Autopsy Rd 9 Review - Never Go Full Dockery

19 shots and 7 out on the full. WTflyingF..

Simply do not have any medium/small class in the forward line. Sydney's defense holds up because of their immense pressure on the ball carrier, the incoming kick is a flour bag.

We did the opposite to sitting back (last year) and still got pantsed because we couldn't kick straight and we turn it over too much.

Not making any excuses, and I'm not a clinician but I do work in the space of grief/trauma - the timing of Cam's passing wouldn't have boded well for the match.

There's layers of processing and the first 24-48 hours are some of the most difficult - denial, dissociative, doubt and self-blame. The brain just floods with every thought, possibly and emotion and it just becomes too much.

Sounds dreadful but if he passed at the start of the week, the players would still be grieving but likely in a more stable cognitive space to focus and adjust to the task at hand - that's why you sometimes see incredible victories from grieving teams across different sports, but it's often some time after the passing.

On top of that, the 5 day break and lack of regular preparation wouldn't have helped - all the normal routines in place today would've been thrown completely out of whack.

19 scoring shots on goal and competitive play against the best team in the AFL, there's issues to fix in the forward line but we are still heading in the right direction.

Have a stiff drink, go to bed and look after yourselves and loved ones this weekend.
Well said mate.

Disappointing to lose, but it pales into insignificance given the day’s events.

Love and mercy to all.

We came up against the best team in the comp and our game plan more than stood up to them (we even tore them to shreds from time to time).

Clean up our ball use and our horrendous goal kicking and we would’ve won that comfortably.

Swans had good pressure and efficiency but I don’t think they’d be all that satisfied with that game either.

Strange game imo. We started really well but our goal kicking was just awful and there’s was ridiculously good, and after we got to about 1.7 or 1.8 I reckon you could just about see the team visibly deflate. And that’s when they kicked a few more goals to get real separation.

Don’t get me wrong, that was a shit watch, but I think we did a lot right. Reckon Emmett must be on thin ice, and contrary to others I thought JOM was pretty good tonight, especially in the first half. Not a great night for Fyfe.

These questions should be posed of our coaching staff. Not in a negative way. Just in a 'How on God's earth does this possibly happen?' and 'What can we do to ensure that it never happens again?' kind of a way.
Q1
How can one opposition player kick as many goals as our entire team???????????????????????????????
Q2
How can one of our defenders kick as many goals as our entire forward line???????????????????????????????
When we have answers to these questions we will be a top 4 threat.

Not making any excuses, and I'm not a clinician but I do work in the space of grief/trauma - the timing of Cam's passing wouldn't have boded well for the match.

There's layers of processing and the first 24-48 hours are some of the most difficult - denial, dissociative, doubt and self-blame. The brain just floods with every thought, possibly and emotion and it just becomes too much.

Sounds dreadful but if he passed at the start of the week, the players would still be grieving but likely in a more stable cognitive space to focus and adjust to the task at hand - that's why you sometimes see incredible victories from grieving teams across different sports, but it's often some time after the passing.

On top of that, the 5 day break and lack of regular preparation wouldn't have helped - all the normal routines in place today would've been thrown completely out of whack.

19 scoring shots on goal and competitive play against the best team in the AFL, there's issues to fix in the forward line but we are still heading in the right direction.

Have a stiff drink, go to bed and look after yourselves and loved ones this weekend.
Very well said, up until the start of the last line.

How about…
Take a deep breath, appreciate what you have, go to bed…

A mate of mine said it best. What better way to pay tribute to Dardy than to go full Dockery.

If you are that utter cum stain in the grey jacket that was sitting in the 2nd row of block 132, pull your ****ing head in, give yourself an uppercut, lay off the booze, and then re-think your life. There is no need to make multiple homophobic comments and then call the woman sitting in front of you a dumb **** despite her putting up with your pathetic attempt at banter all night.

Normally I would rant and rave about this and that but I honestly can't be bothered after that. I'm going to give them a pass and hope it doesn't occur again.

A mate of mine said it best. What better way to pay tribute to Dardy than to go full Dockery.

If you are that utter cum stain in the grey jacket that was sitting in the 2nd row of block 132, pull your ******* head, give yourself an uppercut, lay off the booze, and then re-think your life. There is no need to make multiple homophobic comments and then call the woman sitting in front of you a dumb **** despite her putting up with your pathetic attempt at banter all night.

Normally I would rant and rave about this and that but I honestly can't be bothered after that. I'm going to give them a pass and hope it doesn't occur again.
Isn’t that why Optus has security staff?

That was a tough game tonight, scoreboard be damned.

I don't think the apparently dewy conditions suited your run and carry so that was advantageous for us, as we're the 5-day break and the bad news on McCarthy. And you won't be that inaccurate again this season.

I think you're a top 8 side, tonight just wasn't meant to be - s*** happens.

Good luck next week.

So.. just going to keep awarding players based on reputations?
That was diabolical.
Where do you draw the line with Aish, JOM, Switkowski knowing they dish that up?
Surely Worner, Wagner, DeLean, Sturt can add better ?

Serong. No one else on the team can come close to his commitment and dedication this season.

Amiss is off the boil this year.

Emmett was way worse than any player you mentioned

Isn’t that why Optus has security staff?

Yes. The last straw was halfway through the last quarter. Security was called but they didn't rock up until about 5 minutes post game and the bloke had left.

Should probably just play Simpson, wouldn't be any worse than the numerous passengers we currently have in the forwardline

Agree we have to get more games into Simpson, he showed more composure in his first game than guys like Emmett, and Switkoski have in their careers.

On the game I also want to add that someone needs to have a serious word to Emmett and tell him to stop trying to take on every bloody tackle. Too often he has an easy hand pass but elects to not give it and take on the tackle instead.

There's a lot of that in the side, everyone thinking they are Nathan Fyfe, including Fyfe and most of them aren't, including Fyfe.

Free Sam Sturt. RIP Cam. Tough night.

He should be playing rugby league

Play a forward line of
Switkowski, Emmett and Banfield

GOOD LUCK KICKING A WINNING SCORE

We came up against the best team in the comp and our game plan more than stood up to them (we even tore them to shreds from time to time).
We lost by 50 points and the game was over before half time.
On what parallel universe did our gameplan stand up to them?
How many times were we turned over, our handball happy gameplan was brutally exposed again.
All it takes is a good team, with their pressure on elite (over 200 on that fox footy metric thing they have) and we will fold like a deck of cards if we persist with this gameplan.
Remember the 2013 prelim v Sydney when we demolished them with a display of ferocious pressure and tackling that has rarely been seen at AFL level.
That particular dockers team would beat this current outfit playing the gamestyle they brought tonight, by over 100 points.

Just an awful game. Such a weird vibe from the start.

As others have said we more than matched it in general play but the huge gulf in class/skills was evident all night.
Even that was ridiculous though. I mean who kicks 10.0 on swirly night like this? They couldn't miss and our blokes couldn't hit the side of a barn.

Watching Warner go bang from 55, the way Hayward and Papley can snap from anywhere inside 50 compared to guys Switta, O'Meara, Emmett, Brayshaw, Serong who either miss or can't even make the distance.

Jackson can't seem to get going at the moment. Amiss is in the throes of 2nd year blues, he can't do a thing right (I really think he needs to change his set shot routine) but he's clumsy and moves, snaps etc he was pulling off with ease last year he's making a meal of.

Don't want to be too hard on Fyfe given the circumstances but he was diabolical. A couple of weeks ago he was winning possession and dishing off straight away, tonight he seemed to default back to taking on the tackler and getting caught (most teams now sit someone on him knowing how he hunts the ball and they jump on him and pin the arm).
He took a mark, had multiple options but seemed to freeze and ended up turning it over for a goal. He spoiled a ball that was heading for Treacy's chest right in front. Poor guy. Hopefully that game isn't going to break him mentally again just when he was getting going. It's such a mental thing for him. He can make the game look so easy at times and then painfully bad. I felt sorry for him tonight and I hate that. He is a great of the game and I just hate watching when he's so badly off his best.

We so desperately need to get some more class into the team. Emmett isn't good enough, Switta is useless as a forward. O'Meara is just meh and can't kick a goal to save his life. Johnson is out of position.

We need to fast track Simpson, give Stanley a go on the other wing (someone who can kick the ball well to the forwards) or play Banfield on the wing and rejig the forward setup.

Not sure what was going on with Frederick but he just couldn't get involved. Seemed to be sitting back watching the ball. Multiple times he had the opportunity to close space but either stood there or ran the wrong way.

They obviously tagged Clark and I think they also worked on keeping Young away from the ball being quite happy to let Serong or Brayshaw turn it over going inside 50. Aish's kicking to forwards was also diabolical.

Chapman is threatening to do good things but is still well off the pace.

Liked Pearce, Ryan was ok, Walker was good, Sharp good, Treacy ok. Not much else to like except we were the better team for a lot of it in general play. Our ability to convert possession into score is, however as bad as its ever been.

Sad night in many ways. I'm just writing out my frustrations. It all pales against the real tragedy of the day but gee a stirring win would have felt good. The comedy of errors we dished up made me feel sick at times.

We lost by 50 points and the game was over before half time.
On what parallel universe did our gameplan stand up to them?
How many times were we turned over, our handball happy gameplan was brutally exposed again.
All it takes is a good team, with their pressure on elite (over 200 on that fox footy metric thing they have) and we will fold like a deck of cards if we persist with this gameplan.
Remember the 2013 prelim v Sydney when we demolished them with a display of ferocious pressure and tackling that has rarely been seen at AFL level.
That particular dockers team would Beth this current outfit playing the gamestyle they brought tonight, by over 100 points.
Remember when the 2013 team were exposed by a precision kicking, retain possession team in Hawthorn in the GF (and every other time we played them in that period).

We had Swan's measure in defence and general play for long periods of tonights game. It wasn't pressure we lacked it was skill. The way they cut us to pieces with precision kicking and impeccable finishing.

It's skill we lack, not effort or intent. Guys like Warner, Gulden, Heeney who are precision kicks and forwards/mids who take their chances around goal. We don't have a single player who could have kicked the goals Warner & Hayward did tonight or anyone who can kick through a zone like Gulden.

Why have a ‘defensive forward’ player whose game relies on pressure of a defender?
Especially if the team’s not scoring enough goals.
How many of this type of player can we have in the forward line?

Forwards are there to kick goals- nothing else.
Offloading the ball to another player when they’re already in a position to kick it themselves shows a lack of confidence.
This is happening too often for Freo.
These guys are meant to be professional forwards in the AFL.
Forwards should be hungry for goals- the best forwards all have this trait.

Why have a ‘defensive forward’ player whose game relies on pressure of a defender?
Especially if the team’s not scoring enough goals.
How many of this type of player can we have in the forward line?

Forwards are there to kick goals- nothing else.
Offloading the ball to another player when they’re already in a position to kick it themselves shows a lack of confidence.
This is happening too often for Freo.
These guys are meant to be professional forwards in the AFL.
Forwards should be hungry for goals- the best forwards all have this trait.

They did pretty well out of tagging Clark with James Jordan. Clark has been instrumental in our better transition this year and they manage to nullify him and did a pretty good job of keeping Young away from his usual sweeping role kicking inside 50.

Autopsy Rd 9 Review - Never Go Full Dockery