Discussion Random Discussion

Yeh Nah. He's OK. Painful but OK. A bit harsh.
see he seems to think we care .... justify in his own mind hes a "good bloke" cause his online presona would suggest otherwise ...
they ar the plugger66 badges of honour - umpired for 130 years , local legend at his local club and knows what suburb every player in the history of football lives in ...

Anyone else find the whole Judd aghast at needing a ticket for entry story distasteful?

I don't mind the idea of him getting free tickets, but surely they should be by arrangement with the AFL or the home team, not just an entitlement that he can rock up, lower his shades and gates must open.

His comments that the poor guy on the gate can look forward to new employment opportunities just draw a line through him as a human being for me.

Anyone else find the whole Judd aghast at needing a ticket for entry story distasteful?

I don't mind the idea of him getting free tickets, but surely they should be by arrangement with the AFL or the home team, not just an entitlement that he can rock up, lower his shades and gates must open.

His comments that the poor guy on the gate can look forward to new employment opportunities just draw a line through him as a human being for me.
Couldn't disagree more it was a little bit of fun.

So if say Roo or Harvey wanted to come to a Saints JLT game they should pay for tickets ?

The world really has gone mad with the PC

What has demanding free entry got to do with being PC?
He wasn't demanding free entry he had forgot his pass

And you didn't pick up that he was having a little bit fun about the person on the gate ?

He wasn't demanding free entry he had forgot his pass

And you didn't pick up that he was having a little bit fun about the person on the gate ?
That's not what I read - 'as is his regular season practice' was how it was described - no mention of having a pass.

It would explain why I seem to be the only one irate about it though.......

That's not what I read - 'as is his regular season practice' was how it was described - no mention of having a pass.

It would explain why I seem to be the only one irate about it though.......
He was on triple M it was all in good humour, have a listen to him on Friday night footy on MMM very funny man

He comes into my business with his wife occasionally, he's actually very nice and so is his wife. I had a pretty negative impression of him when he was a player and assumed he was a flog but he's actually very quiet, respectful and humble. I can't imagine him being the type to come to the gate and demand to walk in because he's Juddy. He seems more likely to try not to come across as a flog and be nice to the guy on the gate. Looks like a media beat up to me.

And there are people who crack when they are actually challenged about a position they hold and then carry on like a little kid. Then they feel the need to tell everyone else the other persons faults hoping to get likes on the computer because they have no confidence in the real world. I don't care if you think I'm a good bloke. I know I am and certainly don't care if I come across on the computer as not a good bloke because I care about real things. Yep I'm pound of umpiring so long and yes I'm pound of helping some Saints players over the years and more importantly I'm proud of the suburb ive lived in all my life. So go for you life. Put a computer name down but unfortunately the real me isn't some name called plugger 66 the real me is plugger 2017.
yawn.jpg

He comes into my business with his wife occasionally, he's actually very nice and so is his wife. I had a pretty negative impression of him when he was a player and assumed he was a flog but he's actually very quiet, respectful and humble. I can't imagine him being the type to come to the gate and demand to walk in because he's Juddy. He seems more likely to try not to come across as a flog and be nice to the guy on the gate. Looks like a media beat up to me.

He spoke at a function I went to a couple of years ago and couldn't have come across more as nice guy and very funny.

The saturation gambling advertising is so annoying and an absolute joke, I can't believe they can get away with it.

My daughters supervising professor specialises in public health, alcohol, obesity and gambling. Gambling isn't her area but I do know he currently has a grant to produce something on gambling advertising.

I have known plenty of people over the years who loved to gamble some heavily but none of them were problem gamblers, they bet according to their means. I hear what you're saying plugger about personal responsibility and parental supervision but nothing good can come from this current free for all.

This is something new, I just can't see other than stopping your young kids from watching tv how you can get away from this. We already know that gambling is causing huge problems for many people and this is only likely to add to the problem IMHO.

Just for the record I'm not much of a gambler myself but I have and do bet occasionally and I'm not anti gambling.

What people really need to be schooled in is to ignore advertising:

No mum, your kids won't worship you like a goddess if you buy them the right brand of white bread.
No bloke, that deodorant will not help you pull chicks.
No gambler, you probably won't win like the guy on the add.
No mate, your wife will actually throw something at you if you buy a jeep without discussing it with her, at which point she'll probably tell you they are one of the least reliable cars in the world.

And the reason that Youi guy looks so smug ( i really want to punch him ) is because they aren't actually cheaper, they are comparatively expensive to other insurances , they suck you in.

What people really need to be schooled in is to ignore advertising:

No mum, your kids won't worship you like a goddess if you buy them the right brand of white bread.
No bloke, that deodorant will not help you pull chicks.
No gambler, you probably won't win like the guy on the add.
No mate, your wife will actually throw something at you if you buy a jeep without discussing it with her, at which point she'll probably tell you they are one of the least reliable cars in the world.

And the reason that Youi guy looks so smug ( i really want to punch him ) is because they aren't actually cheaper, they are comparatively expensive to other insurances , they suck you in.
They need bullshit lessons in schools. The internet is full of fake facts and misinformation, kids need a bullshit radar more than maths these days. Computers and AI have taken over the thinking work. Creativity and a filter are more important.

Listening to the segment at the time, it was purely in jest, there is Chris Judd the human, who is a decent bloke in the "hi bye" instance of talking with him, and then there is media Juddy in which he normally takes the piss at most things including himself, which he did at this instance.

People are getting too caught up in a flippant remark where Juddy is making fun at himself as much as the young guy at the gate.

The saturation gambling advertising is so annoying and an absolute joke, I can't believe they can get away with it.

My daughters supervising professor specialises in public health, alcohol, obesity and gambling. Gambling isn't her area but I do know he currently has a grant to produce something on gambling advertising.

I have known plenty of people over the years who loved to gamble some heavily but none of them were problem gamblers, they bet according to their means. I hear what you're saying plugger about personal responsibility and parental supervision but nothing good can come from this current free for all.

This is something new, I just can't see other than stopping your young kids from watching tv how you can get away from this. We already know that gambling is causing huge problems for many people and this is only likely to add to the problem IMHO.

Just for the record I'm not much of a gambler myself but I have and do bet occasionally and I'm not anti gambling.
Broadcasters sell advertising space to the highest bidder... In this case the gambling sites. They don't give a shot as long as the make money.

If cigarette ads were still legal, they'd do it.

Judd and his missus Rebecca are both very nice people.
Gringo is spot on.

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

On gambling, the best lesson for kids is by the actions of their parents.
Any addictive behaviour is exacerbated by the learnt actions of role models, basically Mum and Dad or parents or guardians whatever.
I dont gamble, except for stupid Powerball, and dont drink at home.
Both girls have seen that and know its not the norm even though they both drink a bit and one has the occasional flutter.

Everyone is not like us though and it is no co incidence gambling problems are more prevalent in lower socio-economic areas.

does anyone else find it annoying when a "news" report is basically a recap of comments made on Facebook or Twitter ??
one of my pet hates

Cannot stand it, it is the definition of lazy journalism and a big reason why our standards of news and what we demand of our journalists and media have slipped so markedly in recent years. It has a flow-on effect in dumbing down our society too.

On gambling, the best lesson for kids is by the actions of their parents.
Any addictive behaviour is exacerbated by the learnt actions of role models, basically Mum and Dad or parents or guardians whatever.
I dont gamble, except for stupid Powerball, and dont drink at home.
Both girls have seen that and know its not the norm even though they both drink a bit and one has the occasional flutter.

Everyone is not like us though and it is no co incidence gambling problems are more prevalent in lower socio-economic areas.

Absolutely spot on!