Autopsy Round 1, 2017: Ess v Haw, **Ess supporters read the OP** Ban Hammer will be wielded with impunity

Thank you for continually fighting the good fight on this one gg. My wife, who bless her comes to the footy despite not loving it, was saying 'they're so happy, good for them' as we were leaving. I didn't want to rant at her because that would make me a dick - but it shows the outsider perspective that's so bloody wrong. Any other drug cheat in this country would be shunned and ostracised. These drug cheats are worshipped and celebrated. This isn't 'good for the game' - it's a ******* disgrace.

Shane Warne. And he deliberately cheated

I think the sicily to the backline move stems from the fact that, before and since we had lake, none of our defenders mark the ball.

Not consistently anyway.

A defender who regularly marks the incoming ball is worth their weight in gold.

Sis being probably our best aerialist is being trialed as our marking/intercept defender.

So far the jury is out as he hasn't yet clunked enough balls to say it's going to work. He needs more time and confidence.

Is he good enough? Time will tell.

Sorry to hear about that. I can imagine it only made a bad night that much worse. If you can be bothered following it up you could contact the club (Hawthorn) and inform them of what happened. Hopefully they could then follow it up with Essendon. If you were that close to the cheer squad then it's likely they'll have footage that might help identify the piece of filth that hit you. Unlikely the hit itself was caught on tape but if you have any witnesses to support your story you might be lucky enough to get him banned.
I will contact the club tomorrow

Get the MCG security number saved in your phone in case it ever happens again. Hopefully it was just a one off for you - I've been going to footy games for many years as a mouthy adult and have never had anyone act violently towards me.

They were then punished, regrouped, had all of the supporters rally behind them and are now moving forward. All done in the form of beating hawthorn in a very emotional game in round one. Yet all the hawthorn supporters keep slinging s**t about the saga. It's about football again now. Blame football for your loss, not the saga.

And they're still, officially, drug cheats. They will always be, officially, drug cheats. The vast majority of your blindingly stupid and arrogant fan base still can't admit that. I've had idiots that follow your club argue over things that are written in black and white in the court findings against your club and its cheating players. Coming on here expecting us to not mention that your club are drug cheats is pretty ****ing galling when your campaigner of a former coach once accused Yabby Jeans of giving players drugs when Yabby was a bloody cop at the time.

You all deserve not a single shred of goodwill from us. Don't come on here expecting it.

Essendon supporters, this is not your board.

The discussion here isn't meant to please you.

The comments about drugs are not going to please you.

The responses you get are not going to please you.

Is this sinking in yet?

Unless you want to discuss the game, do not post.

We've had it with all the re-imagining of the bans and the reasons for them.

If you're offended by Hawthorn supporters making drug references bigfooty club boards are not going to be a great place for you for some time, so either ignore it or leave.

Essendon supporters, this is not your board.

The discussion here isn't meant to please you.

The comments about drugs are not going to please you.

The response you get are not going to please you.

Is this sinking in yet?

The CAS judgement still hasn't sunk in for them - I wouldn't hold your breath.

Spot on Brand must play. I don't know how many times our backline had multiple players contest a mark only to fall to ground. Essendon went one up and the rest sharked the contest. This made us look slow, we can't continue to go second and third man up.

Langford must play the lock down role and be under strict instruction to handball, his turn overs by foot kill us.

I reckon Bruest was concussed in the first minutes after that tackling event, he was just off for the rest of the night.

WTF is with selecting Shoenmakers ahead of Burton.

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app

Funnily enough he was the cleanest on the ball out of all our players. Burgers fumbled more times in one game than he does in a season.

And they're still, officially, drug cheats. They will always be, officially, drug cheats. The vast majority of your blindingly stupid and arrogant fan base still can't admit that. I've had idiots that follow your club argue over things that are written in black and white in the court findings against your club and its cheating players. Coming on here expecting us to not mention that your club are drug cheats is pretty ******* galling when your campaigner of a former coach once accused Yabby Jeans of giving players drugs when Yabby was a bloody cop at the time.

You all deserve not a single shred of goodwill from us. Don't come on here expecting it.
nah youre wrong! we as the football community should all APOLOGISE as we made them inject their players! theres nothing to see here folks!

They were then punished, regrouped, had all of the supporters rally behind them and are now moving forward. All done in the form of beating hawthorn in a very emotional game in round one. Yet all the hawthorn supporters keep slinging s**t about the saga. It's about football again now. Blame football for your loss, not the saga.
Your team are drug cheats.

Shane Warne. And he deliberately cheated
Yep.
Gets forgotten about or excused by "His dear ol mum gave him something to slim up".
Bullshit- it was a masking agent and there is no doubt why he was taking it.
He should have been castigated much more for it.

However he was at his best when he was a fat lazy campaigner and I doubt he was roiding up to become a beast, rather overcoming niggling injuries so he could waddle those four steps to roll his arm over in comfort.
But a disgraceful drug cheat none the less.

The CAS judgement still hasn't sunk in for them - I wouldn't hold your breath.
The club still hasn't been punished for being drug cheats. The bleeding heart administrators in AFL house let them off with a token punishment for "governance issues", but went entirely limp on them for being drug cheats.

Spineless, gutless, gormless, feckless bunch of drug cheats aided and abetted by an autocratic and incompenent bunch of money grubbing narcissists. At least we won 3 flags while all this was going on, what was everyone else doing?

He also admitted what he did was wrong. Never heard that from any of your 'so brave' brigade of drug cheats and liars.
That's the crux of it. Havent got the decency, or the balls to admit to it.

I think just labelling these peptards as drug cheats doesnt go far enough. It's the feeble lies and mistruths they continue to peddle. Shit people. Lower than snakes. The shit that we wipe from the bottom of our boots.

I hope James and his cronies continue to suffer the anguish of their guilt and shame. James' and the other peptards one path to redemption is coming clean. Every one of those players and officials have had ample opportunity, yet they chose not to. Their choice. They chose to be shit people, and I wont let them forget it. The louder scum fans protest, the more often, and louder we'll remind them. No escaping this. The more the AFL sanctioned lapdog hangers on in the media try and make it go away, same story.

The only thing that will make it go away, is an admission of truth. Money, ego, kool aid drinking supporters who would prefer to stick their heads up their arse than accept some simple truths; are just some of the impediments to that. Acknowledge the facts. Accept them. Deal with it. Grow up.

Scum got 4 points on the weekend, but still no respect.

We've never been a parochial/out of your seat/thundering bunch. The only game ever seeing hawk fans go nuts in was the 07 elimination final.

Kudos the Essendon crowd - you guys were electric.
2013 prelim was the most passion I've seen in a key game. Round 22 1996 vs Melbourne (no merger game) also.

Titus gets it:

"The media have reacted to the win like Nelson Mandela being released from prison, which makes you wonder if they think we’ve all forgotten why they were not playing in the first place?

I’m not saying the players should continue to be persecuted, they’ve done their time and are welcomed back but let’s not pretend this is some heart-warming story of redemption."

Titus gets it:

"The media have reacted to the win like Nelson Mandela being released from prison, which makes you wonder if they think we’ve all forgotten why they were not playing in the first place?

I’m not saying the players should continue to be persecuted, they’ve done their time and are welcomed back but let’s not pretend this is some heart-warming story of redemption."
No he doesn't.
They've done some time. Their time would be allowing them back to watch a game in 20 years. Ben Cousins got effectively the same ban 22 matches, for bringing the game into disrepute. But all he did was self destruct. He didn't try and destroy the game as we know it.

Bill Burns was suspended for 46 matches for kicking.

To the Essendon fan who physically abused me on saturday by hitting my face with a clapper and making my eye bleed, a big F**k YOU! All i did was clap when hooker got smothered and it certainly triggered your typical 'hagrid' looking fan with shaggy long hear and tats. Worst football experience in my life. Mind you i only just turned 18 (and look 12) and this guy was late 20's, absolutely pathetic and couldn't enjoy the game.
ha ha you should have seen them late eighties early nineties!! pack of absolute flogs, saw one eat his own cigarette after a goal against the pies!!!

I say this with the utmost sincerity.

Your fans must've thought they were in a library on Saturday night. They were absolutely disastrous with no signs of support, encouragement or raw passion for your players.

When roughy scored his first goal, I couldn't believe just how shit your fans were. Even out of everyone in the hawthorn cheer squad, only 20% stood up to applaud.

And yes, I am aware that you were severely outnumbered by bomber fans, but the performance of the hawthorn crowd was piss poor, especially for roughys moment.

All of you who were in attendance should be ashamed of yourselves :) xx
take it easy mate, just cos u have been so pathetic and a turd on the competition for so long, to the point of clapping ANYthing ( i thought i was in india watching the test series ), doesn't mean we were gonna be over the top

Autopsy Round 1, 2017: Ess v Haw, **Ess supporters read the OP** Ban Hammer will be wielded with impunity