Question for Legal-Minded Persons

Originally posted by Bluey
What do you reckon, does 'The Eddie Show' t-shirt breach copyright? Should it be removed from sale?

Http://www.bigfooty.com/tshirts.shtml

I believe that only 25% of the original design needs to be different for it to be legal. My old band changed the NHL logo by just enough to get away with it and I'm almost positive that it's a 25% rule.

I would think it does. Could be accused of passing off in that someone who saw the T would think it was associated with TFS.

Same colours same drawing, just different name and even then the name is linked to TFS.

Its like some of those "CHANEL" handbags at the Vic Market! (That was a very short case I can tell you!).

Just dont ask me to shine your shoes!

Bluey, no it doesn't.

The Copyright Act of 1968 protects literary, dramatic and muscial works, if anything it may be an infringement of a trade mark.

However there are precedents, there are quite a few shirts that have been getting around for years with ****takes on company logos: "Enjoy Cocaine" in the form of the Coca-Cola logo, for example, yet they haven't been stopped.

Originally posted by Hank Jones
Just change the player to a picture of Eddie with the ball. That is way over the required amount of variation.

I think that's the important thing, as long as the work has been changed sufficiently to become something different from the original but satirical of the original logo. It's not as if you're passing it off as the real thing.

Originally posted by Docker_Brat

I think that's the important thing, as long as the work has been changed sufficiently to become something different from the original but satirical of the original logo. It's not as if you're passing it off as the real thing.

I ran this question by a mate of mine who specialises in IP law, and from what i understood, he said something similar- just so long as it is clear satire and isn't trying to pass itself off as a 'real' footy show tshirt

Well the hair and, er, chins of the player on it have been changed, as well as the text.

I will consider changes and make any by tomorrow morning/arvo.

Thanks for giving me that deadline Bluey.

(He's a bit of a pushy bugger isn't he?)

Originally posted by Appleyard
Well the hair and, er, chins of the player on it have been changed, as well as the text.

Keep this up and we will start calling you FJD!:)

Originally posted by Appleyard

27 posts in 16 months ?????

I thought it might get your attention when it comes to money............. ;)

It is far too early to panic & it is understandable that Bluey is on the back foot.

let's keep our eye on the posts for a couple of days and see what happens.
:cool:

footyshow_splash_afl_logo.gif
the_eddie_show.png

Originally posted by Bridgette

27 posts in 16 months ?????

I thought it might get your attention when it comes to money............. ;)

It is far too early to panic & it is understandable that Bluey is on the back foot.

let's keep our eye on the posts for a couple of days and see what happens.
:cool:

If multinationals like Coke or Nike haven't taken action over the ****take t-shirts getting around then I doubt Eddie Pty Ltd will be taking on Big Footy.

Brigette, there is only one person who can annoint 'peanut gallery' status and whilst your close, you have yet to prove yourself.

Your signature is incorrect.
Surely the crawly bum lick attitude towards the USA can qualify her for a direct induction?

Brigette, there is only one person who can annoint 'peanut gallery' status and whilst your close, you have yet to prove yourself.

Your signature is incorrect.
Stick to the topic and it's Bridgette not Brigette,
Do you want to nominate yourself for the peanut gallery ????
;)

cough *rookie* cough, i think you better find out a little about who invented the Peanut Gallery, then ask me kindly to consider you.

Mase and co invented it, you merely gave it a name. ;)

Originally posted by Bridgette

footyshow_splash_afl_logo.gif
the_eddie_show.png
[/B]

Looks good.. But if you want to make further changes, can i suggest altering the jumper to one more representative of ole triple chins' AFL allegiance?
Besides, vertical stripes are slimming :)

Question for Legal-Minded Persons