuses and a bit like Clark. However Clark is better than Dow by a long way on exposed form.

Carroll well he has the attributes and a bit like Hugo at Saints, he has a few ahead in the pecking order at Carlton, bit like Membrey at Swans when Goodes resigned someone had to go, hope that is the case with Carroll.

Bit like Hugo there is a spot for him in best 22 if he is good enough.

Carroll is going with Wilson Wood Hill Byrnes and Trav for a wing spot and Hugo is vying with Clark Windy Jones Dow Stocker Pou and maybe Sincs for 3 spots in the midfield after Steele and McRae.
Much prefer him and Hugo over Bonar last year who was a lot of peoples oh how good is he stuff.

RTB is finally getting some quality over quantity and you can tell a good list by who you delist, there will be some good players leaving next year, sad but good for Saints.

On SM-S916B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Yeah Tauru was definitely there. After they watched the time trial the boys came out and watch main training tmfrom the sidelines. Alix came out a little later and stood under the marquee. He was most certainly there.

By way of protecting my track reputation, I was there around an hour and there we as no sign of him. The other new boys were present at the mini marquees on the boundary with Mr Muscles (presume fitness guy) and a coach explaining things. I must have left by the time he came out. The earlier pic showing Viking is not Linton Street.

Add me to the list of people who think Nas played better than Sinclair this year.

Any improvement from Nas from here on out is bonus territory for me.
I preface this by saying I’m a Nas fan…there are 2 elements of his game that can improve:
1. His one on one marking/ spoiling
2. Sticking his tackles

Both can occur with greater body strength

Very confident Clark will be a regular…
He’s been virtually a permanent fixture in our midfield when he’s played the last two seasons, but damn it would be useful if he had an injury/concussion free run in the next 12 months.

If he could go up a level, on top of the additions of Macrae and Pou, we could be soooo much better in there.

Windhager the tagger if we go with one
If his injury issues continue it wouldn’t surprise me in the slightest if we went with Garcia in that role.

Has the tank and the speed to be able to go with anyone and with his terminator-like focus and insane willingness and abilty to tackle, I’d hate for him to be following me around all game.

Definitely a risk of the "sophomore slump" with any player, however I do think that Wilson's tank and running ability will allow him to contribute well even if he gets a little bit "figured out" by the oppo. It's a point of difference which is more in his control than the surprise factor of taking a few freakish hangers, for example.

Certainly looks like he's come back in fine form on the track, and provided he hasn't forgotten how to kick, handpass, or remember which end of the ground we're kicking to, I'm backing him to be solid, at worst.
Yeah totally, I probably didn’t word it perfectly, I think he’ll still be solid, but that post was largely in response to one or more suggestions that Darcy might go up another level or two, which I think is highly unlikely.

We had even higher hopes for another guy with great endurance in Windy, in his second season, and it didn’t happen.

This year we would have had similar hopes that the super-fit Pou would go up a level off the back of another preseason, and he pretty much stunk it up until finally dropped, before an awesome late burst.

Lots of us would have hoped that Owens would go up another level this year off a 3rd preseason and it didn’t happen.

Cooper Sharman was picked up mid year and had a super-promising end to that season and we hoped he’d be better the next year for an AFL preseason and it didn’t happen.

Etc etc.

Of course it can happen, but improvement is very rarely linear for young guys, even if they’re super-fit.

As such, I will just see it as a big bonus if Wilson is better next year. Not as an expectation of any kind.

And this has nothing to do with him personally. It’s purely on the balance of probabilities.

McRae can footy no doubt but he looked slow and out of sorts when he came in against Hoks in the final. Admittedly Hoks were on fire that day.
Clearly Bevo had moved past him, he got the shits as an AA mid should. So we wait and see, if he can be as productive as Crouch then fantastic, but I am not sure he will, be better than Seb yes but that's as far as I see it.

Stocker we know is a GOF who played as a mid late and went okay, but he will not be an A grade mid, may not even be best 22/5 by end of season.
Dow I want to see the positives but he is neither one or the other, not super quick, not strong in the contest and is not a great kick, again a GOF who has had injuries excuses and a bit like Clark. However Clark is better than Dow by a long way on exposed form.

Carroll well he has the attributes and a bit like Hugo at Saints, he has a few ahead in the pecking order at Carlton, bit like Membrey at Swans when Goodes resigned someone had to go, hope that is the case with Carroll.

Carroll is going with Wilson Wood Hill Byrnes and Trav for a wing spot and Hugo is vying with Clark Windy Jones Dow Stocker Pou and maybe Sincs for 3 spots in the midfield after Steele and McRae.
Much prefer him and Hugo over Bonar last year who was a lot of peoples oh how good is he stuff.

RTB is finally getting some quality over quantity and you can tell a good list by who you delist, there will be some good players leaving next year, sad but good for Saints.

Macrae was left out because they have too many inside mids and their time to challenge is when those players like Darcy and JUH are 23 to 25. They have Ed Richards who has stepped up to be a gun mid and Sanders who is an elite kid to feed games into. Bont is still young enough to have 4 years left and Libba can carry the inside roll for a bit longer while those kids build up. Paying Macrae and Daniel huge money to be fringe players is a waste. You are better off developing a kid.

Carroll is is one who Carlton fans all seemed shocked about losing. Even when he was delisted plenty thought he'd be rookied. He looks like a general depth option being able to play inside mid, HB, forward and wing. Injury has cost him a lot of games but if it all comes off you get a high upside player for free.

Wilson will go from strength to strength

Hope so. A lot have second year blues as training loads and intensity step up. You imagine physically he'll cope but they reckon mental fatigue is full on. He's going to be a star regardless.

To have half the natural tank of Wilson. It is a sight to watch at training. Harvey had a tank but always looked knackered( the way he recovered). Wilson runs as hard and long and wouldn't blow a candle out.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Yeah Tauru was definitely there. After they watched the time trial the boys came out and watch main training tmfrom the sidelines. Alix came out a little later and stood under the marquee. He was most certainly there.
Yeah Alix was getting hair and make up done by the marketing team in preparation for his poster boy status 🤫
THE most exciting prospect since Rooey..

Is anybody able to post the John Ralph super footy article about Saints set to go ballistic next year with up to 10 payers in their sights . Cheers
We’re not allowed to post full articles so maybe a bunch of us who have access to it post 1 paragraph each!

FWIW, I don't see why Wilson can't be as good as last year. Looks like he is getting the AFL body, but I would still have him mainly half forward moving on to a wing with stints in the midfield.
Everyone last preseason were effusive about him but I couldn't see it. He proved me wrong by playing all 23 games and flourished in the back end. Could have had 5 goals against Geelong. Think he will surprise the nay sayers.

Dow looks more composed this pre season and is fully fit. The two sessions I have been too he has looked slick and quick.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app
I’ve been watching football for a long time and as I’ve said before Wilson is as good as anyone I’ve seen getting goal square to goal square. Now that’s not easy to shut down the same as it wasn’t easy to shutdown Riewoldt who ran his opponents into the ground.

He also has other strings to his bow that we haven’t seen a lot of, he tested well in the vertical leap and was know for being able to take a grab. I’m very impressed and can’t see any reason why he wouldn’t continue to improve. Second year blues is more to do with sore bodies and opposition planning than anything else.

He’s come back in tip top shape and looks ready to go, who’s going to run with him in games ?.

Macrae was left out because they have too many inside mids and their time to challenge is when those players like Darcy and JUH are 23 to 25. They have Ed Richards who has stepped up to be a gun mid and Sanders who is an elite kid to feed games into. Bont is still young enough to have 4 years left and Libba can carry the inside roll for a bit longer while those kids build up. Paying Macrae and Daniel huge money to be fringe players is a waste. You are better off developing a kid.

Carroll is is one who Carlton fans all seemed shocked about losing. Even when he was delisted plenty thought he'd be rookied. He looks like a general depth option being able to play inside mid, HB, forward and wing. Injury has cost him a lot of games but if it all comes off you get a high upside player for free.

A mate of mine who is a mad Carlton fan said he was surprised they let him go and said he had all the tools and attributes, and at times was brilliant in games. The only knock was that he’d go missing, so for him consistency was the issue.

I reckon second year blues are more a by-product of opposition teams actually putting time into a player who had a good 1st season, not to mention having access to film of their game and running patterns. Darcy is going to have some attention this year and the hardest part for young players is working through that extra attention/ gameplan to stop his influence, that they aren't used to.

No doubt his aerobic capacity will help in this regard, but that is exactly what teams will know about and try to combat.

I think what we’re hoping for/banking on re Macrae is a “new club bounce”.

It’s very common for guys who have stagnated or regressed at their previous club to come to their new club with a renewed energy and focus, and if we can get that from Macrae, that will help enormously.

What I’m thinking we’re likely to get from him is a new club bounce year this year, we’re he’s close to what we were getting from Crouch, followed by a serviceable season the following year, and hopefully we’ve had others go past him by year 3, like what happened to him at WB.

While we’ll hopefully get the new club bounce from Carroll, coupled with the natural improvement from someone that sort of age.

Training Pre season training