Training Pre season training

agree - he's an average/poor mid
I don’t understand how you and others are already judging him as ‘poor’ when he was drafted 6 months ago after being the ‘biggest improver in the VFL’ over last pre-season and coming off 2 ACLs and a COVID-affected draft year. 3+ years of discontinuous football

The way he played in the VFL in the 2024 season both before and after being drafted was extremely impressive given the context

At this rate of improvement, he’s going to be at least a serviceable late bloomer in the AFL side

Re Boyd - great tier 2 player who deserves a crack at the big time. Has some obvious floors given he’s been overlooked so many times BUT has an opportunity to prove people wrong.
Will have to earn it, and is very much a Tom cambpell replacement until he can prove he compliments our best 22.
Meanwhile, Ro is the second best ruckman in the comp behind Gawn and arguably the best around the ground.
We will need someone to support him, up to Keeler, Hammer, Boyd, Heath & Dodson to earn that role.
Hope Boyd can impact like our previous SANFL level players but he hasn’t been picked to build a game plan around

Most impressive:

• Phillipou
  • Wilson
  • Keeler
  • Garcia
  • Hastie
  • McLennan
  • Macrae
  • Steele
  • Owens

Likely debutants:

• Travaglia
  • Barratt
  • Keeler
  • Hall

Likely big improvers:

• O’Connell
  • Collard
  • Hastie
  • Hall
  • Keeler
  • Sharman
  • Arie

Question marks:

• Boyd
  • Dow
  • Jones
  • Webster

Translation - Keeler rocks and Boyd sucks ass. :moustache:

It was great catching up Tyrian and having a Saints "State of the Union" chat.

As I had suggested....don't mention you know who..........it's a bit like "don't mention the war" when yr in Germany...!!!

SPOILER ALERT:

He's NO-50.

;) ;)

I've nothing really to add to Joffaboy's mighty training report.

Oh.....just a couple of things;

As Joffaboy's pics showed.....several of the "bike machines" were down on the boundary line.....I'd never seen them on the boundary line before.......a couple of long time track watchers told me that they've never seen them on the boundary line before.

It was very practical having the machines on the boundary line....straight off the field and onto a bike.....if required.

Up close they were incredibly impressive machines.......they probably do everything except make a flat white coffee...!!!!!

It was so good seeing Liam Henry clocking up the km's along with Big Maxy and the "Flying Viking"

It certainly added a "bit of theatre" for the big crowd.

"Super Cooper" took 2 big pack marks which certainly caught my eye.

The highlight for me was Lancy shooting an absolute laser pass to Big Maxy who was deep in the foward pocket on the boundary......I thought no way will he kick it.....cue a mighty curling bananna......I'm sure I felt something stir........

Overall....a very very strong session yesterday.......early days but very impressive.

I'm tipping it was the most arduous so far in the pre season.
Have to agree with everything here especially the bit about my excellent report
I wrote about Lancyboy in my report when he hit that pass, all class, but needs to get more involved.
The session was as high intensity as I have seen this pre season, making them earn it before the break.
Had a close look at the bikes. State of the art. Surprised how small in build Tauru is. Obviously no weights and real strength training until his back is ok.
Anyway good pre Xmas, the work really ramps in Jan.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

It was great catching up Tyrian and having a Saints "State of the Union" chat.

As I had suggested....don't mention you know who..........it's a bit like "don't mention the war" when yr in Germany...!!!

SPOILER ALERT:

He's NO-50.

;) ;)

I've nothing really to add to Joffaboy's mighty training report.

Oh.....just a couple of things;

As Joffaboy's pics showed.....several of the "bike machines" were down on the boundary line.....I'd never seen them on the boundary line before.......a couple of long time track watchers told me that they've never seen them on the boundary line before.

It was very practical having the machines on the boundary line....straight off the field and onto a bike.....if required.

Up close they were incredibly impressive machines.......they probably do everything except make a flat white coffee...!!!!!

It was so good seeing Liam Henry clocking up the km's along with Big Maxy and the "Flying Viking"

It certainly added a "bit of theatre" for the big crowd.

"Super Cooper" took 2 big pack marks which certainly caught my eye.

The highlight for me was Lancy shooting an absolute laser pass to Big Maxy who was deep in the foward pocket on the boundary......I thought no way will he kick it.....cue a mighty curling bananna......I'm sure I felt something stir........

Overall....a very very strong session yesterday.......early days but very impressive.

I'm tipping it was the most arduous so far in the pre season.

don't they have those bike machines at the games to? if so, maybe mimicking the game.

McLennan would want rapid improvement from what I've watched at VFL and AFL level. He's good in the air, but when the ball is on the ground he looks lost. Can get away with it slightly in the VFL but was shown up at the higher level this year.

And how was Webster the first few years at the club? Stocker and Sinclair likewise. You blokes have very short memories and are quick to write kids off if they arent super stars in their first couple of years. McLennan might not play 200 games or displace anyone in the side, but he is a young kid who will keep improving over time. He has one elite skill in contested marking, none of our current small defenders possess that, he is worth persisting with.

Have a look at the years of development the recent sucessful clubs have put into some of their group before they became premiership players. There are no quick fixes in football, just hard work and development

And how was Webester the first few years at the club? Stocker and Sinclair likewise. You blokes have very short memories and are quick to write kids off if they arent super stars in their first couple of years. McLennan might not play 200 games or displace anyone in the side, but he is a young kid who will keep improving over time. He has one elite skill in contested marking, none of our current small defenders possess that, he is worth persisting with.

Have a look at the years of development the recent sucessful clubs have put into some of their group before they became premiership players. There are no quick fixes in football, just hard work and development
mclennan is very much a Geary clone if ever I saw one

On SM-A156E using BigFooty.com mobile app

And how was Webester the first few years at the club? Stocker and Sinclair likewise. You blokes have very short memories and are quick to write kids off if they arent super stars in their first couple of years. McLennan might not play 200 games or displace anyone in the side, but he is a young kid who will keep improving over time. He has one elite skill in contested marking, none of our current small defenders possess that, he is worth persisting with.

Weren’t you the one relentlessly berating Boyd before he’d even stepped foot into the club?

Gus is also a terrific intercept player, hard at it and courageous…He is the likely heir apparent to Webster

Given the likelihood that Battle will be replaced by an inexperienced defender, and also the possibility that Sinclair will spend less time in the backline, I see Webster as playing a critical leadership role down back with Wilkie and Howard. The backline more than any other line needs strong leadership to ensure everyone is coordinated.

Given we recruited so many players capable of playing midfield, I would be reticent to play Sinclair full time through there. He is just too valuable to our defence and given that we have lost the experience of Battle I think Sinclair will be required down there. The club will want to get games into Travaglia etc but not at the expense of our defensive strengths I would have thought. Hence Sinclair and NWM will be locks and the other 3rd & 4th small defender positions to be hotly contested.

i bleached my own

Church Kitchen GIF by Robert E Blackmon

From Saintsational...

KING SHOWING SOME GOOD SIGNS by Josh Barnes

"St Kilda spearhead Max King pushed through his biggest session of pre-season so far, as his potential key forward running mate Rowan Marshall showed impressive signs in attack.

The Saints finished their pre-Christmas training with a gruelling 150-minute session on Wednesday, taking in full-ground match simulation before a brutal running session to close.

Marshall played exclusively forward during two different matchplay stints, one full ground and another in just the attacking two-thirds.

Summer signing Harry Boyd took ruck duties while Marshall played forward, with the SANFL star rucking for a team wearing red that appeared to be virtually a full strength ‘A’ side.

Marshall clunked two big grabs near the goalsquare and dished out a direct goal assist in the shorter match play session, rotating with King, who also took two big marks.

With Boyd brought in as a mature ruck option, the Saints are testing out playing Marshall and King together forward more in 2025, after Marshall drifted forward to kick eight goals in his last five games of 2024.

King has been limited in pre-season while managing a knee issue and broke off to run laps after 90 minutes.

But the spearhead looked fit and was dangerous when playing up front. Marshall’s contact has been limited after off-
season wrist surgery and he wore a flouro hat to indicate limited contact.

Marcus Windhager (hamstring) and Liam Stocker (groin) stepped out of training to run with King, while Liam Henry (knee) watched on and hopes to rejoin full training in February.

Third-year Saint Mattaes Phillipou started in the first centre bounce for the red side, with Hunter Clark playing inside-midfield minutes.

Recruit Jack Macrae was a notable midfielder in the yellow bib on the ‘B’ team.

Both Jack Sinclair and Nasiah Wanganeen-Milera played as high half-backs during the full ground play, as did draftee Tobie Travaglia for the ‘B’ team.

Mitch Owens played forward and combined well with Cooper Sharman as marking targets, while Jack Higgins snuck in for multiple goals.

Second-year defender Arie Schoenmaker played in the ‘B’ defence but racked up the footy.

Second-year midfielder Darcy Wilson easily led the exhausting running session, ahead of Travaglia and Windhager."

He mentioned the following as "players who impressed":

Arie Schoenmaker - The long-kicking left-footer has to be on the Supercoach watch list. He collected loose possessions at will during match play. The Saints will want to get gametime into him next year.

Angus Hastie - Wore a non-contact fluoro cap but took in the entire session and impressed with his willingness to take on the game from half-back. Expect him to win more gametime next year after five appearances in his debut season.

Hunter Clark - Injury-free this pre-season, Clark played in the guts during match sim and combined well with skipper Jack Steele, He will be praying for a fully fit season.

Liam O'Connell - Keep an eye on the uncapped Irishman. He was played as a key back in one drill then showed promising signs as a rebounder in full ground play. His kicking will still take work but he has promise.
"

“I’m a Webster fan but Father Time catches up with all of us..need to look at the big picture moving forward!
Reality says we’ve got some younger, hungry players such as McLennan, Hastie & O’Connell all waiting for opportunities.
Everyone I speak to is impressed with McLennan, not sure how often you go to training?
We see things through different lenses sometimes but we’ve also got a right to express opinion.”

I still think for the start of 2025 Webster will be ahead of McLennan & Hastie if he’s had an uninterrupted preseason and is fit. Stocker may be picked ahead of them also. That view may change by the end of the year. I think Hastie might come for Byrnes wing role anyway not back pocket and may replace Sinclair at HB in the longer term not the Webster role.

I think if Jones is fit his finish too last year and what I have seen at training he will be picked ahead of Dow, Carrol and maybe even Garcia to start the year. His body is temperamental though so great we have the other guys there to come in and he might not go on much longer.

If the list is still this healthy at the start of the season there is going to be a real squeeze for positions.

A lot of the guys listed as improving is fantastic but they may have to take that improvement into dominating VFL level first rather than automatic selection in the 1sts as we can only pick 22 and Ross is going to be after wins this year!

I like Hall and can see he’s improved his tank, but he’s going to have to get picked ahead of Butler (looking super fit too and had a great finish to last year) and Higgins (our leading goal kicker) then Henry coming back later on once healthy again. There’s not many spots left in the forward line?

I just love seeing the overall improvement and depth for next man up we are building though so agree with your sentiment there. Just think some might have to wait for an injury or some exposed form in the 2nds to push their way into selection that’s all.

Had a close look at the bikes. State of the art. Surprised how small in build Tauru is. Obviously no weights and real strength training until his back is ok.
Anyway good pre Xmas, the work really ramps in Jan.
I too was a little surprised at how small in build the "Flying Viking" was.

I'd hadn't seen him that close up before and when he was powering away(ala Tour de France) on one of those "Super Bikes" was a little shocked at how slim he was.

As you say....very very early days for him.....he's just a kid.

I’m a Webster fan but Father Time catches up with all of us..need to look at the big picture moving forward!
Reality says we’ve got some younger, hungry players such as McLennan, Hastie & O’Connell all waiting for opportunities.
Everyone I speak to is impressed with McLennan, not sure how often you go to training?
We see things through different lenses sometimes but we’ve also got a right to express opinion
Would be great if the kids can push them out but I reckon Webster and Jones will get a crack first up. They’ve got the runs on the board, they’re still looking good and we’ve got a tough few weeks. The others will have to spend their time at Sandy beating down the doors. Great to see it.

I was also at training yesterday - was very chilled because I knew others would write far better training reports than I could so I just sat back and watched, particularly looking for the new draftees. Anyway I did notice Webster who just keeps on doing his thing.

TT and Dodson just stick out like sore thumbs - in a good way and I’m not sure I actually spotted the others, maybe the 18 going on 25 year old Barrett.

King is looking fantastic - hopefully this is his year.

As others have commented, very vocal, happy and encouraging out there.

Training Pre season training