AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Thanks, Clark’s got really good game sense. He’s a ripper!When he got caught holding the ball and Brodie was calling for the handpass 30cm from Clark, backing off and Jordan was telling him to clear out the space
We need to perfect the “Art of Darling “
Because in some mysterious way it will lead you to winning the flag after the siren against Collingwood in a couple of months time. I could definitely live with that.How is dropping uncontested chests mark going to help us?
Very fine post, except the Colyer Henry bit. Colyer gets few touches and makes mistakes, critical mistakes like lack of awareness and getting run down or rubbish disposal like last week. Henry is all skill and class, can find someone to give off to in even the hottest situation.Decided to make a comeback here after not posting for a while - my thoughts on tonight’s effort:
Snuffaluphagus may not believe this but I’ve jumped right off the delist Bailey Banfield club. He’s played very solid stuff in recent weeks and you could argue right now is the only forward on the list playing career best footy. He’s become very very good at those left foot around the corner snaps. Even though playing on in the first quarter after the Brayshaw tackle was poor footy IQ. Saying that Brayshaw probably would have missed anyway
- there is an obvious lack of class in the forward part of the ground. You just don’t win flags with blunt forward lines. There is no natural goal scorer. Not one. Will Luke Jackson fix that? Doubtful. A lot riding into he shoulders of Amiss and Treacy into the future.
- young was superb. Reads the game so well to take those intercept marks. Big tick with pick 7, three years in.
- tabs got a tough night from an inform Tarrant.
- Darcy needs a kick in the ass. He’s been living off reputation for a good few weeks now. Still a very inconsistent ruckman. To win any finals Darcy needs to be in the coaches votes almost.
- is Frederick a little bit nervous when bodies are flying in?? Great smother on Balta indeed, but jeez that was a feeble contest against Pickett with ten seconds left. Very very lucky boy that Cumberland played on.
- Pearce should be banned from kicking! That Clanger in the first half for the Bolton goal was almost comical. And where exactly was he kicking it anyway? Looked like he was taking on the miracle kick in the corridor, like WTF Alex?
- Wilson in for Walker probably makes sense next game.
- Colyer needs to play ahead of Henry IMO. While Liam was serviceable with ball in hand, he’s a liability in terms of defensive pressure. Colyer was decent when he came on and looked like he had a point to prove.
- Acres, I’ve never really fully bought into the hype this year. Yes he had some decent games early on. But you can’t turn in two poor games after demanding a better and longer deal from the club. He was close enough to delist material at the beginning of this season. I’d grab the deal on the table if I was him before any more dodgy performances.
- Logue needs to be signed ASAP. If this club lets Logue go I will vomit. Just pay the man what he’s worth for Christ’s sake (something around $500-600k per annum in my opinion). Young versatile KPP aged 24 like him are rare. Plenty of other dispensable players like Tucker, Blakely, Acres, Wilson etc that can be cleared out ahead of Logue if $$ are tight.
In all honesty we’ve had one great game since the victory at Kardinia (vs Melbourne), even the Brisbane victory doesn’t look as good in retrospect with how patchy they’ve been. Blaming Fyfe for our inconsistent form is a bit much considering he was responsible for our only good inside 50 connection all night.Not really. How shite have we been playing since his return..
Colyer offers way more than Henry.Very fine post, except the Colyer Henry bit. Colyer gets few touches and makes mistakes, critical mistakes like lack of awareness and getting run down or rubbish disposal like last week. Henry is all skill and class, can find someone to give off to in even the hottest situation.
I like him big time for our future.
They were like the Tigers of 2017-2020 when we had the ball but luckily when they had the ball they were like Tigers pre-2017.To be honest (and I don't want to be disrespectful to Tigers fans), but I felt Richmond were throwing their full finals level effort and intensity at the game last night, so taken in that context, I think our team could have taken a lot out of that experience.
Brisbane game was a high quality contest I wouldn't be downgrading that win.In all honesty we’ve had one great game since the victory at Kardinia (vs Melbourne), even the Brisbane victory doesn’t look as good in retrospect with how patchy they’ve been. Blaming Fyfe for our inconsistent form is a bit much considering he was responsible for our only good inside 50 connection all night.
Colyer offers way more than Henry.
Yeah but you could say the same about last night. Richmond were relentless with tackling pressure. We’re not really respecting our opponents here, keep in mind the core of this Richmond team was only a Mason Cox prelim final rampage away from doing four in a row recently.Brisbane game was a high quality contest I wouldn't be downgrading that win.
Brisbane played better that day then what they have in recent times.
I am ok with last night. 2 points is better then 0. And I reckon Richmond were just the better team. Not by much but I thought there defence pressure and tackling was elite.Yeah but you could say the same about last night. Richmond were relentless with tackling pressure. We’re not really respecting our opponents here, keep in mind the core of this Richmond team was only a Mason Cox prelim final rampage away from doing four in a row recently.
Your call, Colyer 31 soon and Henry 21 soon. Colyer would not get a gig in any other top eight side.Colyer offers way more than Henry.
I hope JL noticed the sub rort that Richmond pulled and uses it at backend of the year in last 10 mins if we haven't had a injury.
The AFL don't give a flying toss.
Clark absolutley barked at Brodie. That was hilarious
Still fuming about that, if Rioli had not have been illegally subbed Colyer would not have been run down by a fresh player. Utter bullshit.
Okay, what about communication from the team or a block?Turn it up. Colyer had a month to kick that ball. All the awareness of a house brick
I hope JL noticed the sub rort that Richmond pulled and uses it at backend of the year in last 10 mins if we haven't had a injury.
The AFL don't give a flying toss.
Colyer was looking for someone to kick to. A lot of our overuse of handball and getting caught through the middle was a result of having nothing up the line to go to.Turn it up. Colyer had a month to kick that ball. All the awareness of a house brick