Training Preseason Training Thread - 2024/25

Baker, Allan(projected top 10 pick), Gross and Graham(wouldnt have come without Baker) is a decent result for pick 3
Have to also consider if we had of traded our 2R pick for Baker, then we would have missed the chance to draft Shanahan.

I think it all worked out quite well in the end. Bo Allan will have a better career than Draper.

Have to also consider if we had of traded our 2R pick for Baker, then we would have missed the chance to draft Shanahan.

I think it all worked out quite well in the end. Bo Allan will have a better career than Draper.
We probably would've kept pick 14 and taken Shanahan with that instead lol.
End result is a good win

Grahams close to 10cm shorter and about 10kgs lighter than Yeo. He ain’t a big bodied mid

Oh come on......

He a massive bees dick taller than that monster inside mid Caleb Serong (1cm) and only 4cm shorter than Andy Brayshaw.

And I'm not lying through my teeth (andy's jealous) by pointing out that he weighs less than either of them.

He's a legit premiership hero and I think I had him 4th best on ground in the grand final (behind Shuey, Adams, Schofield) but Sheed is pretty much cooked.

Great servant of the club and downgrading that pick 6 essentially netted us Yeo as well (dumbass freo) but I don't think he's making a legit high level comeback from his rooted ankle/foot.
What's the chances of sheed retiring before the MSD?

Sent from my SM-S921B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Does anyone know if there will be an Intraclub Match? If so, when and whether it will be streamed?

There’ll be at least one but it’s unlikely the day and time will be made known to any great extent. They’ve never live streamed it, or even provided meaningful highlights, in prior years so I doubt that will change this year

In the past, the intraclub match has usually been on a Friday. Last year it started late afternoon and whilst it wasn’t officially open to supporters we weren’t turned away from watching

My best guess is next Friday (7/2) which is 10 days prior to our scratch match against Richmond on 17/2 (Monday). The other possible date would be 21/2 which sits between the Richmond game and our preseason game against North on 1/3.

Sometimes the media give an indication of an upcoming intraclub a day or two beforehand

Disappointed to lose Yeo early and have his pre season wiped out as i thought when he returned from injury last year his form was rather patchy. Was hoping to see him flying after a full pre season.

It now opens the door for Hall, Hewett and Hutchinson to get more time on ball. Hopefully we can pick a few of them each week and rotate them through the middle.

First half of the year didn't have a lot of wins anyways. GC, Bombers and Demons at home and maybe Tigers at the G are our best bets.

If he can get back by 6-8 then it might not be too bad.

I'm not really concerned about the salary, theres plenty worse players on more money in the comp.
I've already said many times I think we overpaid with pick14, but just because we overpaid doesn't mean we should play him out of position.
Imo we will get the most out of him in the backline
Considering our biggest weakness is our midfield to then take our biggest asset pick 3 and turn it into 1 x midget back pocket and 1 × HBF seems a strange way to rectify this problem .

Also who pays a back pocket 900k a season .

When we were first into Baker it was all about how he who help our midfield and how courageous he is .

Now he slots into a cushy backline retirement gig under his old mate .

Honestly his kicking isn't anywhere near good enough to be a rebounding defender so if he is playing defence like it has been stated then what is his role ?
His kicking isn't that bad.

He usually wins 1v1s and he's probably one of the cleanest players in the AFL when contesting a ball.

Seems like Maric's the one being groomed for the distributor role.

Honestly his kicking isn't anywhere near good enough to be a rebounding defender so if he is playing defence like it has been stated then what is his role ?
Why can't he just play a defensive/general defender role?
His ground ball ability will be a huge improvement on what we have had.
With Duggan going midfield too we lack leaders in the backline, itll be Baker+Gov with a heap of guys aged 22 and under

Considering our biggest weakness is our midfield to then take our biggest asset pick 3 and turn it into 1 x midget back pocket and 1 × HBF seems a strange way to rectify this problem .

When we were first into Baker it was all about how he who help our midfield and how courageous he is .

Who says the club considers Allan to be a defender? His traits/attributes are almost identical to Yeos btw.
Who cares what Baker is getting paid, he's a good player and 900k is hardly outrageous.

If Baker playing backline helps the team more than Baker playing midfield does then we'd be stupid to play him in the middle.
Hes a better defender than midfielder

His kicking isn't that bad.

He usually wins 1v1s and he's probably one of the cleanest players in the AFL when contesting a ball.

Seems like Maric's the one being groomed for the distributor role.
He wins 1 v 1 when its on the ground not in the air .

How many side have elite small defenders who are not elite distributors and are close to the top paid players at the club ?

Backline is the easiest position to play for your body .

HFF is probably the hardest in terms of unrewarded running and inside mid hardest in terms body on body

Okay mate. 👍

Footywire:
Yeo 191/91
Graham 181/85

He’s a short-ish but big bodied mid. He’s shorter but heavier than Ginbey, Kelly, Duggan, Cripps, Petro and Cole - all 83kg. Hunt 82kg.
I think those weights are a bit outdated, they haven't released weights for a couple years i think its been.
Ginbey is definitely more than 83 anyway lol

Was under the impression it was a lot less than 900k per season. Where do those figures come from?

With Baker he runs and carry's the footy so well his ground ball game is great and is so hard
He has been turning it over by foot a lot at training not so much short kicks more longer kicks

On Bo Allen been training as a mid on the track
ALSO his kicking has been good at training
Do you reckon he's a good chance being ahead of Hall or Hutchinson for a game?

Probably pretty hard to tell at this stage.

I feel Hutch or Hall are better fits to balance our midfield but Allan is probably closer to what Yeo is

Training Preseason Training Thread - 2024/25