Training Pre season training

The current game requires what it has always required - being able to get the ball.

Clark has improved his contested possession and clearance rates significantly over the past two years as he's been played more as an inside mid.

Getting an uninterrupted run will see those stats continue to improve.

Hopefully you are right but there is a long list of players to compete with now, all of whom are players who can actually run. I just dont see who he displaces out of the best 25 players, we cant keep carrying a player who spends more than a 1/4 a game sitting in the pine.

I have never been a fan as I think he has wasted his talent with his distinct lack of work ethic and preparation. He is very lucky he landed at a club with one of the worst lists in the competition, otherwise he would be playing in the country somewhere.

Anyway, here is a Chrissy present from uncle Joffa.

Glory in this over the gloomy summer days until Jan 9th where we remorselessly march towards that last Saturday in September.

My favourite is the Italian looking Sheila desperately hitting her hand screaming touched touched :D :D :D :D :D

Hopefully you are right but there is a long list of players to compete with now, all of whom are players who can actually run. I just dont see who he displaces out of the best 25 players, we cant keep carrying a player who spends more than a 1/4 a game sitting in the pine.

I have never been a fan as I think he has wasted his talent with his distinct lack of work ethic and preparation. He is very lucky he landed at a club with one of the worst lists in the competition, otherwise he would be playing in the country somewhere.

He doesn’t need to displace anyone. As of the end of last year he was in the best 25, so it’s up to someone else to displace him.

Glory in this over the gloomy summer days until Jan 9th where we remorselessly march towards that last Saturday in September.

My favourite is the Italian looking Sheila desperately hitting her hand screaming touched touched :D :D :D :D :D

Still worth it. **** carlscum

Interesting with all the talk around Clark and Jones, they both feature with some key efforts late in this game.

More crap.

Correct and the fact that players get their body and fitness right allows them to be picked. Jones like Clark have always been handy players when they got some continuity. Hunter did have so very good games nearing the end of the season, but its what he doesnt do that bothers me. If he doesnt win first use and the ball is out of that inner 10 metres perimeter he is a liability ala Luke Dunstan.

How many times did we see Hunter labouring 20-30 metres behind his opponent on turn over, for me that is really telling. He undoes every good thing he does being a liability on turnover and the fact he cant run out games is the clincher for me. As much as some might love Hunter, unless he has a blinder this year the club has to be ruthless they cant keep carrying players like that.

Would the club have gone out and got Macrae, Carroll and Boxshall if they thought Hunter had a reliable and bright future. Look at what the kids bring - Phillipou, Windhager, Garcia, Wilson even Travaglia and Boxshall they are all elite runners and thats what the current game requires.
We got Macrae, Carroll & Boxhall because we lost Ross & Crouch and our midfield lacked depth even with those players

If anyone can watch that and not see Clark's value, particularly in the play that lead to the Phillipou shot on goal, they're blind imo.

Hunter has played 98 games in 7 seasons at the club (av 14gpy), he is the 60% man. He is fit and available 60% of the time and when he plays can only manage 60% TOG.

Supporters need to take the emotion out when discussing players and look at it like they a running a business. If you had an employee who only turned up 60% of the time what would you do?

People were screaming for Zac Jones to be delisted at seasons end, because he averages 13 games per year. You could argue when fit a firing he offers more than Hunter, yet we dont show him the same loyalty.

If Hunter was at a stronger club with midfield depth he would have been moved on some time ago. Again IMO he wont be at our club in '26.

Injuries.

That's it really.

If he can stay healthy he's an asset to our side.

If anyone can watch that and not see Clark's value, particularly in the play that lead to the Phillipou shot on goal, they're blind imo.
Did they ever find out who bottled the goal umpire in that game?

No idea. I'd completely forgotten about that to be honest.
If it had of come from the St Kilda cheer squad the AFL sanctioned posse would still be trying to string us up.

Yes.

A FORMER Carlton member has been handed a lifetime ban from all AFL and AFLW matches after throwing a bottle and injuring a goal umpire during a match.

Steven Piperno suffered a nasty cut to the head and required medical attention as a result of the blow, and had to be replaced on the field.

The Nov 1 Court Case was adjourned until a contest mention on January 15.

Both Jones and Clark were excellent. Conversely it can be argued they cost us pick 5 and 6, but you know that one.

Gold ❤️

Yeah, pretty sure they got him, just a disgruntled Carlton supporter doing what they do best, sniping.

Reckon I've racked up a good 10% of the views of this since it was uploaded.

The TOG isn't really a relevant metric. Impact is all that matters.
As you've said previously the flip side is he can't run with his player on turnover, but thus far the coach has deemed that on balance Hunts is part of the preferred 22 weather it matches your judgement matrix or not.
His POD keeps him in the running until a better prospect emerges but that remains to be seen over the forthcoming season.
The other possibility is that he can increase his TOG and stay uninjured which would see him with a new contract.
Not a hill worth dying on really.

5 minutes of footy doesnt make a season. What did he do for the remainder of the game and how much of his workload did his team mates have to carry because he cant run out games. He runs like a draught horse in a game played by thoroughbreds.

Hell Billings had some of the best highlight reels getting about.

Just ask yourself WHAT top 8 midfield group would Clark get a game in? If you are genuine the answer is zero.

Both Jones and Clark were excellent. Conversely it can be argued they cost us pick 5 and 6, but you know that one.
Just on that, although it is still very very early days, it seems there are Melbourne fans who are already "unimpressed" with Langford due to his lack of speed

We may have dodged a bullet (hopefully)

Training Pre season training