Toast Presidency and The Board

Thank you 76woodenspooners

One of BigFooty’s all-time-favourite posters, Reykjavik , was all across the board level stuff. He once posted a list of the responsibilities of a Not-For-Profit board like that of Collingwood …

abcdef.....ijklmnop

NFP board responsibilities
Specific responsibilities of a not-for-profit (NFP) board include:

• Driving the strategic direction of the organisation
  • Working with the CEO to enable the organisation to obtain the resources, funds and personnel necessary to implement the organisation's strategic objectives
  • Implementing, maintaining and (as necessary) refining a system of good governance that is appropriate for the organisation
  • Reviewing reports and monitoring the performance of the organisation
  • Regularly reviewing the board's structure and composition, so that these are appropriate for the organisation
  • Appointing – and managing the performance of – a suitable CEO
  • Succession planning for the CEO
While the above points are also applicable to for-profit boards, NFP boards also face a unique range of issues, such as:

• Difficulties in defining and measuring organisational effectiveness
  • Transgression of role boundaries
  • The negative impact of the structural compositions of some NFP boards, including those arising from representative models
  • Funding dependencies and constraints

In practice, the role of the board is to supervise an organisation's business in two broad areas:

1. Overall business performance - ensuring the organisation develops and implements strategies and supporting policies to enable it to fulfill the objectives set out in the organisation's constitution. The board delegates the day to day management of the organisation but remains accountable to the shareholders for the organisation's performance. The board monitors and supports management in an on-going way.
  2. Overall compliance performance - ensuring the organisation develops and implements systems to enable it to comply with its legal and policy obligations (complying with statutes such as the Corporations Act 2001, adhering to accounting standards) and ensure the organisation's assets are protected through appropriate risk management.

http://www.companydirectors.com.au/...ctor/NFP-governance/The-role-of-the-NFP-board

Link to original post …

Very difficult to agree 100% with anyone and regardless of where that level of agreement sits I think it’s commendable that some board candidates are willing to share and discuss their ideas here and on other social media platforms.

Not making pie in the sky promises that are completely unrealistic in an effort to gain power is not blindly accepting the status quo.
It's not a "pie in the sky promise" if they actually have a crack!

Just have a look at the audacity of the Cats today:

1668561556625.png

They ain't dying wondering, so why the **** do you want us to?

View attachment 1555071

They ain't dying wondering, so why the * do you want us to?
Can you please point me to the requirement Geelong had to play home games at Marvel that they've managed to renegotiate?

Just a reminder that a vote for Matthew Ganley at the Collingwood Board Election on Friday is a vote for:
  1. Bulked up list management and recruiting team with appropriate governance structures.
  2. Someone who will act in Collingwood's best interests and push back against media pile-ons like after Bali this year.
  3. No home games at Marvel and all at MCG.
Voter eligibility has been expanded and anyone with a membership with access to home games will be able to vote. It's not just restricted to Legends members this year.

My professional career as a lawyer and working at a Big 4 professional service firm has equipped me with the corporate governance skills to bring a point of difference to what we already have on the board and will allow me to deliver on my promises above to you.

As a lawyer, re Marvel Stadium agreements, there are very few agreements in life you cannot get out of. I do not believe it is unrealistic at all that all our home games be at the MCG. As our membership base continues to grow and the population continues to increase, Marvel Stadium for Collingwood games will be infeasible with its limited capacity.

Geelong's audacious bid proves why we need to emulate them in key areas if we want to be the best.

https://www.zerohanger.com/collingwood-board-nominee.../
https://matthewganleycollingwoodboardnominee.com/

Can you please point me to the requirement Geelong had to play home games at Marvel that they've managed to renegotiate?
They're proactively trying to get out of the requirement to play home games against us at the MCG. They make more money playing us at Kardinia Park than here.

They're pushing for competitive advantage from every which way imaginable in the manner that I demand from our leaders.

Conno can get us competitive advantage with his digital marketing experience and he also has the balls to push for change in other areas. Bring it on I say!

They're proactively trying to get out of the requirement to play home games against us at the MCG. They make more money playing us at Kardinia Park than here.

They're pushing for competitive advantage from every which way imaginable in the manner that I demand from our leaders.

Conno can get us competitive advantage with his digital marketing experience and he also has the balls to push for change in other areas. Bring it on I say!
For all of Eddie's faults, and my god there were many, one thing he did right was nullify the issue of factionalism tearing apart the Collingwood board.

What we've seen in the past 18 months is that factionalism rearing its ugly head yet again and I think the likes of "Conno" and Peter Katsambanis and Francis Galbally represent the very worst of it. They hide behind a veil of passion for the club and just wanting the club to succeed and win flags, but in actual fact they're the same grumpy old white men that wield a significant amount of political capital that are unhappy with the modern direction football has taken and use dog whistles like "a football club should focus on football."

Conno, Katsambanis and Galbally all feel like only they know what is best for Collingwood to the exclusion of all others and are merely after power and influence over Collingwood. If they had their way, the club never would have commissioned a Do Better report and would never develop a pride guernsey for the AFL because all those are just examples of how football is "woke" and doing those things keeps Collingwood from winning flags somehow.

They're relying on base parochialism to stir up feelings from people who don't know any better.

"All games at the MCG, because we're Collingwood!"

"Re-design the logo, because um... Um... Black and white stripes!"

On SM-G981B using BigFooty.com mobile app

For all of Eddie's faults, and my god there were many, one thing he did right was nullify the issue of factionalism tearing apart the Collingwood board.

What we've seen in the past 18 months is that factionalism rearing its ugly head yet again and I think the likes of "Conno" and Peter Katsambanis and Francis Galbally represent the very worst of it. They hide behind a veil of passion for the club and just wanting the club to succeed and win flags, but in actual fact they're the same grumpy old white men that wield a significant amount of political capital that are unhappy with the modern direction football has taken and use dog whistles like "a football club should focus on football."

Conno, Katsambanis and Galbally all feel like only they know what is best for Collingwood to the exclusion of all others and are merely after power and influence over Collingwood. If they had their way, the club never would have commissioned a Do Better report and would never develop a pride guernsey for the AFL because all those are just examples of how football is "woke" and doing those things keeps Collingwood from winning flags somehow.

They're relying on base parochialism to stir up feelings from people who don't know any better.

On SM-G981B using BigFooty.com mobile app
So you think we shouldn't play all our home games at the MCG or at least aspire to do so? I live in the east, so getting to and from the MCG is far easier is less time consuming than Marvel, so I'm all for it. I'm all for our players playing as many games as possible on the best surface in Melbourne for their physical wellbeing during a season as well, so the G ticks that box over the harder surface of Marvel.

I haven't seen one candidate make comments about football being woke.

Con Frantzeskos has written the following on the front page of his website:

WHAT IS YOUR TAKE ON THE DO BETTER REPORT?

The #1 recommendation of the Do Better Report is: "That Collingwood Football Club undertake a process to integrate concepts of anti-racism and inclusion as qualities inherent in the Club’s values, including the concept of excellence and the goal of winning".

That to me is a brilliant and crystal clear focus for our Club that we should be acting upon, and advocating for.

Another point in his vision for Collingwood is simply as follows:

INCLUSION

Whether you are on the field or on the couch; whether you are a First Australian or a new Australian; whether you are a fanatical barracker or an excited spectator, you - WE are Collingwood, “Side by Side”. The only way we win is to include and respect you, and your contribution, whoever, whatever and wherever you are.

Full adoption of Do Better Report
From pitch to couch Fan Experience: Invest in “Living Room Experience”
Pies Footy School: Online Auskick rival
Establishment of Collingwood Citizens naturalisation and migrant programmes across Australia
Drive women’s sport locally and globally
Build up our NGA Zone as “feeder clubs”

To me, just reading that it seems clear Con Frantzeskos is happy to adopt the do better report and has some seriously innovative ideas for our club. Yes, whilst these ideas may not eventuate, he's at least putting them out there, as are other board member candidates like Matt Ganley and Sean Callanan.

That's your point of view, Shill, but objectively speaking, we've managed to get a meaningful vote for all voting members for two years running instead of us being of us collectively subject to "the faction of Ed" for the 24th consecutive year.

Your claim that those you've mentioned relying on parochialism to stir up feeling is merely you latching onto some of the more trivial ideas like what you've quoted. How about focussing more on what the candidates can meaningfully do about big things rather than that, because if you focus on these less important issues at hand, it all seems lame.

I'm keen to know what "power and influence" you think Conno, Frank, Pete or Paul Tuddenham got from speaking up last year and getting involved in change. I doubt any of them even got a free President's lunch or have more than a cursory influence over Browne, who is his own man.

FWIW, I randomly met Paul Tuddenham in a business capacity recently. He said there was never a more ill-equipped Board for life post-Eddie, as there was never a succession plan (partly due to Ed's farewell lap being cut short). And Paul should know, because he was inside the Club as President of the Past Players. So he backed meaningful change last year as a result, which you view as "faction" but would be better described as "function". Smart and successful people with a passion stepping up when needed then and stepping up now at this year's election. I've never felt more united than season 2022 (save to a few grumpy holdouts!).

And how are you talking about "factions" anyway. Rosen was interviewed for the Board last year by both the Korda / Murphy led admin and was the current Board recommendation this time. He's a superstar and would have been great, but sadly he can't commit at this time. He had nothing to do with the EGM push or Browne ticket whatsoever. So what is the "faction" that you speak of? Are all 11 current candidates in the "faction"? Too much fiction...

There ain't the backroom clicks playing pool and punching darts on the old Social Club's sticky carpets looking to knife others for power, pre-Ed. We can leave that to the Filth and Princess Park who have an almost yearly EGM push! We members enacted our constitution last year under sufferance. Nobody wanted to do it, but it had to happen. Where you see factions, I see democracy at work for the first time in a quarter of a century, a bit of argy bargy and us quickly resorting to the 'side by side' ethos, with even the opposition envious of our collective support. Sorry if that's too heavy on the "base parochialism", but it's absolutely true!

FWIW, your claims on the Do Better report and pride guernsey are demonstrably incorrect as detailed above by Mike and knowing a couple of the people that you've mentioned, it's completely untrue. I think you need to Do Better!

I like Conno as well. Big malaka.
Good luck mate 🍻

I thoroughly agree with you re the treatment De Goey received after the storm-in-a-teacup that was the Bali “incident”.

He was hung out to dry, to appease the ‘woke mob’. Was so disappointing, especially when he made that press release that someone else obviously wrote for him.

If a club as big as Collingwood can’t stand strong against that external pressure, what hope for anyone at smaller clubs!?
I agree with you totally, but don't blame the "woke" mob.
It was the Melbourne footy media and those campaigners are not "woke".
Just drunks and whores looking for clicks.

You also seem to confuse "woke" with wowsers.
The dogooding arsehats are the christians , nothing even slightly woke about a right wings religious nut.

View attachment 1555071

They ain't dying wondering, so why the * do you want us to?

In 2022 we played 14 games at our home ground.

According to this article, the Cats are aspiring to play 9 home games at their home ground. And so they would only play 2 home games at an away stadium (same as us today)

Why is that something we should find in any way audacious?

In 2022 we played 14 games at our home ground.

According to this article, the Cats are aspiring to play 9 home games at their home ground. And so they would only play 2 home games at an away stadium (same as us today)

Why is that something we should find in any way audacious?
The Cats ask for 11 home games every year. Without fail! Look into it.

They have begrudgingly accepted us at the MCG as a "home" game for exposure, to placate the AFL/MCC's agreement that involves our Club's name and they still rake in plenty. Plus they've got plenty of Melbourne based fans.

But they'll be happy to play us in 2023 as a home game, no doubt early in the season until the stand is finished (cha-ching!!) and they have requested the rest of their home games towards the back end of the season in front of a full stadium (a miles bigger cha-ching than a full MCG every single time!!!!!).

They're going into bat for themselves and let's just see how much harder they push for a Kardinia Park game against Collingwood in 2024 at the end of next year.

In the meantime, some fans are happy to drop games against the likes of the Aints and Norf by playing home games at the oppositions home ground. Or putting ourselves in weakened/neutralised positions against teams who have huge home ground advantages, like our West Coast loss this year.

If the Scum and Filth want to play us at the G, then that's on them, but I'd rather see a mostly uncompromised draw, including us playing at GMHBA.

Those who are defeatist on this topic need to get their mindset away from the equalisation policy of the AFL that has been drummed into us for years. They want us to be the Smith Street Subway franchise, churning out the same generic stuff as everyone else, with everyone getting a premiership sub every 18 years.

But the Cats have clearly said "**** that" and so should we. Don't ever breach the rules, but try unrelentlessly to extract every last competitive advantage from every nook and cranny available. It's why Conno's vision to maximise our position as a Club through his digital and marketing expertise is best for us going into next year, especially with a new AFL admin in place.

Hi mate, apologies for the delayed response.

In essence, my aspiration is that the matchday experience is wonderful, whether you are at the ground, or importantly on the couch.

Let's start with fixtures. I want to play all Melbourne games at the MCG, and would be pushing for that. Further, MCC negotiations will be happening this year (I've already been talking to the board about my thoughts on this topic), and we MUST hold onto the Ponsford Stand. Furthermore, we must look at extending Legends seat availability from the Ponsford to also wing seating.

Also, I think it's important to ensure we've got consistent times/fixtures. I would love a standardised game time setting, where for example, we have no more than three timeslots, eg: 7:50pm Friday, 2:10 Saturday and 7:10pm Saturday. I would push for day matches and call them "Family Rounds" - because night matches are no good for kids - who are the next generation.

I'd also be keen to work out how we might maximise interstate travel with holistic experience - eg: chartering flights for Pies fans, looking at bulk travel bookings, and putting in place arrangements with travel authorities so that Pies fans can take advantage of travel and tourism experiences without breaking the bank.

As for game experience, I think it's important that we get kids involved more. I love Little League, and we should have little Magpies doing skills and activities before the match. I think we should be doing more around a "Fan School" for little Magpies. Make kids attending their first game a special experience. Reward members who might be attending their 100th, 500th, 100th, matches. Celebrate our Club, our players and our heritage.

Then there's something VERY close to my heart - the "living room experience". It's currently controlled by Foxtel. So I would be pushing for the ability to bring in our owned TV footage, commentary and other "second screen content". If I'm in Collingwood or Cairns, I should be able to watch the game and feel like I'm as important and involved as someone at the ground. This is how we'll grow our fan base - by giving people who don't really know Collingwood the "on-ramp" that makes them think: "Wow, this is an incredible Collingwood experience".

I'd be pushing for "live Collingwood matchday" before and after the match. Interviews, re-caps, etc. There's too much of a focus on portrait-shot Instagram content, and not enough that we can use on our big LCD TVs.

And my biggest bug-bear - that I basically can't re-watch classic matches on demand. THAT HAS TO CHANGE!

There are a few thoughts - I have plenty more!

I do a lot of work with a variety of deep technology businesses and practitioners, and in essence, there's not a problem they can't solve. I would look to use technology and data to examine every single thing our Club does, starting with:
1. Recruit better talent: Deep analysis of AFL-wide underage talent - using machine learning to suggest things the human eye can't see and hopefully make better recruiting decisions. Further, there is a lot of software that uses artificial intelligence to examine attitudes and behaviours in interviews - and can often overcome cognitive biases and make better hiring and recruitment choices.
2. Analyse the game better: Again, it's about assisting our decisions on match day, using data to see things humans can't and make better decisions than our competitors.
3. Fitness: Use a range of biometric tools to track and optimise our athletes, recover from injury better, etc.
4. Trading: Use artificial intelligence auction systems to better advise and guide on trading tactics and the value of draft picks.
Again, these are general solutions, but my role as a Director would be to inspire, benchmark and push into these areas more.

WE ARE HERE TO WIN.
THIS IS OUR ONLY REASON FOR BEING.
I WOULD PUSH FOR US TO BUILD A LONG-TERM DYNASTY.
WE SHOULD BE TALKING ABOUT FLAGS, THINKING ABOUT FLAGS, WORKING TOWARDS FLAGS, AND WINNING FLAGS. ALWAYS.

Thanks conno , appreciate the considered response.

Re: Playing home games at the MCG … no doubt it’s a popular one with the fans, but for a fixture that strives to be equal (fair), playing an extra 2 home games at the MCG will come with some kind of quid pro quo, and would that be a quid pro quo that Collingwood fans would be happy to pay? For example, our two home games at Etihad (v WCE and Bulldogs) was a quid pro quo for the two games we played Marvel tenants at our home ground (ANZAC Day and the round 23 game-for-the-ages v Carlton). The AFL would see us as having a lot of away fixture demands (ANZAC Day every 2nd year, King’s birthday every 2nd year, Swans at SCG, Carlton & Geelong & Essendon away games at MCG, we only travel 5 times a year, we don’t do promo games in China or NZ or Cairns or Darwin). What of those would we give up to play 11 home games at the MCG?

Re: Playing timeslots - I wonder what forces are driving the odd timeslots to be what they are today? Broadcast deal? I like the idea of family friendly timeslots.

Re: Interstate travel with holistic experience. Interesting idea and one I’ve thought about a bit myself. There has been a little of this stuff over the years in various forms and it’s never really been a big thing - I’d be curious to speak with people involved to understand why. But I’ve also wondered that there has got to be a better way.

Re: Kids being future supporters, love it. Footy can be about family bonding experiences and making memories.

Re: Machine learning / Artificial Intelligence. I could write a lot about that stuff but the tl;dr is IMO it’s a tool in the toolbox that can sometimes achieve useful outcomes and sometimes poor outcomes. (Eg: your comment about using it to overcome cognitive bias - plenty of examples of ML systems out there that have been trained with cognitive bias!! :) ) What I’d prefer to see from a board member / board candidate is something like putting together a multidisciplinary expert advisory group who can (1) drive a practical innovation program (2) drive a learning and development program.

Re: “FLAGS …”. As a child of the Collywobbles era I learnt that talk is cheap and every club wants to win flags. Heck even St Kilda are on that bandwagon now LOL. IMO teams that actually do win Premierships need to have more than that, a lot more.

The Cats ask for 11 home games every year. Without fail! Look into it.

Every team asks for 11 home games and every team gets 11 home games, where did I suggest otherwise?

Where they play those home games is what is at issue.

Whilst I’d prefer 11 home games at the G and for the away games to be a problem of the competing club I can cop 2 home games at Marvel provided they are legitimate home games. Other MCG clubs also play home games at Marvel, but none other than us annually* host a Marvel tenant on their ground.

* Those other clubs may host a Marvel tenant every 2-3 years, but it’s not every year.

Those who are defeatist on this topic need to get their mindset away from the equalisation policy of the AFL that has been drummed into us for years. They want us to be the Smith Street Subway franchise, churning out the same generic stuff as everyone else, …

How is ANZAC Day, Queens/Kings Birthday, SCG game v Swans same generic stuff as everybody else?

Granted, it’s not as wild as playing home games in Tassie, Darwin or even China, but I don’t think our fans want that?

If it were up to you or I to make the fixture, sure, 11 home games at the MCG locked in. But whilst the fixture is being put together by an independent body driven by equalisation, what do you suggest you or I or the club do about it?

(FWIW, I would play more interstate away games as I’d see that as a win-win - we are supposed to be a national brand. I’d happily play North or Hawks in Tassie, or Melbourne or GC in Darwin but it’s their home game and no way would they go for it because it would be bad for revenue, the disadvantage of us being a big club.)

Re: “FLAGS …”. As a child of the Collywobbles era I learnt that talk is cheap and every club wants to win flags. Heck even St Kilda are on that bandwagon now LOL. IMO teams that actually do win Premierships need to have more than that, a lot more.
I’m not sure how the mission statements of flags fits alongside McRae’s edict of building a winning culture with results a secondary consideration. Can the two compliment each other?

The other mission statement I’ve seen from a few board nominees is a want to return to being a big club. The problem with big clubs, which has been apparent with Essendon, Carlton and us at times, is big clubs make big club decisions. By that I mean there can be an element of arrogance with decisions made because they can, which can be at the expense of proper process. Conversely small clubs make small club decisions in that there’s broader considerations because if it doesn’t work they may not survive.

It’s getting the balance right, Hawthorn have been successful, but rarely big. Similarly Geelong who seem to build themselves as a country footy club.

It was pleasing we dropped the big club mentality and took a more humble approach in searching for Buckley’s replacement. Hopefully this humbleness doesn’t get lost as I believe it’s necessary for sustained success.

How is ANZAC Day, Queens/Kings Birthday, SCG game v Swans same generic stuff as everybody else?

Granted, it’s not as wild as playing home games in Tassie, Darwin or even China, but I don’t think our fans want that?

If it were up to you or I to make the fixture, sure, 11 home games at the MCG locked in. But whilst the fixture is being put together by an independent body driven by equalisation, what do you suggest you or I or the club do about it?
Re. the underlined: something rather than nothing. If you do nothing and throw your hands in the air stating that agreements with the MCC/Marvel have hamstrung us, well, we'd still be forcing interstate teams to play interstate finals (other than the Granny) at the MCG. You do nothing, you get nothing!

The AFL put the fixture together and they ain't independent. We'd sell out Essendon anyway, the Kings Birthday game has up until recently been a way of getting the Demons good gate receipts and us not playing Sydney in Melbourne for years and years is not a good thing and frankly ****ing weird!

FWIW, our draw isn't a huge problem from my point of view, but it is interesting that some fans buck on any points raised to at least try to argue in favour of the Club. Fortunately these cats aren't putting their hands up for leadership positions.

You can't always get why you want, but if you try sometimes, you get a better bastardised outcome*.

*Apologies to Keith and Mick

Great discussion. Jumping in here with my point of view.

All games at the MCG
To be honest, Collingwood crowds do not justify having all games at the MCG. The ONLY way we will have leverage is for 50K+ to attend those lower drawing matches. The AFL is driven by money they won't leave $$$ on the table if Collingwood consistently has crowds attend games. That's why my focus is on ensuring members are happy & engaged and supporting the club as they want. If they can't attend, make it easy for them to ensure the ticket is used. At the Golden State Warriors, they are powered by "Strength In Numbers" I think it is very applicable for Collingwood - from marketing, teams, fans and players.

Member Experience
To double down on my membership focus, I have no target in mind as I think 80K engaged members are better than 110K members who have a scarf in a drawer at home. The overall number is a chest-beating exercise that sometimes the front office and boards can get caught up in the competitive nature of sport. Collingwood has the fans, but it needs to ensure they are supporting the club and, more importantly, secure the future by engaging the next generation of Collingwood fans. What do they want from Collingwood? What is the experience they want?

Collingwood has every right to be a big club, but its true success will come from valuing every member.

All the best to those voting, 2 years in a row, we have been allowed to do it. Long may it continue.

I will be pushing for the board to publish the results this year, I asked last year, but the board decided not to share the results to "protect the egos of candidates" I will be asking all candidates to seek the results to show more transparency in the process.

The other mission statement I’ve seen from a few board nominees is a want to return to being a big club. The problem with big clubs, which has been apparent with Essendon, Carlton and us at times, is big clubs make big club decisions. By that I mean there can be an element of arrogance with decisions made because they can, which can be at the expense of proper process. Conversely small clubs make small club decisions in that there’s broader considerations because if it doesn’t work they may not survive.

It’s getting the balance right, Hawthorn have been successful, but rarely big. Similarly Geelong who seem to build themselves as a country footy club.

It was pleasing we dropped the big club mentality and took a more humble approach in searching for Buckley’s replacement. Hopefully this humbleness doesn’t get lost as I believe it’s necessary for sustained success.
I see where you're coming from, but Geelong are now a big club. They'll be raking it in with the new stand. They have proven that you can be a big club, make plenty of money and run a tight ship with top notch management and processes.

Carlton and Essendon have factionalised as all **** for decades and are still trying to shake the era that we were in pre-Eddie. I agree with Shill that this is Ed's greatest legacy.

Conno's experience in the digital marketing space can not only enhance our user experience by utilising our large network of members and fans, but also eventually monetise it. I reckon we can be much bigger than we are with some more modern ideas and also run a tight, humble ship with our eyes perennially on the ultimate prize.

Just a reminder that a vote for Matthew Ganley at the Collingwood Board Election on Friday is a vote for:
  1. Bulked up list management and recruiting team with appropriate governance structures.
  2. Someone who will act in Collingwood's best interests and push back against media pile-ons like after Bali this year.
  3. No home games at Marvel and all at MCG.
Voter eligibility has been expanded and anyone with a membership with access to home games will be able to vote. It's not just restricted to Legends members this year.

My professional career as a lawyer and working at a Big 4 professional service firm has equipped me with the corporate governance skills to bring a point of difference to what we already have on the board and will allow me to deliver on my promises above to you.

As a lawyer, re Marvel Stadium agreements, there are very few agreements in life you cannot get out of. I do not believe it is unrealistic at all that all our home games be at the MCG. As our membership base continues to grow and the population continues to increase, Marvel Stadium for Collingwood games will be infeasible with its limited capacity.

Geelong's audacious bid proves why we need to emulate them in key areas if we want to be the best.

https://www.zerohanger.com/collingwood-board-nominee.../
https://matthewganleycollingwoodboardnominee.com/
You got my vote - Good luck Matthew!

I see where you're coming from, but Geelong are now a big club. They'll be raking it in with the new stand. They have proven that you can be a big club, make plenty of money and run a tight ship with top notch management and processes.

Carlton and Essendon have factionalised as all * for decades and are still trying to shake the era that we were in pre-Eddie. I agree with Shill that this is Ed's greatest legacy.

Conno's experience in the digital marketing space can not only enhance our user experience by utilising our large network of members and fans, but also eventually monetise it. I reckon we can be much bigger than we are with some more modern ideas and also run a tight, humble ship with our eyes perennially on the ultimate prize.
Reckon we’re on a similar line with the difference probably being how we view the language. To me success is about good culture, processes, balance sheets and fan engagement whereas a big club is attitude based. Or more simply a club can be successful without the ego.

Achieve success in those areas and onfield results will take care of themselves.

On fan engagement as a Melbourne based member who’s probably in the middle generation (IT knowledge, but don’t live and breath it) it’s likely I have some bias regarding digital engagement. I can see merit in improving and becoming a step ahead of the curve, but it doesn’t drive how I enjoy my footy experience.

I can see merit in improving and becoming a step ahead of the curve, but it doesn’t drive how I enjoy my footy experience.
Me neither, so I'll revert to Conno's experience in this regard.

Using our fan and supporter base to value add for our sponsors though makes sense to me, as just pocketing the sponsor dollars and just plonking Emirates and KFC on the guernsey and shorts is old school. Think of it more along the lines how frequent flyer programs work.

Toast Presidency and The Board