Respect to Essendon

Always respected the Bombers. Just sad some of the Essendon fans gotta carry on as tools. But to those who were gracious in defeat then much respect goes out to you.

I agree. Top sides will destroy that unaccountable brand of football. Fortunately Essendon weren't able too.
You have to ask yourself just how many TOP sides are there?
I see maybe 2 or 3 at the most falling into the top side bracket and the rest are a even money bet on any given day

It just comes down to how many close ones you can win in a season to just how high you can finish....look at 2007 for example

We could make top 4 or we could miss the 8, thats how close the comp really is.

You have to ask yourself just how many TOP sides are there?
I see maybe 2 or 3 at the most falling into the top side bracket and the rest are a even money bet on any given day

It just comes down to how many close ones you can win in a season to just how high you can finish....look at 2007 for example

We could make top 4 or we could miss the 8, thats how close the comp really is.
I'm not interested in any 2007 comparisons. I'd rather concern myself with 2010 and hope that the club improves over the next 2 seasons to become perennial premiership contenders rather than a meteoric rise up the table again.

Not a bad effort, too bad the Bummer supporters can't take a loss.

Makes the win sweeter :thumbsu:

The Port of old.... I love it!

Unfortunately theres a few bad eggs in every group. But from me, a passionate member, congrats on the win. Certainly an entertaining match, some of the decisions both ways were intriguing however although I think we could have/should have won, you guys were far more polished in the close game situations than we are.

Maybe one day it will click for us, during a game and week to week. Too many ebbs and flows on our behalf. However thats probably doing Port an injustice in this game - you hung in there when we could have blown it away. Well done and best of luck :thumbsu:

I cannot see either team winning too many games by playing the unaccountable garbage we got to see today.

Ummm we are nearly half way to finals after 7 games, I think we are doing alright, winning away from home is always good no matter the opponent.

They expect a lot Rick, if anyone said to me before season's start we be 5 and 2 after 7 rounds you would say thank you very much ;)
Wonder what Miss Victoria(Caroline) has to say about that :thumbsu::)

There is some sense in what was being said though. We still conceded 116 points and personally i must admit i get worried when an opposition side kicks a goal or 2 because the floodgates may start opening and it could be 5 before we know it.

When we prevent these 15 goal losses against Geelong is when we can start to feel even better about things.

Having said that, lots of good signs so far this year, beyond my expectations.

Hate you blokes, but it was a brilliant game today. Was shattered to be leading all day, dominating the stats and still lose.

Well done, all the [strike]best[/strike] worst (;)) for the rest of the season.

PS. Pearce and Rodan are guns.

shit, there are some gigantic flogs of the world who support Essendon going by that thread. but you can't just pinhole every supporter in like that because clearly they have some dignified, intelligent supporters who can acknowledge a magnificent game of attacking football that JUST got out of their reach. bringing up 119 and the like is just very embarrassing for them because it shows how fragile their mentality is in not being able to cope with their football club going down in a game. those people will live and die as sad, sad humans who will never truly be happy with anything unless their team wins four grand finals in a row or something absurd. those very same people go "i h8 tredrey and the corenses lol but apprently boak is a gud playa" when you ask them who on our list they like or just pisses them off, they just have no idea and live their lives fueled with hatred and idiocy! but i guess it's to be expected when you're Victorian and you're fed bullshit by the herald sun.

kudos to the Essendon supporters like OLD MATE MACCA18 who have their heads screwed on. I for one have massive respect and liking for that club and love it when we do battle, this match today fully lived up to all expectations of two fantastic, traditional, attacking sides giving a beautiful game of footy to Australia. those who understand and embrace that are better off, and those who get angry and take petty shots, well, it's just their loss that they're such tools innit!

Essendon i can put up with but next week's mob no way Jose:thumbsdown::thumbsdown:
Dirty rotten low life scum of the earth ......(and that's there good points)

This. I'd rather lose to the Crows than those ****ers.

I cannot see either team winning too many games by playing the unaccountable garbage we got to see today.
Disagree. I think we have adapted well to the teams we have played, backed ourselves to beat the saints at their game, then changed our style to play Essendon. Very impressed.

The defence from both teams was exceptionally ordinary, pretty good game to watch and an even better one to win. Essendon have got some great young players and play an exciting style which either looks brilliant when they win and pathetic when they lose, from their board it seems that they don't like Knights, dunno if he's there problem, as a neutral I like it because they can be great to watch, but if I went for them and see opposition teams score with ease it would obviously be different. They do have the players though and most of them are young.

Only bad thing about them for me is Alwyn Davey's pathetic diving, I mean FFS you have been payed a mark that was clearly touched, but to throw you're head around like that... It doesn't look good.

... they can be great to watch, but if I went for them and see opposition teams score with ease it would obviously be different. They do have the players though and most of them are young.
Sounds like us in 2008 and 2009.

Well done to Port played very good today, it was a very good game and Port came out on top in the end. I'm still upset we didn't win, but congratulations to Port played a very good game today and came out on top at the end, good luck for the rest of the year :)

They play good honest, watchable footy. That was a top game to watch, even to the extent of both teams making mistakes.
I'm stuffed if I know why people try to beat up an artificial hostility between our teams, our games are always good - even if there is a weird imbalance in the outcomes.
Also nice after last night not to see umpires in the colours of one or the other teams

I agree. Even though I was obviously happy with the win over the Saints it was a shit game, only surpassed by an even shitter game between the Saints and Doggies the week after! The Saints play ugly defensive rubbish and full marks to the Bombers for trying to play on and run with it.

I reckon we need some sort of 'offside' style of rule that stops mega floods and auskick style ball ups with 30 men around the ball. Something like each team needs to have at least 4 players in each half of the ground or something similar. I'm not too fussed. I watched WWT vs. West Adelaide last week and it was much better to watch than many AFL games these days because it flowed so much better.

Anyway sorry for the rant. But the point is I'm glad to see Essendon going against the grain. If only we got to play them more often ;)

Respect to Essendon