Review R10 Geelong Cats vs GWS GIANTS

Problem with scully is he is not a in and under player - always an outside player. shouldnt have been no.1 pick and for us to throw 1mill each year such a big call.

Mick,

The quality free agents didnt want to go to GWS, and in any case, he isnt getting paid $1m *each year* - his contract is frontloaded for when we have money, which is this year.

Im happy to have him.

Im not saying im not unhappy to have him - i just think when we say we want to see more out of scully i dont think we are going to get that.

Can I just say guys, I loved the Giants at the start of the year, got a little upset during our clash with you guys because of some of the big hits put on by Brogan, but I'm definitely back on board.

Love the way you guys go about it, love the energy and endeavour, you're being far more competitive than some teams in the comp. Plus, Jeremy Cameron is a star. Definitely my 2nd side now, best of luck.

Harry Taylor is putting on a clinic today for Phil Davis. Davis really needs to use the off season to improve his upper body strength and core, he gets swatted away like a fly far too easily.

Understood he has had shoulder problems which probably affected his weight work but if he wants to be a top line back man he needs to be more of a physical presence.

We could do worse than trading in a big bodied defender to help out.

Haven't seen a lot of Pod, Mohr's had a decent day on him. But I reckon I could hear him yelling at himself on the broadcast then haha

Geelong rightly sing that they "play the game the way it should be played".

I think that today is proof positive that we do as well.

We are now being run over by a bigger, stronger & smarter squad while our gallant crew are clearly worn down. These things only come with multiple pre-seasons and the sort of experience that only come from exposure to teams like this in games like this.

I'm incredibly proud of my Giants.

GO GIANTS!

We are now being run over by a bigger, stronger & smarter squad while our gallant crew are clearly worn down.
GO GIANTS!

Pretty much this. Being level at half time is a massive achievement, don't downplay it. The fact that Geelong has managed to pull away after half time is both testament to their class and experience and our youth and inexperience.

Important stat pointed out on the broadcast after the siren: Geelong have won 38 of their last 40 at Kardinia. We can't underestimate the effort put in by the Giants today, especially in the first half. It takes four quarters to win a game of footy and today was just a glimpse of the future :thumbsu:

They didn't deserve to win by that margin and we didn't deserve to lose by that much and the umpires need to learn the rules. I hear the rule book has now been printed in Braille so they have no excuse.

Cats clearly the better side but I just can't stand s h * ty umpiring.

Important stat pointed out on the broadcast after the siren: Geelong have won 38 of their last 40 at Kardinia. We can't underestimate the effort put in by the Giants today, especially in the first half. It takes four quarters to win a game of footy and today was just a glimpse of the future :thumbsu:

Abso-freaking-lutely!

Today in the first half we saw the signs of the team that in three years time everyone will dread playing!

Go you mighty Giants!!!!

Yeah there are parts of his game that are great and you're right he's very young. Teddy Richards from the Swans is slightly built but still very effective so it can be done. I think it helps if you have some more support.

Loving the way the boys are playing, they're having a real crack and putting pressure on great team. If they keep this up there are more wins in store!

Mate with due respect get the rose colored glasses off. Second half 81-16 that is embarrassing. I know you are a mod but with the spin you put out you sound like a politician. Sure be positive but don't talk crap second half was a joke

What a fantastic effort!

Our brand of football makes no concessions for youth or inexperience, and for the first few years we will have games like this which start sensationally and then see us fade out of contests.

However, it is exactly the brand of footy which will dominate the AFL and win multiple premierships when those young men develop hardened veterans' bodies and their minds have evolved from exposure to classy sides such as the Cats & Bombers.

What is best of all, is that this group of wonderful young men will be dirty with not being closer at the end, and that they will learn a lot from the flow of the game.

Geelong truly do "play the game as it should be played", manage their club better than any other in Australian professional sport bar none, and their fans are the most intelligent, humble & respectful in the AFL (bar the inevitable occasional peanut).

One day, in the not too distant future, people will say that of GWS!

This was a major step forward for our team, and it fills me even more with pride and hope.

GO GIANTS!

Mate with due respect get the rose colored glasses off. Second half 81-16 that is embarrassing. I know you are a mod but with the spin you put out you sound like a politician. Sure be positive but don't talk crap second half was a joke

Total BS Kraza! We'll worry about the second half when we don't have so many kids out there.

If you're not excited about how we went today you're not a Giants fan.

Total BS Kraza! We'll worry about the second half when we don't have so many kids out there.

If you're not excited about how we went today you're not a Giants fan.
Don't tell me what I'm not. I can't believe some of you guy's you would get excited if your house was broken into. I heard the same rubbish last year about the Suns how what to they get experience yet they have gone backwards and to try and pump up a LOSS by 65 points as a great effort on top of last weeks performance at our new home ground which was poor is nothing to get excited about. Plenty of teams have good young draft picks that become nothing ( demons for example) so to think next year we will improve is not a guarantee. I have to say our recruitment ( big name) has been poor and we have landed no big fish with all our draft concessions

Review R10 Geelong Cats vs GWS GIANTS