B Section Premier B 2017

And more gains to come. Panthers are on the up after a disappointing 2016. As previously stated we have come to far to let things fall apart. My early predictions on B finals in 2017 is gaining a bit of momentum. 2016 was a hiccup, will not be repeated. Womens team is happening too which is very exciting.
All staying except Rowe who has retired after 300+ games of Senior footy. We were very fortunate to get 100+ of those games.
Look forward to hearing how the other Clubs are going with pre season now in swing.

Peart played 9 games and was one of their best players in those matches, that's half a season. Schroder 6 and one of their guns, Boyse a star the year before and Kazuro in their absolute 10 best players.
The point is they will not play one game between the four of them, neither will Sullivan, probably Bentick if what I hear is to believed plus several who want to play VFL. So much for Reilly saying in the local rag two weeks ago no one was leaving.
Let's also remember they struggled to win 5 games in 2016.

I'm not sure they struggled to win 5. I think you will find they lost quite a few by only a kick or two and had a very healthy % for a 5-13 team.
Im sure they will find a few and bounce back.

And more gains to come. Panthers are on the up after a disappointing 2016. As previously stated we have come to far to let things fall apart. My early predictions on B finals in 2017 is gaining a bit of momentum. 2016 was a hiccup, will not be repeated. Womens team is happening too which is very exciting.
All staying except Rowe who has retired after 300+ games of Senior footy. We were very fortunate to get 100+ of those games.
Look forward to hearing how the other Clubs are going with pre season now in swing.

Would suggest things did in fact fall apart last year. 1 win across 36 Senior and Reserves games, percentages of 44 and 13 respectively and the thirds withdrawing before the midpoint of the year is pretty much rock bottom for mine. Genuinely hope they do well but need sustainable model as the continued reliance on a handful of stars has seen them relegated twice in 4 years. Hope they are not going down the same path again.

Canada likes to align himself with successful clubs. He is sniffing some B grade glory and has owned up to being a Carey alumni. With him on the bandwagon things already looking up.

I know people tend not to take Scotch all that seriously but have heard they are in pretty good shape. A few returning, decent depth and unders that played finals in the Premier 19s comp last year. Brighton also bullish about some of their young recruits.

The recent trend of clubs quickly returning to Premier to continue with two of either Scotch, Carey, St Bernards or Brighton to play Premier in 2018.

Would suggest things did in fact fall apart last year. 1 win across 36 Senior and Reserves games, percentages of 44 and 13 respectively and the thirds withdrawing before the midpoint of the year is pretty much rock bottom for mine. Genuinely hope they do well but need sustainable model as the continued reliance on a handful of stars has seen them relegated twice in 4 years. Hope they are not going down the same path again.

Canada likes to align himself with successful clubs. He is sniffing some B grade glory and has owned up to being a Carey alumni. With him on the bandwagon things already looking up.

I know people tend not to take Scotch all that seriously but have heard they are in pretty good shape. A few returning, decent depth and unders that played finals in the Premier 19s comp last year. Brighton also bullish about some of their young recruits.

The recent trend of clubs quickly returning to Premier to continue with two of either Scotch, Carey, St Bernards or Brighton to play Premier in 2018.

Hey, we have the same top 4. Nice.
I haven't owned up to anything, but very happy to be called a Panther by you. A lovely APS school.
Looking to catch up with Carlton at the Harp soon to share thoughts and a beer. You in?

Hey, we have the same top 4. Nice.
I haven't owned up to anything, but very happy to be called a Panther by you. A lovely APS school.
Looking to catch up with Carlton at the Harp soon to share thoughts and a beer. You in?

Thanks for the invite but someone from a humble ACC school would be out of place in such esteemed company. I would just lower the tone of the conversation. And besides I don't really go for the boutique beers preferred by your Kew types.

True Rooster, we did fall apart on the field but off the Club was strong. My point was that we will not continue to fall apart. Its not how you fall, its how you get up again. Just watch how we get up again............

I don’t doubt you will. But much easier to puff your chest out and talk yourself up when you are taking a step back in class. Seriously what was served up this year was embarrassing.

I look forward to OC returning as a stronger club across the board, not just a team boasting 8 or 9 stars.

Thanks for the invite but someone from a humble ACC school would be out of place in such esteemed company. I would just lower the tone of the conversation. And besides I don't really go for the boutique beers preferred by your Kew types.

The Harp serves beautiful Carlton Draught. Less craft, more draught is my moto. Along with my aligning with successful clubs moto of course.

Come on comrade. Bit of solidarity needed!

Never stand between Bedders and a frothy. You take your life into your own hands in so doing.:)

A little sad when people don't support Aussie made products. The South Africans not only screw us at cricket but but screw our workers as well.

Good gets! Carlton tells us Reid and Rimmington are back, plus I know Ceppi from Vermont is also down there. Perhaps Carltons tip of a finals birth may be accurate.

Agree the Snowdogs outs names look rediculously bad, but input from them was minimal last year and they were a decent team. They are still favourites IMO.

Perhaps Carey, Brighton and Scotch to round it out.

With Scotch choking come finals time.

Not unhappy or surprised that nobody rates my boys! Only team last year to beat all finalists and were minutes and a good umpiring call away from playing in the prelim. With the experience gained can only improve given the youth down there.

Perhaps. Im thinking the two teams who dropped down will be very hard to beat and others will also improve. I'm happy to leave them out of my 4, but of course could be proven wrong. There's always a first for everything..

Merely being the devil's advocate, Les. A proven coach has been replaced by one not yet established. Hope Pass is successful as he's a ripper bloke but the fact remains his coaching record to date isn't flash.

Never stand between Bedders and a frothy. You take your life into your own hands in so doing.:)

A little sad when people don't support Aussie made products. The South Africans not only screw us at cricket but but screw our workers as well.
Hear hear am. Plenty of non-CUB products the great man can drink...coopers (though they donate to the SA tories), boags, think squires are ok as well. Tooheys and hahn of course (only in desperate times of need)

Funny that this topic came up during state conference weekend!

I think i was done for at the panthers when my political leanings became known. The school of Costello was never going to embrace a lefty unionist!

Gough hansie hawke

Merely being the devil's advocate, Les. A proven coach has been replaced by one not yet established. Hope Pass is successful as he's a ripper bloke but the fact remains his coaching record to date isn't flash.
Missed this one. Was Groves pushed, or resign? Passador was a very good, tough player, but as you mention, very much unproven. I imagine Monash will definitely be in the mix, the main factor I imagine, will not be Passador, but player turnover which is a constant university pitfall.

Paul Groves was appointed head coach of the Western Bulldogs Women's AFL Team during the first week of the Premier B finals.

Definitely not pushed.

Carey have done a great job over a period of time, with one of the weakest APS pools to select from in both numbers and quality, to be as high as they have been. There's only so much an Old Boys club can do, and Carey have done a great job squeezing every drop from what they get from the school, as well as recruiting players from outside of the school.

It's all good to give the "woe is me from the ACC" stuff, but when there's barely two teams worth of boys playing footy in Year 11 & 12 there's only so much a club can do in terms of depth.

Carey have done a great job over a period of time, with one of the weakest APS pools to select from in both numbers and quality, to be as high as they have been. There's only so much an Old Boys club can do, and Carey have done a great job squeezing every drop from what they get from the school, as well as recruiting players from outside of the school.

It's all good to give the "woe is me from the ACC" stuff, but when there's barely two teams worth of boys playing footy in Year 11 & 12 there's only so much a club can do in terms of depth.

Wow. Everyone so serious these days! The ACC gibe was a joke mate (a bit like Carey’s performance in ‘A’ grade this season ;)). Canada and I take the P155 out of each other all the time so don’t get hung up on the pretend elitist stuff.

I actually agree with everything you say. Carey have some big challenges and I have highlighted them many times here previously. A good club and I hope they can build a sustainable model and they seem to be making decent progress. Wesley a co-ed school who at time have struggled at school level but they keep finding a way.

All clubs have challenges and mine is no exception. A smaller school by comparison to most, talent coming through not as deep as it was, the better kids often get picked off from yrs. 7 – 10 by APS schools, we don’t have the same networks and the big unis and ‘elite schools and like many clubs in the higher grades we get r*ped by the $ comps every year. We all have our battles be it geography, demographic, school size, proximity to neighbouring clubs and other comps etc. You just have to do the best you can with the hand you are dealt.

My two cents:

I think that it will be a much more even competition this year with Brighton, Monash, Parkdale and Fitzroy to be more consistent. Can't speak for Mazenod or Peninsula but hopefully the aren't easy beats like Hampton were.

That leaves Scotch, Carey and St Bernards. Scotch should be finishing in the top two if they are serious about going back up to A grade. The other two are a mystery. Obviously have plenty of talent, it all just depends on how many of them stick around in B grade.

My two cents:

I think that it will be a much more even competition this year with Brighton, Monash, Parkdale and Fitzroy to be more consistent. Can't speak for Mazenod or Peninsula but hopefully the aren't easy beats like Hampton were.

That leaves Scotch, Carey and St Bernards. Scotch should be finishing in the top two if they are serious about going back up to A grade. The other two are a mystery. Obviously have plenty of talent, it all just depends on how many of them stick around in B grade.

Plenty of information on the A grade site about St Bernards and Old Carey, as well as above from’ Carlton’ and crew.

St Bernards have lost half a dozen very good footballers but they probably played only 20-30 games between them if that due to VFL commitments etc. The snowdogs have a great football nursery and should have plenty of strong youngsters to come through and be thereabouts. There have been rumours over whether Bentick and Sullivan will play. They would be big losses. Conversely they are super players if they do play.

Old Carey on the other hand won one game between seniors and reserves and have well publicized depth problems. They have lost Julian Rowe, but have gained Crocker,Lock VFL seniors, Ceppi EFL div 1 seniors, Ashby(Essendon) and Curnow(UBlues/VFL). They also have a couple returning. If they stay fit they will be strong, if not, they could head the other direction.

Mazenod and Peninsula will both bring youth and enthusiasm, with some gun players. It will be interesting to see how Peninsula go against some of the bigger body sides, however they may run them off their legs. It will also be very interesting to see if AJAX bring a few recruits to the table with their well-publicized coaching appointment. They have always been a sleeping giant I think, beating some of the top sides, but never quite jumping out of the middle rungs of B section. They could be the big improver.

I think it shapes as a very even section, and fitness and availability may well dictate the season.

Plenty of information on the A grade site about St Bernards and Old Carey, as well as above from’ Carlton’ and crew.

St Bernards have lost half a dozen very good footballers but they probably played only 20-30 games between them if that due to VFL commitments etc. The snowdogs have a great football nursery and should have plenty of strong youngsters to come through and be thereabouts. There have been rumours over whether Bentick and Sullivan will play. They would be big losses. Conversely they are super players if they do play.

Old Carey on the other hand won one game between seniors and reserves and have well publicized depth problems. They have lost Julian Rowe, but have gained Crocker,Lock VFL seniors, Ceppi EFL div 1 seniors, Ashby(Essendon) and Curnow(UBlues/VFL). They also have a couple returning. If they stay fit they will be strong, if not, they could head the other direction.

Mazenod and Peninsula will both bring youth and enthusiasm, with some gun players. It will be interesting to see how Peninsula go against some of the bigger body sides, however they may run them off their legs. It will also be very interesting to see if AJAX bring a few recruits to the table with their well-publicized coaching appointment. They have always been a sleeping giant I think, beating some of the top sides, but never quite jumping out of the middle rungs of B section. They could be the big improver.

I think it shapes as a very even section, and fitness and availability may well dictate the season.

FWIW big news out of AJAX is that the player religious restriction has been lifted. Be interesting to see if that gets a few big names there with Choco.