A Section Premier 2012

os - going along nicely
ox - is "b" grade calling for the boys from the racetrack???
Coll - clearly the best team in the comp
uni - under the spires, rarely lose
dls - frankie pickett to kick a bag

ot
ox
coll
uni blues
old carey

Eddy who ripped us apart last year could catch Saunter and Rambo easily if he returns soon, can really play, no one good enough to go with him

Incorrect. Changed last year. Only new registrations required to sign a hard copy registration form. All others – i.e players changing between clubs and competitions are done on line via as long as they have a ‘footy web’ number. Anyway we could go round and round about this. Point is that the player in question unlikely to have signed anything at this stage - clearance, contract or otherwise.

Your comments about contracts have some merit but it just does not happen.

Was at Sportscover Arena yesterday to watch U23 game v WA.
VAFA administration advised that ALL players desiring a permit to play in the VAFA are required to sign a registration form.

So only 2 games to go until the half way mark, some interesting results

Collegians - Quality side, not much more needs to be said!
De La Salle - Have not really put a foot wrong, dropped a game to Collegians & been missing players, serious contender.
Old Xav's - Only dropped the one game to Scotch but still have to play DLS and Collegians, will get a better idea where they are at after those games.
Old Scotch - Pretty much the surprise packet for this year, knocked off Xav's and lost to DLS by 1 point. look likely to be playing finals in 2012 and should win their next 2.
St Bernard's - Hard to read, have won 3 but been belted by a few sides, looks like they will win enough to stay up but maybe not enough to play finals!
Old Carey - Pretty disappointing start for the B Graders, only beaten ST Bernard's and Caulfield, will need a good run home if they are to be any chance of playing finals, apparently have plenty of players to come back which will help.
Uni Blues - Also very disappointing, beaten Caulfield and Old Carey and by all accounts still very good at sniping not so good at getting the hard ball!
SBMT - Will struggle to hold onto their spot in A section
Old Trinity - Will need to improve to stay up, their best is pretty good but their worst is also pretty bad.
Caulfield - Not as bad as their results show, I'm tipping they will upset a couple of teams on their run home…. enough to stay up? probably not….

De La Salle - Have not really put a foot wrong, dropped a game to Collegians & been missing players, serious contender.
Old Xav's - Only dropped the one game to Scotch but still have to play DLS and Collegians, will get a better idea where they are at after those games.
Old Scotch - Pretty much the surprise packet for this year, knocked off Xav's and lost to DLS by 1 point. look likely to be playing finals in 2012 and should win their next 2.
St Bernard's - Hard to read, have won 3 but been belted by a few sides, looks like they will win enough to stay up but maybe not enough to play finals!
Old Carey - Pretty disappointing start for the B Graders, only beaten ST Bernard's and Caulfield, will need a good run home if they are to be any chance of playing finals, apparently have plenty of players to come back which will help.
Uni Blues - Also very disappointing, beaten Caulfield and Old Carey and by all accounts still very good at sniping not so good at getting the hard ball!
Old Trinity - Will need to improve to stay up, their best is pretty good but their worst is also pretty bad.
Caulfield - Not as bad as their results show, I'm tipping they will upset a couple of teams on their run home…. enough to stay up? probably not….

Love your work, pretty good run down! Collegians and Xavier still the class two sides for mine, and you know come finals time they will be very hard to beat. Not sold on De La as a contender until they can beat a Collegians or Xavier; especially Xavier. Have battled to win a game against them in the last few years. Uni are shot from the two games i have seen, barely thrown a punch on the scoreboard. Whilst Scotch have really improved and should fill the fourth spot if form thus far is anything to go by. Outside of the top three to four at the moment no one is going to contend and cant really see the top four changing; overall really disappointed with Uni Blues thought they would take it up to the other top teams this year. Caulfield will go back down which is really where they belong if you are going to go 0-7 to start your year off, again disappointing as i thought they would take it up to a few teams; but maybe how young their list is has got the better of them.

:footy:

Love your work, pretty good run down! Collegians and Xavier still the class two sides for mine, and you know come finals time they will be very hard to beat. Not sold on De La as a contender until they can beat a Collegians or Xavier; especially Xavier. Have battled to win a game against them in the last few years. Uni are shot from the two games i have seen, barely thrown a punch on the scoreboard. Whilst Scotch have really improved and should fill the fourth spot if form thus far is anything to go by. Outside of the top three to four at the moment no one is going to contend and cant really see the top four changing; overall really disappointed with Uni Blues thought they would take it up to the other top teams this year. Caulfield will go back down which is really where they belong if you are going to go 0-7 to start your year off, again disappointing as i thought they would take it up to a few teams; but maybe how young their list is has got the better of them.

Scuz. Your assessment on Xavs and Colls is correct but if you want to back up your assessments with comments they should have some factual content.

De La beat Xavs in their last meeting in Rd 13 of 2011. The other game in Rd 4 was decided by 2 points with the Xavs winner going through the sticks as they siren sounded. De La beat them in 2010 and in 2009.
De La the only side to beat Collegians twice last year. Also beat them in 2010 and 2009. One of few clubs, if any, to have recorded a win against both of these clubs in each of the last 3 years. Reckon that is landing a few blows don’t you think.

Scuz. Your assessment on Xavs and Colls is correct but if you want to back up your assessments with comments they should have some factual content.

De La beat Xavs in their last meeting in Rd 13 of 2011. The other game in Rd 4 was decided by 2 points with the Xavs winner going through the sticks as they siren sounded. De La beat them in 2010 and in 2009.
De La the only side to beat Collegians twice last year. Also beat them in 2010 and 2009. One of few clubs, if any, to have recorded a win against both of these clubs in each of the last 3 years. Reckon that is landing a few blows don’t you think.

Rooster, i am well aware of De La's record against collegians and was not referring to that in particular, but i do question De La's ability to beat them in a finals game or at any stage this year. In terms of Xavier i was more referring to the bigger games, like finals, where De La seem to find it hard to find a way to beat Xavier. You yourself obviously being a supporter of them would know this as i am sure you were at the finals series in 2009 and 2010. Don't get me wrong i think De La are quite easily in the top three teams and may very well beat both these teams in finals; i am just not going to tip them to do it until they do.

Fair enough?

Rooster, i am well aware of De La's record against collegians and was not referring to that in particular, but i do question De La's ability to beat them in a finals game or at any stage this year. In terms of Xavier i was more referring to the bigger games, like finals, where De La seem to find it hard to find a way to beat Xavier. You yourself obviously being a supporter of them would know this as i am sure you were at the finals series in 2009 and 2010. Don't get me wrong i think De La are quite easily in the top three teams and may very well beat both these teams in finals; i am just not going to tip them to do it until they do.

Fair enough?

Yep fair enough. It was not your opinion that Xavs and Colls are the top two teams as I completely agree with that. It your assesment that we struggle to beat Xavs as our recent record against them is probably better than anyone’s. Yes I well remember the finals of 2009 and 2010 but even then it was 3 points each time which as we know could be a bounce of the ball or a 50/50 decision here or there. If we pinched the GF of 2009 it would have been a travesty but we were very stiff to lose the 2010 prelim.

Yeah I agree on that. 2010 de la definitely deserved to win. 3rd time lucky maybe? I just hope I am wrong about this year, seeing a finish like last year where finals and relegation were decided in round 18. Makes for great viewing!

No games this week so l pose a couple of questions to consider.

1/ Are field 3 umpires necessary? 2 are adequate in my opinion. 3 makes it a bit confusing and
rarely does the 3rd do what he is supposed to do anyway. They always appear to me to be watching the game and not where the ball is going and checking for infringments. Stick with 2.

2/ How many VAFA players are on VFL lists and playing in the VFL Reserves every week when they could be playing Premier Seniors?
I understand these guys are attempting their dream of getting drafted to the
AFL and that is best done from the VFL but if getting selected in the Reserves each week
that Premier would be a better option to be noticed.

Any thoughts??

The speed of A section footy places big demands on umpires, and by using three and a sound on-field rotation policy, the fieldies can avoid the onset of fatigue more easily. Less fatigue = better concentration and sharper decisions.

However, umpires at our level can be a bit more individualistic. Where you've got two umps running the game slightly divergent from each other, it doesn't really matter as control passes between them and each side gets treated equally. With three, there is a risk - and I have observed this on more than one occasion - you'll get the guy at one end being whistlehappy and paying frees against Team A's backline for the slightest transgression, while at the other end the whistle has been put away and every time Team A's forwards get the ball, Team B's backmen can trample all over them and rip the ball away without penalty. Team B think the game has been umpired wonderfully while Team A wonder what the hell they have done to deserve this. Its the luck of the draw and it will change when the umps rotate position, it just seems to take forever for that to happen sometimes.

3-umpire works better, in the main, at AFL level because the umpires are more heavily scrutinised to be consistent in their interpretations and application of the rules across the umpiring group. (Except last year when Richmond were playing and we ALWAYS got the above combination of umps.)

All whinging aside, be thankful for the quality of the top echelon of VAFA umps...

Edit: To clarify, I am no longer running in the VAFA and my opinions are just that.

Handy assessment. Will be interesting to see if this
Goulburn Valley Football League Old Carey Grammarians Yze, Adem Pending 08/06/12

makes a difference for Old Carey.

Handy assessment. Will be interesting to see if this
Goulburn Valley Football League Old Carey Grammarians Yze, Adem Pending 08/06/12

makes a difference for Old Carey.

I’m sure there are differing views on this but personally I’m not sold on the idea. How many games is he likely to play and what are the odds of him running around next year? I guess a player of his obvious quality might give them a boost when he does play but the young bloke forced to make way when Yze comes in might hold a different view. While entirely up to Carey how they go about it personally I’m not sure that the 36 year old full forward is the answer either.

Apparently they have lost their CHF and FF to season ending injuries, so dont think they will be denying anyone a game, just replacing. In fact the kids that are playing aroudn them may step up a notch. I dont think any club would say no to these two playing.

Tips
UB
OC
COll
OX
STbedes

No games this week so l pose a couple of questions to consider.

1/ Are field 3 umpires necessary? 2 are adequate in my opinion. 3 makes it a bit confusing and
rarely does the 3rd do what he is supposed to do anyway. They always appear to me to be watching the game and not where the ball is going and checking for infringments. Stick with 2.

2/ How many VAFA players are on VFL lists and playing in the VFL Reserves every week when they could be playing Premier Seniors?
I understand these guys are attempting their dream of getting drafted to the
AFL and that is best done from the VFL but if getting selected in the Reserves each week
that Premier would be a better option to be noticed.

Any thoughts??

3 umps is a bit much. I think for finals it would be good but considering that there is a shortage of umps across the vafa already & alot are doing the unders in the morning then seniors in the arvo, i think i would be better to get a spread & umps earn an a grade game not just chucked up to the top tear because they want 3

does anyone know what grade they go down to in the ressies?

Scotch - Uni have been pathetic
Carey
Collegians - Far too good
De La - In an upset that will have no bearing on either teams seaon
Bernards - On the up