AFL Autopsy RND 12: Loss To The Suns

An average day for a lot of us. Langford looked crook. Stringer down on his normal input. Archie looks disinterested, Tsatsas cant be sub. And with all of that got within 1-2 kicks of a team that hasnt lost at home all year.

Missing Parish, Duursma and Draper. Hopefully get them back after the bye and give us a freshen up.

despite all of our improvement this year there's still a lot of glaring issues with our team structure.

1) any good midfield will crush us when archie is in there - he's too occupied with ball watching and gets cut apart like he did all day yesterday
2) langford get's sat on too easily, he has struggled in recent weeks against taller opponents who can match his speed, and our entries are doing him no favours, either.
3) too many low % kicks, attempts for goal. we're still making the mistakes that we've made in the past, some of our d50 exits are atrocious and costly, our f50 entries yesterday were especially horrid.
4) there's been a lack of accountability around centre bounces/stoppages in recent games (especially yesterday) and that's where we're getting killed.

lots to work on
You forgot.
Average ruck division.
No CHF.
Missing a wing .
Outside of the defence we are an below average marking squad.

The last few weeks, and the VFL results, just show we have about 25-30 solid players on the list, but the depth beneath that is just nowhere near it. Sort of problem we need multiple years to fix. At least with our best 22 out there we're pretty good.
The bottom half of the VFL team being better would make it all look a bit more reasonable

Didn't see the game but 11.14 and we're blaming umpires?
HAHA!

Watch the "tackle" on Caldwell, then the 50 meter penalty that Laverde got for "throwing it to the wrong bloke".
(there were 2 tacklers, and neither of them actually tackled Caldwell).

HAHA!

Watch the "tackle" on Caldwell, then the 50 meter penalty that Laverde got for "throwing it to the wrong bloke".
I actually thought the Caldwell one was HTB. If he wasn't tackled then why didn't he just run off into the distance and bang one i50? And the 50m is there, it's the rule. Giving the ball to the wrong player slows down both, it has to be paid.

We had goals not reviewed that were points, insufficient attempt was a joke. Umpires just plain sucked. They always do, but they especially sucked sunday arvo.

HAHA!

I'm not blaming the umpires for the loss, we had every chance to win that game.

Having said that, the standard of the umpiring in that game was absolutely crap. Some of the decisions were just mind boggling. But it seemed to be terrible for both sides not just for us.

Had another look / review.

Simple fact is despite all of the other shit we should have been minimum 3 goals in front at 3/4 time , you could even mount a case for 4 goals in front. The period we dominated the third quarter we missed too many easy shots and also put a couple out on the full.

It was a decent effort to be in the game given we got nothing out of the forwards in general .

It did not help that we kicked so many bounce passes inside 50.

Once again lack of marking power forward of the footy hurt us. At times we looked reluctant to kick down the line because they seemed to know what the result would be but there where no options. The other part of that is we do not set up to win the ball at ground level either so we keep giving the opposition a free hit there as well.

Umpiring was . Interesting .

I suppose we need to get used to that type of game as it highlights the personal issues.
Need a ruck to stand up.
Need a CHF to stand up.
Need a zippy small forward.
Need more forward half pressure although in saying that it is hard to pressure when you simply turn the footy over going inside 50.

In the end the pressure / effort was decent . The finishing was poor.

He's racked up most of those off a HFF, not as a centre bounce midfielder.

Original post by Milanista28 is moot because he barely features at the centre anyway, which was my initial assumption when reading the post about clearances

Centre bounce attendances:

Screenshot_20240603_201935_AFL.jpg

Gresh is 13th. Even Hobbs has featured there more times than him.

His main clearance work is at stoppages, 4th:

Screenshot_20240603_202009_AFL.jpg

Which has proven that his contest work is good, and if anything, if he wasn't so instrumental to our forward potency/spread he would be just as useful in the centre than not if he played there more often.

He's been able to impact as a quasi extra midfielder all while still managing to lead us overall for goal assists AND i50 ground ball gets, of which he is in the top 5 in the comp for.

Screenshot_20240603_153603_AFL.jpg
Screenshot_20240603_153525_AFL.jpg

When it comes to pressing areas of improvement as a team, Gresh's contest work/role is not one of them.

So from the 15 afl games you have seen of Bryan (as you said you don’t watch vfl), you have seen that a near elite athlete for his height when drafted is now an average to poor athlete, despite being in a professional environment. Despite having no serious injuries.

If that’s the case Essendon high performance team need to be sacked. Or maybe you need to fall on your sword and stop doubling down.
Or some guys lose their athletic ability when they add ~20% of their now overall weight

AFL Autopsy RND 12: Loss To The Suns