Preview Rd 15 Carlton vs Richmond Friday 10th July 7.50pm @ MCG - Team post #416

Cripps is better than Cotchin, I have no doubt. I think Cripps hurts you more with his possessions and how he gets his touches. Cotchin may have 25 touches with 15 kicks but i reckon most will at least be 35m kicks sideways/backwards or fwd chips which don't hurt the opposition. In fact it is playing into the opposition's hands by naturally opting for these kicks.
Cripps will usually have more handballs than kicks but he hurts the opposition with the majority of his handballs and he'll effortlessly lay 8-9 bonecrunching tackles per game and on top of that he is a contested marking threat around the ground too. Cotchin is a neat footballer but Cripps is a much more effective one.
We could continue to argue this forever but I'll put it to bed by saying that Cripps was being targeted by the Swans midfielders (2nd half) in his 7th game of footy and heavily tagged in his 12th and won the battle in the end and if we redid the 2013 AFL Draft based on what we know now Cripps IMO would be the #1 pick. I don't think Cotchin was going through this at the same point in his career.
Not hurting the opposition enough has been a problem in the last few years, he has fixed that right up this year. Way more attacking now.

Cripps averages 5.6 tackles a game, not even close to 8-9.

Most people would say a player that gets 15 kicks a game is more effective than one that gets 7, so I dont see why saying he gets 5 more handballs but 8 less kicks, 2 more tackles and 0.6 more contested marks a game makes him a more effective player.

Also Cripps looks like a gun, but him being targeted by the Sydney midfield says more of the rest of your midfield than Cripps. At Haws or Syndey it wouldn't be the same story. Its the same as Deledio, he was tagged and targeted from the start because he was pretty much our best from the start of his career.
And Cotch as tagged a bit early in his career, he also had a lot of injury problems and took him to his 4th
year to play a full season.

Also just because he would be no.1 if you re-did the draft right now means nothing. That changes all the time for one, that just compares each player to their own drafts so isnt a way to compare them to each other, he is developing way faster than most players so while he would be no.1 now, that may be very different at the end of his career.

TL;DR Cotch is a better player now obviously, Cripps is better at the same age as Cotch.

Call me pessimistic but geez I will be nervous for Fields when he takes his first kick in. He's been talked up a bit in the media after those hhhhhhuuuge barrels in the twos and no doubt they will focus a spotlight on him during the game coverage. Really hope he doesnt shank one with nerves!

Bet my house on whatever dill commentator we get creaming their pants the moment he picks the ball up in the goal square...
Great thing about the 2 monsters over in the last 2 weeks is that they were marked by Blues.

I don't think anyone seriously thinks Cripps is better than Cotchin atm.

Will he be better in the future? probably :D

He's better in our team for our needs. I feel like his vision is elite and his disposal is better.

If you said, forget age ... whose influence would you prefer in our side right now, Cripps or Cotchin, I'd go Cripps. Then, I'm really bullish about his size, his tackling prowess, his marking, his ability to extract the ball to advantage while standing in a tackle, and his leadership. Experience and maybe goal kicking is all he is really lacking.

He's better in our team for our needs. I feel like his vision is elite and his disposal is better.

If you said, forget age ... whose influence would you prefer in our side right now, Cripps or Cotchin, I'd go Cripps. Then, I'm really bullish about his size, his tackling prowess, his marking, his ability to extract the ball to advantage while standing in a tackle, and his leadership. Experience and maybe goal kicking is all he is really lacking.

Experience separates them to me right now nothing more.

For our current side I'd take Cripps over Cotchin.

Cotchin would drive us nuts like Gibbs does.

Rowe for wood a late change perhaps?
Surprised Rowe is fit but not picked. Can't see him playing VFL :confused:

I would be reluctant to play two ruckmen in what may be wet conditions, against the Tiges who are playing Hampson in the ruck. Port have shown tonight that the Lobbe/Ryder combo hasn't really worked in the wet.

On the back of a 6 day break as well, I wouldn't be surprised to see Boekhorst back in for Wood

The team changes email would be much better if the players that were out had sad faces and the players that were in had happy ones.

Great idea Lance!.

Wonder if they would have used the system in reverse earlier in the year...?

The biggest change in the Tigers is the fact Jack and Cotchin are finally playing like leaders.
If they continue they'll be hard to beat.
If these two go back to their old ways I think we'll win easily.

Martin's gone up another notch as well this year.

It's 6th against 16th.

I'd be stoked if we win but there's no shame in losing to the Tigers.

The tigers are playing better football than us and we'd need way more than Maric's suspension to swing things in our favour...better Barker game plan or not.

Step away from the keyboard... put your navy blue sunnies on.... come back.. post

CBgR4OyVAAA8QV6.jpg

I'm expecting a fiery slough for most of the match, and got a hunch we may just swing it.
I'm expecting a huge game from Kruooz, Murphy and Gibbs , time for them to lead the way it will have a ripper tomorrow night. Expecting a good game from Menzel too.
Go Baggers do us proud.
Ciao