Reflections on Adelaide

I'm thinking of getting a "Survivor Bay 234 AAMI Stadium Preliminary Final 2007" t shirt made up.

'Twas an experience that brought back memories of Vic Park and Windy Hill.

Thanks T'toes - a good read.

My thoughts exactly JHD..............Vic Park circa 1985. So, you were another of the "survivors" of Bay 234? Like a Premiership side, we'll forever be bonded by that near death experience ;)

Whilst the juvenile personal comments were numerous in our direction, I did giggle when one of the North supporters in my row took the bait. Port had kicked their second or third goal for the second quarter, whilst we'd missed our gettable chances, and the crowd in front broke into a raucous chant of "POWWWWWWWWWWWWER clap clap clap........POWWWWWWWWWWWWER clap clap clap", once again turning to face Bay 234...........

Again, why? Who knows but they'd already established that the North fans behind them looked like good targets so..............

Anyway, one of the North blokes in Row A had had enough. He started yelling straight at a cocky bloke stranding in the aisle clapping in our faces and chanting with the rest of his tribe "Power clap clap clap". The North bloke yelled "Patience mate, patience. They'll be connecting the power here in a couple of years. Relax!!!!"

That set the tone, before security sensed the anti was well and truly being upped, racing over to difuse what was a growing situation.

I'd wear one of those t-shirts proudly BTW lol :cool:

T'toes

I'd still rather go to 100 Port Adelaide V North games at AAMI stadium than 1 against the Crows.

Sure the Power fans were there in big numbers and more "primed up" than usual but this was a Prelim Final and a big occasion for them.

I still say that we have had more problems / abuse and slagging from Crows fans at home and away games than that what was experienced on the weekend.

Most regular attendees of matches as an opposition supporter ast AAMI would agree it is far worse when we play the Crows.

I agree with this Cororoo 100%, having been to a few of those as well. The Crows' overwhelming numbers bring out the smartass in the usually nerd family type of supporter. It's the pack theory! The thing I find though is that they can certainly be much worse, but at least they don't look like Yatala inmates fresh from punching number plates enjoying their one available hour of exercise time, as the (bad.........cos it was one element of them, far from being all of them) Port one's did.

T'toes

in glenelg we had every1 wishing us good luck i saw more liverpool and newcastle united fans than power fans

The drive from Footy Park to the airport was of course in the direction of Glenelg and I was expecting it to be bumper to bumper, like the drive to the ground from Glenelg had been earlier. It was a breeze, taking only 15 minutes. I asked my bro in law "This is unbelievable.................where'd the traffic go? It was chockers back around AAMI yet now there's hardly a car on the road, and we're only a few km's out from the stadium precinct".

He replied: "Their supporters head in a different direction............North and North East. That's why I told you that getting to the airport will be easy, even though we didn't leave till 6.55pm after Arch went off".

T'toes

Bay 132 next to the outer army being the only north fans deserves a survivor t-shirt as well :D

That's a good effort mate :thumbsu:

The difference was that those standing in the aisle were the ones who wanted easy access to the bar, to fuel up, and who specifically wanted to be in a good spot to have a crack at the opposition supporters. So, you were near that chick in the front with the gold wig eh?

There was also a young kid in a North jumper who I swear was a clone of Gibbo, only younger. Did anyone else see him? He stood in the aisle as well, taking crap from all and sundry, smiling the whole time. I just couldn't believe that it wasn't Gibbo himself :eek:

Amazing likeness..............I wonder if he's related?

T'toes

bagging the Cafe primo add?? can't believe you were concetrating on the voice over and not the number holding the pasta, she is a stunner. :D

Yes but the beauty about national casting agencies is that you can always fly gorgeous models in from Melbourne or Sydney at minimal expense. :D

Just kidding, I've heard Roobunny is one hot tomale'.

The day started off pretty well with a few beers under the belt in the crow bar. I was feeling not bad and finding that most of the crowd was generally pretty good. A few well wishers, more than the fair share of smart asses. But let's face it, being North supporters, we are more than used to being outnumbered. Didn't find it much worse than dealing the the Hawthorn crowd of the week before to be honest.

The real big difference being that they are obviously far less used to someone giving a bit back over there in Adelaide. The thing that pissed me off the most, was that there wasn't a whole lot to give given the state of the game.

To the dopey Crows supporters who were sitting near me who were happily sprouting about how much they hate Port, but they hate Victorians more!! What the hell are you doing at the game. F Off you dopes. You were the people who pissed me off more than any of the Port supporters anywhere near me.

Finally I would like to give a big PAT ON THE BACK to all the North people who made it over there. I was quite impressed with the number went and the comraderie that I established with people over the weekend.

Just remembered another lowlight from Saturday night.

Sitting on the Express Bus, feeling very numb the text message arrives from the club: " due to the loss, you are ineligible for Grand Final Tickets yada yada yada".

Couldn't have they reminded us the next day? And what a time for the club to finally be very quick getting information out to members.

Someone there has a very warped sense of humour.

That's a good effort mate :thumbsu:

The difference was that those standing in the aisle were the ones who wanted easy access to the bar, to fuel up, and who specifically wanted to be in a good spot to have a crack at the opposition supporters. So, you were near that chick in the front with the gold wig eh?

There was also a young kid in a North jumper who I swear was a clone of Gibbo, only younger. Did anyone else see him? He stood in the aisle as well, taking crap from all and sundry, smiling the whole time. I just couldn't believe that it wasn't Gibbo himself :eek:

Amazing likeness..............I wonder if he's related?

T'toes

Josh Gibson actually does have a younger brother so maybe it was indeed Gibbo Jr!!!

When this 1 bloke just started to give arch shit it really crossed our crew over the line. we could handle the majority of it because we were ordinary but 2 bag our legend was a joke.

We said do you have a membership and he couldnt produce 1.

Finally I would like to give a big PAT ON THE BACK to all the North people who made it over there. I was quite impressed with the number went and the comraderie that I established with people over the weekend.

For all you diehard supporters who made it over here, i applaud. It was great to see so many north people, easily the biggest number I have seen to our games here.:thumbsu:

Seems that the consensus of thought the city and particularly AAMI was shite. Spare a thought for the Roo army that lives here and puts up with this crap 7 days a week. While most of the North supporter base is in the home state, I take my hats off to the interstaters especially from WA & SA who follow their team through thick and thin living in enemy strongholds. I think their support is underated.

Sadly, like a few locals on here have already stated, i too find the Crows games worse.

Josh Gibson actually does have a younger brother so maybe it was indeed Gibbo Jr!!!

It must have been him. He had the haircut Josh had before he cut it short and was a clone...

Hmmmmmmmmm, interesting. He was in good spirits all day at least.

T'toes

Just remembered another lowlight from Saturday night.

Sitting on the Express Bus, feeling very numb the text message arrives from the club: " due to the loss, you are ineligible for Grand Final Tickets yada yada yada".

Couldn't have they reminded us the next day? And what a time for the club to finally be very quick getting information out to members.

Someone there has a very warped sense of humour.

I thought the same thing Lidge, but on clearing out my text message Inbox this morning I worked out why:

the first SMS we received last week said North members who didn't register previously can get GF tickets on Tuesday morning by calling..... it didn't mention that we had to win for this to be valid!

I think someone was crapping themselves about being accused of false advertising!

Now I pride myself on being South Australian, I have been to every state in Australian and Iam still young. There are things about Adelaide which make you Cringe and make you laugh. But to be honest Adelaide cops it way to much, and it makes me angry. Don't sum up my state from your football experience to a Port Adelaide game.

GOD if you think Port were bad at a Prelim, imagine some of the early Showdowns, I sat in the MIDDLE of the Port members. I sat next to a some little kid who started chants every 2 seconds, and another group of Port supporters wearing hard hats holding up a coffin...draped in Crows colours. I was abused spat on so forth.

Anyway your welcome to come back anytime, I recommend going to the Flinders its just awesome there.

Now I pride myself on being South Australian, I have been to every state in Australian and Iam still young. There are things about Adelaide which make you Cringe and make you laugh. But to be honest Adelaide cops it way to much, and it makes me angry. Don't sum up my state from your football experience to a Port Adelaide game.

GOD if you think Port were bad at a Prelim, imagine some of the early Showdowns, I sat in the MIDDLE of the Port members. I sat next to a some little kid who started chants every 2 seconds, and another group of Port supporters wearing hard hats holding up a coffin...draped in Crows colours. I was abused spat on so forth.

Anyway your welcome to come back anytime, I recommend going to the Flinders its just awesome there.

It's the fact that those experiences you had in the early showdown crowds are STILL accepted as "ah well, that's the Port supporters for ya!" and allowed to occur unabated which draws the ire of visiting footy fans. I go to most games interstate, wherever they're played, and have for years and I can assure you that there's a unique element which CAN show itself at Port games at AAMI, which is absolutely unique in these politically correct times. People elsewhere have grown to understand that you can't behave in some ways which were previously acceptable.

T'toes

my best mate who is a crow's fan was telling me today a few of his female Crow friends refuse to go to showdowns due to abuse and violence. Not sure my wife is real keen to go back down to the footy, SANFL is far more family friendly.

Showdown abuse and violence is mostly made up. I love Crows supporters that lie. Funny how every single Crows supporter you speak to has been threatened with their life, told that their kids will be eaten, been spat on, pushed over, had their handbags stolen etc. Its all bullcrap. I saw more fights at Crows games from 91-93 than I have at Port games since 97. Fact.

Crows supporters also love to do the whole 'holier than thou' thing yet they are equally as feral and antagonistic.

I have to say though...I have enjoyed this thread. I must sit in the outer one of these days. You dont get any of this in the AAMI members.

I think, as others may have pointed out before, I think Port and Crows crowds as a stereotype have forgotten how to deal with opposition supporters at games - mainly those that have left behind the SANFL. You sit in the same seats, often with the same people in your general direction, week after week - even year after year after year. Suddenly you end up with an opposition supporter near you...that person might be a smartarse..a bit loud...might have a few cracks at your favourite player...its how arguments start.

Most people know how to deal with banter at the footy. Its good fun. Someone has a crack, you have a crack back..you have a laugh and move on. Sadly some people cant. Happens with supporters from every club.

Macca19, Port supporters were a paradox, some were genuine, polite almost apologetic, others were straight out of a science fiction movie, mostly they were funny, your right about Crows supporters, they are truly sad, but face facts we aren't making this stuff up, the AFL needs to address the problem at AAMI stadium, someone will get hurt badly one day.

lol to this thread.
I have had two toothless supporter experiences this year.
One at a port game at AMMI stadium and one at a Collingwood Sydney game at the MCG.

Both Women, only the one at the MCG was almost kicked out by the cops.

I do like that you can't drink in your seats at AAMI though, I much prefer having home made thermos coffee spat in my hair then beer!

I was driving to bordertown on saturday morning counting the endless amount of Kangaroo's supporters driving over. It was great to see, but what a long drive home :( ( I should know, I went over to the hawthorne game) So good on you to the Roos supporters

I love Adelaide :D

ok, just read the rest of this thread....

the worst game I have EVER been to as far as violence, abuse and drunkeness goes was a collingwood game at the MCG. It was Collingwood V Sydney, and my gawd....

I have been to almost every showdown and none came close to the Sh*t I saw behind the goals at the MCG, so :p

Reflections on Adelaide