Rioli - The next big thing?

I hope you watched the Geelong game HodgePodge.

Selwood is definately the best midfielder in the comp whilst Ablett is out. Had 34 possessions, and smashed Kirk.

Rioli's a joke in comparison to Selwood.

I hope you watched the Geelong game HodgePodge.

Selwood is definately the best midfielder in the comp whilst Ablett is out. Had 34 possessions, and smashed Kirk.

Rioli's a joke in comparison to Selwood.

They play entirely different roles though. Selwood is a gun, no question about that but when your in a team of Geelong's standards its a lot easier to play well. Rioli however, has been brilliant in a side that is seriously underpeforming. All of his possessions ooze class and are generally extremely effective (look at last years grand final!) So to say Rioli is a 'joke' in comparism to Selwood is completly unjust.

Btw, Rioli's goal last night was sensational. Dodged and weaved through about 5 players to get that one, it was brilliant.

Needs to improve his goal output before he can be compared to the better foward pockets in the comp, but his pressure is very good.

Scintillating stuff last night from Cyril. Up against the boundary with two players coming at him. No problem.

You mean when he did his floating handball out of bounds when he attempted to handball it to a team mate ??? Or in the first quater when he got the ball on the wing, takes a bounce, looks up and craps himself when he see's an opponent in front of him, slips over and gets caught for holding the ball ??? Yep, that was some "Scintillating stuff", 3 Brownlow points right there !!!!!!!!!

Those were his 2 clangers for the match. Way to cherrypick some negativity.

Classy game from Rioli again. 2 goals, 1 goal assist, 6 tackles, 16 disposals. Wait till he gets some run into those legs.

Those were his 2 clangers for the match. Way to cherrypick some negativity.

Classy game from Rioli again. 2 goals, 1 goal assist, 6 tackles, 16 disposals. Wait till he gets some run into those legs.

I can also remember a couple of times early on when he passed off to a team mate who was in a worse position than he was, and got slammed right away .......................

The kid is good, I'm not denying that (something you would NEVER say about Judd/anyone from Carlton cause you are a 1 eyed Hawks flog), but he isn't the god of a player you make him out to be ...............

I can also remember a couple of times early on when he passed off to a team mate who was in a worse position than he was, and got slammed right away .......................

The kid is good, I'm not denying that (something you would NEVER say about Judd/anyone from Carlton cause you are a 1 eyed Hawks flog), but he isn't the god of a player you make him out to be ...............

The point that I think most people miss is that he is very young. He looks older because he is so good for his age.

I was watching last night and liked the game from the young kid Duffield from Fremantle. I then realised that Duffield is 24 and Rioli is 19.

I'm afraid I have said that Judd is a good player. I've also said that about Gibbs, Kreuzer, Murphy, etc.

As for Rioli not being a god yet, he's turning 20 in July.

For sheer brilliance, there is none better in the AFL at the moment.

The point that I think most people miss is that he is very young. He looks older because he is so good for his age.

I was watching last night and liked the game from the young kid Duffield from Fremantle. I then realised that Duffield is 24 and Rioli is 19.

Also liked the game Hill played, but I don't see 100 threads about him being Fremantles next great hope ................

Na.. but On the Couch, The Footy show, League Teams, Sunday footy show etc ALL wrapped him up after his wonderful performances in rds 5,6 and 7. And rightfully so... the kids a beauty.

We actually dont wrap Riloi up as our next great hope... cos he already is a current superstar. How many 19 year olds with 25 games under their belts did what that kid did on GF day against the "greatest team" of the century??

Now lets get onto your "jets".. Robinson... Yarran.... struggling to find their feet in a struggling side...

Nah, not as good as Cale Morton :rolleyes:.

Said it last year and I'll say it again, Rioli is the best from the '07 draft. Better than Cotchin and Kruezer and two classes above the rest.

He reminds me of the young version of Byron Pickett with his awareness and movement , they just cant lay a finger on him at the moment .

The game against us in round three you had to be at the game to see the destruction he caused .

I feel dirty saying this because of the club he plays for , but the sky is the limit for this kid !

along with joel selwood Cyril is easily the best young player in the competition

agreed.
will be interesting to see if their growth continues over the years at a steady rate, or they remain at the level they currently are.

Thats not a knock to them, if selwood and rioli played like they are now for the next 10 years, they would be considered very good players...

I'll use the example of Riewoldt.
He was a gun right from the outset (well his second season onwards), but the way he has continued to get better and better each year has been something great to watch.
I hope for the sake of the game, guys like selwood and rioli havent peaked too early

Rioli - The next big thing?