Premier A 2014

I’ll try and put up a similar defence of the De La #4 but this time in English. The kid always plays in long sleeves so was a bit unusual to see him in a sleeveless on Saturday. Maybe when the heavens opened he felt he was a better chance of marking the ball with a long sleeve jumper on. Admit that it did look a bit strange but not the first time I have seen it happen. Don’t think he should be judged by his choice of jumper. The lad is a terrific young player and as brave as they come, particularly for someone so small. Still eligible for U19s and in his second season of “A” grade seniors. With Moore out injured and Pickett, Roberts and others not playing this year he has consistently been our only winning forward. Certainly the only De La forward on Saturday that looked likely and he played very well.

I wouldn't say he's that 'brave' Rooster...

Using paragraphs, sentences and punctuation would have sufficed. ;)

I was a tad harsh with (probably) someone quite young, but it seemed like a brusque response to what was a reasonable question.

Back to the footy.
I was highlighting that your question (a tongue-in-cheek dig at asking if Themonster studied at De La) displayed a lack of educated punctuation itself. ;)
You're right, back to the footy mate.

I was highlighting that your question (a tongue-in-cheek dig at asking if Themonster studied at De La) displayed a lack of educated punctuation itself. ;)
You're right, back to the footy mate.
Aha! That's why it made no sense. It had an exclamation mark, buddy. It was rhetorical.

Interesting read on vafa site re players used. AJAX 27. Wow. That's a brilliant run with injuries. Bet SKOBS wished they had only had to play 5 others outside a best 22.
I'm no good at doing links but if someone else can? Its a good read titled something like, 'will a challenger to blues stand up'

Interesting read on vafa site re players used. AJAX 27. Wow. That's a brilliant run with injuries. Bet SKOBS wished they had only had to play 5 others outside a best 22.
I'm no good at doing links but if someone else can? Its a good read titled something like, 'will a challenger to blues stand up'
It seems all Premier B teams are fighting for the chance to be runners up to Blues…….

Aha! That's why it made no sense. It had an exclamation mark, buddy. It was rhetorical.
I understand it was rhetorical. Don't meant to nitpick, but it was a rhetorical question. Anyway, this isn't an English forum. So. That's me done.

The last 13 posts have been about English, punctuality, bravery (which I disagree with too) and Ajax/Skobs.
Here is an attempt to put it back on even kilter to what this thread if for.
Beauy at Home to the Purples…….big game for both. I’m going to pick the purples to sneak past the sharks who will again begin to slide after another fast start.
Bede’s at home to the Xav’s…….talk of more guys back into the xavs side which should strengthen them even more from last week. That’s good enough for me.
Trinity at home to De La……..After making the trip to TP to watch the Bellers go down to the Xavs, I am not sure they have much ammo in the shed. Trinity just.
Blacks at home to OB……This could get nasty. Blacks
Bernies at home to the Scotchies…….Should be a ding dong battle. Reckon the scotchies might be a top 4 contender, but will know more at 5pm Saturday. OS by a point.

The last 13 posts have been about English, punctuality, bravery (which I disagree with too) and Ajax/Skobs.
Here is an attempt to put it back on even kilter to what this thread if for.
Beauy at Home to the Purples…….big game for both. I’m going to pick the purples to sneak past the sharks who will again begin to slide after another fast start.
Bede’s at home to the Xav’s…….talk of more guys back into the xavs side which should strengthen them even more from last week. That’s good enough for me.
Trinity at home to De La……..After making the trip to TP to watch the Bellers go down to the Xavs, I am not sure they have much ammo in the shed. Trinity just.
Blacks at home to OB……This could get nasty. Blacks
Bernies at home to the Scotchies…….Should be a ding dong battle. Reckon the scotchies might be a top 4 contender, but will know more at 5pm Saturday. OS by a point.

I know Scotch had all of their VFL players playing last week (e.g., Barlow, Jamieson). Anyone know if they are playing again this week, as if they are i'd tip Scotch, otherwise it's Bernies.

Yes, I believe Scotch are keeping their VFL boys this week.

This week, I'll have:

Beauy v Collegians - I think this will be a hard slog and there will be a kick in it at the end of the day.
SBMT v Xavs - Xavs to send an ominous warning to the competition this week, winning this one by 10 goals plus.
Trinity v DLS - Trinity a little too good for DLS
Blacks v Brighton - Blacks should win but Brightons recent form has been reasonable. If it was at the Beach id pick Brighton, but its not.
Bernies v Scotch - Game of the round. Will be a sensational game out at the Pit. Scotch need this more than Bernards. If Scotch lose, they'll need to win at least 6 of the last 9 to play finals. Would be a disappointing year for them if they didnt improve on last year.

Yes, I believe Scotch are keeping their VFL boys this week.

This week, I'll have:

Beauy v Collegians - I think this will be a hard slog and there will be a kick in it at the end of the day.
SBMT v Xavs - Xavs to send an ominous warning to the competition this week, winning this one by 10 goals plus.
Trinity v DLS - Trinity a little too good for DLS
Blacks v Brighton - Blacks should win but Brightons recent form has been reasonable. If it was at the Beach id pick Brighton, but its not.
Bernies v Scotch - Game of the round. Will be a sensational game out at the Pit. Scotch need this more than Bernards. If Scotch lose, they'll need to win at least 6 of the last 9 to play finals. Would be a disappointing year for them if they didnt improve on last year.
Massive result for st bedes today

Yes a very big win in the context of the season. You would think both SBMT and Xavs have the talent to win enough games in the back end of the season to stay up so De La again looking vulnerable after a big loss today. D’s struggling to cover some injuries, as the depth at the club is gone. Rd 10 SBMT V DLS at Brindisi will be a very big game.

OT impressive. Look the real deal. Top 3 sides look a class above at the moment.

Yes a very big win in the context of the season. You would think both SBMT and Xavs have the talent to win enough games in the back end of the season to stay up so De La again looking vulnerable after a big loss today. D’s struggling to cover some injuries, as the depth at the club is gone. Rd 10 SBMT V DLS at Brindisi will be a very big game.

OT impressive. Look the real deal. Top 3 sides look a class above at the moment.
Doesn't look like the coach at Xavs was the problem, they have 5 more experienced players playing now to 3 weeks ago and they still lose to the bottom side. Don't like their chances against Collegians this week either as they are in good form.

De La certainly look shaky. Next week is huge for the 4 teams in the relegation zone. I can’t see St Bedes getting near Trinity at Bulleen. On the other hand De La a much better team at home and not without some chance against Beaumaris. For mine Xavs still have the depth and talent to survive. Play the bottom 3 in the last 4 rounds so the draw opens up for them late. They have another big game this week. Collegians finding some form and pushing for 4th spot would be warm favorites. So if De La did salute it puts the pressure right back on last years 2 grand finalists.

The 2 up 2 down certainly keeps things interesting right through the season.

De La certainly look shaky. Next week is huge for the 4 teams in the relegation zone. I can’t see St Bedes getting near Trinity at Bulleen. On the other hand De La a much better team at home and not without some chance against Beaumaris. For mine Xavs still have the depth and talent to survive. Play the bottom 3 in the last 4 rounds so the draw opens up for them late. They have another big game this week. Collegians finding some form and pushing for 4th spot would be warm favorites. So if De La did salute it puts the pressure right back on last years 2 grand finalists.

The 2 up 2 down certainly keeps things interesting right through the season.
At the half way mark, and on my read, we have 6 teams fighting for a finals berth. Probably 3 teams fighting for 4th spot (Beaumaris, Collegians, Scotch), the top 3 (who are now 2 games - 3 for Blacks - and decent percentage clear of 4th) probably fighting for the double chance (barring a turnaround in form from the 1st half of the season).....and then we have 4 teams fighting to avoid the drop. Xavs loss yesterday now means they are absolutely in a fight to avoid relegation, and with 1 game only separating the bottom 4, and their %'s being very close, this will remain interesting right to the wire. At least the focus of this forum should turn away from their decision to change coaching set up to simply discussing whether or not Xavs will be able to win enough games of footy to stay up.

Collegians will be UP and ABOUT to really work Xavs over this weekend, whilst also maintaining recent solid momentum. Old Brighton are a better team at home, so will put up a huge effort against Bernards this week. St. Bede's will struggle at OT and De La at home will try to bounce back against a shaky Beaumaris. Fascinating.

Next week will be another box to tick. Every week will be a battle but With Beetham, Darvell, Wynne, Kennedy, Larkins and possibly Goss to come in next week. It would be a good box to tick. 3-6 looks much better than 1-8.

Box not ticked. Eggs tasted good today. 2-7 and equal last looks a lot worse than 3-6 doesn't it?

Be careful what you eat hedge fund. Too many eggs are no good for your ticker. Didn't catch that game. Sounds like xavs kicked to Robertson alot. 2-7 does look a lot worse than 3-6. Well done for pointing that out. The Bernies win was a strong one. They are the real deal.

From Old Brighton web site - at end of report of thrashing from Uni Blacks last weekend........The ability to bounce back from this ignominious defeat will be tested as the ranks dwindle with the traditional exodus about to kick in. Fortunately, there are talented and determined Reserves players ready to step in, and several will get their chance in the first of the return games next week when the Tonners host the Snowdogs at South Road.....

Any mail on which players departing this week and whether OB will see any of Dan Anthony, Tom Mentiplay, Michael Dewar or Jon Perrett return soon?

Round 10 results - now Xavs only 2 games from 4th (and a lot of %), De La looking a lot safer. Beauie shaky? Scotch and Collegians form line hard to read.

St Bede's and OB going to still really battle hard as evidence by their respective weekend efforts - gallant in defeat to 2 of the top 3 teams. Expect upsets from these two in the last 8 rounds.

Scotch vs Xavs gotta be game of the round this week, given the results significance for both teams, closely followed by Bernards vs OT.

Round 10 results - now Xavs only 2 games from 4th (and a lot of %), De La looking a lot safer. Beauie shaky? Scotch and Collegians form line hard to read.

St Bede's and OB going to still really battle hard as evidence by their respective weekend efforts - gallant in defeat to 2 of the top 3 teams. Expect upsets from these two in the last 8 rounds.

Scotch vs Xavs gotta be game of the round this week, given the results significance for both teams, closely followed by Bernards vs OT.

Xavs might be only 2 ganes fron the 4, but to be brutaly honest, on last weeks performance they are a million miles
away miles off the top pace. For a Club lauded with so much depth (read earlier posts where we had this point rammed down our throats) through their teams the defeat of their seconds to Collegs last sat is a reality indicator as to where they realy are. Sure their 1sts won,
but realy they were ordinary against a more ordinary team in Collegs.