Review R10 Geelong Cats vs GWS GIANTS

Great Effort by your young guys today. IMO don't be put off by the second half fade out as that has to be expected with such a young squad playing a pretty seasoned bunch of men. Let's face it your senior players are not of the calibre of Geelongs and so the result was to be expected.

BUT......when you can put together a full 4 quarter effort with the same intensity of the first 2 quarters you will be a formidable outfit. Of your young blokes I really liked the games of Stephen Coniglio, Dylan Shiel, and Toby Greene with Jeremy Cameron showing some great skill in the first quarter. Of your more senior blokes Ward, Scully and Power had a real dip but with not much support from the other senior blokes.

Your team is playing footy the right way and as your players bodies mature and they get some more experience they will be a powerhouse. So hang in there and don't get too upset by the losses this year. The tide will eventually turn I assure you.

Well done!

After watching this game and our other recent games I think we are very much missing that one extra, more mature but still young KPP forward on our list as an option. In defence we have Phil Davis and Tim Mohr.

It seems since Setanta Ó hAilpín went down we have only Cameron doing that KPP role meaning-fully. Otherwise Foluau is really a work in progress and since Brogan went out we have been attempting to use Giles or Phillips as the optional marking target. Patton obviously will be welcomed when he is available but he is still a developing player. We are in my opinion missing that something in between the young players and the mature/coaching players.

It seems we have a lot of forward thrusts which are repulsed and then run out with some ease. If we had that extra option I believe we would continually be closer on the scoreboard.

After watching this game and our other recent games I think we are very much missing that one extra, more mature but still young KPP forward on our list as an option. In defence we have Phil Davis and Tim Mohr.

It seems since Setanta Ó hAilpín went down we have only Cameron doing that KPP role meaning-fully. Otherwise Foluau is really a work in progress and since Brogan went out we have been attempting to use Giles or Phillips as the optional marking target. Patton obviously will be welcomed when he is available but he is still a developing player. We are in my opinion missing that something in between the young players and the mature/coaching players.

It seems we have a lot of forward thrusts which are repulsed and then run out with some ease. If we had that extra option I believe we would continually be closer on the scoreboard.

What we need are 3-4 players who have played 100-130 games and fit the mold of GWS (fast, hard-working and full of passion), where one plays in the backs, one in the mids (optional) and one or two in the forward line. This I think would make the Giants very competitive, but this should come next year or the year after so that all the new kids can get a a go and the Giants can figure out who they want to keep going forward.

Brave New World,

Yeah, that was what o'hAilpin was hired to do, and he did it well for a quarter against Carlton. I'd be happier to see him re-signed and back in the side.

Mate with due respect get the rose colored glasses off. Second half 81-16 that is embarrassing. I know you are a mod but with the spin you put out you sound like a politician. Sure be positive but don't talk crap second half was a joke

Its not a good scoreline but if it was that margin in the first half then you could take very little from anything that happens after that.

The game is over and the opposition are going to go through the motions.

Its great that the Giants have not been flogged in the first halves by teams and have held their own. That makes them already watchable in their first year.

Remember Gold Coast got beaten at the Cattery by I think 150 points last year.

I was expecting a similar game to the Essendon Gold Coast early last year where they just got blown out of the water but against top teams you have avoided that. Only really the North Melbourne game.

Quick heads' up:

I just watched the first half highlights on the AFL site, and right at the very end saw our CEO, David Matthews, sitting with the cheer squad.

Sensational!

:D:eek::D

:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Am I correct in picturing you as one of the mad monks in the cheer squad?

This leads me to my second question, whats the deal with the mad monks?

Not today. I was safely at home in Sydney taking the game via the occasionally sporadic ABC call via the AFL website while getting over a dose of the flu. I love Kardinia Park & Geelong in general, so I would have loved to have been there to bang a drum or whatever else they needed.

We had 4 blokes dressed in orange lycra body suits (the ones that cover the wearer completely) and GWS footy shorts at the Gold Coast game in Canberra. I love how people are getting just how much fun can be had at Giants' games, and I love the whole feel that we're now getting at our games.

A cheer squad member who did attend told me that they are high school & uni mates of our CEO, Dave Matthews, who took the opportunity to catch up with him at Kardinia Park.

Dave was sitting there to both spend time with his mates, and to personally thank those cheer squad members present for their time & effort on behalf of the club. Sheeds did a similar thing at our first banner making session in Breakfast Creek a month or so ago.

It's part of our ethos already that our leaders and figureheads (as well as our players) make themselves accessible as often as possible to our members and fans. It's a fantastic (no pun intended) attitude to embed this as an integral part of our culture, and a massive contrast to some clubs & codes where any interaction between fans and the inner core only occurs in front of cameras.

It's very easy to love this club!

I was expecting a similar game to the Essendon Gold Coast early last year where they just got blown out of the water but against top teams you have avoided that. Only really the North Melbourne game.

So you're saying we have avoided it against top teams? :D

They were meant to be Hare Krishnas I think, but they were hilarious. Was sitting between them and the Geelong cheer squad, and they got a good laugh whenever you guys got a goal and one of them went for a dance down the aisle. One guy even went the extra mile it seems and shaved his head for the occasion. :D

Having sat there all season and had to put up with both Richmond and Melbourne's cheersquads, it was refreshing to see people having fun and not taking themselves too seriously (like the Dees cheersquad), nor spending most the time poking fun at the Geelong cheersquad, like the Tigers cheersquad.

I think you guys have got your shit together a lot better than what the Suns have, and I've got a feeling you'll be successful before them too. Play like you did in the first half yesterday for longer in games (3 quarters or more), and I can honestly see you guys pushing for a finals berth either next year or 2014. :thumbsu:

Slightly off topic, but when is Patton due back for you guys? He and Cameron could be similar to Buddy and Roughead in the next few years.

We're expecting Patton into the team after the bye. Theres a lot of beef in a forward line with Cameron, Folau and Patton in it :)

So how did Kraza get a red card so quickly? I know the two posts he/she made were a bit ridiculous and a bit provocative but hardly red card worthy. There is obviously a bit more going on there. Anybody able to shed some light?

It appears to be the only posts they've made, unless they were someone else's sock puppet ... and I agree, they werent card-worthy

Super impressed by the first half! Brushed aside in the second half. I think we need to have a higher energy level than our opponents to make up for the lack of size, and it's hard to sustain that over the whole game.

I know Geelong also had a lot of young players, but their young players are 20 to our 18 which still makes a difference.

I reckon we'll sneak one or two more wins in at some point. Teams without the grunt of a Geelong, watch out!

Could've been in deleted posts.
Could've been on other boards.
Could've been harassing people via messages.
Could've been a sock puppet.

It's always hard to tell/find out unless you're a mod yourself.

Review R10 Geelong Cats vs GWS GIANTS