Game Day Round 1, 2023: West Coast Eagles vs North Melbourne - “A Walk in the Park”

Witho must-have some compromising pics of the match committee. No Hough or Culley in the team or the emergencies odd.

But the North team just gives me more confidence, no Goldy.... surely Bailey & Jamo can at least breakeven. With that backline surely at least one of Darling or Oscar have a good day.

Look at our named backline v Norths forward line.

Five premiership players plus Hunt. Plenty of experience there.

Norths defense looks really unbalanced with experience and quality.

We've named close to our best forward 6. Darling, Allen, Ryan, Cripps, Long and Sheed as a high half forward / mid.

On paper we should win this game.

I expect us to get destroyed in the midfield and even with the addition of Chesser and Ginbey we still look slow through there. Our backline and forward line look pretty good but think we'll struggle for inside 50's.

If we win I think it'll be one of those where we were much more efficient in the forward half.

Overall with the interchange as well we do still look very slow on paper.

Well, always bullish that Culley was a walk up start for round 1, I now join the howling "where is Culley" mob?

Edited : - but now I know where Culley is. And why.
Xon huh...hope he shows something...anything.

Kinda feel like Xon and Culley were fighting for one spot. Xon probably got the nod as he is a tad versatile and has a bit nore leg speed. I like XON but thinks its bout time he shows something more than a few glimpses.

Yep it's a massive year for O'Neill, and throw in Petch and Waterman too. By the end of the season I reckon we can call it: they're either best-22 by then or it's never going to happen.

Let's just remember to give some of these senior players a bit of time to get back into the groove gaiz. Gonna have to be patient.

Shuey, Darling, Hurn, Cripps Kelly, McGovern, Sheed, Gaff, Cole, haven't played much footy together lately so cut them some slack please.

Connor West cut his hair and got a seat on the plane.

Culley still has his dreads (I assume) and got left behind.

Might be something in this.

Nice try, but it was a reference to drugs and hair testing à la cousins. Too oblique i suppose.

Worst (and funniest) outcome would be waiting for a B sample.

The dullest and most likely explanation would be team balance.

All this hullabaloo about Culley's omission.

It's like no one has actually watched him play. Bradd Dalziell was really fit too.

1678986544444.png
Bradd "3D" Dalziell talk doesn't come by here much anymore

👀 Oh boy, don't want Bender coming here crying with his swinging D.

Let's Lynch this campaigner quick.

Don't worry gang, I'll sort it.

family-guy-peter-griffin.gif

If I said, ‘mate, chop off your little finger and we’ll play you Round 1’, he’d get the butter knife out and cut it off.

I think I may have figured out why Culley wasn't picked....
The last dude we had who was missing a finger ended up being part of the flying high club?

His smother did also win us a flag though.