Premier C - 2016

Why are you still here Bedford? Shouldn't you be starting the D1 thread for 2017! Geez times must be tough if you can't afford $12 to support local footy. perhaps you can ask Ormond for a raise from a hotdog for running the water to $4.50 a week.
Why are you even posting champ. By the way our 19's and Reserves are still in, now jog off.

Why are you still here Bedford? Shouldn't you be starting the D1 thread for 2017! Geez times must be tough if you can't afford $12 to support local footy. perhaps you can ask Ormond for a raise from a hotdog for running the water to $4.50 a week.
You wouldn't have a clue how much Bedford does for his club. I believe from their Facebook page he has won the local sports volunteer of the year award. People like yourself I bet have never lifted a finger to help at your club.

This bloody 'Live Scores' provided by the VAFA is an absolute joke. Most weeks there are games not posted, certainly in the grades below A.
It has been going on for years with no improvement.
To have the Premier C Final today with no live scores is a joke, especially when the VAFA are receiving revenue.
The are presumably still relying on volunteer club people (if available) to provide the scores.
It's a bloody joke and they should either fix it or scrap it!!

This bloody 'Live Scores' provided by the VAFA is an absolute joke. Most weeks there are games not posted, certainly in the grades below A.
To have the Premier C Final today with no live scores is a joke, especially when the VAFA are receiving revenue.
The are presumably still relying on volunteer club people (if available) to provide the scores.
Agree wholeheartedly. Shambles!

What happened Scruff top ? Now have one leg off the bandwagon.:)

Terrific effort by the Nodders. Extra pleased for Ben Phibbs in his first year in charge. Ripper bloke.

Just checked the results, what the ...? I looked at the VAFA live scores at about 3:30pm and it said match completed, Mazenod 9.4.58 to Caufield 8.8.56 :rolleyes:o_O

I believe that at a recent meeting this was discussed and earmarked as a 'must fix' for next year.
The VAFA supporting community is not brilliant when it comes to attending games, but the VAFA is fully aware that it's interest runs very deep and very far. VAFA lovers must be able to access live scores on a Saturday. All clubs, I believe, will be asked to embrace a new policy to get this right.

Agree wholeheartedly. Shambles!

What happened Scruff top ? Now have one leg off the bandwagon.:)

Terrific effort by the Nodders. Extra pleased for Ben Phibbs in his first year in charge. Ripper bloke.

Firstly congrats to Mazenod. They came to play and gave us a football lesson .

We were beaten all across the ground. Can't think of a Caulfield player who beat their opponent .

We were flat and they hit us with everything. We were second to the ball all day

I am still trying to comprehend how good they were and how bad we were.

A lot of work to do this week to regroup.

I believe that at a recent meeting this was discussed and earmarked as a 'must fix' for next year.
The VAFA supporting community is not brilliant when it comes to attending games, but the VAFA is fully aware that it's interest runs very deep and very far. VAFA lovers must be able to access live scores on a Saturday. All clubs, I believe, will be asked to embrace a new policy to get this right.

Canada, this has never been right since they put it in. Please don't make out like it is a recent problem.
Either you set yourselves up as a major league in Australia or you don't.
I, for one, have been complaining to VAFA for years about their useless live scores.

Don’t blame the app. Blame the knucklehead who scored the reserves game in the senior game section. When he submitted game score at the end it meant that the senior score could not be populated. In this case human error, not the VAFA or anyone else.

Canada, this has never been right since they put it in. Please don't make out like it is a recent problem.
Either you set yourselves up as a major league in Australia or you don't.
I, for one, have been complaining to VAFA for years about their useless live scores.

I didn't make out it was a recent problem. All I said was that next year I believe you can expect great improvement. Embrace and enjoy.

Don’t blame the app. Blame the knucklehead who scored the reserves game in the senior game section. When he submitted game score at the end it meant that the senior score could not be populated. In this case human error, not the VAFA or anyone else.
C’mon Rooster, it’s the VAFA’s website. Ipso facto, their responsibility to ensure it works properly.

The ‘C’ ressies score sat in the ‘C’ seniors box all afternoon. Surely it’s the responsibility of one of the paid people at HQ to have been all over it early in the day and given the “knucklehead” a verbal whack. Probably a volunteer btw.

To the substantive matter, as Rissoles rightly said, this has been an issue for years and never properly addressed.

And while I’m on my high horse, the VAFA website needs a major reno too.

I didn't make out it was a recent problem. All I said was that next year I believe you can expect great improvement. Embrace and enjoy.

You are a political animal, Canada. Yes, you didn't make out it was a recent problem. Nor did you acknowledge it had been going on for some time.
You are full of it. Be someone who can be respected or be nothing at all.
Next year their may be some improvement.
Thanks for your input.

You are a political animal, Canada. Yes, you didn't make out it was a recent problem. Nor did you acknowledge it had been going on for some time.
You are full of it. Be someone who can be respected or be nothing at all.
Next year their may be some improvement.
Thanks for your input.

There was no need to acknowledge the time of dificiency. Relax.
Let's just all work towards a fantastic 'live scores' for 2017.
There are many wise heads all over it. I'm personally pretty buoyant.

Firstly congrats to Mazenod. They came to play and gave us a football lesson .

We were beaten all across the ground. Can't think of a Caulfield player who beat their opponent .

We were flat and they hit us with everything. We were second to the ball all day

I am still trying to comprehend how good they were and how bad we were.

A lot of work to do this week to regroup.
That's the advantage of grabbing a one or two spot Scruffy. A real test for the 'C' coach of the year I'd imagine. I'm confident you'll bounce back. That said, you've blown out to 10/1 for the silverware on Maplebet - now being run by an administrator.:)

Crickey 10/1. Hell no.
Still $2.70 second favourites
Maz $1.60, Peninsula $4.80, Hoes $6.10

That's the advantage of grabbing a one or two spot Scruffy. A real test for the 'C' coach of the year I'd imagine. I'm confident you'll bounce back. That said, you've blown out to 10/1 for the silverware on Maplebet - now being run by an administrator.:)
Big test of character next week for all.

C’mon Rooster, it’s the VAFA’s website. Ipso facto, their responsibility to ensure it works properly.

The ‘C’ ressies score sat in the ‘C’ seniors box all afternoon. Surely it’s the responsibility of one of the paid people at HQ to have been all over it early in the day and given the “knucklehead” a verbal whack. Probably a volunteer btw.

To the substantive matter, as Rissoles rightly said, this has been an issue for years and never properly addressed.

And while I’m on my high horse, the VAFA website needs a major reno too.

I’m happy to chip the VAFA hierarchy when they deserve it and they give us all plenty of opportunities to do so but in fairness, when a problem is not of their doing it’s only reasonable that you put the record straight. An external provider is responsible for the app and the VAFA website simply reflects what is populated into that app by the user. While perhaps they could have done something about it we don’t know for certain that they did not try or if they even have the ability to fix it. I could be wrong but my understanding is that once the final match score is 'submitted' then it can't be undone.

No question is was probably some well meaning and hard working volunteer but either way it was human error, not VAFA error. I rang a mate of mine who follows CG’s to find out wtf was going on and that was how he described it – even down to the ‘knucklehead' comment, which on reflection was a tad harsh !

I’m happy to chip the VAFA hierarchy when they deserve it and they give us all plenty of opportunities to do so but in fairness, when a problem is not of their doing it’s only reasonable that you put the record straight. An external provider is responsible for the app and the VAFA website simply reflects what is populated into that app by the user. While perhaps they could have done something about it we don’t know for certain that they did not try or if they even have the ability to fix it. I could be wrong but my understanding is that once the final match score is 'submitted' then it can't be undone.

No question is was probably some well meaning and hard working volunteer but either way it was human error, not VAFA error. I rang a mate of mine who follows CG’s to find out wtf was going on and that was how he described it – even down to the ‘knucklehead' comment, which on reflection was a tad harsh !
We'll have to agree to disagree. If it was a once off matter or even a rare one but it's happened too often. It's way too easy to blame shift here. The VAFA appoints those who run the app and they can't then just wash their hands of it. Heavens knows affiliation fees are high enough. It's reasonable to expect better. The VAFA should have someone monitoring it and if there are failings get onto the app provider to fix it pronto. Frankly, the app provider has performed so poorly this year I'm surprised they haven't been terminated on a performance basis.

Technology that requires human involvement often fails. And it is indeed likely that the VAFA could do more - they need to lift their game in so many ways. But problems with the Live Scores app are almost always down to human error, not the app, the VAFA or anything else.

And I completely agree re footy web, VAFA website etc. It has been plagued with issues for years and needs to be sorted. However Live scores is a separate matter of which they have limited control.

Its not perfect but on the whole it is a good initaitive and I’m grateful we at least have the capacity to check scores in other games. Most other comps don’t.

Beaten by a better team on the day.

Peninsula had some handy in's, no more important than their captain.

A poor 1st quarter by OI set the Pirates going on the front foot. Poor kicking and some stoic defense kept the margin to a managible total.

Second quarter was a tussle, but every time OI looked like getting back into the game, the Pirates would respond.

In the 3rd quarter, a display of ruck work rarely seen in the VAFA gave the Hoe's a sniff. 6 points down at 3 quarter time, with some good momentum.

Dave Bruno again showed why he was the best ruckman in the Grade, giving the best service to his on ballers, but the final margin blew out a little, the best team won. Hoes beaten but not discouraged.

Good luck to Riss and his team.

Caulfiled will be feeling very nervous after yesterdays' poor performance.

Beaten by a better team on the day.

Peninsula had some handy in's, no more important than their captain.

A poor 1st quarter by OI set the Pirates going on the front foot. Poor kicking and some stoic defense kept the margin to a managible total.

Second quarter was a tussle, but every time OI looked like getting back into the game, the Pirates would respond.

In the 3rd quarter, a display of ruck work rarely seen in the VAFA gave the Hoe's a sniff. 6 points down at 3 quarter time, with some good momentum.

Dave Bruno again showed why he was the best ruckman in the Grade, giving the best service to his on ballers, but the final margin blew out a little, the best team won. Hoes beaten but not discouraged.

Good luck to Riss and his team.

Caulfiled will be feeling very nervous after yesterdays' poor performance.

An excellent match summary, Max.
There were certainly nervous feelings in the Pirate camp after a powerful charge back into the game by the Hoes in the third quarter.
The Pirates will need to eradicate bad kicking in front of goals if a place in the Big Dance is to be realised.

All the best to you and Old Ivanhoe, Max.