Universal Love Random Chat II – brought to you by Harvest Snaps

I have a mate who describes things/events in microscopic detail.

I just endured hearing the 'highlights' of his recent 19 day trip. Fair dinkum ... listening to it felt like 19 days.

Bloody hell Proper Gander lots of words and thoughts make Crimson go something, something.

00Stinger about to put a brisket on.
how did it turn out?

I haven't smoked any meat for a few months now. Will have to do a brisket over the xmas period I think

Last couple of times I have smoked chicken or beef ribs

Been doing a heap of spits as the kids love them

how did it turn out?

I haven't smoked any meat for a few months now. Will have to do a brisket over the xmas period I think

Last couple of times I have smoked chicken or beef ribs

Been doing a heap of spits as the kids love them
Was good but I tried a different butcher and don't rate the quality of the brisket they source compared to my normal butcher. Just no marbling.

Flat was a little dry but the point was great. Took the opportunity to make some smoked tallow too.

Hey.

I’ve finally (10 plus years after everyone else) gotten around to organising my music downloads into playlists. So that if I go for a run (not so frequent these days) I have music, likewise the gym. Also lists organised by music genre which is classical, jazz and stuff that isn’t classical or jazz.

Recently I’ve been putting together a favourites list pretty much devoted to things that make me feel better. Or make me feel good anyway. The idea being that if it’s been a hard day and I really need to unwind and look after myself, I have a soundtrack of things that help me do that.

Wondered if any of you here have particular music that makes you feel good and helps you remember that the world isn’t always dreadful? Love to hear what it is. I need a longer list

Hey.

I’ve finally (10 plus years after everyone else) gotten around to organising my music downloads into playlists. So that if I go for a run (not so frequent these days) I have music, likewise the gym. Also lists organised by music genre which is classical, jazz and stuff that isn’t classical or jazz.

Recently I’ve been putting together a favourites list pretty much devoted to things that make me feel better. Or make me feel good anyway. The idea being that if it’s been a hard day and I really need to unwind and look after myself, I have a soundtrack of things that help me do that.

Wondered if any of you here have particular music that makes you feel good and helps you remember that the world isn’t always dreadful? Love to hear what it is. I need a longer list
A couple of recommendations that may or may not fit:

Post rock album. Instrumental. Very atmospheric and shifts a bit between darker and lighter moments, but has a grandiose finish. Kinda cool to zone out and listen to.

Busy math-rock stuff. A concept album about the life cycle of a dog. Has sad moments lyrically, but also uplifting and sweet. V interesting musically, although if you want relaxing might be too much?

Similar sorta vein but instrumental. Like Covet's stuff, the guitar lines are cool imo. But again a bit busy if you want to just take it easy. Plini is a similar-ish artist but straying more into metal territory? But same basic premise - gun guitarist making woodly weedly songs with some gun session musos.

Also a personal guilty pleasure is to listen to dumb as dogs hit nu metal like Limp Bizkit etc. Dumb, simple music not meant to be taken seriously but fun to jump around and be silly to.

Will check out. I like that you pick a fair amount of instrumental music.

Also half the stuff on my happy list or more is guilty pleasure stuff. I don’t mind being considered daggy if it suits my own purposes.

We really need input from Toump Ass as resident authority on eclectic music. C’mon down Toump. I’ve already put some B-52s on my favourites

A couple of recommendations that may or may not fit:

Post rock album. Instrumental. Very atmospheric and shifts a bit between darker and lighter moments, but has a grandiose finish. Kinda cool to zone out and listen to.

Busy math-rock stuff. A concept album about the life cycle of a dog. Has sad moments lyrically, but also uplifting and sweet. V interesting musically, although if you want relaxing might be too much?

Similar sorta vein but instrumental. Like Covet's stuff, the guitar lines are cool imo. But again a bit busy if you want to just take it easy. Plini is a similar-ish artist but straying more into metal territory? But same basic premise - gun guitarist making woodly weedly songs with some gun session musos.

Also a personal guilty pleasure is to listen to dumb as dogs hit nu metal like Limp Bizkit etc. Dumb, simple music not meant to be taken seriously but fun to jump around and be silly to.

Also I’ve always rated your posts on the basis of your metalocalyps avatar. A band that can overtake Belgium in gross yearly profit is a band that has to be reckoned with.

All that stuff made me cry laughing. Still does

Was good but I tried a different butcher and don't rate the quality of the brisket they source compared to my normal butcher. Just no marbling.

Flat was a little dry but the point was great. Took the opportunity to make some smoked tallow too.
Where are you getting the brisket?

Last few I did I separated the flat and point and smoked for different times to avoid drying the point out

Sent from my SM-S928B using Tapatalk

Hey.

For me it’s heavy driving music. Not so much to feel good but to pump me up. Don’t really have feel good music. I have upper, downer, chill and fun music but nothing I’d describe as feel good.

Where are you getting the brisket?

Last few I did I separated the flat and point and smoked for different times to avoid drying the point out

Normally from the butcher at Werribee Pacific, which is a chain butcher. They source their brisket from King Island.

The one I went to was the Dry age mate company but the standard brisket wasn’t great. They do however offer a Wagyu brisket which I haven’t tried.

This brisket was 4.3kg and mostly the flat half oven 9 kg brisket. Mrs Crim only eats the flat so had to get that part.

For me it’s heavy driving music. Not so much to feel good but to pump me up. Don’t really have feel good music. I have upper, downer, chill and fun music but nothing I’d describe as feel good.
Totally.

I probably mis-described my happy music. It’s mostly about that pump me up feeling. Not necessarily chill music to meditate to.

My happy list is stuff that diverts me, takes my mind off other stuff etc. That doesn’t have to be music to meditate to. Just stuff that always diverts me.

Totally.

I probably mis-described my happy music. It’s mostly about that pump me up feeling. Not necessarily chill music to meditate to.

My happy list is stuff that diverts me, takes my mind off other stuff etc. That doesn’t have to be music to meditate to. Just stuff that always diverts me.
That’s a good way to do it. Know what works for you and go with that.

I do also have what I would consider slow and fast or loud and soft music which can be suited to any situation.

And then there’s N.W.A.

What are peoples go to rewatch movies when they can’t be bothered starting something new?

For the last few years had has been LORT and the Batman trilogy.

Easy watch and epic movies.

What are peoples go to rewatch movies when they can’t be bothered starting something new?

For the last few years had has been LORT and the Batman trilogy.

Easy watch and epic movies.
I watch over again a particular set of movies often based on real stories like All the Presidents Men etc. it’s nice watching a movie you already know you will enjoy.

I’ll admit I’m a massive dag though. I watch Love Actually most years at Christmas time because it seems nice. I have it lined up for Saturday

Normally from the butcher at Werribee Pacific, which is a chain butcher. They source their brisket from King Island.

The one I went to was the Dry age mate company but the standard brisket wasn’t great. They do however offer a Wagyu brisket which I haven’t tried.

This brisket was 4.3kg and mostly the flat half oven 9 kg brisket. Mrs Crim only eats the flat so had to get that part.
Is that the dry aged place off old Geelong road?

Not sure dry aged brisket would be any good, seems you confirmed this

I wouldn't mind trying a corned brisket and making it into pastrami

Is that the dry aged place off old Geelong road?

Not sure dry aged brisket would be any good, seems you confirmed this

I wouldn't mind trying a corned brisket and making it into pastrami

That’s the one.

I’m pretty sure they only Dry age on request. The rest of the meat is just your normal butcher meat. The business name is a bit misleading. The first time I went in there asking for some Dry age steaks and they didn’t have any.

I’ll admit I’m a massive dag though. I watch Love Actually most years at Christmas time because it seems nice. I have it lined up for Saturday
Never seen love actually. In fact I’ve never seen any of those type movies like four weddings in a funeral, Notting Hill, any of the Bridget Jones stuff and so on.

Love the western genre too.

Lastly, Die Hard is the greatest Christmas movie.

Universal Love Random Chat II – brought to you by Harvest Snaps