Review R1: Port v St kilda Review

Part of the domination of St Kilda through a large chunk of the game was from them judging that every clearance was going to go their way so they set up to front run and backed their team mates to hit their set targets.

Their game was based entirely on front running and that's why they scored so many over the back goals, because as hickey was going up for the ruck they'd just bust their arse towards their forward line and ignore any semblance of defending.

The moment they stopped smashing us in the clearances they had to stop doing it and actually defend which is exactly when they got ripped apart (that and the fact they barely played in the NAB Challenge and ran out of puff)

Did anyone notice that they turned down the music for NTUA and let the crowd sing it? Fantastic idea from the club and I reckon they'll slowly take the vocals away and let the fans sing it. Good on 'em!
50 years later Liverpool still leave the volume up on YNWA. They wont get rid of it.

Interesting

CeiftNDXIAQng8y.jpg:large

Hot:
-Jasperfect. My buddy. I've stuck on the bandwagon and look what station it's at now!
-Crowd. Wow.
-NTUA. Perfect
-The old bloke dancing at the start of the March
-FOOTYS BACKKK
-James Wakelin in the p......TV studios
-1997 jumper. Delicoussss
-Timmy G half time show
-PAFC Gameday crew. Everything is perfect. Signs/videos/hosts/AOstuff.

Not
-1/2/3rd qtr. Wtf was that. Far Kern, fix it m8!
-AO patchwork quilt oops sorry Turf
-M. NICHOLIS. Does he get kicks off crowd boos?
-Lobbe.

What?
-Everyone has Ebert playing a good game but was I watching something else?
-Was the AFL Breathtaking video Kochie penned the live cross to the FARKERN pre game speech?

Great review mate. Can you elaborate on the change to the defensive press structure. Did we move the line back?

Wasnt necessarily moving the line back the thing i noticed the most and had the most clarity-given i was watching on tv and not at the game, was the setup defending our attacking 50.

The first half it was virtually inexistant- 3 saints on either wing against 2 of ours the ball went over the top and away st kilda go. The noticeable change was we had 4 blokes on either wing in kind of a diagonal straight line formation from about 5m away from the 50m arc all the way down to the wing. This made defending so much easier. On a side note we pretty much never went down the corridor during our kick ins.

On a side side note how good is it seeing schulz leap into contests and going 100%. Was a far cry from the injury ridden bloke we saw last year

Matthew Nicholls got boos on reputation, but I thought the umps were absolutely terrific. There were some teething issues with the new deliberate interpretation early, but for the most part they let the play go on, which was a huge bonus in a hard fought last quarter.

It's not often my mates and I will specifically comment positively on umpiring, so well done.

Matthew Nicholls got boos on reputation, but I thought the umps were absolutely terrific. There were some teething issues with the new deliberate interpretation early, but for the most part they let the play go on, which was a huge bonus in a hard fought last quarter.

It's not often my mates and I will specifically comment positively on umpiring, so well done.

The Wingard free in the 1st which he then repeatedly got his head pushed into the turf, which was then over turned was one of the worst i've seen.

That was classic Nicholls, but we did get awarded the free there, just not the 50.

On the replay at the qtr break, Wingard asked Nicholls about it and Nicholls said he he gave the Saints player the benefit of the doubt that he hadn't heard the whistle. It's not a great call, and it should have been 50, but it was one weak decision in a pretty good game overall.

The turnover was for Schulzy blocking a guy and putting him on his arse upfield.

If we get that sort of umpiring all year, it's going to be a good year for footy.

As a whole I agree. Thought they did well with the new interpretations, just hope it becomes consistent

Yeah, everyone around me was going "Bloody umps, blah blah blah" but apart from a few frustrating decisions, it just mostly seemed liked the usual teething issues with rule adjustments. I generally (as most) think Nicholls is shithead, but I hardly noticed him this game.

except the billion throws and deliberate drops from players that where being tackled didn't get called.

on the eastern wing it was getting out of hand how poor they were and the fact they stopped caring about holding the ball, or tackling charlie dixon as he went for marks throughout the day unnoticed.

They were the worst.

Happy to see what you've written on Trengove Macca, I'd thought he played well. Westhoff was important right at the start as well for mine. Chad's best ever defensive game. Jasper so solid dropping off into the marking contest. Probably didn't pick up on Impey's defensive stuff or the extent of Neady's gut running on the box.

except the billion throws and deliberate drops from players that where being tackled didn't get called.

on the eastern wing it was getting out of hand how poor they were and the fact they stopped caring about holding the ball, or tackling charlie dixon as he went for marks throughout the day unnoticed.

They were the worst.
Would them blowing the whistle 40 more times in a tight, rusty, scrappy affair have made the game better though? I was quite happy to see them let it go given how the game was going.

I'm pretty sure they'll need the jaws of life to get Dixon out of the bear hug Fisher had him in for most of the day, but I don't have too many complaints.

That deliberate out of bounds free from the last centre clearance of the match was hilarious from Nicholls watching the replay.. don't shank a kick as you draw contact out of the centre even if it's clear that you were trying to kick it to a player(s) on the break it's DELIBERATE!!! lel. **** me that rule needs a big re-think

Good turn up ladies and gents, that's impressive for us.

The game plan that Richardson applied today can only be sustained for 3qtrs, their game plan changed completely cause of it. Once their fitness catches up with the game plan, there going to be hard to stop.

That win gives me confidence that we will never give UP... bring on the COWS

So yeah, they ran out of run, we didn't...our fitness > theirs

So what happens when we play like that in the first 3 against a quality top 8 or 4 side? We were lucky to not be further behind at every break. We were lucky they tired more then we did. Obviously a good side will bury an opposition when given a look, and we did. But if this is a preview of our season we are in for another frustrating year.
Remember we were all hoping those crappy losses were hiccups and things would improve last year. So while I'm happy we came away with a 5 goal win at the end of the day I'm not going to get excited because we should never have been in that position against a lower ranked team like St Kilda for three quarters of football. And I don't mean that in a disrespectful way to the Saints.

Great to get a win, but some concerning issues from the first 2.5 quarters.

Initially very difficult to watch us display some very ordinary contested possession and skill errors, coupled with the smear of ineptness from Nicholls I thought it may turn into a long afternoon.

Loved Pittard's game (bar the one bad turnover) - is becoming a weapon from the half backline.

Robbie and Chad are just a joy to watch. Their use of space and vision in close is incredible - it really is a privilege getting to see them do their thing.

Great to see Sam Gray keep on keeping on. Just always working in the contest, great to see.

I actually think Lobbe played much better than many have realised. Won a few decent taps to advantage that ended up with shots on goal, and otherwise the taps were fairly neutral. I just think we weren't setting up well from our clearances for a while - giving Armitage way too much room to work with, and expecting the ball to go our way.

Review R1: Port v St kilda Review