Robert Walls at it again!

Steady on. What has Gumbleton done to show he can play. I am sure he will be good, but for the time being you absolutely cannot say he is a player yet. He has played what, 5 games. To early to call yet.
Jetta has not shown enough to suggest he is a future player yet either. Still alot of question marks over all the players up there, and as promising as they look, I would not be making the 90% success call just yet.
Usually if a player goes number 2 in the super-draft in a day and age where millions of dollars are invested into recruiting it means they can play. He may not of had an opportunity to show it so much on the big stage yet, but make no doubt he can play.

Keps was 6 remember.

Steady on. What has Gumbleton done to show he can play. I am sure he will be good, but for the time being you absolutely cannot say he is a player yet. He has played what, 5 games. To early to call yet.
Jetta has not shown enough to suggest he is a future player yet either. Still alot of question marks over all the players up there, and as promising as they look, I would not be making the 90% success call just yet.

It might be early to call on a lot of these guys but it's the best group I've seen since Rama and Solly came through in the late 90's and the 93 kids.

I'm more confident of Jetta and Hislop making it than any other guys on that list. I rate them two extremely highly. Jetta is 2 years away from turning heads while I reckon Hislop can start contributing from next year.

Unless injury cruels Gumbleton than he will at the very least be servicable for 10 years.

You should be able to see if a player can make it within his first few games of AFL. Making it doesn't mean becoming a champion but all the above will play 150+ games for us.

Very interesting thread. I for one think our youngsters will serve it up in a year or two and the replacements are already falling into place. We will be up there again before west coast and I'm curious to hear what Walls will have to say when a young and brave essendon team clean up Carlton on the weekend. What interests me more is that I was actually thinking a week or two ago that Robert Walls never says anything positive about Essendon! i hate watching games where he is commentating and i hate him on footy talk shows.
Where does this hatred come from? he doesn't slag off other teams as bad as he does for us. So what has happened in the past for him to try and destroy us with words at every opportunity?

From an outsiders perspective I think WC will rebuild a season ahead of Essendon due to their experienced players. Your younger players are imo better than theirs, but Essendon generally lack a core of good 24-27 year old players.

quoted so it isnt forgotten, probably the most accurate post on the thread..from an outsider too

Kepler Bradley went at number 6.
but i agree with the bloke who said u cant judge Gumbleton yet. he has played 5 games and as ive said before i havent seen anything to be excited about (yet).
I disagree on the other hand with Jetta he also had an injury interrupted season last year. Yes he played a few games at Bendigo but still was injured most of the time. He also has played just the 10 games or so.
Give the kids a chance to develop and we will see where we are at in a few years time hey

Kepler Bradley went at number 6.
but i agree with the bloke who said u cant judge Gumbleton yet. he has played 5 games and as ive said before i havent seen anything to be excited about (yet).
I disagree on the other hand with Jetta he also had an injury interrupted season last year. Yes he played a few games at Bendigo but still was injured most of the time. He also has played just the 10 games or so.
Give the kids a chance to develop and we will see where we are at in a few years time hey

People keep using that line...did ANYONE watch last years game vs Freo? 11 disposals, 8 marks and 2 goals from a 2nd game CHF with limited pre-season - trust me the guy has bucket loads of talent, just needs to get on the park.

The point u are missing is Lucas, Flecther and Matty are all going out and that is 3 massive outs so any young players are not going to be able to replace them so that is why u are stuffed for 5 years

Neagle to replace Lloyd (who on the whole has been delivering zero), Gumbleton to replace Lucas, Pears to replace Fletcher.

WCE have Glass in defense and FA else, WCE have Wirrapunda up forward and FA else... why did they win in '06? Midfield, midfields win premierships, none of our aging players are midfielders, you can be successful without great key position players. Geelong have Scarlett and Hurley down back and they have Mooney and Johnson up forward, they clearly won their premiership from the midfield.

Now, take a look at West Coast's midfield and tell me how their development will be quicker than ours? They've got Masten, we've got Myers, We've got Lonergan, they've got... hmmm... NOTHING! Kerr is a great player and we could easily pick up Cousins in the PSD.

People keep using that line...did ANYONE watch last years game vs Freo? 11 disposals, 8 marks and 2 goals from a 2nd game CHF with limited pre-season - trust me the guy has bucket loads of talent, just needs to get on the park.

Daniel Metropolis debuted with 8 goals was it? Who and where is he now.
Judgement can't be made on one game. I think he will be great, but people talk like he IS ALREADY a star. You guys are putting more pressure on him than anyone.

Then on that basis there are 3-5 good teams and we can't make any assumptions on the others improving going forward. Be it Essendon, West Coast, Carlton, Collingwood, any of them.

You're essentially saying forecasting and player assessments are futile.

lots of media pundits and footy fans alike, dont rate our youngsters. big deal. . lets hope the players of the future prove them wrong, it will make it all the more sweeter. people are only up in arms this time cos its walls that has said it. this is the exact reaction he would love, no doubting the guy is an a-grade goose and loves to rile up many an essendon fan!

The thing that makes it worse that he was a bomber supporter from his playing days. The opposite of hate is love. Deep down he loves the Bombers but will not own up.

From an outsiders perspective I think WC will rebuild a season ahead of Essendon due to their experienced players. Your younger players are imo better than theirs, but Essendon generally lack a core of good 24-27 year old players.

I partly agree with this statement, and just maybe they will get back in the finals quicker than Essendon, but i don’t think it will be long term sustain success which is what the Dons are trying to build towards. I think our kids are much better than theirs and we have much more depth in the amount of good kids, but we do seriously lack a core of good 24-27 year old players who are the ones who get you playing good finals footy. The Weagles already have a couple of the best in the competition in that age bracket so that may mean (depending on the development of the kids) they may get back into the fianls quicker. Unless they draft really well over the next couple of years their success wont last.

i reckon wce will rebuild quicker than the dons. Once essendon's kpp retire its going to be pretty tough, no lloyd, lucas fletcher and it's still blurry of who is going to fit the role.

You obviously have no idea about our club, Neagle at FF, Gumbleton at CHF, Ryder at CHB and Pears at FB. All of which would have developed by the time Lucas, Lloyd and Fletcher retire. We already have the players on our list to cover them, we need a midfielder, we are SCREAMING for a midfielder! Our young players are far better than that of Carlton's and the WCE's. Kruezer........... then who, Gibbs? <s******> although it's early in his career I don't see much in Gibbs.

You heard it right here, Gibbs will fizzle into a serviceable at best footballer... alternatively he's foxing so he can get back to SA!!!

not directly having a go at you here mate, but the general consensus of opposition supporters is that lloyd is past it and no good anymore and that fletcher is hugely overrated and doesn't take the best forwards therefore he is no good also. however, when discussing our so called inevitable drought over the next few years, the main reason is because these guys are retiring and we can't replace them. .

the hypocracy kills me! are they crap, or are they too good to replace? :confused:

not directly having a go at you here mate, but the general consensus of opposition supporters is that lloyd is past it and no good anymore and that fletcher is hugely overrated and doesn't take the best forwards therefore he is no good also. however, when discussing our so called inevitable drought over the next few years, the main reason is because these guys are retiring and we can't replace them. .

the hypocracy kills me! are they crap, or are they too good to replace? :confused:

Agree. Also name 1 team in the AFL who wouldn't want Lucas, Lloyd or Fletcher in their line-up.

I actually think he is right this time

West Coast still have the bones of a pretty good team they lost there midfield last year but traded well for Judd to further boost there draft selections, they have only one player over 28 and still have on there list about 30 players from there premiership year which was only 2 seasons ago. They will be back very soon

In comparison Essendon has 5 players over 30 a couple in there late 20's who arent getting games anymore and a bunch of 24 to 27 year olds that are fairly unimpressive.

Of your Kids Ryder is a very good player gumbleton is years away from being damaging to oppositions because of injury setbacks. When i look at it I cant see anything much to like.

Now before you smack down on Richmond I have watched years of poor list management and it has taken Wallace 4 years so far to fix our list to a point were I am confident going forward we will be a very good team. On a side note in that 4 years we have consistently beaten the bombers : )

You missed my point - one poster claimed Gumby hadn't shown anything yet, I simply stated this wasn't true. Even if it was one game, he showed a glimpse of his talent.

Robert Walls at it again!