Richmond drafting - explains a lot

another pre season will help like it will any 5th year player.
played more than the majority of games in his first year and then played every game, bar one, in 2014 during his last year at GWS. are u maybe thinking about o'meara rather than orourke when commenting about his injuries? agree he wont be a star however u gave up essentially a first round pick - which i reckon is a high price for a serviceable player.
So Mr. Right....you seem to know a lot about nothing....hahaha. As I've said he has barley played games or had pre-seasons. No I'm not thinking about O'Meara. I don't know who you are talking about.

First year played majority of games? LOL. And then played every game bar one in 2014? LOL. Did you see who went with the pick we gave up? Blaine Boekhurst.....HAHAHA

Screen Shot 2016-11-08 at 6.08.12 pm.png

Please sit down and learn to get the facts right.....or know which player you're talking about :)

So you are predicting he won't make it. Predicting something is very different to judging draft picks done by clubs and giving an analysis of it. Just do not confuse predictions as being legitimate analysis. I think that is where you got sloppy in original post.
I am a footy follower on BF with an opinion. I don't profess to be anything else. In MY opinion, Lennon and Corey Ellis will not be worthy of a pick 12...that's all it is; an opinion based on what I have seen. I'd rather make a prediction than take the soft option and talk about a player 'post-career', which is something you may be more comfortable with.

So Mr. Right....you seem to know a lot about nothing....hahaha. As I've said he has barley played games or had pre-seasons. No I'm not thinking about O'Meara. I don't know who you are talking about.

First year played majority of games? LOL. And then played every game bar one in 2014? LOL. Did you see who went with the pick we gave up? Blaine Boekhurst.....HAHAHA

View attachment 308653

Please sit down and learn to get the facts right.....or know which player you're talking about :)

Now when i mentioned he had played the majority of games u also need to include his NEAFL record - yes i did check and yes they they do count as games. If he was injured he could not play them or is that something which Im incorrect about. so it appears there have not been significant injury issues that have really stopped him playing in his 4 years so u do gotta hope he had a great 5th pre season otherwise who knows even our spud boeky might surpass him.

refer below:

2016 Season
1 Geel Won a few clearances but wasn’t a big factor overall. 4
2 WCE Wing on Gaff and was OK. Kicked a goal in the third quarter. 5
3 WB Still finding his feet in this Hawthorn unit. Could provide more. 4
4 VFL Got better as the game wore on in midfield. One of Hawks’ best. -
5 VFL Struggled to break free of attention and have any impact. -
6 Hamstring.
7 Hamstring.
8 Hamstring
9 VFL Worked hard on return from injury to be among the better Hawks. -
10 VFL Bye. -
11 VFL In and out of the game after a strong start. 19 disposals but did lay four tackles. -
13Didn’t play for Box Hill Hawks.
14Didn’t play for Box Hill Hawks.
15 VFL Bye. -
16 VFL Did his best work on the outside. Finished with an equal team-high four inside-50s. -
17 Syd Kicked a goal on three-quarter time siren but generally very quiet. 3
18 Rich Showed dash at times but wasn’t a four-quarter factor. One goal, four inside-50s. 5
19 Carl Played a role in the middle but needs to find more of the pill. 4
20 Melb Another very average effort when side needed him to step up. Nine effective disp. 4
21 VFL Had 20 touches in midfield battle to play a steady enough role. -
22 VFL Good ball winner in midfield battle with 30 possessions. -
23 VFL In and out of game on a wing. Failed to lay a tackle – worrying sign. -

-
2015 Season
-
2 Ess OK in debut for new club. Will be content with his work, just not the result. 5
3 VFL Struggled a bit in return to VFL. Just 13 possessions. -
4 VFL Got enough of the ball but wasn’t a star. -
5 VFL Bye. -
6 VFL 22 possessions in midfield. OK. -
7 VFL Toiled hard in midfield and paid some good tackles. -
8 VFL Played his role well in midfield. 24 possessions. -
9 VFL One of his better outings. 29 possessions, nine marks. -
10 VFL Best game so far with 21 disposals and three big goals. -
11 VFL Bye. -
12 VFL 17 possessions but just one tackle – needs to improve here. -
13 VFL Battled to find space to move in midfield. 17 possessions. -
14 VFL Better than last week with 31 possessions, eight inside 50s. -
15 VFL Skirted around packs but wasn’t a major factor. -
16 VFL Sloppy by foot at times but worked hard throughout. -
17 Carl Got some valuable experience in the middle. OK at times with 15 eff disposals. 5
18 VFL Had 18 touches but couldn’t find space often enough. -
19 VFL Couldn't break free as much as he'd like. Just 14 touches. -
20 Rested.
21 VFL Back after a week off and was a steady contributor. -
22 VFL Unable to get into the game. Disappointing outing. -
23 VFL In and out but ended up running the game out fairly well. -
QF VFL Bye. -
SF VFL 25 touches in midfield. Made good decisions. -
PF VFL Industrious around contests but no star. -
GF
-
2014 Season
Played for : GWS Giants

1 PM Ran with Lloyd and did a good job. Found some ball himself too. -
2 NEAFL Played through the middle and made the most of his touches. -
3 NEAFL Continues to improve in the midfield. Won a fair bit of ball. -
4 NEAFL Best player on the ground in midfield. -
5 NEAFL Bye. -
6 GCS Four of his five kicks were inside 50s, preferred to handball. 4
7 Port The No.2 draft pick still finding his feet at this level, subbed out for Lamb. 4
8 NEAFL Ran hard on a wing but wasn’t able to impact the game. -
9 NEAFL Bye. -
10 NEAFL Very good outing with 32 disposals and six inside 50s. -
11 NEAFL Will need to do more to be elevated. -
12 NEAFL Very good this week with 27 disposals. -
13 NEAFL 27 disposals last week, 23 this week. -
14 NEAFL Bye. -
15 NEAFL Impressive with 32 disposals, six clearances. -
16 NEAFL Just ten touches. Well held. -
17 Frem Sub. Struggled to get into game but by time he got on it was one-way traffic. 1
18 Geel Struggled to get into the game at all. Will he remain a Giant? 3
19 Rich Ran with Cotchin early and got an up-close look at how far off it he is. 3
20 NM Ran hard through midfield to play a role. One of his better performances. 5
21 Melb Looking more comfortable with every minute. Played role without fuss. 6
22 Coll Did hammy early and was subbed out. 1
23 Hamstring.

2013 Season
Played for : GWS Giants

1 Hamstring.
2 NEAFL Returned from hammy. Took time to work into it. -
3 NEAFL Good around the clearances in second game back from injury. -
4 NEAFL Continuing to work back to full fitness in midfield. -
5 Jaw.
6 Jaw.
7 Jaw.
8 Jaw.
9 Jaw.
10 NEAFL Kicked a goal on return from jaw injury. -
11 NEAFL Showed his talent around the ball. Good in open space. -
12 NEAFL Kicked two goals and got on the end of some good play. -
13 NEAFL Bye. -
14 NEAFL Starred in midfield in the Giants huge win over Queanbeyan. -
15 NEAFL Played at half back and provided great run and spread. -
16 Syd Struggled with the speed of the game on debut. The only way is up. 2
17 NEAFL Bye. -
18 NEAFL Worked hard in midfield and was very good in first half. -
19 NEAFL Won a lot of clearances and contested ball. Ran hard forward. -
20 NEAFL Not as prominent as past weeks in midfield. -
21Rested.
22Shoulder.
23Shoulder.

I am a footy follower on BF with an opinion. I don't profess to be anything else. In MY opinion, Lennon and Corey Ellis will not be worthy of a pick 12...that's all it is; an opinion based on what I have seen. I'd rather make a prediction than take the soft option and talk about a player 'post-career', which is something you may be more comfortable with.

Actually you are being soft. Cannot handle a bit of critical feedback of way you presented your view.
Predictions are fine. You should have said your 2014 and 2015 thoughts on their draft were predicted LOSS.

Nah , nice try. We all saw you in the other thread sooking it up haha
Actually you are being soft. Cannot handle a bit of critical feedback of way you presented your view.
Predictions are fine. You should have said your 2014 and 2015 thoughts on their draft were predicted LOSS.
My post would have been 300 pages long if I had qualified each prediction as you suggest.

As I said previously, I find that posters like you are soft; you are happy to sit back and nit pick but not strong enough to post your own opinions. If YOU think they will be 200 game A graders then just say that. I've given my opinion which you clearly disagree with, yet you haven't really given a counter view..

My post would have been 300 pages long if I had qualified each prediction as you suggest.

As I said previously, I find that posters like you are soft; you are happy to sit back and nit pick but not strong enough to post your own opinions. If YOU think they will be 200 game A graders then just say that. I've given my opinion which you clearly disagree with, yet you haven't really given a counter view..

Mate you think the careers of Ben Reid & Bachar Houli's time at Essendon was better than Jack Riewoldt's career, otherwise you wouldn't have called

Traded in Polak and #13 & 73 for their #8 & 42 picks – LOSS

Your opinion is invalid because you are either trolling or have no understanding of AFL.

I've given my opinion which you clearly disagree with, yet you haven't really given a counter view..
You assume I have to have a counter view.
Richmond drafting has been one of worst in league. That, my confused Drake is the same basic view. If I pick you up on a few silly points you made, it does not mean at all that I disagree that Richmond been crap at drafting. They have been, they been one of the worst, right up there with Melbourne and Carlton as some of the worst offenders.
Your sloppy inclusion of a few players that simply cannot be judged as good or bad drafting yet, really is very straight forward.
There is nothing strong in your opinion at all. Just defensive and poorly presented of something that is very obvious to most of us
If your post had been funny in canning Richmond crap drafting of past that would have be something of value as light hearted read.
Or simply a post that was well researched history of their draft picks , rather than just a random number of years with lots of details missing of pick numbers and trade circumstances effecting picks of draft.
Just bloody lift the bar higher Drake.

It's the trading in of average footballers in an attempt to sneak into finals that hurt them. Still unbelievable that this was the direction from club management

Almost as bad as recruiting players from a rival because the coach happened to be good mates with them (cough Daisy Thomas on 800k cough)......
Don't have to tell me that was stupid. He was only ever on 625k though, not sure where you got 800 from.

Andy Collins.

(too easy)
Weird example, the exact reason we ended up with him is because of Richmond chasing spuds. Richmond talked Grigg into walking across so we swapped spuds.

Don't have to tell me that was stupid. He was only ever on 625k though, not sure where you got 800 from.

Rumoured at the time to be up to 800, but still too high a figure at 625.... Happy to accept your figure...
Everywhere reported 2.5mil over 4 years, it's just the yearly figure changed depending on how poor each media outlet was at math.

Will probably struggle to get consistent games next year & has worked out terribly, but he wasn't recruited with that same mindset of filling gaps with Grigg / Hampson types that has worked against Richmond.

Hard to be annoyed about letting Grigg go. He wanted out and Richmond didn't have a lot on the list worth trading for; Collins had a bit of upside so we took a punt.

Grigg is a mediocre player that is now in his tenth season and doesn't really offer much. Sketchy kicking, not a true inside mid and has just never taken off as a player.

Grigg, Hampson, Moore, Thomas etc...all recruited to take them to the promised land. What were they thinking? Seriously..

Not taking the high ground here, as we have been even worse with our trading (probably more so our drafting), but it was interesting putting the list together to see how many spuds they have traded in..

Mate you think the careers of Ben Reid & Bachar Houli's time at Essendon was better than Jack Riewoldt's career, otherwise you wouldn't have called

I HAVE NO IDEA WHAT YOU ARE TRYING TO SAY HERE?

Your opinion is invalid because you are either trolling or have no understanding of AFL.

I understand that Richmond have been no good for the last 35 years because they have consistently over-rated their list and recruited poorly.

Richmond aren't the only club to have overrated their playing list. Thankfully that's in the past for us after a bit of a clean-out. I actually think Richmond had a reasonably good or better than average trade period. I think they also need a little bit of a clean-out but it'd be at the expense of Hardwick. Though I have said previously (and very unfortunately as I'm a huge fan of his), that's probably the likely result anyway as Hardwick in my opinion will not take them to their next premiership.

Hahaha, Richmond and Carlton fans fighting over who's done a worst job at recruiting and list management.
It's like two bald blokes arguing over who has the shitter hair do.

By definition bald blokes don't have hair to argue over. Richmond and Carlton can legitimately argue over who has had the shitter list management. I think Carlton have turned a corner though. Weitering and Cripps are the more heralded of the young undeniable talent coming through at Carlton.

Richmond drafting - explains a lot