Autopsy R14, 2017: Swans vs Bombers

Huh, OK I'm very much in the minority it seems.

I just don't take BT seriously, he's much more enjoyable when you stop expecting him to be a "professional". 90% of Australian sports commentary is garbage anyway. I'd much rather have rubbish coming out of BT's mouth than Basil Zempilas or Dwayne Russell attempting to be serious.
I agree regarding his commentary. He doesnt piss me off anywhere near as much as he seems to others. And I'd also much rather listen to him than Basil, Dwyane or Bruce.

Regarding the issue with him not being allowed into the rooms I'd personally like to know the reason the club denied it. Despite the shit questions, I enjoy the spontenaity of his segment and find that you actually get to feel a bit of the passion and emotion in the rooms after a game instead of the repetitive one on one interviews.

Having said that, the club were well within their rights to deny him entry and the professional thing to do would have been to suck it up and move on, instead of sooking about it.

NFL do a wonderful job as does the NHL (when not in Canada IMO).

EDIT: As in, not the NFL/NHL themselves but their broadcasters... Professional. Intelligent. Insightful. Call the game well. Can use emotion but not over the top. Un-biased.

Mind you bruce Mcavaney's.

D A N A H E R.

when he marked the ball near the end was pretty pathetic too. For a second I thought he'd crapped his pants or something. A brief moment I wanted to just punch the TV, but I thought that may hurt and by the time I thought a kick may be less painful I'd had an emphinany about the cost of a new TV and didn't. Close thing though mind you. Anyhow, the point being is it REALLY necessary to carry on like an absolute goose?????? I mean it's just a game.....not like it's VE Day in WW2 or something.

I guess a lot do it. Soccer for example. G O A A A A L L . For a minute

Yeah saw that dude, the balls in the back of the net.

Mind you bruce Mcavaney's.

D A N A H E R.

when he marked the ball near the end was pretty pathetic too. For a second I thought he'd crapped his pants or something. A brief moment I wanted to just punch the TV, but I thought that may hurt and by the time I thought a kick may be less painful I'd had an emphinany about the cost of a new TV and didn't. Close thing though mind you. Anyhow, the point being is it REALLY necessary to carry on like an absolute goose?????? I mean it's just a game.....not like it's VE Day in WW2 or something.

I guess a lot do it. Soccer for example. G O A A A A L L . For a minute

Yeah saw that dude, the balls in the back of the net.

Fair dinkum, a lot of us are sounding like 70 year old Grannies ringing up Neil Mitchell to complain about the the tie some dude o the 730 report was wearing last night. Really......watch the replay again, it was a pretty big mark. Could you imagine the chorus of criticism if he just said "Danaher Marks....kicks long....etc etc....were you as p155ed off when he went on about Rohans mark? Bit of colour in the commentary.....I just dont get the criticism at all, either enjoy it and if you dont like the commentary, turn it down?

It's the commentators job to pump up the audience and go a bit over the top but BT is just an idiot and Bruce sounds like he's touching himself with that old man growl of his. It can sound a bit awkward sometimes, y'know?

Fair dinkum, a lot of us are sounding like 70 year old Grannies ringing up Neil Mitchell to complain about the the tie some dude o the 730 report was wearing last night. Really......watch the replay again, it was a pretty big mark. Could you imagine the chorus of criticism if he just said "Danaher Marks....kicks long....etc etc....were you as p155ed off when he went on about Rohans mark? Bit of colour in the commentary.....I just dont get the criticism at all, either enjoy it and if you dont like the commentary, turn it down?

lol. I'll confess I hate the commentary so much that more often than not I have the sound turned completely off.

I'm passionate about the swans and get drawn into the game. it's hard enough dealing with a loss if that's what the cards are that are dealt without hearing some Fwit screaming D A N A H E R. Sorry, maybe I'm just a bad sport but don't like it at all.....big mark or not. Equally thought Rowan mark was ott too.....but strangely that didn't bug me lol At least he does it either way so I accept he isn't biased like some. Perhaps that is what truly irks me the bias that does occur in commentary

Watched the show on 7mate this morning and Hamish and co spent literally 2 minutes on our game. No 3 things I learned just a quick brush over if the last few minutes of the game
That's literally every week. Last week they talked about the tiges more. I guess cause nank was sitting there.

But Hanners was there too last week!

I think all the FTA footy shows are very Melbourne centric but they have to play to their audience. Gameday is the only one on at a decent time in Sydney and I couldn't imagine they'd have a huge audience up here.
At least Foxtel have to balance it across the country.
Call me frivolous but the only footy shows I watch religiously are Bounce and The Front Bar.

I will say that McAvaney nailed the Rohan moment and his commentary afterwards about us being 0-6 and now in the 8 was brilliant.

Nah he called Rohan Mark, his name is Gary, got it wrong heaps

No matter how many times I see it I can't come to grips with how it happened. Even the lead up to Buddy's point was unbelievable, Mills playing on to Naismith and his low drilling pass to Buddy who usually doesn't take those marks.

It's all very surreal.

Yeah... I mentioned that passage earlier.
And even after Newmans goal, Naismith gets a perfect tap forward but a fatigued Parker is cleverly nudged under it by Merritt.... he sends it into his forward fifty, seemingly ending our chances, Smith holds off Fantasia and Reggie drops back and takes one uncontested. On any other day our little friends in fluoro call holding against smith and orazio puts the bombers up by 12.
Was it rigged? This season is so unpredictable I can't get rid of this sneaking suspicion the whole thing is as scripted as professional wrestling:)

lol. I'll confess I hate the commentary so much that more often than not I have the sound turned completely off.

I'm passionate about the swans and get drawn into the game. it's hard enough dealing with a loss if that's what the cards are that are dealt without hearing some Fwit screaming D A N A H E R. Sorry, maybe I'm just a bad sport but don't like it at all.....big mark or not. Equally thought Rowan mark was ott too.....but strangely that didn't bug me lol At least he does it either way so I accept he isn't biased like some. Perhaps that is what truly irks me the bias that does occur in commentary

Can't agree. The Daniher commentary was slightly obnoxious but given the circumstances it was understandable. The Rohan mark was massive, a climax to one of the most remarkable comebacks you'll see. Anything less than Bruce going full Bruce would've been unacceptable.

What's wrong with 70 year old grannies?

I can't believe we went from Dennis Cometti, a legit pro who could comfortably sit alongside the best play by play called across the world in any sport, to Brian 'Wowee' Taylor.

Seriously, it's not a coincidence the best play by play guys are actual professional commentators rather than ex-players. Dennis, Hudson, Bruce (even if he's drifted into self parody over the last decade). Ray Warren in the NRL (although he had the same problem as Bruce in the end). Then you look at American sports and people like Al Michaels, Marv Albert, Mike Breen.

I'm actually struggling to think of another sport that uses ex-players as play by play guys. And you know why? Because they're COMPLETELY DIFFERENT SKILLS. Now we've got jokers like BT and Luke Darcy doing play by play for the biggest games each week. Far out.

I guess cricket, but that's 80% analysis and 20% play by play.

Anyway, back to the game. Grundy absolutely monstered them all night. Was at least comparable to Rance's game last week (statistically I think Grundy was better) but won't get half the adulation.

I can't believe we went from Dennis Cometti, a legit pro who could comfortably sit alongside the best play by play called across the world in any sport, to Brian 'Wowee' Taylor.

Seriously, it's not a coincidence the best play by play guys are actual professional commentators rather than ex-players. Dennis, Hudson, Bruce (even if he's drifted into self parody over the last decade). Ray Warren in the NRL (although he had the same problem as Bruce in the end). Then you look at American sports and people like Al Michaels, Marv Albert, Mike Breen.

I'm actually struggling to think of another sport that uses ex-players as play by play guys. And you know why? Because they're COMPLETELY DIFFERENT SKILLS. Now we've got jokers like BT and Luke Darcy doing play by play for the biggest games each week. Far out.

Anyway, back to the game. Grundy absolutely monstered them all night. Was at least comparable to Rance's game last week (statistically I think Grundy was better) but won't get half the adulation.

You are 100% right. Nfl for example don't carry on like that. The excitement comes from the game and following your club. Nothing needs to be ramped up ott. credit where credit due but this business like BT.

"It's on now it's on now its on now it's definately on now"

Ok you idiot I'm watching the TV and I can see the scores.

Inspired this thread:
https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/thre...kground-noise-to-football-since-1888.1169482/

Autopsy R14, 2017: Swans vs Bombers