Training Pre season training

Just from reading the training reports it sounds like the penny may have dropped for Lancey Boy. I reckon someone has been in his ear and he’s realised just how privileged he is to be making good coin and playing on an afl list. Sounds like he’s feeling a lot more comfortable in his own skin and at the level leading into his second year.
I think he has a bit of suspension to serve doesn’t he? Bit really hoping he pushes for selection really quick especially with Henry being injury prone. Could fill a gap nicely.
Looks to have put on a bit of size too in the photos I’ve seen although still pretty tiny.
I think Collard's suspension was just to the end of last season, should be available round 1 if I'm not mistaken?

Also I don't think he's a replacement for Henry. He's more a deep small forward without the work rate to work up and down. Max Hall is the Henry replacement imo

I’d be keen to hear supporters views on who you think are the best 5 mids for our side - not wingmen, inside mids:
I’ll start -

Steele
Macrae
Windhager
Clark
Phillipou
i would agree with those 5,puts us in a good position if 3 can play every game and clark and windy can have a good run,then have jones,dow,garcia,carroll and boxshall busting their asses any time they have to step up,with one of them demanding to keep his spot with his form

You need two KPFs realistically. Size is irrelevant. One close to goal one more mobile marking player around the 50 meter line to create a contest. One in the square as a spiller or marker. King is probably best as that outside player and Hammer as a the side the square spiller. To me Sharman is competing with Owen as that third tall forward option. Snags and Butler the smalls. Hill, Wood etc the high HFFs that move up with the play like wingmen.[/

I get your point but to me size, mobility and how players compliment each other is super relevant and important on turnover and we get really punished in that area from our forward 50. A full preseasoned Butler will help but I don’t think we should go too tall and predictable. I hate when we just continually just bomb to the top of the square. I think more mobile marking forwards that can get up and back like Sharmen and Owens compliment King better.

Only time will tell when we start seeing them play again with some new tweaks to the gameplan

You need two KPFs realistically. Size is irrelevant. One close to goal one more mobile marking player around the 50 meter line to create a contest. One in the square as a spiller or marker. King is probably best as that outside player and Hammer as a the side the square spiller. To me Sharman is competing with Owen as that third tall forward option. Snags and Butler the smalls. Hill, Wood etc the high HFFs that move up with the play like wingmen.
Yep agree totally. The problem last year was that one or the other were injured or in the case of King not really able to push up the ground that much.

King likes the push and shove but he's not great at it that's why I'd prefer him playing higher for parts of the game with Caminiti out of the square.

The way to solve the problem is to turn Owens into a mid then the 3rd tall role can be shared between Owens, Sharman and Phillipou.

Just from reading the training reports it sounds like the penny may have dropped for Lancey Boy. I reckon someone has been in his ear and he’s realised just how privileged he is to be making good coin and playing on an afl list. Sounds like he’s feeling a lot more comfortable in his own skin and at the level leading into his second year.
I think he has a bit of suspension to serve doesn’t he? Bit really hoping he pushes for selection really quick especially with Henry being injury prone. Could fill a gap nicely.
Looks to have put on a bit of size too in the photos I’ve seen although still pretty tiny.
I was aghast at his training standards over preseason last year. I went today and, to be completely honest, I can’t see any improvement. In the 50m(?) pseudo beep test, his level is basically the very tall slowbies, maybe marginally better.

His tank is my concern. A small fwd should not be in same running group as Moose and Cordy.

Yep agree totally. The problem last year was that one or the other were injured or in the case of King not really able to push up the ground that much.

King likes the push and shove but he's not great at it that's why I'd prefer him playing higher for parts of the game with Caminiti out of the square.

The way to solve the problem is to turn Owens into a mid then the 3rd tall role can be shared between Owens, Sharman and Phillipou.
Ross values Owens' impact up forward over his potential impact in the midfield because we don't have another player like that. In fact, no team in the comp has a player like him, he provides a dimension to our forward line that'll make it hard to compete against once the other guys click

Macrae
Steele
Windhager
Dow
Jones
Clark
Phillipou

Matteus could be the absolute best off the lot by the end of ext year and Hugo Garcia not far behind that. His end to the season showed he's got the potential to be an absolute star.
That’s seven mate, gonna need you to trim up a bit ty

Ross values Owens' impact up forward over his potential impact in the midfield because we don't have another player like that. In fact, no team in the comp has a player like him, he provides a dimension to our forward line that'll make it hard to compete against once the other guys click
Well then that makes it easy - its sub or Sandy for Sharman.

Sharman's role is nothing like Owens'

Our forward set up when we beat Geelong and others late last season was Caminiti, Membrey, Sharman, Owens

They all fit in the same lineup. It works

Now we can replace Caminiti with King, then Membrey with Keeler/Barrat/Caminiti (with a switch of forward role)

His tank is my concern. A small fwd should not be in same running group as Moose and Cordy.
He also looks like he has no idea where the gym is at Moorabbin, he can look freakish when he gets the ball at times but I'm not sure he has the right mindset at present, I don't go to training so maybe I have no idea

What's the story with the pump up that some are giving Max Hall , he looked as if he couldn't win a maiden at Burrumbeet and now 4 months later some have him a Cox plate horse.
I only saw the games he played at Sandy and to be kind they were average at best , I hope I'm wrong but some were banging on about Allison last pre season and we know how that turned out

And yet here is Ross saying that he has elite endurance. 🥴

What's the story with the pump up that some are giving Max Hall , he looked as if he couldn't win a maiden at Burrumbeet and now 4 months later some have him a Cox plate horse.
I only saw the games he played at Sandy and to be kind they were average at best , I hope I'm wrong but some were banging on about Allison last pre season and we know how that turned out
There is one every off season. Hall not even playing a stand out game at Sandy makes him more obscure and more interesting to hype up off a few training drills.

By the time the pre-season games roll around, someone will have Patrick Said winning the Coleman

Hall was regarded as the best mid in the VFL when we recruited him mid season. He was injured early, possibly due to the increase in loads from VFL to AFL. When he did play towards the end of the season he showed positive signs but he was limited by the fact he was still coming to grips with the game style. He has come back from the long break very fit and with a better understanding of the game plan and he is now displaying the skills which obviouslly appealed to our recruiters.

You can’t compare him with Allison who was completely raw but athletic and had little or no exposed form. Despite being on the list and in the development program for 4 years he hardly improved at all.

If Clark remains in our top 5 we are in trouble... He does some good things, but just cant run out games or pressure on turn over. His lag of speed or run becomes a liability too often for me.
I disagree that Clark as our 4th or 5th midfielder and in the second rotation of onballers means we are in 'trouble'.

I do agree that his lack of game time is a concern, as his ability to play another position.

But Ross the boss clearly thinks he is best 22, as he was selected in every game once fit from Round 12 onwards.

And I don't think it's a coincidence that we won 8 out of the 11 games he played last season.

He offers something different in midfield and it appeared to me that he was clearly building from injury return - first five games were all under 20 possies and and final six were all 20-plus.

In theory, 10 percent more game time could elevate his possession numbers to 25ish, and him feeding it out to our runners more is only a plus in my opinion.

If he doesn't step up his impact, with extra game time or not, or regresses, then he will be vulnerable to the likes of Hugo Garcia, Paddy Dow, Jack Carroll, Max Hall etc.

Hopefully we see the extra game time and output, but it was similar to his output last season, he certainly won't be a liability - he just won't be among the top midfield group and could be vulnerable to improving players.

Rayner.

Owens wins contests. Much easier to do that man to man than in congestion where he gets loss. Massive strength. Think he can be that player for us forward of centre.

We only have 2 'best' inside mids - Steele and Macrae. No one else warrants being mentioned at this point.

The other options are either kids who only have a few genuinely good midfield games under their belt or mid-career guys who get a lot of excuses to justify their averageness due to our lack of other options.
No doubt there is a gap between Steele & Macrae - and the rest.
Still many unanswered questions about the others. Here are just a few for starters.
  • Can Pou pick up where he left off?, can he go another level and elevate himself to sit alongside Steele & Macrae?
  • If Windy gets an injury free run, is his best role as a run with player or can he be a matchwinner in his own right?
  • If Clark gets an injury free run, can he finally cement a spot in the midfield?
  • How much upside is there in Carroll ? in Hall ?
  • Is 2025 Garcia's breakout year? If not, is Jones our only burst speed from contest option?
  • With a full preseason, and now at peak age, what does Dow offer?
Midfield is the one area I feel confident we will see some improvement in 2025.

Reshaping the defence however, will be a learning on the run exercise and I think we'll see a few different things tried throughout the year to cover the loss of Battle.

The line that Im most interested to see play out is the forwards. I still think we are still missing another quality small forward, but again lots of unknowns with how the seasons of Collard, Henry, and Garcia play out. Bolton's influence on the forward line will be another interesting watch.

Although I'm yet to see them kick a footy, it's hard for me to imagine either Boxshall or Said are getting a game next year.

Training Pre season training