Discussion Random Discussion

It's not common tbh. Apart from Young and Jacksons (central city) it's not found in a heap of places.

No one I know actually goes out of their way to drink it. (mid 20s here)

Yeah 10 years ago there were a heap of bad Irish themed pubs around selling it but now mostly in backpacker areas. It doesn't suit our climate so much.

It's not common tbh. Apart from Young and Jacksons (central city) it's not found in a heap of places.

No one I know actually goes out of their way to drink it. (mid 20s here)
Yeah i gotta say the mid 20s on here have a different view to the late 40s on here:p
Id disagree and say plenty of pubs around Melb have guinness on tap. And though not as popular with younger peeps most of my mates will down a couple no probs . I drink it pretty often myself.
Heads up to those curious and want to give it a try at home for the first time , buy it in a can not a stubby.
It doesnt taste like a pub poured Guinness from a stubby but the can has a 'widget' inside. A little ball that aerates the contents as you pour it into a glass.
Goes down a treat IMO.

I've never had VB. Is that a lager? What are the other biggest selling beers you have? I'm sure you know that over we here we have Foster's, which is marketed as an Australian lager, but am I right in thinking it isn't Australian at all? Castlemaine XXXX used to be around, though I'm unsure if it still is.

I don't mind a Guiness with a chocolate pudding or something like that on a cold winters night.

There are better stouts around though (Coopers Best Extra as a starting point).
How do you define a cold winter's night in Australia? I didn't know there was such a thing:D

I've never had VB. Is that a lager? What are the other biggest selling beers you have? I'm sure you know that over we here we have Foster's, which is marketed as an Australian lager, but am I right in thinking it isn't Australian at all? Castlemaine XXXX used to be around, though I'm unsure if it still is.

Fosters is a Carlton and united product. Haven’t seen anyone drink that for 30 years. Vb is Victoria bitter and is second I believe in the most popular beer behind xxxx gold which I find undrinkable but then again most younger people can’t drink vb. Furphy is a local product that seems to have gone through roof with younger people. At my local footy club I think the order in popularity would Carlton draft then vb then furphy. 20 years ago it would have been vb then daylight.

How do you define a cold winter's night in Australia? I didn't know there was such a thing:D

Anything 12 degrees or under I'd define as cold personally (Victorian). Will occasionally get below zero overnight in Melbourne but not all that often.

VB is a lager. Fosters in the UK is brewed there, a couple of blokes bought it when I worked in a bottleshop, but very slow moving.

I mostly drink Furphys now, although I enjoy virtually all beers, apart from Corona style stuff.

Fosters is a Carlton and united product. Haven’t seen anyone drink that for 30 years. Vb is Victoria bitter and is second I believe in the most popular beer behind xxxx gold which I find undrinkable but then again most younger people can’t drink vb. Furphy is a local product that seems to have gone through roof with younger people. At my local footy club I think the order in popularity would Carlton draft then vb then furphy. 20 years ago it would have been vb then daylight.

Carlton draft players.
Carlton draught is drinked...

Anything 12 degrees or under I'd define as cold personally (Victorian). Will occasionally get below zero overnight in Melbourne but not all that often.

No, mate, anything ABOVE 12 degrees is warm on the British scale. Anything above 20 is dangerous; 25 means national emergency. :D

Yeah I was in England last year and was looking for things to wrap myself in to stave of hyperthermia, the Poms were out in their underwear complaining about the heat. Went down to Cornwall and it was like the arctic circle. No offence but I think they should have left the convicts there and moved to Australia...the only climate that suits is penguins.

Lager is definitely the top selling type of beer here now; there are so many, including all the European lagers. This phenomenon has come about in the past thirty or so years. Before that bitter (creamy and flat) and ale (including mild) were the dominant beers, with stout for the adventurous. My dad never drinks lager; it's always bitter or stout. Never saw my grandad drink a lager.

Craft beers and euro beers like Stella Artois, Heineken, Peroni etc all go okay here. We have a few of the crafty style beers that have been bought up by big companies who mass produce them. Things like Mountain Goat, Fat Yak are examples, they are pretty fruity and probably more like American craft Indian Pale ales in style.

Yeah I was in England last year and was looking for things to wrap myself in to stave of hyperthermia, the Poms were out in their underwear complaining about the heat. Went down to Cornwall and it was like the arctic circle. No offence but I think they should have left the convicts there and moved to Australia...the only climate that suits is penguins.

Spot on gringo. Manchester today is a sultry 12 degrees, which about right for late April. You could get away with shorts no problem. When it hits 20, I bring out the electric fan :D

Craft beers and euro beers like Stella Artois, Heineken, Peroni etc all go okay here. We have a few of the crafty style beers that have been bought up by big companies who mass produce them. Things like Mountain Goat, Fat Yak are examples, they are pretty fruity and probably more like American craft Indian Pale ales in style.
Peroni is a lovely Italian lager; Stella Artois is Belgian; Heineken is Dutch. The thing is many of the European lagers are now also brewed in the UK, which is a cheat, in my book.

Probably happens everywhere. Corona is brewed here but you can also get the Mexican one. I get neither. If you have to add a lime or a lemon to a beer I reckon it’s an issue.

In Australia that's called a cocktail and is strictly for the ladies :D

The whole lemon thing originates from Mexico where they used it to disinfect the bottle due to poor hygiene standards.

Anyway, I reckon the best type of beer is spiced rum.

Yeah we brew all of them here too, even the Japanese beers are made here now. Ironically you can buy Belgian made Stella Artois labelled as St Ettienne at Aldi for about half the cost as the relabelled Fosters.

Yeah Peroni is a good beer, I didn't mind the Nastro Azzuro there too, not as common here though. It suits their climate.

Yeah we brew all of them here too, even the Japanese beers are made here now. Ironically you can buy Belgian made Stella Artois labelled as St Ettienne at Aldi for about half the cost as the relabelled Fosters.

Yeah Peroni is a good beer, I didn't mind the Nastro Azzuro there too, not as common here though. It suits their climate.

Yep. Just like your "Prestige German Automobile " ( i paid $30K more than its worth cos i'm a w***er and continue to throw money away every time its serviced ) may be built in South Africa.
http://www.abc.net.au/news/2017-10-...d-in-australia-time-for-better-labels/9035576

The fact is it doesn't matter where it was brewed.... do we think the water swirls the other way in the vat?

CUB do a good tour , with food and drink for around 50 bucks.
When they make euro beer under license, part of the condition is that they buy the exact same ingredients that the license dictates. IE Barley from Europe.

With a good brewery its hard to see what difference it then makes to mix the stuff in australia rather than Europe, and apart from matching the exact flavours, it think there is a certain amount of snobbery in the "ohhh i'm drinking Belgian beer " thing. I don't mind drinking different beers, just like i like different flavours of ice cream, but its hard to say that the mass produced euro stuff is any better than the mass produced Australian. Stuff like Carlburg and Heineken is considered in Europe the way we consider VB.

Something i did like was the Carlton Brewery Fresh.
Its not pasteurised, which means it needs to be kept cold from the time of manufacture to the time you drink it. So its only available at venue's that have the right equipment that can have refrigerated trucks deliver. Probably comparable to the stuff you get at microbreweries.

VB is a larger with a bitter note, the hops used is purely a bittering hops no nose or flavour.

Guinness is on tap in plenty of places and has been going back 40 years or more, I got pie eyed drinking pints of it in south Melbourne that long ago.

You can get almost any beer you can think of hear but many are brewed under license here and don't taste like the real deal but sell at imported prices.

It's only cold here a few days a year apart from the early morning although being on the water and at sea level it can get pretty chilly and you need to rug up. Other than that you could get buy most days comfortably in a shirt.

Lots of English backpackers in the area so you can get a few English beers if you look around.