Banter RDT 169 - One Nice RDT

All those thinkpieces about trying to work out how people can be so horrible on social media and not one of them written by someone who has driven a car. It really is amazing, statistically. They need to realise the arseh*le Quotient of the human race is a lot higher than they think.

My favourite is all the people on my Facebook feed who've never watched an over of cricket in their entire life and are all of a sudden devastated about Warne, posting photos and supposedly heartfelt tributes to him.

Sort of, yeah.

Yesterday he was a flog. Today he’s a hero.

The lesson here is be a good person, or at the very least be so good at a ball sport that nobody really cares and canonises you anyway.
It's not black and white though. Most people have done good and bad in their lives, unless they were absolute pieces of shit it's pretty classless to take potshots at a dead person the day after they die

It's not black and white though. Most people have done good and bad in their lives, unless they were absolute pieces of sh*t it's pretty classless to take potshots at a dead person the day after they die
Or to judge people for mourning the fact he's gone.

Ponting wasn't good enough to get away with behaving badly, Warne was. Ponting had to pull his head in and did, which ironically is what got him the captaincy over Warne.

fu** you guys
Pictured: you attempting to respond to that post.

Shane Warne Delivery GIF

Dog update:

5th day in with the new member of our family. My wife brought him home on Monday night and we were asking each other "why would these people let such a lovely dog go?". Tuesday morning my daughter got up about 5:30am and was running him up and down our back access driveway. My son and I went outside to say hello and he broke away and slobbered his face something cruel and more or less tongued my mouth like I haven't been kissed in over a decade.

So the day wore on, we found that he is basically a 40kg loose cannon of strength and energy. Previous owners never taught him how to sit, heel, not jump, not nip (in excitement) or walk on a lead. It's become apparent that they got rid of him as they thought it was too hard to get him in line with his size and strength - and the worst when seeing a kid or another dog he gets VERY excited. He even pulled me down a gravel embankment when some school kids called out to him and I had to roll with it or get dragged on my arse.

Today after a long week of hard work and patience, he sits before crossing the road 8 times out of 10. Jumping is still a bit of a problem, slobbering on my sons face out of pure excitement has not passed but we're going in the right direction.

We've had some serious quality time, been walking him 4 times a day and he's been "helping" me in the shed too. This arvo he even started going crazy at the ducks in the pool and scared them off (son I am so proud).

Coming up in the next week we got some one on one obedience classes - I can't let him smash my kids around, no dog is beyond that, a trip to the vets to get, well, you know. Beyond that he's super sweet, just a bit over excited. I've had Rottweillers most of my life and I was always taught if you own a big dog you have a responsibility to make sure you can control them.

It's funny how everytime a big change comes into your life you start to question the decision, coz you were so comfortable before in your routine and you wonder if it was worth it. Then time rolls on and you feel guilty for ever questioning it in the first place. I feel like I'm at that point now.

Anyway, I appreciate the opportunity for catharsis, despite having to take a break from this epic post to clean up cat puke. And here's a picture of Hank the Tank:

20220302_085333.jpg

Also soz not soz for a dog post, Badge.

I'm not picking a fight - just after an honest answer. What would your response be if Ben Cousins died?
Ben Cousins is the ultimate cautionary tale. All the talent in the world which would be reminisced upon for sixteen seconds before everyone acknowledged that he destroyed his life entirely.

He wouldn’t be getting the hero’s farewell that Warne is, nor should he deserve one. Great at kicking a ball around but afforded more seconded chances than 99% of people in his situation that we just deem junkies and homeless and less than. His ability on field doesn’t mean he deserves reverence and the selective eulogising, ignoring the off field, in his instance would be extremely weird.

Ben Cousins is the ultimate cautionary tale. All the talent in the world which would be reminisced upon for sixteen seconds before everyone acknowledged that he destroyed his life entirely.

He wouldn’t be getting the hero’s farewell that Warne is, nor should he deserve one. Great at kicking a ball around but afforded more seconded chances than 99% of people in his situation that we just deem junkies and homeless and less than. His ability on field doesn’t mean he deserves reverence and the selective eulogising, ignoring the off field, in his instance would be extremely weird.

He wouldn't be getting the same send off via the media as Warne as he's not an international legend of his sport like Warne is.

But if you don't think for the week after his imaginary death that we wouldn't be sitting around talking about how amazing he was at footy, quoting this game and that than you're dreaming. He'd be getting even more of that on this site than Warne ever would despite being 100 times the **** up than Warne was.

It's not black and white though. Most people have done good and bad in their lives, unless they were absolute pieces of sh*t it's pretty classless to take potshots at a dead person the day after they die
I’m not taking pot shots at him, he was who he was yesterday, and the day before that, and today. I’m not happy he’s dead, I’m not happy people are sad about it, I’m sorry for his friends and family.

I just find it gross that someone can be objectively a pretty bad bloke but get the send off of all send offs and a national day of mourning because he was good at doing a thing with a ball. It’s not unique to Shane Warne but he’s just todays example.

You can’t turn the TV on without seeing some athlete somewhere bashing someone, or groping someone, or much worse, but the day they die we have to go yeah look he was a bit of larrikin but couldn’t he make it spin though? Jordan De Goey is a howler of a human being but every time he kicks a goal he’s a superstar and that’s all that matters.

Athletes don’t need to be our moral compasses or saints or anything, but when gross behaviour gets waved away purely because of what you do for a living, I find that very uncomfortable. If a ‘normal’ person, or a celebrity you don’t like, or politician on the wrong side of the aisle, did the stuff Shane Warne does they’d be rightfully called a scumbag, but take some wickets and it’s just classic Aussie larrikinism at its finest.

I just don’t understand it.

He wouldn't be getting the same send off via the media as Warne as he's not an international legend of his sport like Warne is.

But if you don't think for the week after his imaginary death that we wouldn't be sitting around talking about how amazing he was at footy, quoting this game and that than you're dreaming. He'd be getting even more of that on this site than Warne ever would despite being 100 times the fu** up than Warne was.
Locally he’d get as big a send off as anybody. There’s more money in Ben Cousins to this day than anybody, it seems.

And yeah, we’d sit around and reminisce, I’m not trying to take that away. But we wouldn’t package in his ridiculous numbers of indiscretions as somehow part of his allure and his appeal. He’s not the bad boy of Aussie Rules for having a drug habit, it doesn’t need to be twisted when he dies.

Gross stuff is gross, whether you’re alive or dead, or whether you’re a teacher or a doctor or an athlete or whatever.

The same people I’ve watched cry about a public figure getting away with X or comedians saying Y, and therefore their entire body of work should be thrown out, are eulogising the last true Aussie hero Shane Warne, and I don’t understand the difference.

Or to judge people for mourning the fact he's gone.
When JK Rowling dies are you going to find it gross that people eulogise her for the impact she had on their childhood? Or will you quietly sit back and think “hm not for me but I guess she was an immensely popular author so I have to let them have this one”?

Locally he’d get as big a send off as anybody. There’s more money in Ben Cousins to this day than anybody, it seems.

And yeah, we’d sit around and reminisce, I’m not trying to take that away. But we wouldn’t package in his ridiculous numbers of indiscretions as somehow part of his allure and his appeal. He’s not the bad boy of Aussie Rules for having a drug habit, it doesn’t need to be twisted when he dies.

Gross stuff is gross, whether you’re alive or dead, or whether you’re a teacher or a doctor or an athlete or whatever.

The same people I’ve watched cry about a public figure getting away with X or comedians saying Y, and therefore their entire body of work should be thrown out, are eulogising the last true Aussie hero Shane Warne, and I don’t understand the difference.

But what's Warne done besides bang around a bit? It's shit for his Mrs - which if he didn't want to commit then he should've never got married - but what's he done that is so evil in your eyes?

For the record I don't like cheaters, I don't think you should get married if you can't stay committed - but in the scheme of things it's not something I would get hugely judgemental on beyond my own relationship.