R4: Port v Hawthorn Review

so apparently a "fan" was getting right into clarko's face last night and pushed him away? always one dickhead!

Yes a dickhead, and definitely not defending him, but Clarko has a temper and he just has to hold it in, watching C7 and the panel sticking up for Clarko isn't a great look. He should have kept walking, the supporter would have eventually tired of it.

Don't agree our supporters need to respect opposition coaches, If i saw that first hand I'd clock the bloke myself, those sort of fans can **** right off.

Oh... Managed to get on the telly with a couple of minutes left in the third when Paddy takes a mark near the boundary on the outer flank.

Walking down the aisle cheering/abusing and bourbon in hand LOL
I also managed to be front and centre on TV before a boundary throw in about 90 seconds into the last quarter.

My phone went absolutely berserk.

National TV. International even. I got a message from a friend watching in Bali.

I just watched the last qtr again, Kern needed someone with some wheels camped about 60 metres out from the squawker's goal who could run the ball through our half forward line, but with Polec subbed and White obviously sore, there was no one with the legs to perform that task, and a number of chances to hurt them on the rebound went begging.

Footnote - maybe I'm being a tad harsh here because he was sensational ( particularly in the first half ) but I can't remember the last time Kane Cornes sang the song with any gusto, he appears to me to do no more than mouth the words.

I wouldn't read too deeply into it. Maybe Kane feels that the words to our song are just too rich, as his father thinks this too having said so some years ago, but I admit I do too. For what it's worth I was never the type to really rip into singing a victory song but I took lots of joy in listening to my teammates belt it out. Occasionally I was fired up and sang loud but it was rare. Maybe Kane's the same. Anyway, something for another thread perhaps.

Don't agree our supporters need to respect opposition coaches, If i saw that first hand I'd clock the bloke myself, those sort of fans can **** right off.

Well at least know one yelled out GO POWER!!! during the ANZAC observance.
That would be the only time I would smack a fellow supporter out.

A little incident that pretty much sums up everything we love about Crows supporters

My wife, daughters and I were waiting at the bus stop on North Tce after leaving the Magarey room. A fairly tipsy man waiting with us starts yelling and carrying on about how crap Port are and then proceeds to open his jacket to show us his Crows polo top.
He finishes with this gem
"Wait and see what happens next week coz we ain't no Hawthorn"
We all burst out laughing and I tell him
" you got that right mate"
He then went very quiet

People are saying we are not as fit as last year need to look at the number of underdone players and the players like white/Polec that are our run that have been on crutches between games the last couple of weeks

The fitness is there, but as Kenny pointed out in the presser we lose our run when were defending. That's always going to wear them down after a tough month of footy!

OMG what a nerve jangler. Kept saying to my son "don't write the Hawks off yet" all night, and so it proved.
Think the tough games thus far and my opinion that Burgo flogged the living bejeezus out of the seniors after the Eagles NAB game for a few weeks has us a bit flat. Starting to get moving last two weeks - the running power and spread in the first was just phenomenal..... stunning! Just hard to maintain that for a full game.

We got the choccies, and I'll take a win over the premiers with the players we had out, against an almost top strength outfit any day of the year :D

The gang tackling was amongst the best I have seen Port display too. Hawks were pressured like never before.

Hawks got their clearance work going after we had it 7-1 in the first, and eventually won clearances and contested possies easily (as you would expect with our outs), so really great to still come up trumps.

Thought Hoff took some good steadying grabs and spoils and that diving knock out of bounds because Bruest was away if he didn't. A few individual acts of bravery in defence (Ebo, Bobby, Jasper, Hombsch) late also saved our bacon. And we did attack in that last 5 or 6 minutes and got a few shots on goal that, albeit unsuccessful, drained the clock and forced Hawthorn to get numbers into defence for a couple of minutes. So we didn't just "hang on" - we dug deep and held our nerve :)

Best for me:
1. Jasper - brave, cool and attacking rebound
2. Carlisle - what dash at times!!!
3. Boak - skipper's effort
4. Young - in and under, tackled, took hits, got possessions (his best game)
5. Ebert - the supreme gut runner in BOTH directions
6. Sarge - radar on target last night
7. Ryder - impressive forward and solid in ruck
8. Mitchell - tackled well for a change, goaled, ran all evening.

Ah Chee impressed again in limited game time. Think we will give him a full game in the SNAFL next week, and I expect to see him back in the big show very soon.

Hope Doggies physically belt the f*** out of Adelaide today, win, lose or draw :cool::cool::cool:

We are designed to peak at the right time of the season this year.... Unlike previous years where we blitz from the get go.
We are building. Be afraid.

Yep i love the TOG stat. Looking at it there was a fair bit of management after getting a big lead with the midfield.

Hawthorn's time wasting after free kicks needs to be stamped out. Blatantly obvious and the umpires don't do a thing about it.

Even when Westhoff had been paid a 50m penalty, Lewis was basically walking in front of Westhoff so that the Hawthorn players could flood back before Westhoff was at the mark.

Pisses me off to no end.

How was hodge taking 5 minutes to kick for goal and not a peep from the umpire. He literally went back , lined up , took his time , walked up to the mark again , walked back. I was like serious umpire?

Special mention must go to the Hawthorn supporters. I reckon they might be the one team's supporters I've never had anything but good interactions with at games, either here or over there. Generally humble in victory and good sports in defeat. We had a great bunch of about 4 or 5 guys in front of us in the middle tier of the Riverbank who came over from Melbourne. Were good fun, stayed around until after the presentations, and then hung around afterwards at the post-match.

Argh what a win
I was asking for a back against the wall win but I didnt see that coming

Hombsch very underrated
cornes absolutely blanketed Mitchell

The chances of that muppet being an actual port supporter are slim i reckon. Looked more like a drunken corporate than an actual fan. No merch.

R4: Port v Hawthorn Review