Preview Richmond v Brisbane Round 20 (Sunday 31 July 3:20 @ MCG)

Richmond Tigers v Brisbane Lions
Melbourne Cricket Ground
3:20PM 31 July 2022

Richmond entered this season as the ageing champion, having given up the title last year not with a bang, but a whimper. Considered done and dusty’d by many before the season began, Richmond have shown that their old dogs still have some bark, and their kids are capable of stepping up to give the likes of Riewoldt and Cotchin another chance to taste premiership glory. With the Richmond system finding its rhythm again this year, a victory over the Tigers is still a benchmark for any team serious about challenging their legacy as the most recent dynasty

Brisbane as a young upstart have come close to pushing for the crown but are yet to quite have it all fall into place. Lead up the ladder by exciting young talent such as the likes of McCluggage and Bailey as well as superstar acquisition Lachie Neale, this side still has plenty of upside to reach a new level and assert itself as the next big thing of the competition. Many Brisbane supporters would say that this team has yet to really hit its straps this year, and if there is any time for that to happen it is now.

A primetime worthy game tucked away in the cosy Sunday afternoon timeslot, the Tigers host the Lions in what is sure to be a blockbuster.

The Road Here

Brisbane secured back-to-back wins for the first time since round nine with a scrappy win over Gold Coast in one of the more competitive QClash in recent years. This was coming off the back of a far more complete team performance against the other expansion team GWS the week prior, a welcome response from the boys after a poor performance against Essendon. Many media pundits have written off Brisbane’s premiership credentials after a brutal loss to Melbourne post-bye, but if the Lions can find some continuity and string together a purple patch heading into finals when it matters, we should be considered in the box seat for a premiership tilt.

You can only imagine there are a few broken TV Remote’s in Richmond households in this past month. The Tigers seem to have their entire gameplan humming along except for the capacity to capitalise on their strong system where it matters – kicking goals. Two gut wrenching losses and a draw all in circumstances where the opportunity to land the killing blow were seemingly right there would have the Richmond faithful fuming. The Richmond of 2017-2020 would have absolutely iced those games and the team certainly knows this. The Tigers will be looking to bounce back and recapture the mongrel that made them such a dominant team that we have seen glimpses of this year.

Head-to-Head Form

Some mildly interesting recent history here. Brisbane were the only team to defeat Richmond in their 2020 finals campaign, backing that up with a gutsy victory in round 10 last year at the Gabba. Richmond have had the Lion’s measure away from the Gabba, handling the team comfortably in the rematch last year at Metricon stadium. Their victory over us in the final round of 2019 at the MCG proved we were not quite at their level yet, but that Brisbane were definitely on the rise. Richmond at the MCG remains something this Brisbane team has yet to overcome, which is reflected in Richmond going in as very slight favourites.

So How Important is This Game?

Season defining for both teams.

This is Brisbane’s last chance to shake an MCG hoodoo before finals after failing spectacularly against Melbourne. Going up against the team that built a dynasty off the back of making the MCG a fortress is a formidable challenge, but one that we must rise up to. As a claimant to the title of preeminent team that Richmond has left vacant, beating the Tigers on their home deck would both serve to bolster our own credentials significantly, whilst almost certainly putting the final nail into what looks like the Richmond dynasty’s last real shot at a premiership.

Richmond were almost a lock to play finals a month ago but losing some close games alongside Footscray finding form have seen them slip into a very vulnerable position. If they are to make finals a comprehensive beating of Brisbane on their home ground to secure points, percentage and assert legitimacy will be crucial. The entire competition is wary of what an in-form Richmond team could do if they hit finals at full stride, and a victory here against a very capable opponent in Brisbane would make that a far more likely prospect.

Teams

Fagan is pretty conservative in making any changes, but with Rich guaranteed to miss under concussion protocols will have at least one forced change. Robbo cost the team dearly twice against Gold Coast and there’s a ripper player in the reserves with a strong claim to his spot - Fagan will likely pull the trigger on that one.

OUT: Rich, Robinson

IN: Coleman, Prior

Hardwick is a lot more willing to make changes based on form, showing no hesitation to drop all 3 of his small forwards after their efforts against Gold Coast. That said I would not expect big changes this week. With Lynch expected to be returning from injury one of Richmond’s talls makes way – I would swap him for Nankervis who looked very sore against Fremantle playing predominantly forward and needs a rest. Miller is ostensibly injured so will be a forced change as well.

OUT: Nankervis, Miller

IN: Lynch, Rioli Jr

Key Match Ups

Shai Bolton v Zac Bailey

Two of the most exciting young mid-forwards in the comp who act as true barometers for their team. These two players have become a bit known for form rollercoasters, with both finding themselves in a bit of a slump as of late. Bailey has looked off the boil since missing a match under H&SP but worked hard against Gold Coast to find more opportunities further up field and pulled together a handy, but not commanding performance. Bolton has been a bit down since his first half heroics against Gold Coast, similar to the rest of his team. At their best they have some of the highest “X-Factor” of any players in the competition, and both teams would want their match winners fit and firing come finals. This round should serve as a good platform to find form and show their class against another contender, looking to build some confidence on the run home. When on song these two are absolutely electric, so how each team brings their own man in to the game and seeks to curtail the influence of the opposition will be something to watch. Perhaps we see Starcevich give Bolton the Rankine treatment?

Robbie Tarrant v Joe Daniher

A tale of two seasons for both of these players. Tarrant was looking well and truly over the hill in the first few rounds, with many calling for him to be dropped. He has worked hard and turned this around, finding his feet in the vaunted Richmond defensive system and quietly becoming one of the form key defenders of the competition. This is evident in his comfortable victories over quality opponents including Tom Hawkins, Matt Taberner and Levi Casboult. Joe started like a house on fire, mounting a serious claim for his first AA berth as a Lion before unfortunately succumbing to a shoulder injury against Sydney. Since returning he has put in some solid performances but fallen short of dominating a game due to a combination of inaccuracy and looking a bit tender. We saw the best and the worst of Joe against Gold Coast, with magical goals combined with some “joe moments”. Tarrant is likely to be trusted with the big job of nullifying our marquee key forward and will be looking to claim another scalp. If Joe can take some contested marks and get over his goal kicking yips against the in-form veteran it will go a long way to a Brisbane victory.

Tom Lynch v Marcus Adams

Adams has looked a bit down ever since getting the better of one of the best young key forwards in the competition in Naughton. Him and his tall backline peers were well beaten by the scrapheap duo of Casboult and Chol, with Adams in particular failing to use his body to outwork Levi on numerous occasions. Tom Lynch will be a very welcome return for the Tigers this week, looking like an absolute world beater with dominant performances against the likes of Collingwood before hamstring issues flared up and have kept him off the park. His importance to this Richmond team cannot be understated, losing close games against Sydney, North, and Gold Coast with him being absent for all, desperately missing his contested marking prowess both as a forward target and up the ground. Adams has the runs on the board to be trusted with this assignment and will need to either follow Lynch as he roams up field to make an impact or ensure someone else keeps a close eye on him. Most important will be how Adams uses his body and defensive nous to prevent Lynch from taking contested marks within range, as a repeat of some of the defensive effort and set up from lost centre bounce clearances against Gold Coast will have Lynch licking his lips.

Random Thoughts

Charlie had a disappointing outing last time he was at the MCG – he will surely want to show off his bag of tricks at the home of football and there are likely to be headaches in the Richmond camp as to how best to quell his influence

Jack Riewoldt has had plenty of opportunities but appears to have lost his kicking boots as of late. Can he turn it around now that he is returning to Richmond’s home deck?

Tagging Lachie Neale has proven to be a winning strategy against Brisbane in recent weeks – does Richmond seek to emulate this strategy, and if they do who is up to the task?

Daniel Rioli and Keidean Coleman are both making waves in AFL circles for their transition from fringe forward flankers to damaging half back play makers this year. Utilising their ball movement will be crucial for each teams’ chances of success and we can expect to see some wonderful field kicking from both.

A bit sad Dusty and Robbo will not be lining up. A bit between those two I reckon

Prediction

A hard-fought contest, with scores level at three quarter time. Lions to dig deep in the last off the back of some Coleman forward 50 entries and Zac Bailey magic to grind out a win. The MCG chips will be overpriced rubbish as usual.

Lions by 12 points

Based on his past 2 games in the reserves Dev has to be a chance to return to the senior side.
If so I hope it is in his preferred inside mid role, Neale, Lyons, Matheison and Dev would be too many inside mids so you would think it would have to be Lyons or Matho out for that to happen.

I think Lyons lack of leg speed and defensive run should see him rested.

On SM-A525F using BigFooty.com mobile app

I think Lyons lack of leg speed and defensive run should see him rested.

On SM-A525F using BigFooty.com mobile app

That's just it - he's clearly carrying something and when Matho is attending more centre bounces than you are, it's time to focus on getting healthy.

I think now's the time to rest Lyons and try Dev.

So what’s the deal with the Rich concussion? I thought you had a week/ 7 days off. He has an 8 day break but still can’t play?

I think subbed out mean he's gone for 12 days.

Looks like its a milestone game for Shane Edwards - 300 coming up.

Out: Rich (Concussion), Adams, Robinson, McStay
In: Coleman, Lester, Prior, Fort

More realistically:-

OUT: Rich , Robbo

There has been a heap of team upheaval over the last few weeks forced by illness and injury

I know you won't agree but another 4 changes is not in the interests of team stability so even though Fagan will almost certainly be accused of being stodgy and playing favorites, I think he'll try to keep a steady as she goes approach.

Personally, I think this is the right way to go.

McStay is no chance of being dropped. He was in our best against GWS and despite the accusations of him playing "bruise free" footy and having "checked out", he wasn't nearly as bad last night as is being portrayed. He WAS required as the relief ruck to give Oscar a chop out for three and a half quarters and did an OK job of that.

Once Fort subbed on for Rich, his role changed.

The stats show that he had 11 possessions, 5 marks and 6 hit-outs for the game. Not as substantial as his game against GWS but not a complete fail either.

He kicked 2 goals against GWS and none last night, that being the only substantive difference between the two performances

Looks like its a milestone game for Shane Edwards - 300 coming up.

They will be pumped up for that. However i remember being at Princes Park when Fitzroy played Essendon for Tim Watson 300 game and we spoiled the party that day. He’s hoping we can do that on Sunday.

There has been a heap of team upheaval over the last few weeks forced by illness and injury

I know you won't agree but another 4 changes is not in the interests of team stability so even though Fagan will almost certainly be accused of being stodgy and playing favorites, I think he'll try to keep a steady as she goes approach.

McStay is no chance of being dropped. He was in our best against GWS and despite the accusations of him playing "bruise free" footy and having "checked out", he wasn't nearly as bad last night as is being portrayed. He WAS required as the relief ruck to give Oscar a chop out for three and a half quarters and did an OK job of that.

The stats show that he had 11 possessions, 5 marks and 6 hit-outs for the game. Not as substantial as his game against GWS but not a complete fail either.

He kicked 2 goals against GWS and none last night, that being the only substantive difference between the two performances

If we play Fort for one of our 3 talls, then our sub could be an utility with more pace in the later stages of game if needed. Right now we are limiting our options by keeping Fort on standby. We know he could be needed and Fort plays well + supports Oscar when on ground. I think we need to make a call of playing him in first 22 soon.

Shai Bolton, somehow shut down Shai Bolton. He is Dangerous for a team like ours.

Hi

Your posting has always been excellent luthor and I agree about unnecessary upheaval. My point is that we change it up a bit as far as our best 22 goes, get them in for the last four weeks of the season and then head on to finals. I’d love Fagan to demonstrate that he is capable of some flexibility. The issue I have with the current set up is that we are in ‘rinse and repeat’ mode. Kingy just said it on the Fox show I’m watching - the three talls isn’t quite working and Brisbane needs to mix it up before the finals.

Hi

Your posting has always been excellent luthor and I agree about unnecessary upheaval. My point is that we change it up a bit as far as our best 22 goes, get them in for the last four weeks of the season and then head on to finals. I’d love Fagan to demonstrate that he is capable of some flexibility. The issue I have with the current set up is that we are in ‘rinse and repeat’ mode. Kingy just said it on the Fox show I’m watching - the three talls isn’t quite working and Brisbane needs to mix it up before the finals.
It has to be said that when we've played the 2 rucks it seems to have worked a lot better than the 3 talls except for earlier last year when the 3 talls were all fit and injury free.

Hipwood is offering very little at the moment , McStay is the same McStay we've always had , Daniher is reasonably good value even though he's strapped up like a steeplechaser.

We seemed to go a bit better when Fort came on last night. It's hard to judge these things but I don't thin we'd lose anything by giving Hipwood a spell.

No hope of it happening I know.

It has to be said that when we've played the 2 rucks it seems to have worked a lot better than the 3 talls except for earlier last year when the 3 talls were all fit and injury free.

Hipwood is offering very little at the moment , McStay is the same McStay we've always had , Daniher is reasonably good value even though he's strapped up like a steeplechaser.

We seemed to go a bit better when Fort came on last night. It's hard to judge these things but I don't thin we'd lose anything by giving Hipwood a spell.

No hope of it happening I know.
Another poster I respect. My reluctance in terms of resting Hipwood is that he is a proven match winner who can turn a game when he gets going and I think we actually need to get more games into him. McStay on the other hand punctuates his poor form with the occasional decent half or so, but he never really gets hold of a game and we need players in finals who can. I’m still scarred by McStay’s 2020 finals campaign where in TWO FINALS he managed a total of six disposals, took four marks, laid two tackles, had zero goal assists and kicked a single goal.

I can’t see a single sign that McStay has improved enough to make it worth our while to ‘hope’ he can finally produce something in a final. Exposed form says he won’t. This is where Fagan needs to be creative.

Another poster I respect. My reluctance in terms of resting Hipwood is that he is a proven match winner who can turn a game when he gets going and I think we actually need to get more games into him. McStay on the other hand punctuates his poor form with the occasional decent half or so, but he never really gets hold of a game and we need players in finals who can. I’m still scarred by McStay’s 2020 finals campaign where in TWO FINALS he managed a total of six disposals, took four marks, laid two tackles, had zero goal assists and kicked a single goal.

I can’t see a single sign that McStay has improved enough to make it worth our while to ‘hope’ he can finally produce something in a final. Exposed form says he won’t. This is where Fagan needs to be creative.
Mcstays worth is playing second ruck and protecting a sore Joey and Hippy.
If either of them had to spend time in the ruck it could cost them their seasons. Mcstay is also much better around the ground, below his knees in general play and a much better field kick than a second ruck. Also, he demands a solid defender which can contribute to another forward exposing their defender. Personally I feel the pros weigh in Mcstay’s favour over playing another pure ruck

I hope we embrace the tag negating role. I understand there are coaching philosophies that abhor a tag and feel your best midfield should beat their midfield (ala Hinkley/Buckley logic). However, I have always admired Cameron at the Giants for using negating roles well. I was so sick of seeing Touk (and to a lesser extent Ellis) loose behind a stoppage only for Rowell/Anderson to spill the ball towards him for a damaging clearance. It was great to see Berry clamping Touk in the 4th quarter to stop all that metres gained. I hope we play Berry on Bolton at stoppages and handover to Starcevich in the defensive end (or have Starcevich play a full run-with role with him. We cannot let him loose for that special Trent Cotchin not-incorrect-disposal trademark drop.

Balta killed us before playing in defence as an interceptor. Hope Balta plays forward instead. The way to beat Lynch/Reiwoldt is to simply starve them of opportunities. Win contested ball and take territory. We simply cannot let them stroll through the front side of stoppages like we did with Gold Coast. Lukoscious/Miller/Anderson delivering bullets to Casboult/Chol was horrific for 3 quarters. I dont want to imaging what Lynch would do to us if he gets that level of service

I still think I agree with this bloke.